6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres condo rental - living-room with fire-place and balcony
living-room with fire-place and balcony
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

I invite you to book your Paris stay in my stylish French apartment located on the Left Bank of the River Seine in Saint-Germain-des-Prés. It's the perfect pied-à-terre, on one of the city's most delightful boulevards, right in the heart of Paris. Just steps away from the famous cafes like Les Deux Magots and Brasserie Lipp which were frequented by intellectuals and artists such as Simone de Beauvoir, Jean-Paul Sartre, Ernest Hemingway, Albert Camus and Pablo Picasso. Experience the freedom of having your own apartment in Paris.

It is 34 m2 with one bedroom, one bathroom, separate living room and comfortably accommodates 2 people. It has been refurbished in September 2011. It has a flat-panel TV, cable, DVD player, radio with mini-jack entry, phone, range, washer, microwave oven/convection oven and a high-speed Internet connection. It is located on the top (6th) floor, in a beautiful Haussmann building from the 1860's with NO elevator.

Smoking and pets are not permitted.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
Hide Details

As a translator , I spent many years in big cities abroad, living in short-term furnished rentals. I bought this apartment in September 2011 and have tried to make it as pleasant and relaxing as possible for someone away from home.

My own apartment is in the neighborhood, rue Gay-Lussac, on the other side of Luxembourg Garden.

The Owner purchased this condo in 2011

You just have everything at your doorstep:an open-air traditional market, a supermarket, a pharmacy, restaurants and cafés, elegant and trendy shops, cinemas, the River Seine at one end of the street, Luxembourg Gardens at the other end,concerts in small churches, beautiful historical monuments and buildings everywhere, half a dozen different buses, 2 metro stations - and RER for easy access to airport.

I also have a special feeling for this area since I was lucky enough to live in the neighborhood when I was a student.

Back then, I had a room (but with no view ! ) between Sorbonne and Odeon; I Ioved to go to art-house cinemas and buy food at the open-air Buci market , which has now sprawled to the foot of the building rue de Seine.

Have a drink on the balcony ( or on the sofa in winter!) while watching the sunset against the steeple of Saint-Germain des Prés church and the laser light at the top of the Eiffel Tower

20 Reviews of Property 260878 in 6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres, France

Saint-Germain-Ds-P Charming Bright Sunny Apartment with a View
average rating of 4.95 based on 20 reviews
business
Saint-Germain-Ds-P Charming Bright Sunny Apartment with a View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p260878vbi
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
5

Excellent Left Bank Apparment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This apartment was perfect for my month-long stay in Paris. The layout is concise and efficient but with large opening windows and a sunny view from the top floor the space feels larger than the floor area might suggest. The bathroom has been recently updated and the shower had just been tiled prior to my stay. I found having a clothes washer in the apartment to be very convenient and the kitchenette is certainly adequate for preparing a meal. As a student, having high speed WiFi internet access was definitely a plus.
The location was ideal for my stay. I was studying at the Alliance Française and I found the Odéon metro stop, which is just a short walk from the apartment, rather convenient for commuting to class. The neighborhood has many different options for dining with good variety for both cuisine and price. Being located in central Paris, many of the city’s tourist sites including the Louvre, Notre Dame, and the Jardin du Luxembourg are within walking distance from the apartment.
Lastly, I would like to say that it was a pleasure to be Anne-Marie’s tenant. She is very professional and was quite helpful both prior to my arrival and during my stay. Upon arrival she gave me a full tour of the apartment and even recommended some shops and restaurants in the neighborhood. She is well-traveled and speaks perfect English (and of course French too!) I would definitely stay at the apartment again and I would recommend the apartment to other visitors to Paris. Thank you Anne-Marie!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Saint-Germain-Ds-P Charming Bright Sunny Apartment with a View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p260878vbi
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our stay in this charming Paris apartment was perfect. It's centrally located in a busy neighborhood, walking distance to the beautiful Luxembourg Gardens and the Seine, and to multiple Metro stations and bus stops. There's a grocery store a few doors down and many wonderful restaurants.

The apartment itself is small, but comfortable and well-appointed. The bed is firm and restful, the bathroom modern and the tiny kitchen has everything you need for light, convenient meals. We particularly appreciated being able to do our laundry in the apartment. There is a climb to the top floor, but we didn't mind it, and the beautiful view over the Parisian rooftops was worth it.

We were charmed by the photos and found the light, airy apartment to be exactly as advertised. Anne-marie is a wonderful hostess and we fully enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Saint-Germain-Ds-P Charming Bright Sunny Apartment with a View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p260878vbi
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
Phildelphia, PA, USA
5

Lovely Apartment and Owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I stayed at this lovely apartment for 10 days at the end of May. The photos do not really do it justice because it is much more light, airy and pristine than is evident from the photos. Even the bathroom towels have a delicate quality. Anne-Marie treats her renters as if they were her personal guests - she truly wants them to enjoy her apartment and she is extremely responsive to any request any time of day. This location, well described in other reviews, is unique in the number of cafes, shops, grocery stores, patisseries, etc. located within one or two blocks, in addition to two metro lines. And while there are many tourists to be found, the majority of occupants are Parisian. I've stayed in a number of different locations in prior visits to Paris and find this location to be exceptional. Yes, the steps are a challenge, particularly if you are a senior citizen, but Parisians have lived this way for centuries so visitors can surely take it for a few days!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Saint-Germain-Ds-P Charming Bright Sunny Apartment with a View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p260878vbi
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
New York
5

Wonderful Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We were so happy with our stay at Anne-Marie's apartment. The apartment is in the perfect location; one of the best neighborhoods (for food, shopping and touring), and centrally located so you are only a short walk from destinations in different neighborhoods. Although it is a six flight walk-up, the apartment is the perfect size for two people and you feel like you are a real Parisian living in your flat. It is definitely a better option than a hotel room because you have so much space. The free internet and phone for international calls was a HUGE plus. We would definitely stay here again. Anne-Marie is so nice and helpful and she even waited for us for hours when we were late coming from the airport! She also met us extremely early in the morning to ensure we made our train out of town. The price was unbeatable as well. Thanks, Anne-Marie!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Saint-Germain-Ds-P Charming Bright Sunny Apartment with a View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p260878vbi
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
Rockville, MD
5

excellent for an energetic couple (no kids)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My fiance and I loved our stay here (10 days) and would absolutely choose to stay at this apartment again. Appeared exactly as advertized- bright, clean and fresh. We loved that there was a small kitchen (we used the fridge, but never tried the stove top) and that we were able to do a small load of laundry as needed. Wifi and internet-tv were welcome amenities too. It IS up six flights of stairs (no elevator), but that was clear in the description- and absolutely WORTH it for the LOCATION. Very short walk to metro, the bank of the Seine (right across from the Louvre), the Latin Quarter, Jardin du Luxemborg... everything! We walked to most things, only taking metro home when tired at the end of the day. The owner was helpful and prompt in arranging the rental agreement, and meeting with us at the beginning and end of our stay. She even reviewed some local restaurants and sights with us and left a binder of business cards in case we were at a loss for inspiration. Very thorough.

If you stay on blvd St. Germain- don't miss the covered arcade (and "La Jacobine" restaurant), and gelato shops off of Rue Seine. We ended up visiting "Snack Time" (by the Odeon metro) for take out paninis more than once. Hokey name, but nice option for a dinner in, with a bottle of wine from the grocery store, when you are exhausted from roaming Paris all day! Also, its a bit of a walk, but hit up "Restaurant Voltaire" for lunch and people watching along the Seine after a morning at Musee d'Orsay.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Saint-Germain-Ds-P Charming Bright Sunny Apartment with a View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p260878vbi
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
Wilmington, NC, US
5

Perfect spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
What a wonderful apartment in the perfect location! Yes, there are many stairs, but it is worth the climb. The apartment is clean, airy and has everything you need. My daughter and I would watch the Eiffel Tower "sparkle" each evening thru the window...gorgeous. Most tourist sites are an easy walk from the apartment plus there are metro lines very close by. The neighborhood is clean and very safe...we two women felt very comfortable walking around at any time. Lots of great cafes nearby, it feels like a neighborhood, not a tourist trap. Anne-Marie was so very helpful and showed us around the area. I will return, this time with my husband.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Saint-Germain-Ds-P Charming Bright Sunny Apartment with a View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p260878vbi
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
Miami
5

Perfect Location and Charming Parisian Apartment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had a wonderful stay at this apartment in the 6th. It was the absolute perfect location for anyone looking to come to Paris. The neighborhood is incredibley charming and exactly what one looks for when trying to experience the Parisian lifestyle. There were lots of cafes and restaurants right out our door, and Anne-Marie was kind enough to show us some of her favorites. There always seemed to be people in the cafes and enjoying themselves, The apartment itself was very charming and exactly what we needed. It was clean and gave us a good amount of space with the bedroom and living room. Anne-Marie was a great host and really made our stay memorable. The views from the apartment are spectacular. Thank you again, Anne-Marie, for our wonderful stay! We hope to be back very soon!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Saint-Germain-Ds-P Charming Bright Sunny Apartment with a View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p260878vbi
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
5

A Perfect Parisian Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The description of this property is everything listed and more. It is charming, cozy, and very clean. One can pretend to be a resident in this well appointed pied-à-terre. There is a very Parisian chair by the window that is perfect for sipping your morning cafe. The location is in our favorite area, which offers great restaurants and shopping practically at doorstep. The Landlady is charming and caring hostess who takes the time to walk you around the area, pointing out her favorite stores. The size of the apartment is much larger than a hotel room, and it is also very quiet.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Saint-Germain-Ds-P Charming Bright Sunny Apartment with a View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p260878vbi
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
Seattle
5

Lovely, Light-Filled Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This is a sweet, clean, light-filled apartment with a spacious sitting area. The landlady Anne Marie is exceptionally nice and helpful and really went out of her way to make this a great experience for us. She even gave us champagne and booked our anniversary dinner at a special landmark restaurant nearby. She was highly responsive to all our inquiries before and during our stay.

We couldn’t imagine a better location: Right in the heart of St. Germaine with only a five-minute walk to two Metro stops and ten minutes or less to the Seine. It felt very safe and friendly and we found loads of excellent restaurants, bistros and cafes extremely close by. Grocery shopping was a breeze- a large grocer just a minute’s walk from our front door.

Travelers should be aware that it's possible to prepare meals here, but the kitchenette is small and not ideal for serious cooking. However, it was absolutely perfect for our needs, as we just wanted a place to store and prepare simple breakfast foods, make our toast and morning coffee, and stash our wines and delicious afternoon snacks, such as artisan cheese, olives, and breads from the local vendors. Honestly, who wants to cook lots of meals on vacation in Paris?

I would suggest to Anne-Marie that she upgrade the shower so it hangs with an overhead attachment. The way it is now you have to hold the showerhead in one hand while you wash/rinse your hair with the other. Not a big deal, but sort of awkward.

Overall, a great price for a lovely apartment and a perfect location.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review, Gail! I have noted your remark about the shower overhead hanging device; actually, there used to be one, but I found it so ugly I got rid of it; I now realize it could have some usefulness...Since the bathroom is scheduled for refurbishment end of January, I am going to try and find something convenient AND nice to look at...
Thank you again for your time and best wishes. Anne-Marie
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Saint-Germain-Ds-P Charming Bright Sunny Apartment with a View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p260878vbi
6th Arrondissement St Germain des Pres Paris
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
5

Great Place! Great Area!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I had a great week long stay at this apartment. Awesome location - easy walking distance to Metro and RER stations; and lots of entertainment, shops, and restaurants nearby. If the weather is nice it is a relaxing 20 minute walk to such attractions as the Louvre and the Musee D' Orsay (or you can grab a quick Metro ride and also be there in minutes). I also loved the Luxembourg Gardens for a nice walk or run to get some exercise. The apartment was clean and well equipped. The free internet phone is a nice bonus.

The owner, Anne-marie was very helpful and incredibly accommodating. She provided a very nice tour of the surrounding area and had lots of suggestions with respect to shopping, sightseeing, and restaurants. All in all, a great vacation experience!
Helpful votes: 1/1