Austin cottage rental - Living room
Living room
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Austin Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, pool, sleeps up to 4 adults

The half acre of creekside property was once part of a large section of land owned by an engineer who designed and built this home as his family residence. The original plot bordered Congress Avenue and continued to the river which is now Ladybird Lake. It served as a farm and salvage yard with a number of outbuildings and warehouses. Horses were stabled near what is now Riverside Drive. The family house was built in 1919 and the carriage house and hayloft were added sometime in the 30’s along with a highly unusual brick pool. The buildings are comprised of recycled beams and pine flooring from the old Bastrop train station, glass doors from the State Capitol, and bricks that once lined Congress Avenue make the pool and patio. The house has undergone a few renovations and additions over time, while the pool remains as the last brick pool in the Austin area. Its been carefully restored and updated with modern equipment.

Pool

This unique pool was meant for lounging and cooling off in the hot summer months. Given it’s size, it is not suitable for swimming laps. The pool is shared by the main house, however, the owners provide privacy to the guests while they use the pool and backyard. The owners recently re-plastered the pool and modernized it with an UV light system. The pool is open year round, and it is not heated.

Property

The owner's residence is located in the stone cottage West of the rental house. The owners are available to provide guests with suggestions on restaurants, live music venues, shopping and much more! The property is also shared with a clutch of hens, which provide guests with plenty of eggs.

Location

Located two blocks from the popular entertainment district of South Congress Avenue (SoCo) and 5 min walk from downtown, the house is perfectly situated to meet all your needs! We provide a free map to every guest which details all the haunts and hideouts of Old Austin. The map was made by our favorite map maker, Herb Lester (www.herblester.com), and authored by the owners of the property.

Parking

The rental includes a private driveway which can accommodate two cars. We ask that you do not park on the street.

Payment

We accept Credit Cards and eChecks thru HomeAway. We recently started using HomeAway’s Book It Now option. If you find this option confusing, please use the traditional ‘Contact Owner’ section to the right of the screen and enter the dates you are interested in and we will get back to you within 24 hours.

Living Room/Kitchen

The living room and kitchen share a large open space that is anchored by floor to ceiling casement windows. There is a dining room table that seats four comfortably, as well as a sofa and two Barcelona Chairs. The kitchen offers the following conveniences: Full set of dinnerware for 6; State of the art coffee maker; Set of Le Cruesset cookware; Cooking utensils; Mini refrigerator with freezer; Gas stove top; and Counter-top toaster oven

Bedrooms

Each bedroom has beautiful floor to ceiling casement windows with a view of the patio, pool and historic oak tree. One bedroom has door access to the pool and back patio and Full-sized bed. The other bedroom is equipped with a Queen-sized bed. We supply premium pillows and bedding with plenty of spare blankets. In each bedroom you will find a closet with hangers, full length mirror. In the full bedroom there is a 32” flat screen TV with access to over 400 channels including HBO, Showtime, Encore and TCM.

Bathroom

The bathroom provides a full size tub with shower. Guests are offered premium towels by Matteo. Guests will have access to a clothing iron and hair dryer.

Wildlife

The property sits on a creek so there is plenty of wildlife. There is a known friendly family of foxes that lives on the property, along with a family of armadillos. Don’t be surprised if you see them at night.

During the late spring and summer months, you will likely find Mosquitos and other insects all around Austin. Unlike many other metropolitan cities, Austin does not spray for Mosquitos which means we see our fair share. The rental is stocked with both Deet and Deet-free mosquito repellent.

General

We only use and provide all natural cleaning products. We also employ non-chemical extermination every other month.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the pool open? The pool is open year round, however it is not currently heated.

Is there a crib? We offer a portable crib for guests. Please bring your own crib bedding.

Can we cook? Yes! We offer a full gas range, a set of Le Cruesset cookware and all modern kitchen conveniences. The only thing missing is a full-sized oven. We do offer a small toaster oven for other small scale baking. And you can always grill out back.

How many beds? We offer one Full-size bed and one Queen-size bed. While we limit occupancy to four persons, if you require an additional bed for one of the four persons, we can arrange a bed in the loft if given enough notice.

Can we do laundry? Yes! We provide a front loading washer and dryer for your convenience, as well as earth-friendly laundry detergent.

More Details
Hide Details

16 Reviews of Property 259325 in Austin, Texas

Unique, Secluded Carriage House & Pool on .5 acre in SOCO - Walk Downtown!
average rating of 4.8125 based on 16 reviews
business
Unique, Secluded Carriage House & Pool on .5 acre in SOCO - Walk Downtown!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259325
+1 5126982879
Austin Austin area
Maywood
4

Charming, convenient carriage house

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Had the privilege of staying at this property with my mother and two children this past week while visiting Austin. It is super convenient to the SoCo area - we were able to walk to dining and shopping. Short drive to Barton Springs, Whole Foods (both of which are a must do) and the city. I highly recommend Hopdoddy for a casual and awesome meal & shakes and Perla's for an upscale treat (try the salted butterscotch dessert!).

The house itself is very well maintained, clean and comfortable. Had no problems with the beds or any of the appliances. The kitchen was perfect for breakfast and lunch in when desired. The dorm sized fridge held juices, bread, eggs, water, milk and cold cuts to get us through 4 days. Having the modern, high efficiency washer & dryer available was a huge plus. Detergents and ample personal care items were available as well.

The house is set on a beautiful piece of property on the end of a very quiet, safe block. There is ample shade in the back and beautiful plantings in front. In the evening the owner's chickens trot about in the front yard along with the friendly kitty which we all really enjoyed.

My daughter loved the pool the one time she used it. It is secluded and grotto-esque in the backyard - an oasis. Very clean even though chlorine is not used. My only gripe about this property is that the rules state not to use the pool while the robot is in use. Sadly, the robot was in the pool our entire last two days which disappointed the kids. While the owners seem friendly and I'm sure a simple phone call would have remedied the situation, I didn't want to feel intrusive and would have been uncomfortable doing so. If ample pool access is important to you, this may not be the property to choose.

The photos shown in the listing are accurate and the space is much larger than the photos let on. The front of the home is now white and there is a railing on the loftspace for safety. I would stay here again and recommend this property to others with the condition not to expect 100% unhindered pool access.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Unique, Secluded Carriage House & Pool on .5 acre in SOCO - Walk Downtown!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259325
+1 5126982879
Austin Austin area
5

A perfect home from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed at this fantastic cottage when attending our daughters wedding in Austin and couldn't have hoped for a better equipped, or better situated accommodation.

The tasteful decor and elegant gardens make for a very relaxing atmosphere, a peaceful escape from the hubbub of the city, yet only a short walk from the action to many coffee shops, restaurants and bars. (Though we almost didn't want to leave the lovely house) The world famous bats of Congress Bridge are also just a short walk away and a sight not to be missed!

The owners were super friendly and helpful but non-imposing. I intend to stay here every time I visit, if it's available!
business
Unique, Secluded Carriage House & Pool on .5 acre in SOCO - Walk Downtown!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259325
+1 5126982879
Austin Austin area
5

Faultless in every sense

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
You can't really beat this - a quiet, beautiful house tastefully decorated and furnished, yet with prominent original features, within a short walk of all South Congress and downtown Austin have to offer. It's all on the doorstep, but this remarkable gem is tucked away in a secluded tree-lined street where very little happens apart from birds chattering. It's hard to believe it's so close to, yet such a retreat from, Austin's best bits, and so convenient for travel further afield. It's well equipped and self-contained, and just a really nice place to be.

The owners are both charming and helpful, and clearly care a great deal for this charming retreat. I can't fault it.
business
Unique, Secluded Carriage House & Pool on .5 acre in SOCO - Walk Downtown!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259325
+1 5126982879
Austin Austin area
4

Tucked Away

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I really liked this property. It was private, very well located and unique. The back yard had the most amazing oak tree and it had a romantic feel. I loved the simplicity. It was lovely to lay in bed and look outside. The bed frames were beautiful but they were unstable and the mattresses were very uncomfortable. I am not use to small beds either so that made it challenging to share with my 6 ft tall husband. The kitchen had a small fridge and no ice trays. There was also only a 3 burner cook top and no oven so one would need to plan for simple meals or to eat out. There is a quirkiness about the property that suited us quite well. The pool was old and very fun for us but it is not treated and has a grotto feel to it that may not suit those looking for a pristine dip. Chickens peck at the windows and a lucky 6 toed cat meanders around. I would return but would hope for newer mattresses.
business
Unique, Secluded Carriage House & Pool on .5 acre in SOCO - Walk Downtown!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259325
+1 5126982879
Austin Austin area
Toronto, Canada
5

Austin Oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
It was difficult for my husband and I to pry our daughters out of this gorgeous cottage when the time came to move on ... this place was absolutely magical! There is little to add to previous reviews praising the well thought out decor and general flow of the home; it is simply aesthetically bang-on. The light and super high ceilings just contribute to the chill feeling of this space. We loved the eco friendly amenities and the gorgeous outdoor spaces as well; within two hours of our arrival, we spotted a rather shy coyote outside one of the bedrooms. The birds will serenade you every morning, giving you that awesome "country in the city" feel. It is also, as previously mentioned, extremely well situated; SoCo is sooo close (almost tooo close, what with all of the wonderful little boutiques, restaurants and other treats calling one's name!), and the walk over the South Congress bridge into downtown is definitely do-able. Our daughter, Rae, will forever remember celebrating her landmark 16th birthday here, as will the rest of us. A special shout-out to Chelsea's awesome chickens, to Lazy the dog, and of course, to the lovely Cat. We loved hip, laid-back Austin; this place just epitomizes the city it's in. We shall return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Unique, Secluded Carriage House & Pool on .5 acre in SOCO - Walk Downtown!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259325
+1 5126982879
Austin Austin area
4

Great Location!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The property was very nice and well maintained. The location was ideal as it was a quick 10 min walk to South Congress and a lot of restaurants, FOOD TRAILERS and nightlife. My only complaint is that the pool was not working during our stay. The property owner didn't inform us about this until a couple of days before our arrival. Evidentally it had been raining delaying the repairs. This wouldn't have been an issue except the pool is highlighted in the photos and the website and was one of the main reasons we selected this property. The property owner didn't offer anything in return for the inconvenience.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Unique, Secluded Carriage House & Pool on .5 acre in SOCO - Walk Downtown!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259325
+1 5126982879
Austin Austin area
5

Perfect location, great touches, relaxing stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Property was clean and charming with plenty of personal, arty touches and interesting furniture. And I loved the bookshelf packed with quirky Texas literature and guides from across the decades! And the 'creatures' that adorned the walls and shelves. The place had a sense of life and home from the moment we walked in. The location was perfect, a short stroll to the bustling, colourful SoCo. We could have spent our whole time in Austin exploring this strip. Amazing and interesting food including the famous food trucks, great shopping and plenty of places to hang out with a beer and watch the passing parade or listen to some music. Aaron and Chelsea were wonderful hosts, we first saw them a few days after we arrived but they were interested in having a chat and sharing tips about what to do in their fantastic city. Their customer service was attentive but never obtrusive and they were incredibly lovely people. I would happily recommend this place as a base for exploring Austin or just hanging out. Chelsea and Aaron's friendly cat hangs around out the front and is always happy to have cuddles. The bedding and bathroom is well provided for. The only disappointment was that the pool was empty and even though I'm sure it wasn't hot by Texas standards (it was October) it was hot enough for a swim and I been looking forward to using that space. But all in all, an incredibly pleasant stay, private and quiet and yet a short walk from a really fantastic part of Austin. For us Australians, Austin, Texas felt a lot like home and if we are lucky enough to ever get back we will definitely stay here again :)
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Unique, Secluded Carriage House & Pool on .5 acre in SOCO - Walk Downtown!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259325
+1 5126982879
Austin Austin area
5

Holiday Stay in Austin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had a wonderful time at this quaint contemporary property. The decor was very attractive and suited our fondness for a modern western look. We loved the windows bringing in great lighting and the beds were very comfortable. The close proximity to the shops and restaurants kept us out of the Austin traffic and it was nice to stay close to home while enjoying the Holidays with our children that live there, The process of checking in and out was very convenient and we would definitely stay again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Unique, Secluded Carriage House & Pool on .5 acre in SOCO - Walk Downtown!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259325
+1 5126982879
Austin Austin area
Saint Paul, MN
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
The energy and layout of the place was a perfect retreat - clean, simple, rustic western decoration w/out being kitschy, walking distance from South Congress, the Bat Bridge, and downtown, but quiet and secluded in a meandering neighborhood w/out traffic. The guide books (both historic and current), non-toxic cleansers, and in-line water filter in the kitchen were nice, unexpected additional touches. The hosts were low key and available, and our boys (5&7) enjoyed interacting with them and learning a little about the environment. Have already recommended it to a friend...
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Unique, Secluded Carriage House & Pool on .5 acre in SOCO - Walk Downtown!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259325
+1 5126982879
Austin Austin area
Boston, Massachusettes
5

Wonderful experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
This was the first experience using homeaway, and it was a wonderful experience. The proprietor was freindly, welcoming, and allowed us use of their charming, comfortable, and accessable property.
Great resteraunts are within walking distance, and everything else is an inexpensive cab ride away.
I would recomend this property to anyone, and I would do it again in a heartbeat. Thanks.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway