Grayton Beach cottage rental - Historic Smith House - Built 1925 and renovated in 2009
Historic Smith House - Built 1925 and renovated in 2009
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights
 

Grayton Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-5)

Enjoy a rare opportunity to stay in one of the most historic homes in Grayton Beach -- The Smith House. Originally built as a 1-room cottage in 1925 by Tuff Smith, he used cypress boards that washed up on the shores of Grayton after the ship that was transporting the lumber caught fire and sank.

In 2009, the Smith House was purchased by members of a long-time Grayton family who have lovingly renovated the home, adding all the modern conveniences while maintaining its true southern “old Grayton” charm. Featuring vaulted ceilings and exposed beams, the house is decorated in vintage Florida style. Interior walls are fashioned from sinker cypress (with boards cut from giant cypress logs salvaged from the bottom of the Choctawhatchee River), the grain of each board a natural work of art. The kitchen, which includes granite counters, an ultra-quiet dishwasher, a new oven, a new refrigerator, and everything you would need to cook a gourmet meal, is top of the line. The bathroom has been overhauled with a double vanity sink, and a new double-bunk room (with 2 extra-long bunk bed sets) has been added. The house has flat-screened TVs (with DVD players) in both bedrooms and the living room, as well as free wireless internet service, and an small music player that will play your ipod or other music device.

The best part of the house is probably the large screened porch, which includes 2 comfortable sitting areas, a rustic cypress dining table that easily seats 8, and a comfortable day bed for relaxing. Located just off the screened porch is a spacious enclosed outdoor shower, with hot and cold water. The side-yard consists of a large brick-paved patio with a picnic table, chairs, a mayannhammock and Weber charcoal grill.

After spending the day on the beach, you may want to use the complimentary beach bikes to explore the adjoining beach towns in the late afternoon. In the evening, you have an easy walk to the world-famous Red Bar restaurant as well as several other outstanding dining opportunities.

The Smith House is the perfect vacation retreat for your family. You will want to come back year after year!

** The owners of the Smith House have a second rental cottage in Grayton, Stella Luna. Stella Luna is just up the street from the Smith House and will rent as either a 2 bedroom/2bath (sleeping 2-5; VRBO #380525) or as a 3 bedroom/3bath (sleeping up to 8; VRBO #361156)

Keywords: cottage, beach house, cabin

More Details
Hide Details

As a 5th generation Walton County native, I spent every summer of my childhood on the sands of Grayton Beach. My husband & I are lucky to have raised our 2 sons here as well. We love the charm and authenticity of Old Grayton, the fabulous beach and lake, the friendly locals, and the quirky nature of our town. We are honored to own the Smith House and hope you will love it as we do.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2009

Address: 267 DeFuniak Street, Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459

There is so much to do in Grayton, from swimming, fishing, surfing, or kayaking in the Gulf to playing in the 'pass' at Western Lake. Fabulous restaurants are a short walk away, and there is also a little convenience store and wonderful shops and galleries just down the street. Miles of white sand beaches surrounded by State Parks on all sides, and miles of bike paths along 30A. Grayton is the epicenter of South Walton!

95 Reviews of Property 262496 in Grayton Beach, Florida

The Smith House - Comfortable Updated Historic Charm
average rating of 4.9892473 based on 95 reviews
business
The Smith House - Comfortable Updated Historic Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262496vb
Grayton Beach South Walton
5

Grayt house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I realize this is one of many great reviews and I agree with all the positive comments. The Buzzetts have done something that others have failed to do. They have renovated the Smith House with all the modern amenities you need while keeping the rustic charm of this historic home. They also provide their guests with everything needed to enjoy the beach,explore the towns, or entertain at home. We had fun shopping, dining, YOLO boarding and fishing. Captain Larry on Dead Fish Charters was great. Elmos on 30A did a good job preparing our catch and serving 24 hungry people. We loved it all and hope to return again and again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Smith House - Comfortable Updated Historic Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262496vb
Grayton Beach South Walton
5

Great location! Full of charm:)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The Smith cottage was a perfect place to stay on our first trip to Grayton Beach FL. This comfortable, clean, cottage is full of charm! Close to the beach, shops, and fantastic restaurants. We can not wait to come and visit again, it felt like home:) Thank you Kelly!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Smith House - Comfortable Updated Historic Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262496vb
Grayton Beach South Walton
5

Cozy, charming, comfortable and convenient!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The Smith House is a treasure in Grayton Beach. The vintage cottage is like stepping back in time but with updated conveniences. Kelly was a perfect host with restaurant and activity suggestions and a welcoming bottle of wine. The house is equipped with everything you need - bicycles, paper towels, spices, coffee, comfy couches, and twinkly outdoor lights. It is within walking distance to the beach, Red Bar, Hibiscus Cafe (amazing breakfast), and the State Park where you can bike for miles on pristine trails.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Smith House - Comfortable Updated Historic Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262496vb
Grayton Beach South Walton
port angeles, wa
5

early spring visitor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The Smith House was even better than I'd expected. And the Grayton Beach area is so
low-key and friendly. The house has all modern conveniences without compromising its
historic character. A wonderful outside shower and delightful patio area with grand native
landscaping. Bikes were a wonderful addition and great way to cruise the area. I can't say enough nice things about Kelly's good advice about area restaurants, etc . I'm returning!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Smith House - Comfortable Updated Historic Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262496vb
Grayton Beach South Walton
5

Enjoyed our stay in this unique cottage.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We were looking for a last minute getaway and were fortunate to get reservations for this historic cottage. The owner provided recommendations on area dining, things to do, and called us to make sure all was in order when we arrived. We found the “Smith House” spotless, comfortable, well maintained, and everything you could want is provided. The cypress construction and the unique features make the home a special place to stay. The screened porch is a nice place to read and enjoy meals. Restaurants and the beach are within a short walk. Grayton Beach is a good central location for exploring the adjoining communities. We are hoping for a return visit to the “Smith House” soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
The Smith House - Comfortable Updated Historic Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262496vb
Grayton Beach South Walton
5

A new adventure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
As frequent travelers my wife and I were looking for a place with personality and character. An article appearing in Southern Living attracted us to the Grayton Beach area. Although our visit was in late January we found the area to be more than a visit to the 'beach'. Adjoining areas such as Sea Side, Blue Mountain, and Santa Rosa were ideal for 'hanging out' and enjoying everything from the Farmer's market on Saturday to the eclectic atmosphere provided by the Red Bar. Adventures into the country side and the training area for potential scuba divers followed by lunch at the country store were 'memories' well worth the trip. Excellent Bike trails with adequate 'coffee shops' and don't miss breakfast at the "Broken Egg."
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
The Smith House - Comfortable Updated Historic Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262496vb
Grayton Beach South Walton
5

Relaxing respite, even with rain!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Kelly and Buzz did all they could to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. The only thing they couldn't provide was warm, dry weather, but we knew we were in for unpredictable temps when we booked the week after Christmas. It was still a wonderful getaway. Our teens loved walking to Seaside to hang out each day, and the NYE celebration was wonderful, with a fantastic fireworks show and several local bands playing. Crowd was light because of the drizzle and cold, but the kids didn't care! Hubby and I relaxed at the cabin, walked on the beach, fell in love with Sundog Books in Seaside, biked the trail along 30-A and discovered some great restaurants. (Our best "find" was Christiano's, an unassuming Italian restaurant in a strip mall on Hwy 98. Inside is a maze of little rooms and romantic cubbies, and the best seafood bisque I've had anywhere, Maine to New Orleans. Great wine list, fresh fish and out of this world lasagna.) Anyway, back to the cabin. Everything is provided, esp in the kitchen. The beds are comfy, the outdoor shower is glorious (yes, we used it in December!), and the extra sink in the hall is nice when 4 are sharing the (one inside) bath. We had no problems with space or supplies. There were local menus, flashlights, every kitchen utensil you can think of (such as garlic press and nutcracker!), nice dishes and cookware, books, games, extra towels and linens -- even fresh greenery and a bottle of wine to greet us. The roman shades on the windows were perfect and allowed us to adjust to suit ourselves. The bunk room -- though comfy -- may be a bit tight for 4 kids if you stay at the cabin for long periods during the day, but our two kids were mostly on the go and the room was fine for them. Most of the windows in the house open out and I can imagine in the spring or summer the breeze would be heavenly. We did not get a chance to try out the hammock, but we did enjoy the lights in the yard and the dining table, adirondack seating and daybed on the screened porch. If you want the accessibility of Seaside but the funky old-time charm of Grayton, this is a great home base. Oh, the 3 bikes provided are great for cruising...we brought extras but didn't even need them! Really, these hosts have thought of everything and it shows. Not a single snag, from booking to arrival to the last turn of the key. Can't say enough about this property and especially about the hosts. Many thanks for our "Grayt" winter holiday!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Smith House - Comfortable Updated Historic Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262496vb
Grayton Beach South Walton
5

Our stay at Grayton Beach.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
One of the nicest homes I've stayed in while on vacation.
Not to mention one of the loveliest areas in the Florida Panhandle.
The owners were wonderful and we will definitely stay there the next time we visit.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Smith House - Comfortable Updated Historic Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262496vb
Grayton Beach South Walton
Smyrna, Georgia
5

Old Florida Magic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I cannot say enough wonderful things about this house. Once you enter the wide walkway, you begin to experience the true charm of Grayton. It's like a little oasis of old Florida in this wonderful laid back fishing village. The house is cozy and the owners have thought of everything! It's not like a typical rental house, this is like you are staying in someone's home. The owners really care about their property and they care about you too! Cozy, rustic and extremely relaxing!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Smith House - Comfortable Updated Historic Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262496vb
Grayton Beach South Walton
Chattanooga, TN, USA
5

Felt Like Locals From Day One!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Though this was our first actual stay at Grayton Beach, we felt like locals from the minute we walked in. Kelly and Billy have everything on "greased wheels" for the beach vacationer and anything you might need or want is taken care of. What a pleasure NOT to have to pack all that extra stuff or rent bikes! Beyond that, Kelly has taken the time to map out side trips for the adventurous and she has very detailed and accurate reviews of many of the wonderful restaurants in Grayton and beyond, saving lots of time and questions. The love and care they give this place really shows! A true historic treasure in Grayton Beach. We really had the most wonderful time and we cannot wait to come "home" to the Smith House.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway