Walton farmhouse rental - View from upstairs bedroom window
View from upstairs bedroom window
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Walton Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
Farmhouse, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

Go To Youtube and put in Dryden Brook Farm to see latest videos of the property. Description is below.

--WE NOW TAKE PAYPAL (CREDIT CARDS) AS PAYMENT--

====JUST ONE HOUR DRIVE FROM BETHEL WOODS CENTER FOR THE ARTS-ORIGINAL SITE OF THE 1969 WOODSTOCK MUSIC FESTIVAL=====

====Swim in our pond, a local lake, or at the free to use Town olympic sized pool====

====45 MINUTES FROM WALTON TO EXCELLENT WINTER DOWNHILL SKIING SUCH AS BELLAYRE MOUNTAIN IN THE NORTHERN CATSKILLS=====

Come and enjoy our Catskill Mountain retreat. Private, extremely quiet, 36 acre farm with 1800's farmhouse, chicken coup, and huge post and beam barn. The property has a spring fed swimming pond and a large year round stream with concrete bridge over to barn. One can fish either in the stocked pond,private stream, public reservoir (Cannonsville), or on the world famous Delaware River. The property also has a separate campsite at the top of the mountain boasting a panoramic view of the Catskill mountains and valley below. There are also several other campsites on the property. Best of all, our farm borders New York City's Cannonsville Reservoir offering thousands of additional acres to hike or hunt.

====NOTE: THE ENTIRE FARM WILL BE FOR YOUR PERSONAL USE. NOBODY ELSE WILL BE ON THE PROPERTY WHILE YOU ARE THERE=====

====IF SWIMMING IN OUR POND IS NOT YOUR THING, THERE IS A BEAUTIFUL, OLYMPIC SIZED POOL IN THE VILLAGE OF WALTON THAT IS FREE FOR OUR GUESTS TO USE ANY TIME DURING THE SUMMER MONTHS====

====THERE IS ALSO A STATE PARK WITH A LAKE AND BEACH FOR SWIMMING NEARBY======

Trophy hunting is available at our farm or on the DEP property (separate hunting permit required offered for free and easily downloaded by internet). The reservoir itself is walking distance from the house. This reservoir offers excellent fishing, either from the shore or from our farm's reserved row boat for your personal use. The Cannonsville Reservoir is also open to sailing, canoing, and Kayaking (boat must be cleaned for use on the Reservoir). At night, one can look up at the stars and you’ll think you’re in a planetarium. On Spring nights, our pond comes alive with the serene sound of peepers which will lull you to sleep. The farm is truly a beautiful place to stay. Bird watching and wildlife photography is also a favorite past time at the Farm with Bald Eagles, Blue Herons, Wild Turkeys, deer, and other wildlife regularly seen.

Inside the home, make yourself comfortable with a game room (pool and ping pong table), stocked modern kitchen, wood stove, screened in porch, four bedrooms (large master bedroom on the main floor), open living room with exposed wooden hand hewn beams, as well as knotty pine throughout. The house comes with its own chicken coup and you can enjoy fresh eggs every day (don't worry about feeding or caring for the chickens-they have a self waterer and self feeder). If hunting is not your thing, then cozy up to the wood fire and read a book or sip some hot chocolate as you watch the snow falling gently on the fields. Although the farm is isolated, there is free wireless internet, free coast to coast long distance telephone, as well as 2 satellite televisions (50 inch HDTV in master bedroom). We also have one VCR and two DVD players (one hooked to the 50 inch HDTV). House also comes with a water cooler filled with water from our very own spring as well as a Keurig Coffee Maker (pods sold at our local supermarket).

Rate is:

Low Season (January 2nd to June 30)-250 for first night, 250 for second night, and 100 for each additional night. For each person above 8 in party, a 10 percent per day additional fee per person will apply)

High Season and Holidays-375 per night first night, 375 per night second night, and 125 per night each night thereafter. Again, number in party over 8 will have an additional 10 percent per night rate applied (only applies to guests over age 5).

------LONG TERM RENTALS CONSIDERED AT A 25 PERCENT REDUCED FEE----

Maximum Occupancy is 8. For each additional person over the age of 5, additional fee of 10 percent of total fee per person per night will apply.

A deposit of $200 is required to reserve property. Balance and security deposit are due 2 weeks (14 days) before the rental. If emergency comes up and you cannot rent property, credit will be provided for another rental date (based on availability and within one year of original rental date).

A $200 Security deposit is required and fully refundable after departure. We hold (do not deposit) this separate check. It is either returned to guest or destroyed by owner one week after rental is complete.

There is also an $100 cleaning fee. The house will be professionally cleaned prior to your arrival.

Keywords: Farm

More Details
Hide Details

My wife and I bought this property in 2007 as a weekend vacation spot. We have been enjoying it ever since. We have improved greatly on the property and friends have told us what a great place the farm would be to rent. We decided then to share our vacation spot with others.

William A. Haas purchased this farmhouse in 2007

27 Reviews of Property 261117 in Walton, New York

FARM Bordering Thousands of ACRES OF STATE LAND WITH MARKED TRAIL SYSTEM
average rating of 4.95 based on 27 reviews
business
FARM Bordering Thousands of ACRES OF STATE LAND WITH MARKED TRAIL SYSTEM
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261117vb
(845) 541-2419 (New York, USA)
Walton Catskills
5

Great for kids

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We and our 3 boys (ages 5 - 8) had a wonderful week here. So nice to curl up around the wood stove and watch the Winter Olympics. Also, we were blessed with a good foot and a half of snow on the ground so we had some world-class sledding ourselves on the road up to the mountain top. After two days of riding/packing it down you could sled it from the top of the mountain all the way to the bottom.

A particular deer passed through the back yard each day, to drink from the stream and nibble some of the apples that remained on one tree. We saw many different small mammals' footprints; wish I could identify them.

And our kids made the most footprints of all. They had a blast tromping through the stream and up around the mountain. And also playing with the pool table / ping pong table. If you have kids that like the outdoors, they'll probably have a great time here. Ours are already asking us to go back.

The ground floor layout is really nice: a bunch of connected open spaces, so people can be in their own area -- preparing meals, eating, watching TV, playing pool -- but still all connected. Cozy and relaxed.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
FARM Bordering Thousands of ACRES OF STATE LAND WITH MARKED TRAIL SYSTEM
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261117vb
(845) 541-2419 (New York, USA)
Walton Catskills
5

Great Friends Getaway for New Years 2014!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The house was exactly as described. It had a very warm vibe and was spacious. It was the perfect combination of past and present. A farm house, with a neighboring chicken coupe, that also had flat panel TVs, cable television, and wi-fi! The location was amazing. There was snow everywhere and a hike path which went over a bridge and up a small mountain so that we could have an incredible view of the surrounding area and the valley. The property owners were very friendly and patient enough to answer all of our many questions. Long before we even left we we were all saying that we hope to come back in the summertime.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
FARM Bordering Thousands of ACRES OF STATE LAND WITH MARKED TRAIL SYSTEM
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261117vb
(845) 541-2419 (New York, USA)
Walton Catskills
Chester, NJ USA
5

One of a Kind Farmhouse Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My two sons and I stayed at the farmhouse last week. We stayed 7 nights and it was too short of a time--we loved it! To have the experience of all that open space, fresh eggs from the henhouse in the morning, a cold water swimming pond whenever we wanted, open meadows to wander in--was fabulous. We live in the suburbs and are established here, so having a farm is not in the cards for us now. However, because Bill and his wife Shari rent theirs out at such a generous price, my boys and I could have an unforgettable experience. I highly recommend this farm.

We boated in the Cannonsville Reservoir (pass needed, no problem go to NYDEC website), fished for brook trout in Dryden Brook which runs through the property (put them all back in the water--they are too small and perfect to harm), hiked to a scenic vista, and had delicious food which we prepared in the farm's kitchen.

The house itself is so typical Catskills that I loved it. It is white with green trim on the outside, and has a renovated interior. Bill and Shari have placed beautiful knotty pine throughout, the house has newish windows, and the floors are wide-plank wood. It is solid, rustic, and very livable--even if you are not in the Catskills for the pure hunting or fishing experience.

My teenage boys loved the game room which has ping pong and pool. I grew up with older siblings who were very competitive at those games; it was a joy to see my own boys battle it out in ping pong and learn fun, new games. They hadn't really played much prior to coming to Dryden Brook.

The local grocery store we used was The Big M--not far at all--and we went for many hikes. My sons (who caught smallmouth bass and trout during the week--the big trout are in the West Branch below Cannonsville...we fly-fished), loved to watch television at night on one of the farmhouse's large flat screens. Of course, it was Shark Week, so that helped...

As the advertisement went, it was indeed an old-fashioned Catskill summer...one which memories are made of. Indeed, cool nights (averaged in the low 60's, high 50's), and warm days (but never humid during the week we went in early August). Two other words that come to mind about Dryden Brook might be bucolic and pastoral.

If you want a unique experience for your family, Dryden Brook Farm is for you. It is quiet enough to think and the brook is just loud enough to help you dream...

Kerri and family...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Kerri,

Thank you for the kind words and we're so glad you enjoyed yourselves! Hope to see you again soon.

Bill and Shari Haas
business
FARM Bordering Thousands of ACRES OF STATE LAND WITH MARKED TRAIL SYSTEM
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261117vb
(845) 541-2419 (New York, USA)
Walton Catskills
Brooklyn, NY
5

This Might Become A Tradition

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This place is absolutely amazing! This visit was our second within a year and we loved it even more than the first. We made campfires in the fire pit during the constant light snowfall, played pool and table tennis, and we *almost* completed a puzzle! The town of Walton is only twenty minutes away and features some great antique shopping opportunities. The owner, Bill, is the friendliest person. Just like last time, he went out of his way to make sure we had a great time. The pictures do not do this place justice. The house is gorgeous and convivial. The property, with its babbling brook and barn, is about as serene as you can get. It's the perfect getaway from the big city and it has become a cherished location for me, my wife and our friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
FARM Bordering Thousands of ACRES OF STATE LAND WITH MARKED TRAIL SYSTEM
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261117vb
(845) 541-2419 (New York, USA)
Walton Catskills
5

Perfect Thanksgiving Break

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We spent this year's Thanksgiving Break at Dryden Brook and had an absolutely great time, thanks in a large part to the great venue set in a beautiful location.

The house was cozy and packed with character (as another reviewer has mentioned, the photographs don't do the place justice).

We spent the days walking - beautiful, quiet tracks right from the door, and the evenings sitting around the lovely wood burning stove, playing pool and watching movies on the huge plasma screen

Walton had everything we needed that we hadn't brought with us, the supermarket is great, and then once at the house we were treated to complete seclusion.

Bill is great to deal with - easy going and friendly and the value of the property is incredible by comparison to other places listed on this site.

I can't recommend it enough - we'll be back, I'd love to try it in the summer months when we can sit around the firepit or paddle in the stream!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
FARM Bordering Thousands of ACRES OF STATE LAND WITH MARKED TRAIL SYSTEM
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261117vb
(845) 541-2419 (New York, USA)
Walton Catskills
brooklyn
5

super cozy getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
It has been a week since our little getaway to this cozy farm house, and we haven't stopped talking about it since. We're already planning our next visit!
The house is awesome! The views are breathtaking! The owner Bill is the nicest guy you will ever meet! If you get lucky he'll bring along Lucy, the cutest golden retriever.
I must say, this has been a weekend that we will remember!

5 stars from us, the langers.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
FARM Bordering Thousands of ACRES OF STATE LAND WITH MARKED TRAIL SYSTEM
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261117vb
(845) 541-2419 (New York, USA)
Walton Catskills
Rockland County, NY
5

Relaxing and Wonderfull Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We had so much fun at the Farm!!! The owners gave us a quick tour and gave us a little background about the farm, which was very nice. Then we let the kids loose : ) They got to run around outside, hike, throw rocks into the stream, and their favorite was making smores in the fire pit each night. The house is very nice, it had everything and more to keep us busy during a rain shower during one of the evenings. It was everyones first experience having farm fresh eggs right from the chickens (getting to collect them ourselves). We loved the fall colors! We couldnt have asked for a nicer getaway.... its close to home, but you feel like your in a different world.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
FARM Bordering Thousands of ACRES OF STATE LAND WITH MARKED TRAIL SYSTEM
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261117vb
(845) 541-2419 (New York, USA)
Walton Catskills
Goshen, NY
5

Nature at its best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Although less than 2 hours from our home, Dryden Brook Farm is a world away! From spotting black bears to wild turkeys, hearing birds singing and coyotes howling, nature is at its best in this beautiful, relaxing oasis. We enjoyed the peaceful surroundings so much, we only ventured into town to visit a few antique shops and enjoy some ice cream. My only purchase was a small, white ceramic rooster as a momento of this great place - and the wonderful fresh eggs we all enjoyed. We discovered that our dog, Annie, is a real "water dog," as she had so much fun splashing and chasing balls in the stream. We hiked to the clearing and took some awesome pictures of the view, and for hours would just sit on the porch, catching up on our reading - heaven! Was hoping the porch swallow's eggs would hatch during our stay, but I'm sure the mama bird will appreciate the peace and quiet upon our leaving to finish her nesting. Our only regret was when we had to leave, but we hope to be back to share this "piece of God's country" with family. Thank you for everything, Bill!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
business
FARM Bordering Thousands of ACRES OF STATE LAND WITH MARKED TRAIL SYSTEM
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261117vb
(845) 541-2419 (New York, USA)
Walton Catskills
Brooklyn, NY
5

The Perfect Place for a Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My wife and I had the immense pleasure of staying here along with 6 of our friends. The house was gorgeous. We spent our evenings playing pool and ping-pong on the convertible table while keeping ourselves warm with an amazing wood-fired stove. Every morning, we would get up and refill the water cooler bottle with water from the natural spring that feeds the crystal-clear pond on the property, collect eggs from the chicken coop and let the chickens run free. The fire pit was also great during the cold late-winter nights that we were there. We roasted marshmallows and made delicious oreo s'mores. Bill, the owner, was a delightful host. He was very attentive to our needs and even went out of his way to ensure we were able to get into the house after our initial arrival was delayed.

The land surrounding the house is just as fantastic. The marked trail was beautiful. We even traveled a little off of the path and found this wooden bench with a perfect view of the frozen reservoir.

Gezellig is a word in my wife's native country of the Netherlands that does not have a direct translation in english, but it can be summarized as cozy and convivial. I cannot think of a better word to describe our say here.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
business
FARM Bordering Thousands of ACRES OF STATE LAND WITH MARKED TRAIL SYSTEM
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261117vb
(845) 541-2419 (New York, USA)
Walton Catskills
New York
5

Great stay over the holidays

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We loved this farm, the house, the barn, chickens, and the nature around! The house and the fireplace is great! Rooms are very comfortable, the view of the stream and pond from the bedroom window is amazing, and it was a great place to celebrate New Years. We also loved the marked trail made by the owner and we hiked there twice. And we even took water from the well home to drink. The property is huge and our dog loved running around all over the place. Would absolutely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1