Honaunau chateau / country house rental - 180 degree Ocean Views/Sunsets
180 degree Ocean Views/Sunsets
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps3
Minimum Stay nights
 

Honaunau Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description
Chateau / Country House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

Your Vacation Rental is 1/2 mile mountain side Hwy. 45 minuets from Kona airport

in Honaunau. 1400ft. elevation. Quiet and Peaceful.

Keywords: Guest Home

it is so quiet and beautiful of all Hawai'i...

11 Reviews of Property 262270 in Honaunau, Hawaii

Weekly Special $495.00
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews
business
Weekly Special $495.00
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262270vb
(808) 443-4367 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
5

Cup'pa Max Coffee Plantation is 5 Stars!

Cup'pa Max Coffee Plantation is 5 Stars!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Max's. It was a beautiful, private and quiet getaway. The views from the lanai overlooking the bay were spectacular while enjoying Max's complimentary coffee in the morning. The grounds are a tropical paradise filled with lush flowering plants, raised veggie beds and a big, beautiful lawn. The house was very clean and was well stocked with everything we needed for a comfortable vacation. Max's dog, Rocket, was a big plus for dog owners that miss their own dogs while away from home. The house is very well located making it easy to travel to all parts of the island. We definitely will be returning to Max's little slice of paradise.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Weekly Special $495.00
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262270vb
(808) 443-4367 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
5

Happy from Idaho

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
In my past two trips to Kona I have stayed in a downtown hotel and in a 4 star condo out of town. I have to say though this guesthouse is my favorite. it is clean and comfortable. The lanai has an awesome view of the bay and is quiet and relaxing. It is further complimented by endless plants, trees and flowers. Max provided us with a bag of his wonderful Kona coffee which gave the day a great start. I enjoyed being away from the traffic noise of Kona and the privacy of this rural setting. I was worried about the lack of air conditioning but the tradewinds kept us cool and comfortable. It was very pleasant to have the windows open and listen to the rural nature sounds.
Max was helpful in giving us suggestions for new places to snorkel and in answering all of our questions. He steered us to a beautiful white sand beach called Makalawena that we hiked into. In addition, if you ask, he will sell his Kona coffee to you at a more than reasonable price.
One of the unadvertised points about this guest house was Max's recent rescue dog Rocket. He is a sweet little boy that needs all the extra love and attention he can get. We stayed here for 2 weeks and Rocket kept me from missing my dog so much. Thank you Max for giving Rocket such a good home and for giving us a home away from home on our vacation. I look forward to returning here and would recommend this to anyone wanting a relaxing vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Weekly Special $495.00
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262270vb
(808) 443-4367 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
Worland, Wyoming/Rocky Mountains, USA
5

Max's Coffee and Macadamian Nut Plantation Stay

Max's Coffee and Macadamian Nut Plantation Stay
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My wife and I, with a fellow archaeologists spent four nights here. Max made sure we had clear directions and stayed in phone contact with us prior to our arrival. He was there to greet us and show us the area. He let us use his cooler and offered snorkeling equipment during our stay. The house is great, located within the plantation with banana, mango, and papaya trees, as well as coffee and macadamian nuts it seems like a tropical paradise. The view from the deck is great with all the flowering plants in the forground and the ocean in the background. A great place for morning Kona Coffee! The photos are are accurate in showing the property. We used the house as base to tour rock art and historic sites on the island. The location is handy for going along to the coast to both the north and south. I am very pleased with our stay and look forward to returning in the future! Our mid-size rental vehicle handled all the roads with no problems. The house was very clean and easy to keep clean during our stay. Max recommended a BBQ close to the turn-off for the property, it was great! We ate at the Southern most restaurant one night returning and the Ohno fish was great, in general we ate fish nearly every meal and didn't have a bad meal during our stay. We mostly ate at the small family owned cafes along the highways, all were clean and had reasonable prices. I strongly recommend this rental to couples with another adult or child. Very reasonable price and fantastic facilities!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Weekly Special $495.00
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262270vb
(808) 443-4367 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
Saskatoon, SK, Canada
5

Wonderful retreat from the world, plus a fantastic view!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My mom, husband, and I stayed at Max's for a week, and it was exactly what we wanted. A place away from the hustle-and-bustle. We spent every evening enjoying the sounds of birds and frogs from the lanai. We relaxed in the hammock, and felt completely isolated from the rest of the world. It was a nice break.

The place was clean and had pretty much everything we needed. The photos are exactly what it looks like, so no surprises. Max was friendly and helpful when we needed something, but otherwise unobtrusive, and we liked having a "home" to come back to after sight-seeing around the island. It was our little piece of paradise at the end of the day, and we truly enjoyed the experience of being there, getting an entirely new perspective on the island.

From the lanai, we had a great view out over the ocean when it was clear. (There was a bit of VOG when we were there.) We could see Kealekekua Bay where the Captain Cook Monument is - the Bay was a short drive, as was the Place of Refuge and the Painted Church. All good places to visit. No restaurants at Place of Refuge, so pack a lunch if you want to eat while you're there.

The property is about 45 minutes from Kona, but the highway is new, so driving is easy. The road up the mountain to Max's seems a little rugged at first, but you get used to it quickly, and honestly, compared to getting to the Green Sands Beach, it's a dream to drive! (Green Sands Beach is definitely worth a trip, but do not even think about driving into it yourself, even with a 4WD. Seriously. Pay one of the nice local drivers there to take you to the beach - Alfred was fantastic, careful and slow, and he asks only for an appreciation payment. Believe me, you'll really appreciate his driving abilities afterwards, and $20+/person is not unreasonable after you see the road, or lack of road. Consider going early and spending the day - lunch, bathing suit, water, etc. We didn't have the time.)

The Costco in Kona is your best bet for cheap everything, including water and wine. We had lunch there for 3 of us and it cost us $5.20 - I kid you not. Also the drive into Kona always gave us time to figure out exactly where we were going and what we wanted to do, so it never seemed like a bother to have to drive a little further.

Closer to the property there are restaurants and small shops along the highway. Jake's BBQ/L&L BBQ are both recommended. There are coffee places everywhere if that's your thing. Great place to stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Weekly Special $495.00
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262270vb
(808) 443-4367 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
Yukon, OK
5

Perfect home away from home with a view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Had a really great time here. Close to the best snorkeling on the island. We saw dolphins and turtles while visiting these incredible places. The quiet coffee farm was the perfect place to come back to after our daily adventures. Max and his son were the greatest!!! These guys made us feel welcome and were so hospitable. Gave us great suggestions for places to see and things to do. The view from the balcony was breathtaking. There is nothing quite like sitting back and watching the sunset over the ocean and waking up and watching the sunrise from your bed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Weekly Special $495.00
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262270vb
(808) 443-4367 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
Santa Rosa, CA
5

Beautiful Place at a Great Price

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Awesomw location on a farm, a few minutes from town. Great views, good coffee grown a few feet away, and a well-kept place. Pick a fresh papaya from the yard, relax and watch the sunset!

Thanks Max!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Weekly Special $495.00
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262270vb
(808) 443-4367 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
Florida
5

Perfect gataway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Great place to get away from the crowds & tourists,but convenient to visit all sights on the island. Max was the knowledgable host and gave Patti & me all the important information we needed. We hope to return in the near future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Weekly Special $495.00
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262270vb
(808) 443-4367 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
Grand Junction, Co
5

traveling couple

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Loved this hideaway, up the mountain on coffee acerage/ Truely close to best snorkling, kayaaking, and
local beaches. Loved the veranda view and hammock. Max, thank you so much for making us comfortable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Weekly Special $495.00
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262270vb
(808) 443-4367 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
Terrebonne, OR
4

Mahalo!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Max's working coffee/mac nut farm comes complete with crowing roosters, lush green surroundings to explore, cool nights for restful sleeping, and, of course, GREAT COFFEE! It is located close to great snorkeling areas. It is a short drive to the Kailua-Kona shopping areas, state parks, and beaches. Max and his son, Spencer, were friendly and accommodating, offer ideas for things to do, beaches/snorkeling areas to see and offered the use of personal water accessories to make our stay more pleasant. Thanks again, Max!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Weekly Special $495.00
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p262270vb
(808) 443-4367 (Hawaii, USA)
Honaunau Kona Coast
Long Beach, NY, USA
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
I was shocked at how nice this place is-- the photos do not do justice to the beauty of Max's property. The apartment is clean, large, and well appointed, and is situated above the best skin diving on the island-- Honaunau and Kealekekua Bay. Mahalo, Max!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5