Blacksburg house rental - Summer Sunset: View down the valley from side deck of Blackberry Morning
Summer Sunset: View down the valley from side deck of Blackberry Morning
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Blacksburg House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 8

Only 14 miles to Virginia Tech & Blacksburg. Yet a world apart! In the New River Valley of the Blue Ridge Highlands on 268 private acres. Spectacular views of beautiful surrounding mountains & rolling valley below. Experience stilled time in the wonderfully peaceful solitude of nature. And the warm, inviting welcome of the comfortable, fully-furnished & well-equipped, cedar, fieldstone & glass house. Such a great place to gather family & friends for VT sports events, graduations, class reunions, & moving in your freshman; perfect for your family reunions, weddings, bride or groom's retreat, honeymoons; & awesome outdoor adventures nearby. Or just come and enjoy a relaxing & refreshing vacation with family and friends!

You are going to love being here! It is so very beautiful & so wonderfully peaceful! Listen to the creek flowing & the birds singing and the breeze blowing. The sunsets down the valley & the brilliant stars in the night-sky are awe-inspiring. You can hike anywhere on the land & there are spectacular views from every vantage point. Picnic on the meadows & explore the creeks & park-like woods.

Please Note: Britt Boucher, a naturalist/forester, and his ever-faithful fielddog, Jenna, are currently residing in the studio apartment in the basement of the house. The apartment has a separate entrance and is not connected to the main quarters. And Britt will always respect your privacy at the retreat. Britt is a joy to know and we’re lucky to count him as a friend, as well as to have him advising us in forest and farm management of Clover Hollow Farm. Britt's Bio: Britt is a private Forest and Farm Manager working for the planet to help maintain our farmland and forest health. A farmer & naturalist that spends most of his time “playing” in the dirt, growing food, assessing plant-community health, “listening” to trees, and counseling the forest. Like all true naturalists- quiet, humble, accommodating - he will be respectful of your desire for privacy. But, if you wish, and can catch him… he is always delighted to talk about farming and forest care... and the sounds of the forest at night.

While at Blackberry Morning, experience fun outdoor adventures! -- You can often see whitetail deer in the open pastures around the house early in the morning or late in the afternoon. The wild turkeys are elusive, but you can sometimes see them in the pastures or crossing the road. You can hike the Appalachian Trail at the top of our property. It's a 2.5 mile moderate-hike to Kelly Knob overlook. Other nearby hikes are Angel's Rest, Wind Rock and Dragon's Tooth. The Cascades Nat'l Recreation Site waterfall is just 10 miles West -- a great place to picnic and fly-fish for native trout. There are other wild & stocked trout streams nearby, including Big Stony Creek. The New River has canoeing, kayaking & tubing less than 15 miles West. And there's white-water rafting in West Virginia on the New & the Gauley, about two hours away, and you can bungee-jump off the New River Gorge Bridge in WVA, too. There is also skiing at Winter Place and Snowshoe in W.V., one-two hours West. You can go sailing, motor-boating, water-skiing, swimming & picnicking at Claytor Lake, just an hour away. Stop by Mikey's 7th in Newport and pick up a picnic lunch to take with you. And plan a special gourmet dinner at the Palisades Restaurant in Eggleston while you're here. Great fun!

Yet, we're just 14.5 miles, 25 minutes across two mountains, to Blacksburg & VATech University, where there are all kinds of things to do that you typically find in a university town. Enjoy VATech sports, graduation & special events. Picnic by the Duck Pond, walk on the paved trails around campus, go to concerts on campus and at the smaller venue of the Lyric Theater downtown (old, restored movie-house). And there is a brand-new Performing Arts Center. There are side-walk cafes like Gillie's & Caba Fish Taco where you can hear local music, & great local restaurants like Bull & Bones and Zeppoli's, as well as favorite chains. There are movie theaters and downtown small-shops & mall shopping. There's a year-round indoor pool at the Blacksburg Recreation Center on our side of Blacksburg, where they also have basketball courts, tennis courts, a skateboard ramp, & a hand-in-hand playground on a large open field with picnic shelters. They have great 4th of July fireworks there, too!

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I purchased this property on our honeymoon! He was a new Assistant Professor in M.E. at VATech and I was a late-blooming student in English. We were blessed with the birth of our two sons six and nine years later. We are all VATech Hokies: Hal, M.E. 1960; Suzy, English 1974, Brooks, M.E. 1997, Shane, Biology & Political Science in 2003.

Suzy, Owner purchased this house in 1969

Hal & I fell in love with the farm on our first visit - looking for a place to make our home together. On that beautiful Spring day in April, we walked up the mountain, sat on a big rock and looked down the valley at that incredible view - and knew this was where we wanted to be - forever.

Stunningly beautiful views and wonderfully peaceful environment on a private farm (268 acres) - with a contemporary cedar, fieldstone & glass house that wraps you up in comfort - adjoining the Jefferson Nat'l Forest and the Appalachian Trail, yet close enough to all the people & culture of Blacksburg & VATech.

12 Reviews of Property 259527 in Blacksburg, Virginia

Blackberry Morning: A Beautiful & Peaceful Mountain Retreat
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Blackberry Morning: A Beautiful & Peaceful Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259527
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Wonderful place and beautiful mountain views.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Suzy, we had a wonderful time!!! The house was perfect for us. My husband and I from Birmingham, AL, our older son, his wife and two girls (ages 2 and 5) from Huntsville, AL, and our younger son, his wife and 1 yr. old daughter from Rockville, MD. We had plenty of room for the children to play inside and outside, and room for the adults to sit and talk after the children went to bed. We celebrated a late Christmas together which was so important since we live so far from each other.

Thank you for making our time together so enjoyable. We hope to be able to come back to Blackberry Morning again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Blackberry Morning: A Beautiful & Peaceful Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259527
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Just beautiful inside and out!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
To say this is remote is an understatement. Surrounded on three sides by the Jefferson National Forrest, your view just goes and goes and goes. We came for a family (adults only) 50th birthday party for my husband and I wasn't really sure I was going to get them to leave. The joke was that I put in an extra order for light snow in the mornings because it just looked so beautiful.

There is a movie room that is great for really watching a movie or show but I couldn't get myself out of the comfy chair by the living room window. Could have stayed forever. Beds were soooo comfy. Fluffy towels. Kitchen was well appointed. We were talking about the next stay before we left. Hope we can come back soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Blackberry Morning: A Beautiful & Peaceful Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259527
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
42477 Radevormwald
5

Our second home - far away from Europe!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
After having stayed here in 2012 we gladly returned to this outstanding place! Everything is so peaceful and timeless, giving us time for recreation - the perfect home far away from Europe. The house is very well furnished and Suzy, our landlady, is a very warmhearted host taking care of all our needs. Walt, the very talented artist, and his dog Traveler have just conquered our hearts! We would love to return!
Christiane and Ewald from Germany (near Cologne)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Blackberry Morning: A Beautiful & Peaceful Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259527
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
42477 Radevormwald
5

Unsere zweite Heimat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Nach unserem Aufenthalt 2012 sind wir nun erneut in dieses wunderschöne Haus gerne zurück gekehrt. Die wohltuende Stille, der traumhafte Blick und das so gemütliche und bestens eingerichtete und ausgestattete Haus begeistern uns immer wieder! Suzy ist eine wundervolle Gastgeberin, die alles tut, um unseren Aufenthalt unvergesslich zu machen! Und der Künstler Walt, der im Souterrain wohnt, hat mit seinem Hund Traveler unsere Herzen erobert! Wir möchten bald wiederkehren.
Christiane und Ewald aus Deutschland (nahe Köln)
business
Blackberry Morning: A Beautiful & Peaceful Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259527
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
Jefferson, WI
5

Perfect Appalachian Trail Locale

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My husband, 18 yr old daughter and I drove from Wisconsin to have a long weekend with our 21 yr old son who is walking the Appalachian Trail (AT). Not only was the house beautiful, immaculately clean, well-stocked and with gorgeous views but it is only 3/4 of a mile from an AT crossing! My husband and son sat at the trail one day for six hours as "trail angels", handing out "trail magic" (very welcomed brats, burgers, beer and soda for the passing hikers), my son knowing many of them. My daughter and I walked part of the trail and had a wonderful time. All you need to bring is whatever you want to eat and drink...the house has everything you would need! 2 recommendations to put the house beyond perfect....comfortable reclining chairs and a hot tub on the terrace...watch the stars at night...AAHHH! Walt, the artist in residence living below, and his dog Traveler are great...not intrusive in the least...gave us good advice on a restaurant in Blacksburg called The Cellar...very good. Enjoy!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Blackberry Morning: A Beautiful & Peaceful Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259527
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Fabulous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We wanted a bit more space and home-like environment than a hotel for a weekend with our son, a Hokie. Needless to say, this was an absolutely FABULOUS decison and one I hope to repeat. Peaceful, quiet, a magnificent view, Blackberry Morning offered all the comforts of home, an ability to spread out and enjoy this lovely property. Everything was clean and ready for the weekend,, the abundance of firewood was particuarly appreciated as the weather was most uncooperative. Suzy was a lovely hostess and anticipated our every need (except the Hokies' lacklust performance on the field!). My only hesitation in recommending this retreat is that it may become too popular & I can't get back next year. Honestly, you will love it! Thank you for a lovely, restful weekend. We hope to return next year!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Blackberry Morning: A Beautiful & Peaceful Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259527
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
5

We love Blackberry Morning!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This house was better than our expectations in every possible way. It was clean, cozy, inviting, and spacious and the location is unbeatable. We headed there to see a VT football game and almost didn't want to leave the house to go to the game! We have decided we want to go back and stay there every year. The view is incredible and the night sky is breathtaking. Thank you so much for allowing us to rent this incredible home - it is seriously wonderful and we really enjoyed ourselves. Until next year!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Blackberry Morning: A Beautiful & Peaceful Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259527
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
5

A perfect weekend in a perfect home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
I'm actually not sure that words can do justice here. We frequently rent through Home Away and I can honestly say this home is by far the best that we have ever been fortunate enough to find! It is a home, not just a house, and you feel the comfort and welcome as soon as you walk through the door. The setting is unbelievable and we could not have picked a more beautiful weekend. The fall colors were vivid! It's a beautiful 15 minute drive to the VT campus making it a perfect escape for a student needing some home cooking. As far as the house, it has everything you need...comfortable beds, beautiful views, plenty of towels, every kitchen need, plenty of space, and miles to explore. I often seem to spend days packing and unpacking, but that's not needed here. So much is provided that I truly came home feeling that we all had a true retreat! Walt and Traveler are wonderful neighbors and a pleasure to spend time with. We can't wait to return to visit with them again! Thanks so much Suzy for opening your home and giving my family a much needed break!
business
Blackberry Morning: A Beautiful & Peaceful Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259527
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
Austin, TX
5

Another Fabulous Month in the Mountains!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We returned for another month this year after our wonderful 2010 summer visit. I was slightly concerned about not having it all to ourselves like we did last year. But Walt, the caretaker/artist-in-residence was delightful. Suzy is so easy to work with and made sure our visit was special.

Everything is so comfortable and homey. And the view is incredible! From the living room, back porch, and master there is a view of the mountains. From the other bedrooms, you have the pasture and back ridge view.

Lots of water activites and great hiking are within 30 minutes of the house. And my husband says he hopes the motorcycle roads in heaven are as good as the ones around Newport. We also discovered Claytor Lake this year. They have very reasonable boat rentals there. The lake is beautiful and clean.

I do not want to overdo this review because I want to make sure the place is available for ME next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Blackberry Morning: A Beautiful & Peaceful Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259527
Blacksburg Blue Ridge Highlands
5

My stay at Blackberry Morning Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My family and I just finished a wonderful week at Blackberry Morning. It was perfect. The weather was wonderful and we cooked all of the meals and had everything that we needed from pot and pans to wonderful spices!! It was just the peaceful place that we needed to relax and unwind. Our cousins reunion went great and everyone loved your place. We are already talking about our next visit. The little market there when you turn off of 460 was an excellent source of fresh fruits and veggies. The views from every window is fantastic and I look forward to seeing it in the fall. Thanks again for such a great place to gather with family and friends. I would recommend this to everyone!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1