Esterillos house rental - View from the beach
View from the beach
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Esterillos House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

This fantastic home is one of only a few beach front homes available in Esterillos Oeste. The spacious living area offers couples, groups, or families plenty of room to entertain. The full patio and deck looks out to the Esterillos Oeste beach directly in front of this spectacular home. The three bedrooms are all on the second floor with balconies off of each room overlooking the beach.

The spacious deck offers a private pool for cooling off after an afternoon of surfing, shelling, or just walking on the spectacular beach. The beach in Esterillos Oeste offers world class surfing, boogie boarding, and swimming. You can literally walk for miles in both directions on the beach. The west end of the village offers a unique lava reef visible at low tide and host the famous mermaid statue.

Keywords: House, beach front, pool

We live in Florida where we love the ocean and the beaches. Our entire family is very active in sports and we love surfing, photography, and like most families keep very busy. Our vacation home in Costa Rica is our escape from this rat race we all call life.

Dave Treadway purchased this house in 2005

Esterillos Oeste offers everything our family was looking for in a vacation home. Our only regret is that we do not get to spend more time at this beautiful property.

Our family is very active and enjoys surfing and the outdoors. Esterillos Oeste is simply a fantastic location that offers something for everyone in our family at any time of the day. The wildlife is spectacular and Esterillos is a photographers paradise.

8 Reviews of Property 262954 in Esterillos, Costa Rica

Beautiful Beach Front Home
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Beautiful Beach Front Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262954vbi
+506 2778-7152
Esterillos Puntarenas
Taos, New Mexico
5

Writing Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I am a writer and my husband is a surfer, so this was the ideal combination for us. I needed to finish a challenging manuscript that dealt with deeply personal issues, and he needed a break from a grueling work schedule to commune with Mother Ocean! What an amazing place. We stepped right from the patio onto one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever seen. There are very few tourists there, so we had the feeling of having discovered paradise. We could walk for miles every morning and evening and hardly encounter anyone. Magnificent birds filled the trees, the fisherman pulled up their boats outside our window every morning, and the tropical heat melted all the knots in our bodies. The house is comfortable, spacious, with all the amenities we could ever wish for. We are already longing to return. It felt like home. Kim & John, the owners, have given loving attention to every detail, & you can feel their deep connection to this place. Dave & Kate were totally responsive & helpful. We had an especially wonderful afternoon flying through the canopy of the rainforest on a zip line, among white-faced capuchin monkeys, scarlet macaws, toucans, and sloths. Las Almendras served fresh, healthy, gourmet foods with ultra-fresh fish. The Pochote trees for which the house derives its name, "Tres Pochotes," are sacred to the Indigenous people of that land.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Beach Front Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262954vbi
+506 2778-7152
Esterillos Puntarenas
5

Enjoy a Piece of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our family of 4 enjoyed an amazing vacation at Esteillos Oeste. This vacation property is lovely. It's spacious, clean and a terrific location. The accessibility to beach and town amenities was ideal. The view and sound of the ocean was the back drop we hoped for.

Esterillos Oeste is a gem of a village. People are friendly and helpful. The grocery store has all you need (except meats - don't need it with a bounty of fresh fish available everyday). There are 4 good restaurants (open air) and a couple other small eateries near by. Rancho Coral is next to the house their wood fired pizza is delicious. A 4 block walk through town or along the beach leads you to the Main Street. There's a grocery store, Brett's surf rental/lessons, Amigios restaurant (good food) and Surf Sol (fun bar and restaurant). We had many exquisite dinners at Los Almendros - Karen and her team offer a fabulous menu & service.

Walk about, take long beach walks where you may be the only person around and explore the areas near Esterilos. Jaco is a tourist spot 20 minutes north and Manuel Antonio national park is a 40 minute drive south where you pass Quepos. It's worth the trip to see wild monkeys, sloths, birds etc and spectacular beaches. The Rainmaker rain forest hike is a must see and is 30 minutes away. For something decadent Erica will come to the house for massages, manis or pedis.

We recommend renting a car however there is public transit and taxis to and from some locations outside Esterillos. American dollars and CR colones accepted. No ATM (go to Jaco or Parrita).

We found very few bugs with some small Gekos and lizards all harmless. The 4 scarlet macaws in our tress swooped in morning and early evening.

Dave and Kate are much more than property managers. They provide all the info you need, arrange trips, make contacts for you and do all they can to make your stay perfect. They are truly wonderful people!

We'll be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your vacation. We look forward to seeing you and your family again next year! Pura vida!
business
Beautiful Beach Front Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262954vbi
+506 2778-7152
Esterillos Puntarenas
5

Un site enchanteur.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
J'ai loué la maison avec ma famille composée de 2 adultes, 2 enfants (5-7) et 2 personnes plus agées (65-63) du 18 janvier au 1er février. Le site est vraiment exceptionnel. Il s'agit d'un vrai front beach (env 100 pi). La maison est situé dans un village de pêcheurs qui ont été heureux de tenter de nous faire comprendre les noms des différents oiseaux et autres animaux lors de nos excursions photos. Il y a une petite épicerie dans le village où vous trouverez de tout, mais pour une vrai épicerie il y a une maxi-pali à proximité de Jaco (env. 20 min en auto). La maison est situé à env 2 hres de route de l'aéroport de San José. Route qui est relativement très facile, même s'il s'agit de votre première visite au costa rica. La plage est magnifique et sans présence de roche face à la maison. À marée basse, il y a formation d'un petit bassin près de la sirène. Merveilleux pour faire de l'apnée avec les enfants (il y a quelques poissons). Selon les journées, les vagues peuvent être assez fortes, mais il y a la présence de life guard et ce malgré qu'il s'agisse de journées de semaine. À environ 50 min. de la réserve manuel antonio, où les plages sont magnifiques. Si vous prenez le tour guidé et que vous voulez profiter des magnifiques plages à l'intérieur du parc, il ne faut pas suivre à l'extérieur des limites du parc, car vous allez devoir re-marcher le parc car il n'y a pas de ré-admission par la sortie de la plage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Beach Front Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262954vbi
+506 2778-7152
Esterillos Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Day 9-Our Amazing House (by Andrew)

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We cannot say enough good things about the house we've staying in for the last 10 days, Tres Pochetes (check it out on VRBO #262954). It's very spacious with 3 bedrooms (all with Queen or King sized beds) and 4 full bathrooms. All rooms overlook the Pacific Ocean. There is literally fishing and surfing right outside your front door (well, back gate anyway). It is walking distance to the town center and a 4 Star restaurant (Los Almendros). Or, if you prefer to eat in, you have a fully furnished kitchen at your disposal and full-sized refrigerator. The property managers live less than a block away so any problems can be addressed immediately. (Dave and Kate have been amazing.). It really is the perfect house for a beach vacation.

http://blog.travelpod.com/travel-blog-entries/marks-travels/1/1388018000/tpod.html
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Beach Front Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262954vbi
+506 2778-7152
Esterillos Puntarenas
Heredia, Costa Rica
5

Tip Top Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
THE GOOD:

Location - right in front of the beach. 2 minutes walk to the heart of 'town'. Keep in mind Esterillos is a quiet, small town.

House - the house itself is great. 3 good bedrooms, with 4 bathrooms. Fast internet, AC, kitchen well equipped with all you need. Everything worked perfect. Very nice to have the plunge pool.

Managers - Dave & Kate are pros; quick to reply, offer to help and are nearby.

Beach - Esterillos is a chocolate sand beach (like most in CR). It's huge and there are very few tourists. Great for surfing, thought the currents can be strong.

Value - I've rented many houses in CR and I think this one is priced well.

THE NOT SO GREAT

In reality there is nothing bad about the place but I do have some friendly suggestions...mostly about the outdoor area. It's a great place with a little pool and an amazing view along the beach. However:

Shelter - the patio roof is only about 5 feet deep meaning that when it's sunny (and I do love being in the sun most of the day) there is no escaping it. On the flip side, when it rains, which it does for about 8 months of the year here, you can expect to spend a lot of time indoors.

Outdoor seating - there was 2 beach chairs my wife and I could use. For us it was fine, but if you had a group of 6 and people wanted to hang out outside, many would be using the few uncomfortable wood chairs offered.

Grill - the have 2 tiny charcoal grills. Again for my wife and I it was plenty, but if you were 6 and you like to cook a lot like we do, you'd be taking turns eating.

Overall my suggestions would be to build a ranchero style area on the east end which is underutilized or at least get a rollout awning and a few decent patio chairs (even the folding ones that can be brought into the house at night) and a bit bigger grill.

If you could slightly improve the comfort of the outside, which if you're like us is where you'll want to spend most of your time (when not on the beach,) this place would be just perfect.

Additionally:

Ladder -a ladder for the pool might be a good idea for those that would otherwise have trouble getting in/out.

Fan - another fan in the kitchen and possibly in the dining room would help cool the place when cooking (if you're not an AC person like us).

Again these are friendly suggestions. As is, I would still highly recommend this place to anyone and am already planning another trip myself. Thanks for a great stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Beach Front Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262954vbi
+506 2778-7152
Esterillos Puntarenas
bedford,ma
5

Great beach house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Great house right on the beach- 3 bedrooms with king size beds. The pool is the place to hang out in the afternoons. Nice little town with friendly locals and a few expats. If you are feeling touristy, the national park at Manuel Antonio is an hour away, and horseback riding, atv riding and ziplining are minutes away. Personally, I like hanging at the beach. Deserted during the week and with locals outnumbering tourists on the weekend. Take a surf lesson from Brett and enjoy the sunsets. I will definitely return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Beach Front Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262954vbi
+506 2778-7152
Esterillos Puntarenas
vancouver, canada
5

great getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
our family of 6 spent xmas 2010 here and we loved it. the house is very comfortable, the setting is beautiful and rustic. dave and kate went out of their way to be helpful, including organizing ground transport to and from san jose airport. beach and surfing at your doorstep, manuel antonio park an hour away, zip-lining in nearby jaco. if you are looking for lots of people and nightlife, this is not the place. if you want unspoiled beauty, and a chance to mix with locals and colorful ex-pats, this is for you. i hope to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Beautiful Beach Front Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262954vbi
+506 2778-7152
Esterillos Puntarenas
Portsmouth, NH
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
Spacious. Beautifully located
(especially for surfers). The pool was
the surprise focal point for hot
afternoons. Our hosts, Dave and Kate,
were welcoming and promptly helped us
feel at home. The only annoyance were
the patio door locks, which had been
broken by previous guests -- but Dave
assured us that they were being fixed.
We plan to return next year with another
couple (comfortably sleeps 6 in 3 king
size beds, all bedrooms have AC).
Helpful votes: 8/9