Taos Ski Valley cabin rental - After a winter storm.
After a winter storm.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Taos Ski Valley Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

This rustic A-frame features large picture windows, wood-burning stove and bamboo flooring (carpet in bedrooms). Surround yourself with crisp mountain air, the gentle sounds of the Arroyo Hondo stream and magnificent starry nights.

A mountain cabin that is a perfect place to escape and enjoy staying in the forest surrounded by aspens, pines, and a wide variety of wild flowers.

If birding is of interest to you, there are bird feeders on the property that will invite wildlife for your viewing right out the front window.

Keywords: Cabin

This property has been in my family since I was a baby. I've enjoyed many holidays in it over the years. It's one of my favorite places on the planet because of how peaceful it is.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 1969

9 Reviews of Property 262353 in Taos Ski Valley, New Mexico

Taos Ski Valley Mountain Retreat
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Taos Ski Valley Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262353vbi
(917) 447-0692
Taos Ski Valley New Mexico
San Antonio
5

excellent mountain cabin getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I miss this place so much. It's a great location. We have 3 young boys and they were free to play along the Rio Hondo, pick wild raspberries, ride their bikes up and down the long dirt road that leads to the cabin, and just play without fear of traffic. It was fairly secluded and the views are amazing. There are a few other houses along the road, but most were not occupied. The river adds so much to the experience. At night we had the window open to our bedroom and could hear it babbling along, a perfect sound machine. It also drowns out any noise from the road to the Ski Valley. It is close enough to Taos, Arroyo Seco, and the Ski Valley that it's not a chore to get to. The cabin itself is simple, comfortable, and clean, nothing too fancy. But for this price you aren't expecting much. The kitchen is small, but it has pretty much anything you might need to cook a meal. It even has plenty of sharp knives (something that most rentals seem to miss). Wifi works great. We had an issue with the water heater, but it wasn't a big deal. You can't beat the weather in the area. Coming from Texas, the weather was perfect and cool. I hope we get to back again soon, I could easily spend a month there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Taos Ski Valley Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262353vbi
(917) 447-0692
Taos Ski Valley New Mexico
United States
5

Just what we wanted.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We wanted a small place to get away for a week and have no schedule.

This was exactly what we're looking for. It's secluded enough to feel alone but near the top of Ski Valley (minutes by car) and also the drive into Taos wasn't too long either. There are trails within walking distance and a beautiful stream nearby.

Inside we had a kitchen fully stocked with all the utensils and tools we needed to cook all the dinners we'd planned. At one point we ate a nice lunch and sat out on the porch bench just enjoying the air. If you're looking for a small quiet getaway but don't want to be without the basic amenities (Plumbing, Electric, TV, and Internet) then this place is a bargain.

Also our dog had a blast and that's what counts.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Taos Ski Valley Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262353vbi
(917) 447-0692
Taos Ski Valley New Mexico
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

We hope to come back.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I wanted to drop you a note to let you know how much we enjoyed the cabin and our stay in Taos. Everything was just perfect for us. What a wonderful little treasure of a cabin to have in the family! Thank you for the well equipped kitchen … everything you could want to cook a meal, and then some! We only wished we could have stayed longer. The neighbors where very kind and we enjoyed meeting them too.

Thanks so much and we hope to come back again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Taos Ski Valley Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262353vbi
(917) 447-0692
Taos Ski Valley New Mexico
Mansfield, TX
5

Charming Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We rented this gem of a cabin for a long weekend. It was lovely ... cozy and located in a great mountain setting. The kitchen is awesome and has everything you could wish for to prepare a great meal. Very close to good hiking trails and not far from Taos proper, if you want to dine and shop in town. The stream was so relaxing to sit outside and kick up your feet. We slept with the window open so we could hear the sound of the rushing water. We want to come back! Thank you for sharing this family treasure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Taos Ski Valley Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262353vbi
(917) 447-0692
Taos Ski Valley New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM
5

Just what I was hoping for

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
There are a lot of places to stay in Taos Ski Valley; hotels, condos, more hotels. This is not most places. Here you will enjoy a true mountain cabin complete with wood-burning stove, well water, and a large stream literally a few footsteps away. It's not all "rustic"; you'll also enjoy heated beds, heated bath tile floor, satellite TV, amazing surround sound, WiFi, hardwood floors, super-comfortable beds, and even a surprisingly well-equipped kitchen. It is a cozy well-appointed cabin; I was impressed as soon as I opened the door. For the ski and board bums, you can jump into your car and drive to the Taos Ski Area parking lot in 5 minutes. For the nature enthusiasts and thrill-seekers, there are many beautiful and challenging hikes either a 5 minute walk or drive from the cabin, including Wheeler Peak, New Mexico's tallest mountain. Or you can just as easily soak in the day lounging on the side deck or sitting next to the stream. For me, it is the perfect balance between being close to the ski area, but not too close. If you are visiting Taos Ski Valley, I highly recommend this cabin.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Taos Ski Valley Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262353vbi
(917) 447-0692
Taos Ski Valley New Mexico
Albuquerque
5

Cool in the Summer!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My family and I stayed here over the Fourth of July weekend; it was was very clean and in a beautiful setting, right on a mountain stream. My two boys and I loved hiking around and "fishing" in the stream and my mother enjoyed the peace and quiet while we were outside. And it was a good 15 degrees cooler than Albuquerque. Look forward to getting a chance to rent again next summer.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Taos Ski Valley Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262353vbi
(917) 447-0692
Taos Ski Valley New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM
5

A Great Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
This place is cute as a button, very cozy and charming. Our stay was delightful. The kitchen is very well equipped, and the owner has added some very nice touches such as the heated tile floor and hotel quality towels in the bathroom, a great flat screen TV and stereo system, out of this world mattresses, and free long distance telephone service. The wood burning stove is easy to use, keeps the cabin toasty, and adds to its rustic quality. The location is perfect, right up against a serenading mountain stream, yet minutes from the ski basin. We would and will return in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Taos Ski Valley Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262353vbi
(917) 447-0692
Taos Ski Valley New Mexico
Albuquerque, nm
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Impeccably tidy and charming little cottage. We could hear the babbling brook inside, and the birds posed for pictures out front. Everything we needed was exactly where it should be. The woodstove kept us cozy through a surprise cold snap! A lovely and serene spot I can't wait to visit again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed our stay in your house and had a good time skiing on the mountain. The house was comfortable and we actually ended up cooking all dinners there instead of going out for dinner. - Scott
business
Taos Ski Valley Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262353vbi
(917) 447-0692
Taos Ski Valley New Mexico
albuquerque
5

lovely river

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We stayed at the cabin a few weekends ago and especially loved sitting by the little river / creek out back. The area is just so beautiful and peaceful. I like how soft and wonderful and beds are, too. We felt very cozy and warm. It was just lovely. Thank you so much!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1