While the setting of this "mini-farm" was beautiful, the house itself and surrounding grounds proved disappointing and not necessarily as advertised.When a traveler chooses a site, the description needs to match the actual house; this did not. One of the biggest issues was that although air conditioning was advertised in the listing, we found the units in the closets and not in the windows. When we called on Sat, the owner did not arrive to put them in the windows until Wednesday, resulting in some uncomfortable nights.While 17+ acres of trails were advertised, the condition of the grounds was overgrown and unkempt so that the trails were inaccessible. Again, it wasn't until the owner arrived on Wednesday that the pathways to the ponds were mowed and we could get there. The listing mentioned parking in the garage but because there was wood stacked inside it, we had to park outside. Sadly, the house was not clean upon our arrival. Pots and pans were grease-caked, there were live and dead bugs throughout and even mildew in the showers. When we walked on the bare floors, our socks turned black quickly. The towels were thin and stiff and really need to be replaced. Although the listing states the house sleeps 10/12, seating at the dining room table was barely comfortable at 8 (if you don't include the broken chair) and seating in the living room area likewise really only comfortably accommodated 5-6 people. The kitchen needs a mixer, cereal bowls and water glasses. and if there were alarm clocks in the bedrooms, we didn't find them. There was a 5 burner stove, but only three pots. Did you know that one of the oven racks tilts and falls when you lay a pan on it? We had to break into the thermostats when the heat, yes, the heat came on that first warm night at 3 in the morning. There were no instructions about such basics although eventually we found a key in a drawer.
On the positive side, the house layout was lovely, the board games we found were fun, the neighbors were friendly, the wifi worked great, and we loved the nature sightings of birds, deer, chipmunks, rabbits, and one magical night hundreds and hundreds of fireflies flitting from stem to stem, like an invasion of Tinker Bells.The website description raised expectations that simply weren't met, resulting in a disappointing experience. With some description revision and additional owner attention, this house can indeed be a wonderful and comfortable experience for future renters.
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry that Winding Road farm did not meet with your expectations but do feel that the description advertised does fit the house and its surrounds. After reading your comments, we did decide to take the air conditioning out of the advertisement. While we do provide window units in the bedrooms, we often dont put them in until the summer swelter. In fact, we dont even have them in our own homes as the night air typically provides a cool breeze!
We were quite dismayed to hear that this reviewer found the house less than immaculate. We have a cleaning service come in and as evidenced by all the other favorable reviews, we have NEVER had a complaint. We did learn on the Tuesday of this guests stay that our cleaner was having hip surgery. Clearly, she was not at the top of her game when she cleaned for this guest. The cleaner stays on top of things both inside and outside the home and alerts management to things that need to be taken care of . We were sorry that the cleaners malady impacted our guest and tried to ameliorate things as soon as we were learned of the situation.
Our kitchen and dining areas are spacious and our guests have hosted both Thanksgiving and Easter dinners. It is a well appointed, well stocked kitchen with stainless steel appliances including a 6 burner stove. We have several sized pots and most gadgets although the Thanksgiving guest did need to bring his own electric carving knife!. If you have a request for something, please ask us prior to your arrival and we will do our best to accommodate.
Prior to visiting Winding Road Farm, you are given an agreement with a number of How to items included. If you arrive late at night you already know where to find the keys to get it. Upon entering the home, you will find another key, house guide and a guide to the area. Everything is right on the kitchen counter. The Hudson Valley is a lovely place to explore with plenty to do. And Winding Road Farm for almost all of our guests has been a wonderful, enjoyable home base to experience this beautiful part of the North East.
Helpful votes: 2/2
Did you find this review helpful?