Oak Bluffs house rental - View of the 'Red House' from the dock
View of the 'Red House' from the dock
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Oak Bluffs House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps 9, enclosed sun porch and covered porch

'The Red House' is perfectly located - very quiet, yet only a 10 minute walk to town. This beautiful home is directly on Oak Bluffs Harbor. You can relax on the back porch and watch all the harbor activity. There is a deep water dock, if you want to bring your boat along (, with water but NO ELECTRIC). Four of the five bedrooms, as well as the dining room, living room and sun porch, have a view of the harbor. Four of the bedrooms have window AC units. (there is no central AC in the remainder of the house - not needed with the great sea breeze!) The town of Oak Bluffs is only a short walk away. There are many restaurants, pubs, movie theaters, ice cream and coffee shops, a food market and post office located both around the harbor and on the main street of town. Public transportation is available, as well as bicycle, scooter and car rentals. You can take a bus tour of the island, rent boats and jet skis, or take a local fishing trip. There is a public beach within walking distance.

14 Reviews of Property 258814 in Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts

Charming & spacious home directly on Oak Bluffs Harbor with a deep water dock
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 14 reviews
business
Charming & spacious home directly on Oak Bluffs Harbor with a deep water dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258814
+1 7722854747
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
4

OUR MARTHA'S VINEYARD FAMILY RETREAT

OUR MARTHA'S VINEYARD FAMILY RETREAT
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This property is beautifully located right in the harbor of Oak Bluff's and the view is constantly changing. The house was exactly as listed in the ad with many bedrooms, baths and a huge living room area and dining area with an attached sun porch. They also have a large outdoor porch that overlooks the harbor where we spent most of our time. There are also many chaise lounge chairs in the front lawn over looking the water for you to just lay back and enjoy the peacefulness. We have already re-booked for next year and hope to return many years thereafter. The owners Judy and Karla were wonderful to deal with and they also have a gentleman next door if any problem were to arise. This property is also walking distance to Circuit Ave. the famous Flying Horses, Nancy's and all the other restaurants along the water. We truly would recommend this house to anyone who loves being on the water and likes alot of space.
Tracey and Family!
business
Charming & spacious home directly on Oak Bluffs Harbor with a deep water dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258814
+1 7722854747
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
5

Magical Stay in Oak Bluffs

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The "Red House" was everything that we hoped for and more. The views were incredible! The house was amazing and it had everything that we could possibly need. We loved feeding the ducks every morning and listening to the sounds of the harbor. We were only sorry that we did not stay longer. We will be back for many years to come!
business
Charming & spacious home directly on Oak Bluffs Harbor with a deep water dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258814
+1 7722854747
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
5

Once again, amazing! It doesn't get any better!

Once again, amazing! It doesn't get any better!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Once again amazing, you can't get a better table with a view anywhere on the island than the one from the back porch. House is impeccable, great location to town and perfect for a family, s lose to everything, see you next year.
business
Charming & spacious home directly on Oak Bluffs Harbor with a deep water dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258814
+1 7722854747
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
5

Memories made

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My son from California rented this gorgeous home and graciously invited his parents to stay with him. He had rented on the island before but, this place far exceeded the others. The home was so clean and spacious. The view was out of this world. I especially enjoyed sitting on the porch and watching the young people from the yacht club having their sailing lessons right out front on the harbor. The activity on the harbor was all the entertainment I needed - I never wanted to leave the porch. Because there were so many bedrooms, our son invited other members to come and visit for a night or two. We ended up having an unplanned family reunion on the 4th of July. We certainly have many wonderful memories staying at the "red house!" - and my son rented it again for next year. I'll spend the long, cold winter thinking of my upcoming vacation on the Vineyard in the warm summertime - making yet even more memories! Thanks for renting to our son!
business
Charming & spacious home directly on Oak Bluffs Harbor with a deep water dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258814
+1 7722854747
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
5

Great Vacation Spot for Everyone

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We enjoyed our stay so much we're just booked the same week for this summer.

The location is awesome. It's a quick walk into town. Our kids loved being able to walk to the merry go round and for ice cream. The adults loved not having to worry about parking. The beach that is right next to the house is perfect for younger kids. It was nice being able to leave our stuff on the beach if you wanted to go back to the house for lunch, etc.

The house has a great set up. There is plenty of room for everyone. The bedrooms have plenty of room. The kitchen had everything you could need. We spent a lot of our time on the back porch. The view is incredible. (especially at night) The kids loved catching crabs off the dock.

We've vacationed on the Vineyard for years. And this is by far the best rental we've ever had.
business
Charming & spacious home directly on Oak Bluffs Harbor with a deep water dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258814
+1 7722854747
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
5

The Red House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Once again the most amazing vacation, we rented this house last year for one week, this year for two and have already signed a lease for two weeks next year. The house and view are amazing. Many upgrades were made over the winter including a brand new bathroom. The house is cleaned by the owners and is impeccable, I have rented many homes on the vineyard and this is by far the cleanest property I have rented. I am a bit of a neat freak and I typically go in a rental and clean myself at the beginning of my stay, this is NOT necessary at the Red House as it is always spotless. The owners are extremely accomodating, providing us with extra linen when requested within an hour. I like dealing directly with the owners rather than a rental agency and find them professional and felt at ease with the personal touch they provide. The close walk to town, the amenities of the home and the view are all perfect. This is now our favorite rental and we will continue to rent this house for years to come. See you next year.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much!! I'm very excited that you enjoyed your stay and will be back with us again next year! I guess that's the most sincere flattery of all! Thanks again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming & spacious home directly on Oak Bluffs Harbor with a deep water dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258814
+1 7722854747
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
5

Amazing!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was our 2nd stay at the "Red House" and we couldn't have been happier. Our only issue was it went by too fast! We will definitely be going back again next year and are seriously considering 2 weeks instead of 1 it was so great! The owners had made a lot of updates which I didn't even think it needed but was so pleasantly surprised at how nice everything looked and felt! The kitchen floor and whole master suite and bathroom were completely redone, it was so fresh and bright. We love the house, the view, the location, we are boaters and having the dock for our boat makes it so easy to use the boat at any time we want to and is the biggest reason we love staying there.

Shortly after my stay I received a package in the mail with 2 sweaters that I didn't even realize that I had left behind and a nice note from the owner. It was so nice to get this as it's not something that I would expect from my experience in traveling and I truly appreciated it. I strongly recommend staying at the "Red House" the location, view, dock, beautiful and spacious house, and professionalism of the owners are all reasons that I will be back next summer!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind words in your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at "the Red House" again and that you enjoyed the renovations we did over the winter. The kitchen does look much brighter with the painted cabinets, walls and the new floor! And there's nothing better than a brand new bathroom!
We're excited that you want to come back next summer and for 2 weeks instead of 1. So far, all three tenants we've had this summer feel the same way and want to return next season! It's so nice to have repeat customers. I guess that's the highest compliment! We do our best to make sure that everyone is satisfied with the house and their stay there.
Enjoy the rest of your summer and we'll see you next year!
-Carla
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming & spacious home directly on Oak Bluffs Harbor with a deep water dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258814
+1 7722854747
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
5

FABULOUS VACATION!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
I wanted to drop you a note to say that we had a wonderful time on our vacation at the "Red House".
Everything was wonderful, convenient and all our needs were met by you and your family during our stay. We loved the homey atmosphere of the porch overlooking the harbor. What a great view!! Watching the harbor activity was mesmerizing. It was sometimes difficult to tear ourselves away to go into town.
The bedrooms were remarkably large and comfortable! Our modest family of five rattled around in the house since there was so much space!
Everything was indeed within walking distance - the town, shops, restaurants, etc.
We only used our rental car to go to the other towns. The little market at the end of the street was very convenient, too!
Thank you again for sharing your family's home with us! We hope to return again next summer.

Amy P.
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your vacation at our house! I appreciate you taking the time to do a review for me. It helps future prospective renters get a feel for what others enjoyed about their stay. I'm happy that you found everything to your liking. We do have a great location, so close to the town's activities, without being "too close"!
Thanks, again, and I hope to have you back next summer!
-Carla
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming & spacious home directly on Oak Bluffs Harbor with a deep water dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258814
+1 7722854747
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
5

LOVED OUR VACATION!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We absolutely loved our vacation at your house! It was everything we expected! Fabulous location – we could walk to everything! There were lots of restaurants, bars, shops and ice cream parlors - all very close. The little convenience / liquor store just down the street came in quite handy, too!! The beach was nice and close – we went there a lot!

The house itself was very comfortable - lots of room to spread out. There was a view of the water from almost every room! We seemed to spend most of our time on the porch overlooking the harbor, though. What a great place to relax, enjoy a drink and watch all the activity. I only wish we had a boat to put on the dock! That would be fun to boat around the island, find some quiet beaches and maybe do some fishing. We ate out quite a bit, but when we decided to cook a meal at home, we had everything we needed in the kitchen…and a gas grill just outside. It was fun to eat our dinner on the porch while watching the harbor, too.

Thanks for sharing your home and for being so professional. The house was thoroughly prepared for our arrival and your attention to detail was evident everywhere. We've rented a number of vacation homes and this is the first time we had what we consider the perfect vacation experience.

We look forward to returning again next summer!

Greg L.
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your vacation at our home!! I love hearing comments about your stay and what you did while there. There is so much to do in the area, but some renters prefer to just enjoy the tranquility of the house, the porch and the view!
It's nice to know you enjoyed our home and the view as much as we do. I'm also glad that you felt like the maintenance and upkeep of our home was to your liking. Every year during the off season, we try to add something new or improve some aspect of the house.

Thanks for the review! I look forward to having you stay for your vacation next summer!!

Carla
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming & spacious home directly on Oak Bluffs Harbor with a deep water dock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258814
+1 7722854747
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Location, Location, Location!!

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
This guest couldn't get the review to submit to HomeAway. She sent me a copy in an email which I posted below:


Carla,

I copied and pasted this from the review which I don't think went through when I tried to submit it.
We sent a deposit check to you for next year's rental of the Red House.

My best regards.

Joan H.


_____________________________________________________________


Location, location, location...you have it. The harbor views and walk to town location are ideal.

The property has been steadily improved over three years of our two week rentals.

The photos are fair and show the house accurately.

The owner and caretaker are very available to step in when help is needed.

We would recommend the property, and will be renting again next summer.

Joan H.
Juptier, FL
Helpful votes: 1/1