Alamosa cabin rental - Cabin, front deck, and Sand Dunes Views
Cabin, front deck, and Sand Dunes Views
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Alamosa Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps up to 5 or 6)

PLEASE NOTE: Please check our calendar before contacting us. We keep it current. We prefer that you email us first. That sets up a thread and we can refer back to it as often as necessary. That way we don't confuse your request with someone else's. Feel free to call after that if you have some question that you think can't be answered to your satisfaction by email. Thanks

There is a master bedroom with a queen-sized bed and a second bedroom with 2 twin beds down the hall. We have a couch that unfolds like a futon which can accommodate 1-2 people. There is a roll away available. The kitchen sink looks west across the valley and there is a bar so everyone does not have to be in the kitchen. The bathroom has a jetted tub and a double flush toilet. It's still a cabin, but is updated for more comfort. Please be aware that the dog door is out of operation at this time.

In winter, fall, and spring the wood burning stove makes the cabin very toasty warm, though there are other heat sources too. There is a small dining room table and the bar has 3 stools. There is a small refrigerator/freezer without icemaker, an electric range, toaster, coffee maker, stereo, DVD player, TV (no cable or satellite) for watching DVDs, a ROKU box, Wi-Fi, gas grill, and in the summer, hummingbird feeders. There is a washer/dryer. We provide: coffee filters, paper towel, tp, dish soap, dishwasher soap, clothing detergent, hand soap (bathroom), propane, spices, linens, towels, and wood for the stove. We ask that you recycle 1 & 2 plastic, magazines, white paper, aluminum cans, steel cans, cardboard. Glass cannot be recycled here in the valley. If you live in Denver you could take it home for recycling. There is a dumpster near the front of the subdivision where you can leave your trash.

This cozy cabin is located in the spectacular San Luis Valley in South Central Colorado just 5 miles south of the Great Sand Dunes National Park. Located 1500 feet above the valley floor (at 9000 feet) the cabin and large deck have 360 degree view of 14,000 ft. peaks of the Sangre de Cristo Range, an expansive view of the vast San Luis Valley including the far off San Juan Mountains and the Great Sand Dunes National Park. If you are looking for unequaled quiet, wildlife, (eg. bears, elk, antelope, deer, bobcats, coyotes etc.), amazing views and walking/hiking, this is the place for you - spring, summer, fall or winter. There is great hiking right outside the cabin door. We leave directions for a terrific hike to Zapata Falls (the back way!) Spring, summer and fall brings us four kinds of hummingbirds not to mention many other songbirds and raptors. We are dog friendly with just a few common sense rules.

Other attractions nearby include: Rail tours on the Toltec-Cumbres Pass Railroad & Denver and Rio Grande Railroad, Old Ft. Garland, San Luis Stations of the Cross, The Gator Farm, numerous cultural heritage sites and museums, hiking trails, bird watching, Greater Sandhill Cranes (Mar-Apr, Oct-Nov), summer farmers' market (Saturdays starting in July 8-1), local festivals, and rock climbing or hiking at Penitente (a famous climbing area with beautiful rock formations). A natural hot springs pool, The Sand Dunes Pool, is within a 30 minute drive. The Pool features a large 'hot tub temperature' pool and a somewhat cooler very large swimming pool (no chlorine) with deep end and diving boards, baby pool, and small restaurant that features organic tomatoes and basil grown in their own greenhouse. You may eat there whether or not you choose to swim. Google them for detailed information. Joyful Journey is a spa located about 1 hour north just south of the intersection of 285 and 17. They offer massage and several natural pools. Valley View (clothing optional ) is located east of Joyful Journey. They are located near a large bat cave where you can observe the bats emerge in the summer evenings. (The Orient Mine). In the summer Splashland near Alamosa provides a terrific outdoor pool with slide and diving board.

San Luis Valley Regional Airport airport is located in Alamosa (35 minutes away) and has daily connections to Denver.

WEBSITES OF INTEREST: Any desired websites can be Googled easily. Try www.Alamosa.org

Keywords:

More Details
Hide Details

We chose Zapata because of the unique valley bordered by two mountain ranges that provide a range of outdoor activities. The Great Sand Dunes National Park is right next door and numerous hot springs allow for a good soak after a long day of outdoor activities.

23 Reviews of Property 261919 in Alamosa, Colorado

Quiet Retreat Cabin with Spectacular Views
average rating of 4.9545455 based on 23 reviews
business
Quiet Retreat Cabin with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261919vbi
Alamosa South Central Colorado
5

Fabulous Cabin!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
We recently spent 2 nights here and it was great. We had a group of 4 and our 2 year old son and it was more than enough room. Everything was very clean and well kept. Kitchen was stocked well with cooking utensils. Plenty of firewood for the cozy wood burning stove. Overall a absolute fabulous rental with views you can not put a price on. We all highly recommend this cabin.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Quiet Retreat Cabin with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261919vbi
Alamosa South Central Colorado
Denver, Colorado
5

Fantastic cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Myself, husband, and two-year-old son stayed here and found the cabin to be absolutely fantastic. It was clean, well-appointed, and the views can't be described in words, they were so amazing. We'd love to come back some day!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quiet Retreat Cabin with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261919vbi
Alamosa South Central Colorado
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
WOW - what a wonderful place to stay for our honeymoon. I can't imagine being able to find a better location. The views were breathtaking, especially the sunsets. The hummingbirds were amazing - so close one of them actually pecked at Bob's watch while he was standing on the deck. We traveled every day to nearby destinations, but were always back in time for dinner at "home". The accommodations were exactly as described and we were totally comfortable the entire time we were there. I could go on and on, but words can't describe how magical this cabin truly is. Thank you so much for a truly wonderful experience and we hope to come back again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Quiet Retreat Cabin with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261919vbi
Alamosa South Central Colorado
Aurora
5

Fantastic retreat after a day at the Sand Dunes!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
A great escape with the family, the time was filled with fantastic views (bring binoculars), humming birds galore, and all the comforts of home. Seeing the huge desert valley below, visible from the deck, made for a great place to relax after a hot day on the Dunes. And being up high on the mountainside, everything was very peaceful and quiet, with cool breezes, seclusion, and that incredible view can’t be beat! Inside was equally wonderful, with a modern kitchen and bathroom - and had just the right furnishings to make it feel like you’re “roughing it” without getting sand anywhere but between your toes!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quiet Retreat Cabin with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261919vbi
Alamosa South Central Colorado
Denver
5

Incredible Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family had a wonderful 3 night stay in this cabin. The view of the Sand Dunes and Sangre de Christo mountains is indescribable! The cabin is very comfortable and well-supplied. We especially enjoyed the hike to Zapata Falls, INCREDIBLE stargazing--saw shooting stars every night, sand boarding at the dunes (rent your board at the Oasis) and just hanging out on the deck and watching the hummingbirds.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Quiet Retreat Cabin with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261919vbi
Alamosa South Central Colorado
Littleton Colorado
5

The Greatest Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The reason for the trip was to go to the Great Sand Dunes. This Cabin is the perfect location. The view from the deck is awesome you can see the Dunes, the San Luis Valley and the Sunset!!! Who could ask for more. The wood stove got the place nice and toasty warm for the night and it was so quiet and peaceful. The jet tub was great after a day of hiking the Sand Dunes! Pace yourself it is quit the work out. The visitor center is awesome and has a lot of great displays about the Dunes and the Valley, and the cutest little frog that loves to rrrrriiiiibbit! It was a great trip and the cabin really made it the best it could be. I hope to go back again. It was so worth the extra money versus staying in a hotel with no view and little privacy like this place offered. Throwing some burgers and steaks on the grill outside was tasty!!! I would love to go back later summer for warmer weather and some Sand Boarding at the Great Sand Dunes!!! I would recommend this place to anyone. By the way I did! My friends Barb and Mark will be heading down in May. I know they are going to love it as much as we did!!!
Thanks,
Jackie and Rhett from Littleton Colorado.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Quiet Retreat Cabin with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261919vbi
Alamosa South Central Colorado
Denver
5

Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Our week at the cabin was everything I'd hoped for. The view is unbelievable in every direction. Comfy bed and a big shower with good water pressure. It was very quiet here the entire week which provided great sleeping.

Try hiking the Garner Creek trail. It's a relatively easy trail about an hour North (near Joyful Journey - take Road GG until it ends). The Dunes pool was great, spotlessly clean and not too crowded. Their food is also excellent if you just want to eat. Also you will like the brewpub in Alamosa, both for the beer and the food.

If you are looking for solitude, amazing vistas, and an affordable rental you can't go wrong with this cabin.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Quiet Retreat Cabin with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261919vbi
Alamosa South Central Colorado
Merrillville, In.
5

Spectacular views would be an understatement WOW! WOW!! WOW!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Spectacular views any time of day, sunsets were awesome and we had a brief snow storm so quiet and peaceful, hated to leave. We will never forget it, would love to come back in an other season. The cabin was great we enjoyed it. The owners were very nice and checked up on us during the storm. Enchanted Cottage were time stood still, a must SEE.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Quiet Retreat Cabin with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261919vbi
Alamosa South Central Colorado
Dallas Tx
5

A piece of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
What is there not to like about this Cabin. If you are looking for a quiet place to get away from it all..
then this is the cabin for you. The photo's only capture some of the amazing views that surround this
beautiful place. The cabin itself is very comfortable...cozy...with plenty of room for everyone. I was there just this Thanksgiving and had an amazing time. The owners are super friendly and are there to
answer whatever questions you might have. I would suggest going into town first (Alamosa) before unpacking. It's a good 30-40min drive (depending on how many deer stand in your way :). Once you unpack you won't want to leave the cabin to go shopping :) I will be back. Christina -
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Quiet Retreat Cabin with Spectacular Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261919vbi
Alamosa South Central Colorado
Denver
5

A perfect retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We loved the time we spent there. The cabin is so warm, inviting, and so thoughtfully appointed. The views are spectacular, and the night sky defies description. Will definitely be retuning. Thanks!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway