Harlem apartment rental - St. Nicholas Avenue -- New York City
St. Nicholas Avenue -- New York City
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Harlem Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Garden, Sleeps 4. Non Smoking.

Beautiful apartment, beautiful garden, great location! The apartment was recently renovated and includes everything you would expect in luxury accommodation. Directly above four Subway lines - 10 minutes to mid-town. Near parks, sports club and large 24-hour supermarket. Spacious, fully furnished kitchen with ice maker and dishwasher. There's is no smoking in the apartment or the garden.

We constantly update our calendar so you can see if dates are free for your trip.

Payments: Deposit payments and prepayment of rent may be made by credit card. If you wish to pay the rent in advance, we request that you make these payments before leaving home. When credit card companies see a large debit away from home they often block your card.

The House: This beautiful apartment is on the ground floor of a five floor Brownstone. The house was built in 1888 as a single family house -- five floors plus a cellar! Those were big families back then. During those years, this garden apartment was the kitchen and informal dining room for a very extended family.

The entire row was built at the same time. It was built to match the row just north of the house. The area was made into the Sugar Hill Historic District in 2003. The landmark status assures that the area will continue to improve and that the homes, over time, will be restored to their original splendor.

The Neighborhood: Sugar Hill and Hamilton Heights have long been desirable neighborhoods. Hamilton Heights is named for Alexander Hamilton. Hamilton's country home, The Grange, was located on his estate just south of 145th Street. Today The Grange is part of the National Parks system and can be visited at the north end of St. Nicholas Park.

During the Harlem Renaissance, African Americans made their mark on NYC as they had never been permitted to do so before. And when they could afford it, they wanted to buy a brownstone up on the hill -- everything would be sweet then -- thus - Sugar Hill.

More Details
Hide Details

49 Reviews of Property 259166 in Harlem, New York

Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
average rating of 4.9591837 based on 49 reviews
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
5

Perfect - could not be bettered!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
As a family of four (2 adults and 2 teens) this was the perfect place to stay in NYC. Jim and Matt were extremely welcoming and hospitable and clearly keen for their guests to enjoy New York. The apartment itself was exactly as described. It was spacious and immaculate - very comfortable and incredibly well equipped. The situation was ideal with a choice of subway lines nearby, local supermarkets and a selection of restaurants and takeaways on hand. It was the perfect place to come back to after a long days sightseeing/shopping. Would definitely stay here again if we return to NYC and would recommend it 100% to family and friends.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
5

Splendido!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Che piacere passare un weekend a New York e sentirci come a casa nostra in questo splendido appartamento ad Harlem.

L'appartamento stesso e' esattamente come le foto - camere da letto, bagno, cucina, sala da pranzo, salotto ed il giardino - tutto super sistemato, spazioso, tranquillo e pulitissimo!

Il punto e' numero uno! La metropolitana e' sotto casa e con poche fermate sei al centro di Manhattan. Non c'e' bisogno di taxi. Abbiamo girato dappertutto e ad ogni ora con solo una Metro card di $30. Altre comodita' sono vicinissime - ristoranti di ogni genere, negozi, mercatini e passeggiate caratteristiche.

I proprietari, Jim e Matt, sono stupendi, amichevoli, rispettosi, disponibili e attenti ad ogni nostra esigenza.

Non vedo l'ora di tornare!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
4

Our best decision in NYC was to stay here .

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
When we booked an apartment in Harlem , we weren't sure if we had made the right decision . Even the driver taking us to the apartment questioned our decision . It turned out to be a great decision .
The apartment was perfect for our young family of 4 and to experience a neighbourhood feel that you can't get in a hotel in Times Square - was priceless . The owners were super helpful and the access to the subway was very handy . I recommend this apartment to anyone wanting a great New York experience.
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
5

You have to stay here - it's PERFECT!

You have to stay here - it's PERFECT!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My friends Anna, Lynn and I stayed in this fabulous apartment. All the previous reviews say it all......this is a wonderful place to stay. Matthew and Jim are so nice and make you feel so welcome. The apartment itself is beautiful, very well furnished, very clean, spotless actually and spacious. What you see in the pictures is what you get and more. I can’t say enough good things about this apartment. The subway is on the same block and a short ride to anywhere you want to go in NYC. Lots of great restaurants nearby too. We went to the Red Rooster on Lennox one night. It was excellent and so close to “home”. Staying at this apartment helped make our holiday in New York perfect! I miss it already. We will definitely stay here again. Thanks again for everything. I absolutely loved every minute :) See you soon. Piera
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
5

Perfect place! Anbefales!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Review in Norwegian
Dette var det perfekte stedet for oss! Vi var fire venninner på ukestur til New York, og leiligheten var super! Rommelig og rein, godt utstyrt på bad og kjøkken, med vaskemaskin og tørketrommel. Plasseringen er super med undergrunnsstasjon like ved, med både lokal- og ekspress-baner inn til sentrum. Undergrunnssystemet i NYC er supert. Vi gikk til Central Park en morgen, en fin tur på rundt halvtimen. Nabolaget er rolig og trygt, også seint om kvelden. Jim og Matthew var et svært godt vertskap. De er vennlige og imøtekommende, uten å være påtrengende, og ga oss mange gode tips om spisesteder etc. De fikk oss til å føle oss svært velkomne, og vi kommer svært gjerne igjen! Anbefales!

Review in English
We are so happy we found this apartment for our week in New York! We were four friends, staying for a week, and the apartment was perfect in every way. It’s spacious and clean, and very well equipped. The location is great, just above a subway with both local and express trains. For those not familiar with NYC – the subway system is great! We walked to Central Park once, it took us about half an hour, and it was a very nice walk. The neighborhood is quiet and seems very safe, even late at night. Jim and Matthew were the perfect hosts. They are very friendly and open, without being intrusive, and very helpful with tips and information about New York, and the neighborhood itself. They made us feel very welcome and appreciated as guests. We would all love to return – and we highly recommend a stay here!
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
4

A great Brownstone in Harlem

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The building was exactly as the pictures had depicted it. Matt, Jim and Don were extremely welcoming and helpful. The advice they gave us on our arrival was perfect. The accommodation was very close to the subway which was really handy/ There is a local shop a few doors down which was great for those last minute items. We felt safe during our stay as did our two teenage daughters. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to friends.
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Great spot! We went to NYC for the first time with our two girls who are 11 & 12. They had a great time. We never felt unsafe in the neighborhood or the city in general. The gentlemen that own and operate the rental are great and helpful. Thank you for a great time!!!
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
5

Stay HERE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
From the moment we booked our stay to the moment we left, everything was perfect. Rainy? 4 umbrellas were provided. Need coffee? In the cabinet next to all the accoutrements. Wondering what to do, where to eat? A folder is waiting for you with directions, suggestions, and history of the neighborhood.
The apartment is beautiful, the beds are ultra-comfortable, the neighborhood is great, transportation is seamless. Individual climate controls for the bedrooms. You will not find a better apartment or nicer, more thoughtful hosts. Thanks, guys! See you again, I hope!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
5

The one in Czech

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
As Jim asked us to provide a review in czech, here is it:-) to sum up in english - the apartment is very convenient and clean, it is as described in the listing and is very close to the subway which is going directly below the appartment and some trains are so loud that you can very clearly hear it. However you can get used to it quickly. Jim is very sympathetic host, he provided us with a lot of helpful information and recommendations. Jim - thanks a lot for that!

V NY jsme stravili jeden tyden. Byt se nachazi v prizemi domu, je velmi cisty a pohodlny, fotografie odpovidaji skutecnosti. Byt je vybaven kuchyni, v blizkem okoli je nekolik obchodu s potravinami. V byte je obcas slyset metro projizdejici pod domem, obcas i hluk z prvniho patra - da se na to zvyknout pomerne rychle a pokud jdete spat dostatecne unaveni, ani vas to nevzbudi. Metro je cca 100m od domu, expresnim vlakem se do centra dostanete za 15 min, o hodinu dele trva metrem cesta na JFK. Na Yankee stadion lze dokonce dorazit pesky. Jim byl velmi pozorny hostitel, poskytl nam radu uzitecnych rad a informaci - ty ostatne obdrzite uz v emailu, ve kterem vam bude odpovidat na vas pozadavek na ubytovani. Toto ubytovani urcite doporucuji.
Owner's Response: Thanks Blanca -- our first Czech review!
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
5

home away it is!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed in the apartment for one week and enjoyed it very much. The apartment was clean, comfortable, and very appealing! The owners are always around when needed and very helpful. We loved the neighborhood and the express subway line which is stationed at the next block. We would also like to mention the completely equipped kitchen which is usable to prepare any meal.
We would definetely recommend this apartment and would return in the future.
Thank you guys!
Shalom,
Aviva L., Batia and Gideon H.
Israel