St. Helena Island mobile home rental - Garden view of Saddle Pad Guest House
Garden view of Saddle Pad Guest House
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

St. Helena Island Mobile Home Rental Photos and Description
cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

This private property is perfect for the equestrian and the non-equestrian. Join us on a ride to the beach, on your horse or ours and enjoy the sunset. We offer care for your horses while you visit. Take rides under beautiful moss-draped trees in the old plantation where Forest Gump was filmed. Our farm was voted 'Best Of Beaufort' and featured on RFD-TV on the Julie Goodnight Show.

Ask about our horses used in a Robert Redford movie!

We are not just for the equestrian, wonderful beaches, shopping, tours, and all the activities of downtown Beaufort await you.

We are also located less than one half hour from Paris Island for military families wishing to add some additional memories to a graduation ceremony, or who just need the convenience of three bedrooms,a kitchen and multiple baths, etc.

The Low Country of South Carolina is a beautiful area to visit. Many areas of interest and the City of Beaufort offer many festivals during the year. There is something to entertain everyone, of all ages. Hunting Island State Park is located five minutes from our farm and is the perfect beach to enjoy the Atlantic ocean with a good book. In the winter months opens it's beaches to horses. Beautiful miles of beaches to ride: A horse person's dream!

We also have the 'little beach' which is a 10-15 min. walk from the cottage or hop on the golf car and get there in a jiffy! Either way, You are sure to enjoy your almost private beach!

We know that time off from your regular life is important and we promise to give you the best experience for a reasonable price.

Mark and Anne Kennedy

Keywords: cottage

More Details
Hide Details

Owner of Camelot Farms Equestrian Center. Grandmother of seven granddaughters. Enjoys working with people and their horses.

Anne Kennedy purchased this mobile home in 2009

This vacation spot is not only for horse people but also for anyone looking for a private spot to stay while visiting the Low Country of South Carolina. Beaufort SC, is a charming city and the area is full of attractions: golfing, fishing, boating, and horseback riding just to mention a few. The property is on our working horse farm with miles of trails and roads for riding to the beach. You may bring your own horse or ride one of our calm mounts. We can also arrange kayaking, dolphin watching, sightseeing, buggy rides, historical tours or plantation trail rides around the Beaufort area.

18 Reviews of Property 258864 on St. Helena Island, South Carolina

Equestrian Vacation at the Beach
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 18 reviews
business
Equestrian Vacation at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258864vbi
(843) 838-3938 (South Carolina, USA)
St. Helena Island Beaufort area
4

Birthday ride!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
We had a nice visit and great weather. The paddocks for the horses are nice. The saddle pad was clean and plenty of towels were available. The only down part was accessing the dish TV but it did force my girls to go to bed early. And, there are some bugs native to the area that aren't so pleasant. Overall, we would come back again.
business
Equestrian Vacation at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258864vbi
(843) 838-3938 (South Carolina, USA)
St. Helena Island Beaufort area
1

RENTER BEWARE

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
--Unit not as advertised & not ready for month long rental.
--Not on the horse ranch; horse ranch is mile down the road.
--Unit not cottage; it is double wide trailer.
--Upon arrival, roofers completing work on roof for first 2 days of our stay
--Television in master bedroom did not work
--Family room rug torn
--Kitchen poorly equipped for long term renter particularly pots & pans and knives
--Outside grill filthy
--Bathroom rugs torn
--My husband experienced many bug bites during the night even used bug spray;
--Unit advertised as short walk to beach or 5 minute golf cart ride—it is over mile & there was no golf cart.
--Swifter broken;
--Tablecloth torn;
--Pictures deceiving as to the furniture & cleanliness of unit.

We sent owner email regarding repairs & he remedied some matters. We stayed 18 days of 30 day rental and decided to rent another unit for last 12 days of our stay on the island.

When we returned home, we wrote owner asking to refund amount for days we did not stay. Our request was denied by him and his letter was condescending and accusatory of matters totally irrelevant to our request.. I am sure owner will respond, believe what you want but RENTER BEWARE
Owner's Response: Owners Beware!
We are always sorry when someone is not happy with their stay at our farm. These guests were told that there was roof work being done and that we were sorry for the inconvience. They stated that it was no problem to them and they understand that the work could not be completed before their arrival because of bad weather. I bet they would have not liked a leakey roof either!
As far as the Saddle Pad not being on the ranch, that is not the case at all. We own 70 acres! The Saddle Pad is on our farm with a paddock located right beside it! If these guests had asked about how to get to the beach area we would have been happy to have shown them the walking path that would have gotten them to the beach area in a jiff! If they had asked about a golf cart we would have given them the phone number of the rental business. We do not advertise that a golf cart is supplied. Come on now a swiffter! The next day the broken one was replaced with even an extra refill. Hum that refill must have gotten pack up my mistake!
We do not advertise that our kitchen is for the gourmet chief. We have never had complaints about any lack of supplies in the kitchen before. She told us that she was a gourmet chief and that our frying pan was not up to her standards. We laughed and thought she must have not realized that we are a horse ranch and not the Hilton, but went out and bought a new expensive frying pan to make her happy. But,oh no. Next the knives where not sharp enough for her tastes. We offered to buy new knives but she chose to buy her own. My husband sharpened all the knives anyway.
We have a very excellent cleaning service that is very through. I know that the unit was clean as could be as I inspected it myself. We take note of any damage or repairs that need to be made after each guest leaves. I must say that the condition of the Saddle Pad was horrible when we checked on it after these guest left with NO NOTICE Blankets and bedding thrown into tub and soaking wet, coffee stains on rugs and on sofas. Dirty.Dirty. We had a weight limit on dogs that we allow and they were not truthful about their dogs weight. Any tears on the rugs or on anything else came from these two standered poodles which were over our weight limit, allow on the furniture, scratched doors, and left stains on rugs not to mention all the hair. Three days of cleaning, new couch, rugs, chair. new limit on pets now. Awful for us! VRBO owners BEWARE!
business
Equestrian Vacation at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258864vbi
(843) 838-3938 (South Carolina, USA)
St. Helena Island Beaufort area
5

Excellent Family Accommodation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We stayed a week on a family vacation and must say that the accommodations exceeded expectations, starting with the owners' helpful responses to all our many questions (first time visitors to this area) well before we even got there. This included arranging riding lessons for our 7 yr old daughter with Erica, an excellent instructor, and paired with the mildest mannered horse a new rider could ask for, Sir Lance (a true Southern Gentleman indeed).

While there, the owners were accessible and made sure we were well looked after (the State Park Pass was appreciated), and the Farm staff were also very, very helpful.

The house itself was very clean, very functional, and very spacious - easily accommodated a family of 5 (its much larger than what appears on the photos). The farm and the immediate surroundings around Coffin Plantation are gorgeous, as was the nearby 'Little Beach' which we seemingly had to ourselves for miles (best for swimming at high tide and good fishing also). This is also a good base location for discovering the Low Country: Savannah, Hilton Head, and Charleston are all easy day trips and nearby Beaufort is just as interesting and charming at its own scale.

At the risk of overbookings for the next time we want to go, we highly recommend The Saddle Pad!
Thank you Mark and Anne for a truly memorable vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Equestrian Vacation at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258864vbi
(843) 838-3938 (South Carolina, USA)
St. Helena Island Beaufort area
Flat Rock, NC
5

Wonderful Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a great time, house had all we needed and more! The garden area was beautiful and hummingbirds were frequent visitors all day long! Home was comfortable, cool and well maintained. Wifi was a great addition as it was a working vacation for my daughter. St Helena is such a beautiful area full of wildlife and the beach close to the house was always great to find hermit crabs, dolphins and horseshoe crabs! Thanks for all the extras in the house, it was a very nice like home trip for all of us! Be back for sure!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so grateful for your review. We try to make our property as homey as possible and to be somewhere we would enjoy staying ourselves. Horses and beaches that is us!
Thank you,
Anne and Mark
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Equestrian Vacation at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258864vbi
(843) 838-3938 (South Carolina, USA)
St. Helena Island Beaufort area
Charlotte, NC
5

Very clean, gorgeous farm! Had a wonderful time - despite two days of pouring rain!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My friend and I had a wonderful time despite horrid weather two of the three days we were there. The house is cozy and very clean, the pasture right next the house is just perfect for keeping an eye on our equine friends. Riding to the beach was a dream! I would love to do it all again!! (except for the rain part...)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Equestrian Vacation at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258864vbi
(843) 838-3938 (South Carolina, USA)
St. Helena Island Beaufort area
North Georgia
5

Fabulous Beach Trip with Horses

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Everything was just fabulous during our stay at Camelot, the accommodations were extremely clean and comfortable. We rented the pasture for our horses and it was so convenient to have them right next door. The trails and roads around Camelot were lots of fun, especially the Avenue of Oaks. The coast line on St. Helena was a nice calm introduction to the ocean for our horses. We trailered to Hunting Island where we had an excellent ride on the beach while the tide was out. (Be prepared to scoop your horses poop off of the beach) The lighthouse was neat and worth the climb. We enjoyed some great seafood at Boondock's (she-crab soup was amazing), Sweetgrass (we loved the grilled shrimp and unique sides), and Dockside (portions were large, cornbread was out of this world). Mark and Anne were extremely helpful and kind as were the rest of the staff we dealt with. The gift shop is a must, lot's of cute horsey stuff!! They were also very prompt in returning deposit!! We hope to return again one day!! There was much more to see, do, and eat that we just didn't have time for!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: So glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for telling us about the wonderful food that you enjoyed. We do have great "eats" near by. This area does offer something for all the family, horses included! Please come back to see us.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Equestrian Vacation at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258864vbi
(843) 838-3938 (South Carolina, USA)
St. Helena Island Beaufort area
Canton, GA
5

AWESOME EXPERIENCE!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had a WONDERFUL stay at Camelot Farms this past week. The Saddle Pad with Paddock for our horses made for the PERFECT horse vacation. My Gal Pal & I brought our 2 horses and drug the husbands along with us and they even enjoyed a 2hr trail ride w us, made possible by Camelot Farms, on the coastline and beautiful tree lined streets. The best part was introducing our horses to the ocean, the look on their faces was priceless. We fulfilled our dream of cantering our horses bareback on the beach. Cannot thank Mark & Anne enough for providing such a AWESOME place for us to vacation. We will be back and bring the rest of our Gal Pals soon!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS PLACE!!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You were the visitors that we had in mind when we opened the Sadle Pad. A cozy horsie place to ride and enjoy beautiful SC Lowcountry on horseback! Glad your horses enjoyed their beach trip also! Thank you!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Equestrian Vacation at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258864vbi
(843) 838-3938 (South Carolina, USA)
St. Helena Island Beaufort area
Avon, NC
4

Had a wonderful time

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We really enjoyed our stay at Saddle up Ranch. The area is so beautiful and the history is amazing. If you love horses this is the place for you. Mark and Anne are great homeowners and accessable if needed. Their tour guide Taylor is very nice and patient with people who are new bees to horseback riding...like me.

I would have given an excellent, but, I think another TV would be nice in the cottage and more kitchen ware, such as pots and pans. Other wise it was a awesome vacation and I would go back in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a good time! Thank you for your suggestion for an additional TV. We had a complete set of cookware in the kitchen. I must go check on that to see if it has grown legs or if it has been placed in a different area than the lower cabinets. Glad you enjoyed the horses and your ride!
business
Equestrian Vacation at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258864vbi
(843) 838-3938 (South Carolina, USA)
St. Helena Island Beaufort area
Athens, GA
1

A NIGHTMARE!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
It's taken me months to finally cool down from our horrible experience at the Saddle Pad to finally write this review. My husband and I decided to take a romantic vacation for a long weekend in April. We were so excited to stay at the Saddle Pad, as the photos looked lovely and I'm an avid rider. When we arrived, the first thing we noticed was how poorly misrepresented the "cottage" is. Be warned -this is not a cottage, it is a double wide trailer. And it's right next to the main road. We walked in to find that it was musty and reeked of cleaning supplies. In no time we both had terrible headaches from whatever chemicals were used to clean the trailer. We called the owners to let them know we weren't able to stay inside due to the chemical odors. Mark came by about 15 minutes later, walked through the house with us, and didn't say much other than "If you can't stay here, you can't stay here." I asked if we could work something out regarding our money, as they require you to pay everything up front, as well as a refundable security deposit, a daily charge for each dog (we intended on having our two dogs but we didn't even bring them in the house), plus accommodation taxes. He was deceivingly sweet and told me to send him an email when we got home and we'd work it out. When I emailed him, his tone was completely changed. He was condescending and dismissive and he insisted that he would not refund ANY of our money (not even the refundable security deposit or pet deposit). My husband had to argue with him daily for two weeks to finally get him to agree to send us the refundable security deposit. Stay FAR, FAR away from this place. Not only will they take your money and run, they have misrepresented their property by not calling it a double wide trailer and by cropping the photos in a deceiving manner.
Owner's Response: The comment nightmare! is correct! Dealing with these people was a nightmare! All you have to do is to read all the other wonderful comments we have received on line and the many wonderful notes left for us to read in our our guest comment book at the Saddle Pad to know that something is not right with this comment.... hum.... you will always have people that you will meet in your lives that will not ever be satisfied. We tried but failed, with these people. We had people stay the very next day and they had only wonderful comments about The Saddle Pad. Guess what? They never commited about any bads cleaning odors! Go figure!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Equestrian Vacation at the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258864vbi
(843) 838-3938 (South Carolina, USA)
St. Helena Island Beaufort area
lancaster sc
5

cottage rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the cottage. It was very clean and felt just like home. Mark and Anne are real nice and cant do enough for you. We did several day trips and caught alot of crabs. One day we spent in buffton lots of stores and on Thursday a farmers market. Lots of good things. We did sneak a peak at the beautiful horses and property. We dont ride but I can tell you anyone that does will absolutely love it. But there is also lots of day trips and things to do. Thank you Anne and Mark again.
Lynn and Joe S Rambo too
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you enjoyed our area here in the low country. This area has a wealth of interesting places to visit. I hope that you were able to see the new born foal on our farm!
Best wishes,
Anne and Mark
Helpful votes: 1/1