Cayman Brac house rental - 180 degree unobstructed views from house
180 degree unobstructed views from house
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Cayman Brac House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms- Master, guest, detached studio,1.5 baths, sleeps six adults

Located on the more desirable North 'sunset' side which generally enjoys consistantly calmer water, the house is far enough up from West end airport to insure peace & quiet day round. This property is considered one of the most beautiful pieces of oceanfront land on the island with a wide natural soft sand beach. Our waterfront is not rough ironshore like most properties & is not covered with rocks. Boasting 350 ft. of utterly private ocean front, the house is surrounded by 3.5 acres of old growth sea grape, coconut, mahogany, thatch palm & almond tree forest. The house is high up affording spectacular veiws. This property is truly unique; you will not find another beach front rental property with this much genuine privacy, this class of unobstructed views, breathtaking sunsets, soft sandy beach, ease of water access and utterly superior shoal reef snorkeling in four feet of water right off the shoreline. The large beach side hammock hut tops everything off. Absolutely Brac's best!

In an often stressful and scary world Cayman Brac is an island offering genuine friendliness, devoid of crime, where people don't lock their doors or even take the keys out of their cars. From the white sandy beaches of the West End to the rugged cliffs of the East End, the clear blue Caribbean Sea surrounds you in all directions and there is an amazing array of activities to fill your days, or just relax in a hammock on your own private beach.

With what are arguably the most progressive environmental protection policies in the Caribbean & virtually no soil or chemical run off from agricultural activities, Cayman Brac boasts some of the most pristine and dramatic snorkeling & scuba diving in the world in crystal clear water averaging 100 ft visibility. Dramatic cliffs, unique to Cayman Brac alone, provide endless opportunity for hiking, caving & climbing. For the nature lover there is unique flora & fauna including an amazing number of native & migratory bird species easily observable at the islands various nature preserves. And your just a short boat ride or ten minute flight away from more adventure on Brac’s sister island of Little Cayman.

Despite Bracs diminutive size and very small population, nearly every service you could need or want is available. There are well stocked grocery stores, a good selection of restaurants & bars featuring local entertainment, dive operations, fishing charters and excellent medical facilities (including a decompression chamber on island).

More Details
Hide Details

Born and raised in Hawaii, I moved to Stockholm, Sweden in 1990. One winter was all the motivation needed to begin a comprehensive search for a suitably located winter home. The Cayman Islands and Cayman Brac in particular, singularly fulfilled all our criteria. We wanted a home in a place with dramatic, pristine, natural beauty in a friendly, peaceful, quiet and safe environment. Having spent my life traveling the world I can honestly say that Cayman Brac is perhaps one of the most special little islands you will ever have the privilege of visiting.

In an often stressful and scary world Cayman Brac is an island offering genuine friendliness, devoid of crime, where people don't lock their doors or even take the keys out of their cars. From the white sandy beaches of the West End to the rugged cliffs of the East End, the clear blue Caribbean Sea surrounds you in all directions and there is an amazing array of activities to fill your days with, or just relax in a hammock on your own private beach.

Kimber Tracy purchased this house in 1997

With what are arguably the most progressive environmental protection policies in the Caribbean & virtually no soil or chemical run off from agricultural activities, Cayman Brac boasts some of the most pristine and dramatic snorkeling & scuba diving in the world in crystal clear water averaging 100 ft visibility. Dramatic cliffs, unique to Cayman Brac alone, provide endless opportunity for hiking, caving & climbing. For the nature lover there is unique flora & fauna including an amazing number of native & migratory bird’s species easily observable at the islands various nature preserves. And your just a short boat ride or ten minute flight away from more adventure on Brac’s sister island of Little Cayman.

And despite its diminutive size and very small population, nearly every service you could need or want is available. There are well stocked grocery stores, a good selection of restaurants & bars featuring local entertainment, dive operations, fishing charters and excellent medical facilities (including a decompression chamber on island).

30 Reviews of Property 259014 in Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands

Amazing, pristine beauty on 3 acres with 350 ft. of utterly private beachfront
average rating of 4.9666667 based on 30 reviews
business
Amazing, pristine beauty on 3 acres with 350 ft. of utterly private beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259014
+1 727 452-2334
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
Fairfield County, Connecticut, USA
5

Intimate luxury

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
For context, we are a boomer-age, scuba diving couple who have traveled to St. Vincent, St. Lucia, Vieques, Barbardos, numerous Bahamian islands, Fiji, Tahiti, as well as various locales in western Europe. One of us has been coming to the Brac for 20+ years, the other for 8. We seek accommodations with character that are also comfortable to live in and appealing to our sense of aesthetic. This visit to Cayman Brac was 15 months after Hurricane Paloma, and we found the house and the island to be in astonishingly good shape -- a testament to the resiliency, resolve and character of Brackers.

This house is a gem. You enjoy enormous privacy, yet are within three minutes of two markets and less than 10 minutes from dive operators. The sea view is magnificent from the house and deck, and the covered, seaside hammock hut is perfect for shady reading and dozing. The house itself is beautifully furnished with "real" furniture rather than indestructible patio furniture, including area rugs and artwork, so you feel like you're in a home instead of a sterile rental.

Being a house on the north side, the upper-level open deck is largely shaded by the house. This is valuable for temperature and sun protection. Sliding doors in the living room and master bedroom open to the deck, which is furnished with lounges, a table and chairs.

The king bed in the master is comfortable, the upstairs bath has an adult-height sink and counter top, plus drawers and cupboards where you can easily store your stuff instead of balancing it on the toilet tank top or worse, the floor. The tub-shower has good water pressure. The "L-shaped" layout of the kitchen, dining area and living room provides cross ventilation (also a/c), lots of light, and a sense of togetherness mixed with some visual privacy. We did a lot of cooking, and all appliances were modern and fully functional. There's wired internet access in the living room in case, like one of us, life without The New York Times is not worth living (you provide the computer).

The house "comes with" a local manager, who is top notch. He'll store some basic groceries for you in advance (when you request), meet you at the airport and take you to the house, show you the ropes, and is available to quickly respond to any request for assistance or information.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 32/32
business
Amazing, pristine beauty on 3 acres with 350 ft. of utterly private beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259014
+1 727 452-2334
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
Olympic Peninsula, Washington State
5

Pretty much perfection.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Finishing up three wonderful weeks on Cayman Brac, and it's hard to imagine how this house could be better. Secluded, yet minutes from everything. Altho Cayman Brac is primarily a divers' destination, I picked it for its rural nature, and, honestly, because of this great house. My husband went with the Scuba Shack for 14 dives; he couldn't have been happier with the crew, the smaller groups, and the dive sites. While we entered the sea at many places (most shoreline is iron-shore), we finally happily admitted that the most fascinating snorkeling was smack-dab in front of this house. Just wear reef shoes to walk in to a sandy spot (sorry little sea urchins) and then get into your fins. Lots of healthy coral, sponges, reef fish. Yesterday we saw a "squadron" of squid! This morning we awoke to find a Night Heron on the deck.
The hands-down highlight was a boat snorkeling trip to Little Cayman with this property's manager, Derwin Scott. DO NOT MISS this! Derwin is a gem, and a wealth of local knowledge and experience.
We liked being on the north side of the island, which is more densely populated with year-round "Brackers", and generally has calmer seas. The south side, still beautiful, is primarily condominiums and private homes. A terrific place on the south side is the Public Beach which, each time we visited, was virtually deserted. Actual powdery sand there, and easy access for swimming and snorkeling.
We enjoyed the Brac Museum, particularly the way the curator, Ms. Lisa Mcfarlane, greeted us and answered all our questions about the history of the "Brac", especially the hurricane of 1932, which pretty much wiped out this island. We found everything we needed at the 3 large grocery stores, Marketplace, Billy's, and Kirkconnells. Virtually everything arrives here by barge, and is expensive, particularly if it's the least bit exotic.
Favorite local restaurants were the Star (escovitch fish!), Coral Isle (goat curry!), and the place next to the police station (oxtail!).
If you're looking for Caymanite, I highly recommend a visit to Mrs. Coleen Gibson's, 3 houses past the hospital, and, like many little stores here, inside her home. Also enjoyed Carla's tiny gift shop next to Scuba Shack. Neither take VISA, which to me says "Local"! Everyone is set up to take US dollars.
Sleepy Cayman Brac is poised for development, so come quick! Friendly, crime-free…a world away from Grand Cayman and just about anywhere else. After 1 week, the locals were greeting me!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing, pristine beauty on 3 acres with 350 ft. of utterly private beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259014
+1 727 452-2334
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
Maurertown, VA
5

Great choice for a family of independent divers!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed here over Christmas with our adult children. We are all divers and wanted a relaxing low-key getaway. My husband just retired and our children are in med school and undergrad.
We are low maintenance but expect a clean well maintained property. We got that in SPADES! We are very independent and like complete privacy. This property supplied that in a tranquil setting but with easy access to grocery stores and the dive operation where we rented our tanks.
There is a beautiful white sand beach with a wonderful palapa (including hammocks and lounge chairs). Be aware that between the beach and open water is ironshore with urchins. We wore scuba boots, so that was no problem.
There is a sweet house reef that is perfect for snorkeling and where we did our initial checkout dive. After that, we did all shore diving along the north shore. Perfect!
One of the bedrooms is on the lower level and was slightly musty when we arrived. That problem was solved within minutes by simply opening the windows. It was a perfect arrangement for our adult son. It has its own powder room and airconditioner. He loved having a separate area.
On the main level were two bedrooms. The master opens onto the deck with a beautiful view of the water. The other bedroom has two twins with large windows on two sides so it is very open and bright. Every bedroom has its own air unit, as does the living area. We only used the airconditioning one night. The rest of the time, the breeze kept it very cool.
The kitchen is well supplied and there were plenty sheets, blankets, towels, etc.
Derwin manages the property and is a truly kind and caring man. He met us at the airport, led us to the house and gave us an orientation. After that, he simply let us know that if we had ANY problems to call him.
In sum, this property was the perfect choice for us.
Our thanks to Kimber and Derwin as well as to all of the other folks on Cayman Brac for allowing us to have a relaxing week to reconnect as a family while getting in some great dives, hikes and cave exploration.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Amazing, pristine beauty on 3 acres with 350 ft. of utterly private beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259014
+1 727 452-2334
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
Wisconsin
5

Absolute Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I just spent a week at Kimber's house for our 10 year anniversary and we can't say enough about the beauty of the place. The house is very clean and comfortable and the master bedroom leads onto the porch which overlooks the ocean which means you can listen to the sound of the waves as you fall asleep. And the stars! We couldn't believe how many stars we could see after the gorgeous sunsets!

It s a very quiet place, perfect for relaxing. We snorkeled every day and one of the best spots on the island to snorkel was walking straight into the ocean from the house! A reef is right there with hundreds of beautiful fish, sea urchins, squid, and colorful sea plants.

The kitchen is very well equipped, including spices which we haven't seen at many other houses we have rented. We cooked breakfast and lunches at the house and explored the island restaurants at night which are very close by. Grocery stores are just down the street and everyone on the island is so friendly.

All in all I would highly recommend Kimber's house to any couple or family with slightly older kids (able to swim on their own) and we plan to make it back someday! Thank you, Kimber for letting us share in your beautiful home in its gorgeous setting and for all your helpful advice!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Amazing, pristine beauty on 3 acres with 350 ft. of utterly private beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259014
+1 727 452-2334
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
Berlin, Germany
5

the reality is even better than all that was written about this place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We have spent 15 days in the house from November 23 till Dezember 8, 2012.
After seeing the nice pictures of the house on the web-side we had really high expectations, but we were very happy to find out that all that was written or pictured over the accommodation fully lived up to our expectations. The house is really a gem! We enjoyed the privacy of the house and the great view of the sea. The place was so nice that sometimes we´ve cancelled our planned visit to restaurants and stayed “at home” instead, using the really good equipped kitchen for preparing a meal and eating on the porch with the breathtaking view of the sea. We also appreciated that Kimber gave us a lot of useful information and hints in advance. And of course we have to mention the property manager Derwin Scott. He met us at the airport, showed us around and was very keen on helping us to make the most of our holidays.
If you are an experienced diver I can recommend the shorediving. They´ll rent you tanks and weight for US $10 at the Brac Reef Beach Resort, and nearly all good dive –spots are in good reach from the shore. The only think you have to do is to snorkel 200 meters, and then you can dive down quite next to the marked dive-sites (most dive sides are marked with a white boy). Kimbers house has also a lot of good books in store which are very helpful in finding the really good diving spots on the island and in identifying the maritime life you have seen under the water.
All in all, perfect place to spend a relaxing holiday in a great house. We hope to come back soon.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Amazing, pristine beauty on 3 acres with 350 ft. of utterly private beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259014
+1 727 452-2334
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
5

Quiet time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We stayed here for a week. Kimber couldn't have been more pleasant to deal with. Derwin met us at the airport and even though the plane arrived early, we did not have to wait for him as we were taking care of our rental car, he came right away. The house was very nice and we were very comfortable. The view and sunsets were awesome. Watch out for the hermit crabs, they seem to enjoy coming to the house for a drink of water. We had perfect weather and we were truly relaxed by the end of the week. The water is indeed a bit tricky to get into, primarily because of the sea urchins but there are places on the island for easy access and the public beach is not crowded. Definately one of the nicest houses we've rented. Thanks Kimber.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Amazing, pristine beauty on 3 acres with 350 ft. of utterly private beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259014
+1 727 452-2334
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
Bracebridge Ontario Canada
5

Wonderfully private, clean house with hammocks right on the beach.Great snorkelling.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We stayed a week in late December 2011 and our family loved it. The place was exactly like the photos. The house was super clean and fully equipped. The caretaker was friendly and helpful. He took us to Little Cayman by boat - a real highlight of the trip. We forgot to book scuba lessons at the resort so could only snorkel but the snorkelling was great. We saw many fish & reef creatures right off the beach at the house. One caution- even with beach shoes, the little sea urchins can be tricky to avoid. Some Cayman beaches are all sand but many are rough rock. There are multiple caves to explore. You do need a car. There are plenty of neat Cayman birds and reptiles to be seen.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Amazing, pristine beauty on 3 acres with 350 ft. of utterly private beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259014
+1 727 452-2334
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
Virginia Beach
5

heaven on earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My husband and I stayed in Kimber's house in November 2011. What a fabulous house and location! The house had everything you would want for a perfect place for destress and romance. The house was comfortable, had everything we needed and a perfect private beach. We will definitely visit again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Amazing, pristine beauty on 3 acres with 350 ft. of utterly private beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259014
+1 727 452-2334
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
Atlanta, Georgia
5

Goldilocks stayed here

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
I was looking for some peace and quiet with a side order of underwater beauty and adventure. Cayman Brac and Kimber's house supplied both in spades. To begin with, I liked being met at the airport by Derwin- it made me feel a little more connected to know someone local. The house itself was everything I hoped it would be. It was very comfortable and I loved having my own secluded grounds and beach area. The seclusion did not come at the price of remoteness as the house had stores just a quick drive away on either side.
The scuba diving lived up to my expectations providing a perfect accompaniment to the ease and relaxation topside. There was abundant wildlife to be seen along with some behavior I had not seen before. When you see large grouper hanging around they may be trying to point out a nearby lionfish. The divemaster will kill the invasive lionfish whereupon the grouper will gobble up said interloper. To quote Spock "Fascinating." I knew the snorkeling off the beach was good and this was reinforced when on my last scuba dive the dive site was a couple of hundred yards down from Kimber's house.
Reflecting on this while sitting on the back porch, munching on Barry's Golden Jerk chicken and watching the sun set over Little Cayman I realised this was my Goldilocks moment.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Amazing, pristine beauty on 3 acres with 350 ft. of utterly private beachfront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259014
+1 727 452-2334
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
Montana
5

the perfect place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We were a little nervous on arrival on the Brac as we'd never been there before and had never rented a private home on a trip like this. Relief came quickly as we arrived and found the place to be better than expected. The house is wonderful and nicely appointed and the beach and shallow reef out front were perfect. The snorkeling was fantastic and the kids spent hours each day exploring the shallow reef. A couple of good dive sites are a short swim away as well. Afternoons down at the palapa or on the deck were a favorite as well. We miss the little yellow house by the sea and look forward to coming back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Helpful votes: 4/4