Xcalak house rental - View from 2nd floor balcony
View from 2nd floor balcony
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Xcalak House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2.25 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Located 8.5 km north of the small fishing village of Xcalak, Casa Tranquila is the perfect getaway for those who wish to avoid the typical tourist destinations. The house has 1 bedroom with a queen bed and 1 and 1/4 bathrooms downstairs. The living room opens into the fully equipped kitchen. There is a hideaway dining table and chairs available as well. Upstairs, there are two more bedrooms one with a queen bed, another with two single beds and another full bath. Wrap around balconies offer sweeping views of the Caribbean in front and the lagoon behind the house. Walk into the sea in front of the house for some of the best snorkeling in the area.

The house is solar and wind powered with generator backup. High wattage appliances are not allowed and conservation of wash water and electricity is encouraged. There are grocery trucks that come by the house several times a week with basic food items, but we advise stocking up prior to arriving. There are several good restaurants in town as well.

If you enjoy reading, beach combing, and just getting away from it all, this is your place.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

This is not your typical tourist getaway. If you want a different Mexican Caribbean experience than Cancun or the Riviera Maya, come to Casa Tranquila

6 Reviews of Property 261785 in Xcalak, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Beautiful House for Rent Steps from the Beach
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 6 reviews
business
Beautiful House for Rent Steps from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261785vbi
(608) 242-1551 (Wisconsin, USA)
Xcalak Quintana Roo
Hutchins, Tx, USA
5

Beautiful Seclusion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We spent 2 weeks at Casa Tranquila in December and early January with side trips to Chetumal, Bacalar and Mahahual. Casa Tranquila is a wonderful house, well furnished and equipped(we cooked many meals) with on site caretakers who make sure the beach is clean every morning and keep the house in good running order and are there to assist but not intrude. As noted the house has solar, wind and generator power so there were no issues with electricity. Water pressure was great and hot!! The water in front of the house is shallow but fish abound, we snorkeled often and saw schools in several locations, even a couple of curious barracuda. The road in front of the house is barely traveled but luckily local people selling fish, shrimp and vegetables appear a few times a week with excellent product. We even bought home made flan from a couple of kids on a motorbike which was great. We visited Xcalak Caribe, had a great lunch and even better conversation with Freddy the owner. The Leaky Palapa lived up to all the wonderful comments. People at XTC dive center were very helpful with information, Senior Felipe Fonseca helped us get our National Park passes and Moyses who is the local agent gave us our keys and got us off to a great start. Mike owns the house and was excellent to deal with, before, during and after our visit. Never met him but he was available by email whenever we needed something or had a question. We used a collapsible cooler on wheels as a piece of luggage which made it easier to shop for food in Tulum before we arrived. Bring food, supplement with local purchases and restaurants, swim and RELAX.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful House for Rent Steps from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261785vbi
(608) 242-1551 (Wisconsin, USA)
Xcalak Quintana Roo
Liberty Lake , WA
5

Dive, fish, sip tequila..great stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We joined a two friends from Germany and spent most of two wonderful weeks at Casa Tranquilo.
First day , second cast caught a 5 lb bonefish right in front of the place..first of many.
World class diving with XTC dive center just down the road, great dive shop.
Several really good restaurants to choose from..Leaky Palapa our favorite, but a couple of really nice local runners up.
Visited some incredible Mayan Ruins an hours drive away..had them to ourselves.
Day trips to Ambergris Caye, Belize, 45 minute drive to Mahahual for more action..(think Playa 20 years ago).
Super fly fishing with Osprey tours (Captain Victor is really good shots at Jacks, Permit , Cuda and more.)
And of course relaxing on the beach, with Cohibas and Tequila!
Really good caretaker, well maintained property..can't wait to be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful House for Rent Steps from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261785vbi
(608) 242-1551 (Wisconsin, USA)
Xcalak Quintana Roo
Saint Marys, West Virginia
5

Hated to leave!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Our week at the house was wonderful! We are a family of 5, including my husband, his mother, our sons 13 yrs and 10 yrs, and myself. The house was more than big enough for all of us,and we couldn't believe our good fortune that it was "ours" for a week.
We spent the week reading, snorkeling, eating and sleeping. The boys enjoyed the Wi-Fi, so they didn't feel too cut-off, & the rest of us hardly cared. Thanks to the Wi-Fi, my husband and I could have frequently checked email, looked at Facebook, and messed with our iPhones, yet we chose not too! It was so relaxing to just "take a break."(I checked my email only once a day, but very reluctantly! The iPhones? They took a good long rest too!)
The beach is raked daily and there's your own little palapa for shade. Alas, we didn't have a very sunny week, and we actually used the palapa more to sit on the beach during some rain!
The ability to snorkel "whenever I wanted" has always been a dream of mine. We went about three times a day and it was always wonderful. Both boys really loved it and did well. Because of the reef, the water is calm and shallow and clear, there was never any worry about their safety. It was never deeper than the 10 year old's "tippy toes," and only that deep in one spot.
As a family of dog lovers, we were thrilled with the 3 dogs that live there. They were sweet, funny, and well-cared for. They really made it feel home-like, because to us, what makes a house home-y is dogs!
It is a long drive from Cancun, be sure you understand just how far away it is. We chose to spend the first night and the last night in Tulum. This worked out well, but now that I know the way down there it might be something I'd skip the next time, depending on the times of the flights.
Working with the owner of the house was very easy. He was very patient and answered all my questions. His friendliness and the time he took to help me arrange it all made the vacation that much better. While down there, we met many who knew him and I felt honored to be in his house!
We took biodegradable sunscreen. It was sort of ugly, mostly white zinc oxide, but it worked, and it saves the reef and the fish, so...we all looked ghostly and laughed at each other.
The beautiful house, the nice rooms, the big kitchen, the porch, the decks, and all the nice people we met made it an unforgettable experience. I would love to return.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
Beautiful House for Rent Steps from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261785vbi
(608) 242-1551 (Wisconsin, USA)
Xcalak Quintana Roo
St. Louis, MO
5

Best week ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We just returned home from a wonderful, relaxing week at Casa Tranquila. The views were so gorgeous we spent more time soaking them up than we did taking pictures of them. The turqouise water, the Caribbean breezes, the stars at night, the wonderful people we met - all combined to make our vacation exceptional. We kept a list of all the wildlife we saw, both on land and in the water, and it fills almost three pages. If you enjoy the beauty of nature, this is the place for you. Some of our favorite times were spent out on one of the three terraces, swinging in the hammock reading a book and drinking margaritas. Boy, does the tequila ever seem to go fast! The snorkeling right in front of the house is amazing; in addition to all the pretty fish and coral formations, we saw a squid and a stingray. Very cool! I hope we can get back to Xcalak soon; it's addicting. Thanks so much for letting us borrow your bit of heaven on earth!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful House for Rent Steps from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261785vbi
(608) 242-1551 (Wisconsin, USA)
Xcalak Quintana Roo
austin
4

Cozy beach house

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Recommend it! 2 thumbs up very tidy ..... great place for snorkling
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful House for Rent Steps from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261785vbi
(608) 242-1551 (Wisconsin, USA)
Xcalak Quintana Roo
suburb of chicago
4

Secluded off the grid getaway. Great spot for a fishing/diving trip.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
The pueblo, Xcalak and Casa Tranquila is definetly worth the long drive. Highway (the 307) out was great. The road once you're in Xcalak is Very rough, though. You can do it in a car (we rented a jetta) but I'd recommend a Jeep or SUV.
The property is clean, well maintained and a great value, beach is great for sunning, although it's a long way out to water of a swimable depth.
The onsite caretaker is attentive, raking the beach and checking on fresh water ect., but generally unobtrusive and quiet.
Kitchen was well stocked with basics.
Bedrooms are spacious and comfortable with plenty of extra linens and pillows, hammock hooks and a hammock. Lack of A/C in the summer may be a problem for some. We stayed in Late Feb. and it was really windy so it wasn't an issue (kind of noisy in the upstairs bedrooms, though)
Living room furnishings are minimalist, but you probably won't spend alot of time indoors anyway.
There are only about 3-4 options for dining out (all excellent, with the Leaky Palapa an experience unto itself. Be sure to make a reservation!) and groceries other than canned or packaged are somewhat difficult to come by, so stock up in Tulum or Playa del Carmen.
Try Costa Cocos for pizza. Really didn't think we'd want pizza for dinner in Mexico, but you can't get a lobster/mango pizza in Chicago.
I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a real escape. The fishing, snorkling and diving opportunities are incredible. The local dive shop, XTC does a great job.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments Ron. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves. There is generally a breeze from the sea. We were there in August last year and it was comfortable. But, there was a constant wind.