Hawi house rental - View of the house
View of the house
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Hawi House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Hawi Town is a short 5 minute walk from this extraordinary home, set upon a private hilltop promontory with 180 degree ocean views and Maui in the distance.

THE HOUSE

This enchanting home is an open beam construction using 20'x 20' timbers. A 16' sliding wall opens the living room to an outdoor covered lanai creating a free flow of space.

Rare and unusual hardwoods have been incorporated throughout the house for cabinetry, stairway, doors and all woodwork. Bamboo flooring is found in the kitchen, both full bathrooms and Master Bedroom. This is old hawaii at its most charming.

Keywords: Vacation Hawi Hawaii

The choice of Hawi Town on the Big Island came after years of searching the Hawaiian Island chain for the perfect place of rest and renewal from our mainland lives. Hawi sets one back in time to the 1940's.

The clapboard storefronts, friendly townsfolk and quaint, slow paced lifestyle are priceless.

Our home is uniquely constructed from giant timbers salvaged and restored from the dismantling of Oregon's Willamette Paper Mill. It evokes the feel of the island's clipper ship era with it's delightfully cozy interior. The house has become a magnet for family and friends providing a compound for various special gatherings over the years and each visitor continues to wax on, long after their departure, about the wonder of time spent in this very special spot.

lynn mallard purchased this house in 2005

Breakfast under the banyon tree, lunch at Sushi Rock and dinner at the Bamboo Restaurant, all a 5 minute walk!

14 Reviews of Property 258250 in Hawi, Hawaii

Big Island Paradise in Historic Hawi on 3 Lush Acres W/Maui View
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews
business
Big Island Paradise in Historic Hawi on 3 Lush Acres W/Maui View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258250vbi
+1 808-889-6191
Hawi Kohala Coast
San Clemente, California USA
5

Incredible home and location on Hawaii's big island!

Incredible home and location on Hawaii's big island!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our family (2 adults and 2 teenagers) plus adult son & girlfriend spent 8 amazing nights in this incredible home in the beautiful North Kohala coast of the big island. The house is in Hawi which is a delightly "artsy" historical retreat at the very northern tip of the island. We felt as if we were guests in a good friend's home - the house is equipped with everything - the kitchen is a dream for the cook. Great books in the bookshelves and wonderful music CD's. We did NOT want to leave. The location is a 45 minute drive to Kona or 20 minutes to Waimea (our favorite place). We love horses so enjoyed the horse properties nearby. Beautifful home and property. The master bedroom is on the second level - open but separate from the lower level and 2 good size closed off bedrooms downstairs. Highly recommend this home - we've rented vacation homes around the world and this is at the top of our list of favorites!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Big Island Paradise in Historic Hawi on 3 Lush Acres W/Maui View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258250vbi
+1 808-889-6191
Hawi Kohala Coast
United States
5

Paradise in Hawi

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Mallard Springs is a beautiful property -- it lived up to everything we expected and more! Truly a property that makes you feel like you are in paradise.
business
Big Island Paradise in Historic Hawi on 3 Lush Acres W/Maui View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258250vbi
+1 808-889-6191
Hawi Kohala Coast
Cabri,Saskatchewan,Canada
5

Doug(Sask,Canada)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We loved "Mallard Springs". The house was very well equiped with everything from kitchen supplies to beach equipment. We have stayed at other VRBO rentals on the islands and this certainly exceeded our expectations. Located in the very picturesque District of Kohala and a very short walk to the town of Hawi, its a throwback to yesteryear. Mallard Springs is a perfect place to relax and forget your cares.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Big Island Paradise in Historic Hawi on 3 Lush Acres W/Maui View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258250vbi
+1 808-889-6191
Hawi Kohala Coast
Orinda,Ca.
5

Our Hawi Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Our family holiday at "MallardSprings" was absolutely perfect. The photos don't do it justice that's for sure. Our teenagers both said, "Wow" as we drove up the drive and my husband and I said it too when we saw the master suite. The views from that upstairs room are breathtaking on all three sides. The wonderful living areas on the first floor easily flowed to outdoors.
This was the best equipped vacation rental that we've experienced. The kitchen had high end appliances with every gadget one would need. The laundry room had everything needed and was user friendly. We loved the tempur pedic king mattress in the master and the giant tub in the bath looked out to Maui. The owners nicely had an assortment of beach gear for us( chairs, masks, snorkels/fins, towels and boogie boards). We didn't buy a thing while there which was nice.
Hawi is a quaint, old fashion town. Our 17 yr. old daughter and 13 yr. old son liked looking in the little shops hunting for treasures and then getting ice cream. They never got bored which amazed us. We went horseback riding in Waimea, snorkeled at the Mauna Lani Point, star gazed at the Mauna Kea Observatory and para glided. It was three acres of Heaven with privacy, peace and calm.That mix gave us just what we needed as a family to rest and recharge.
We are looking forward to going back and staying in that magical home. Mahalo
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Big Island Paradise in Historic Hawi on 3 Lush Acres W/Maui View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258250vbi
+1 808-889-6191
Hawi Kohala Coast
Santa Barbara
4

Mallard Springs

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
This is a lovely home...very peaceful, great views. The 6 of us were very comfortable. It is close to hiking, kayaking the ditch & the very nice town of Hawi. The two restaurants you must try here are Sushi Rock and Bamboo! We had some minor issues with the dryer, upstairs sink and outdoor fan light, but a handyman came to check on them right away. Also, the housekeeper offered to wash & dry our laundry since the dryer was on the blink... Beware of the step down into the laundry room..my 89 yr old mother in law had a little fall here as well as on the 3 legged bench as one enters house, while removing her shoes.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Big Island Paradise in Historic Hawi on 3 Lush Acres W/Maui View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258250vbi
+1 808-889-6191
Hawi Kohala Coast
Sacramento, CA
5

We love Mallard Springs!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Absolutely stunning property with amazing interior decor. We felt absolutely at peace there and loved the little extras like feeding the birds and gazing out towards Maui. The master bedroom has the feel of a captain's private tower on a shipwrecked island. The kitchen is well stocked and user friendly. The owners made everything easy. Hawi is a great little town with good food and cool galleries. We can't wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Big Island Paradise in Historic Hawi on 3 Lush Acres W/Maui View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258250vbi
+1 808-889-6191
Hawi Kohala Coast
Redwood City, CA
5

Very Nice Get Away and still have things to do

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
This is my second stay at the Hawi home. The quiet and separation from others (not a condo or part of a hotel complex) make is truly restful. The view out of the master bedroom is tranquil and just makes everything calm. We spent time reading, listening to music, cooking, talking, watching TV (not a lot), feeding the fish and napping. When we went out, there was whale watching (saw 20+ whales and calves on our cruise), going into town, seeing local sights, hiking, bodysurfing/boogie board surfing, sunbathing. We also took a trip to other side of the island to see the volcanoes. It was not close but worth the trip to see the other parts of the island.

It rained for a couple of days while we were there (out of 9 days). But, it was just a nice to use the time to not do much. Rain or shine, it is a great place to hang out.

The facilities are great. Full Kitchen and laundry room. If you really need it, there is a good WiFi service. Roomy as well. You won't feel you are in a cramped space. It is especially nice to lay down and read by the living room windows. We ate on the patio area for most of our dinners and lunches.

A full supermarket is about a mile away. That was convenient in that we could plan our own meals and it also helped with keeping the food costs down. That being said, we did eat occasionally in Hawi. Bamboo is a good place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Big Island Paradise in Historic Hawi on 3 Lush Acres W/Maui View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258250vbi
+1 808-889-6191
Hawi Kohala Coast
Oakland, CA
5

Wonderful property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
This is a beautiful house with lovely gardens and a spectacular ocean view. It was in perfect condition, and the owner was very helpful in planning our stay. I particularly appreciated the kitchen, which is by far the best equipped of the many rental kitchens I've had. We highly recommend this property and certainly hope to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Big Island Paradise in Historic Hawi on 3 Lush Acres W/Maui View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258250vbi
+1 808-889-6191
Hawi Kohala Coast
McHenry
5

Lovely Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
We enjoyed this house very much. There was plenty of room for the four of us, and another small bedroom was available if needed. Everything worked, there were papayas to be picked outside, the upper bedroom was dramatic, with great views in every direction. The house was beautifully designed, clean, and comfortable. The only possible negative is that it is a long way from the rest of the island, and it is a big island. Hawi is nearby and very charming. The grounds were very appealing, and the ocean view was delightful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Big Island Paradise in Historic Hawi on 3 Lush Acres W/Maui View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258250vbi
+1 808-889-6191
Hawi Kohala Coast
Jupiter, FL
5

Couldn't have been better

Couldn't have been better
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
There isn't much that I can say that hasn't already been said in other reviews. This was our first trip to Hawaii. We had a wedding in Kapa'au and was a little nervous about staying in Hawi instead of the tourist areas to the south-west. Lynn and Sandy made the whole rental process easy and when we got to the house, we immediately fell in love. It is hard to imagine what could be better. We stayed for 10 days but wished for many more. If you are looking for relaxation, this is the place. the kitchen is great, and made preparing meals a joy. There really is no reason ever to leave but there are several small restaurants with-in walking distance in Hawi along with shopping. The town of Kapa'au is only three miles up the road. Everyone in the area was wonderful. It is a friendly place to stay. We hope to return ASAP. You can not go wrong here. This is the best of the area and as far as we are concerned, all of Hawaii. Jennifer (the local house manager) was fantastic. All of the things that you associate with Hawaii are nearby, the rocky cliffs, hiking, whale watching, tropical setting (but you can get to the Hawaii desert in 15 minutes), and total relaxation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2