Berkeley house rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Berkeley House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Den, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Bright, clean, sunny and spacious flat in Oceanview just steps from Fourth Street and convenient to UC and San Francisco. IF THIS FLAT IS BOOKED SEE OUR SECOND VRBO LISTING # 206569 FOR AVAILABILITY in the popular sister upper flat with similar period decorating and streamline modern conveniences. Both are pet, child and eco friendly and impeccably remodeled just this summer!

Stay in the most historic and visited neighborhood in Berkeley, in one of its best renovated Victorians! Just steps from the popular tourist destination Fourth Street where shopping, boutiques, and restaurants abound, enjoy the oldest neighborhood in Berkeley. Oceanview, with historic landmark homes and businesses.

OCEANVIEW: Oceanview has it all – artists’ lofts, open studios, quaint cafes, landmark Victorian homes, high end boutiques, retail outlets, many restaurants and eateries, the Berkeley Marina, Aquatic Park, Peet’s Coffee, Scharffenberger chocolate factory, the Wooden Duck, Studio Grow a huge children's indoor play space, a Vivarium and much, much more.

MITCHELL HOUSE: this stunning lower flat in an 1896 Eastlake Victorian is an amazing residential space to meet your vacationing needs. The space has 12 foot ceilings, floor to ceiling recessed bay windows, hardwood oak floors, and curved moldings and woodwork.

The flat has been renovated with sustainable and 'green' methods and materials. Original lathe and plaster walls have been maintained and filled with cotton denim insulation. Zero-voc eco paints in custom mixed vintage colors were used through out the rooms. Victorian woodwork was salvaged and incorporated with custom carpentry. Zero-voc grout sealant and caulk were used in the custom tile work. Only non toxic cleaners and products are used by housekeeping. Guests can feel good personally and ethically about the methods used to remodel and maintain this space.

AMENITIES:

- Parlor boasts wall mounted 40’ plasma TV with digital DVR, plush velvet seating, antique expandable trestle dining table, and large pocket doors.

- Kitchen is newly remodeled with period hardware and cabinetry.

- Master bedroom suite has king size bed, down alternative comforter, high count organic cotton sheets, cable T.V. with DVR and DVD player, ensuite bath with custom handmade Italian tile, and private deck with outdoor curtains, arbor and vines.

- Front bedroom/office has substantial desk space with Dell computer equipped for use, scanner/copier, fax machine, flat screen monitor and high speed internet. The room features stunning Victorian bay windows (bright and sunny), a loveseat, and a new firm queen size bed with comforter and high-end organic linens.

- Half bath/laundry room features high end energy efficient front-loading washer/dryer and period appropriate Victorian style pedestal sink and fixtures.

- High speed wireless internet, DVD library, free dedicated local and U.S long distance phone line, and a stylish IPOD/CD player sound system are further accommodations.

- Small private deck overlooking the beautifully landscaped and tranquil backyard offers a perfect spot for morning coffee or watching the kids play. Smith and Hawken outdoor glass dining set in yard seats 6-8 with further seating and tables available.

- Large, sunny, level backyard with sculpted lawn, custom built sandbox and deep planter box perimeter, scented flowers and vines: lavender, honeysuckle, jasmine, wisteria and fruit trees: apple, plum, apricot, walnut and blueberries. Mermaid fountain rests on handcut flagstone patio. Birdfeeders and birdbaths attract hummingbirds, cardinals, bluebirds, finches and a quartet of friendly bright green and red parrots who neighbors believe broke from the famous 'Telegraph Hill' gang. The ample yard has several seating areas and a new stainless BBQ gas grill.

Pets are welcome with an added deposit and housekeeping staff clean with HEPA hospital grade Swiss vacuums and air filters between every guest stay. Maid service option available weekly for longer staying guests.

We have equipped the flat with everything you need – don’t pack too much – as we provide eco friendly soaps, shampoos, toiletries, as well as a DVD and reading library, towels, linens, kitchen ware, etc.

The IDEAL LOCATION:

We are happy to offer information on local eateries, sights and shopping. We are also happy to guide you in any search for child friendly or pet friendly activities and businesses.

Perfect for a quiet romantic stay, a stimulating visit with friends or family, a central spot for sightseeing trips to Napa, San Francisco, Sausalito, Muir Woods, and UC Berkeley.

We are a 3 minute drive and fifteen minute walk to the North Berkeley BART Station with easy access to all San Francisco, Oakland and other Bay Area destinations. We are just off the main Berkeley exit of Interstate 80, University Avenue, which both leads directly to the Bay Bridge into San Francisco or up to the entrance of the University of California campus. And we are 3 blocks away from the most visited area of Berkeley - the Fourth Street district with unique and coveted shopping, art and food.

Guests who have stayed in the space as well as in our upper flat have raved about it. It is truly unique. This is not a converted extra space in someone’s house. This is a full story of a two floor Eastlake Victorian with lots and lots of light and scenery. It's the sunniest, prettiest spot you’ll find to stay in Berkeley’s buzzing Oceanview district – don’t miss out!

The upper flat is also available for rental (vrbo listing 206569) – it is a similar space with equivalent appointments – see our other ad and inquire if you are interested in renting both together for wedding parties, graduations, reunion and family get-togethers - sleeps (8-10) with extra queen raised bed available.

Keywords: House/Full furnished Flat

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 261268 in Berkeley, California

Beautiful Victorian Flat Near 4th Street - Pet Owner Upscale
average rating of 4.923077 based on 13 reviews
business
Beautiful Victorian Flat Near 4th Street - Pet Owner Upscale
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261268vbi
(510) 207-1494 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
Dublin
5

Fantastic Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Wonderful stay in Berkeley in the Mitchell apartment. Pear and Brad could not have been more helpful throughout the stay, and the apartment, garden and location (some seriously good places to eat / shop along San Pablo) were all perfect. We're a family of five and stayed for a full two months and never felt cramped. In fact it was a shame to have to return home!

One other small note - based on the photos I wasn't sure there was a proper table for family dining in the kitchen. Rest assured there is. It's just not in the photos.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Victorian Flat Near 4th Street - Pet Owner Upscale
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261268vbi
(510) 207-1494 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
Piasa IL Midwest
4

Great place to stay, and great price.....

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Good price and location. Owner did NOT return our call when we arrived concerning parking arrangements and fold away bed. We left two phone numbers for them to call back, but no reply. (A note on the kitchen counter stated that we needed to call them to arrange for parking in driveway.) We figured out how to set up the inflatable air mattress on our own after we found it in the den closet. House is nice, although back porch sitting area was quite dirty when we arrived. No air conditioning. Nice neighborhood. Parking on street was iffy....but we usually managed to find parking nearby. Very convenient location for sightseeing in Bay area, near highways and lots of attractions. Loved Fourth St., especially Bette's Oceanview Diner, which I highly recommend for breakfast. I would recommend this property, but make sure parking arrangements (they have a driveway) are clear before you accept. The air inflated bed was fairly comfortable, and the bedrooms were very comfortable and roomy. Very nice, attractive bathrooms and pretty garden in backyard.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Victorian Flat Near 4th Street - Pet Owner Upscale
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261268vbi
(510) 207-1494 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
5

Great expercience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My family and I rented both the upper and the lower flat during the months of July, August and part of September (2012). We love everything. the location is good, close to the shops and restaurants on fourth street. the flats are bright, well ventilated, the garden is very charming and the view of the upper flat is wonderful. We had unforgettable moments at the Mitchel House and I believe we left friends too. My daughter Paula always remembers the games in the garden with her new friend, the princess Eve.. Pear and Brad were very attentive, friendly and available. I'm sure when I get back to Bedrkeley we will love to stay in the same place.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Victorian Flat Near 4th Street - Pet Owner Upscale
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261268vbi
(510) 207-1494 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
Littleton, CO, USA
5

Oops

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Folks, I accidently put my review for another property under this one. Can you please remove it?
Bob from Littleton
business
Beautiful Victorian Flat Near 4th Street - Pet Owner Upscale
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261268vbi
(510) 207-1494 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
Littleton, CO, USA
5

Gorgeous Victorian, excellent location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My wife, daughter and I just got back from a week at this wonderful house in Berkeley where we had a fine time. The house is filled with historic touches and modern amenities, is spotless and has a fine back yard. It is walking distance to the Fourth Street shopping and dining area and very close to downtown Berkeley, campus and the Telegraph Ave area too. The upper flat is meticulously maintained and many nice touches were added by the owner.

Only possible negatives were train noises (bothered me more than wife and daughter) and a bit of confusion about check out dates which were painlessly resolved. Both of these barely deserve mention. Highly recommended, we'd stay here again in a hearbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for your high recommendation! We really appreciate it and welcome you back. A clarification on the dates, since many renters read these reviews, our written contract was clear and correct on the checkout date and time. Your request to stay longer wasn't possible due to another party arriving - but just so all potential guests are clear: a contract ending on a listed date does mean departure on that date. We allowed you to stay the extra night and had to put up the arriving party last minute in two premium hotel rooms which took quite a bit of expense and extra fast leg work! Also, just to avoid confusion, you've posted your review on the lower flat link; but your stay was in the upper flat. Most importantly, we're glad you enjoyed the stay at Mitchell House.
business
Beautiful Victorian Flat Near 4th Street - Pet Owner Upscale
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261268vbi
(510) 207-1494 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
Albuquerque, NM
5

Great Berkeley accommodation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My husband and I recently spent 2 weeks at Mitchell House and will definitely stay again on our next Berkeley visit. The property is very dog-friendly as advertised and it was close to a great dog park where we went every day. We walked to 4th street a number of times and other places in the neighborhood - lots to explore from the great location. The property itself is wonderful - great back yard and very good accommodations. The stove is old - but gas and worked very well, so great for me. If you intend to cook much, be warned the knives are dull - my only complaint. The owners are friendly and have done a great job with Mitchell House - we highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Victorian Flat Near 4th Street - Pet Owner Upscale
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261268vbi
(510) 207-1494 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
Berkeley, CA
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
My parents stayed here (with their little dog) for three weeks when they came to visit their new granddaughter and were very happy here! Everything about the place was perfect--it had all the amenities they wanted, was clean and comfortable, and close to all the great things Berkeley has to offer. They can't wait to stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Victorian Flat Near 4th Street - Pet Owner Upscale
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261268vbi
(510) 207-1494 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
Santa Monica, CA
5

The Wonderful 9th Street house.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Our stay at the Mitchell House was one of those rare experiences where the accommodations were way beyond our expectations. The thoughtfulness and thorough attention to detail regarding every possible need we might have were outstanding. In addition the house is lovely and soulful with a wonderful large rear garden which we used and enjoyed very much. A perfect Berkeley retreat. Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Victorian Flat Near 4th Street - Pet Owner Upscale
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261268vbi
(510) 207-1494 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
Portland, OR
5

Excellent condo for kids, dogs and shopping

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Last December was the second time we stayed at the Mitchell house. Last year (Dec 09) we rented just the upper flat. My husband and I were visiting for work, which is located on 4th street. We had our 1 year old daughter and dog with us. For Dec '10, we rented both the bottom flat and upper flat as my husbands parents (his father also works for the company) were staying there. The house has everything you could need and is so perfect for children and very pet-friendly! My husband, his father and I all went to work while my mother-in-law hung out with our daughter and dog. They have wonderful age-appropriate toys, a great big yard (though it rained the whole time this year) and top notch amenities. Forget something? They probably have it there. The grocery is nearby, as is 4th street shopping, great parks for kids and dogs, as well as being near (but not too near) the freeway. It really was a home away from home and now our go-to place for our pre-holiday jaunt down to Berkeley.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Victorian Flat Near 4th Street - Pet Owner Upscale
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261268vbi
(510) 207-1494 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
Fort Bend County, Texas
5

Wonderful Stay And Special Service Over The Holiday Season!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
My husband and I stayed in the downstairs flat of Mitchell House over the Christmas/Holiday season while visiting our adult children and grandchildren in Oakland. Our host and hostess,Brad and Pear, were very gracious and so helpful that they even procured a Christmas tree with lights on it and put it up in a corner of the front room ! Our grandchildren were able to trim the tree on several visits with us (in addition to having their home tree). This activity, children's DVDs, and other toys and books our hosts provided, kept the kiddies happy while their parents chatted with us.

We enjoyed delicious buffet meals on 2 evenings, and a few casual breakfasts and lunches,too. We were able to serve food easily with use of well-stocked kitchen ( re. housewares), and furniture in the dining-room and breakfast nook areas. One night we had a big Chinese take-out feast! On another night we cooked simple holiday fare. Both meals were for 9 people. Being able to have family visit us casually was fun, as it freed our children from too much drudgery, and from feeling as though they were "slaves" to our needs and senior-citizen routines! They, in turn, could serve holiday meals and entertain with less pressure, confusion, and crowding.

The property is close to an excellent supermarket (Andronico's) which has a full range of staple foods and very good deli, bakery, meat, and fresh produce sections--with organic choices. One can obtain pre-cooked and prepared foods there easily, too. It was fun to walk and shop in the area at smaller specialty food and wine and gift stores, as well. Fourth Street was alive with the holiday spirit: a great place to pick up unique stocking gifts, and to have reasonably priced meals at a number of cafes.
We went to The Nutcracker at the San Francisco Ballet and to a play at the Berkeley Rep.Theatre with grandchildren. We had access to a car, but could have travelled to those spots by BART or by bus. We enjoyed Scott's restaurant in Jack London Square,on the Bay estuary, and Lake Chalet restaurant on Lake Merritt, both in Oakland. Both were cheery, warm places with good food, welcome spots for family get-togethers in the winter season.

Mitchell House was delightful, with its Victorian atmosphere: big windows, comfy beds, and feeling of light and space. It is very clean, comfortable, well-heated and well-located. The Internet access and TVs are handy. We will definitely stay there again and recommend it to one and all.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3