Victoria house rental - Another Fabulous Thalassa Point Sunset
Another Fabulous Thalassa Point Sunset
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Victoria House Rental Photos and Description
Estate, 3 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Welcome to Thalassa Point, an adult orientated two acre gated and fenced waterfront estate in the charming rural community of North Saanich, a suburb of Greater Victoria. Although the bustling Capital City is about 25 minutes away, and the quaint seaside town of 'Sidney By The Sea', the BC Ferries Terminal and the Victoria International Airport are all a short 10 minute drive, the ambience of Thalassa Point is one of peace and tranquility.

We are located on the north west corner of the Saanich Peninsula, adjacent to beautiful Deep Cove and considered the 'warm' side of the Peninsula. The property boasts 350 feet of low bank water frontage with south west to north east panoramic views and spectacular YEAR ROUND SUNSETS.

Although there are two executive homes on the property, and the owners periodically occupy one of them, privacy is enjoyed by both. The recently renovated 3,000 square foot home offers amazing views from most rooms. There are 3 ensuite bedrooms, two with king size beds, and one with a queen size, plus an additional half bath. The master ensuite bathroom is a six piece, including a bidet, and shares the awesome views that most other rooms enjoy. All bedrooms are equipped with LCD TVs. Hardwood floors, granite counters, and CENTRAL AIR CONDITIONING for year round comfort are additional features of the home.

The property is heavily treed and the feeling one has is of living in a peaceful forest setting on the ocean's edge. Wildlife abounds as well as a myriad of marine life (including occasional sightings of Orcas...Killer Whales) and the adjacent waters are a favorite fishing ground for locals and tourists alike.

There are a wealth of activities in close proximity to Thalassa Point, including world famous 'The Butchart Gardens', a leisurely 20 minute journey down country roads. All this and much more are sure to make your stay at Thalassa Point a memorable one!

We ask that you please check our availability calendar and rental rates before contacting us and be aware of our policies regarding smoking and pets .... ABSOLUTELY NO SMOKING in the home AND on the property and no pets in the home or on the property....with no exceptions please. Also please note that, due to the topography of Thalassa Point and the decor and layout of the residence, we are unable to rent to guests with children under the age of sixteen. Please refer to 'Suitability' below.

Keywords: Low Bank Waterfront, Luxury Executive Home, Secluded, Serene, Peaceful, Rural

More Details
Hide Details

I have spent most of my adult working life in West Vancouver (a suburb of Vancouver, BC's largest city) and enjoy the 'West Coast lifestyle' immensely. We have owned boats, large ones and small ones, for many years and have taken many cruises through the Gulf and San Juan Islands. This area represents some of the best pleasure boating on the Continent. It was because of these adventures that we found and fell in love with the Saanich Peninsula. Although we still keep a Townhome in West Vancouver, we find ourselves drawn more and more to our Island property.

Robert Gaynor purchased this house in 2007

Although the Saanich Peninsula has many waterfront properties, not many have the unique ambience of Thalassa Point. The east side of the Peninsula is affected in the summertime by cooling winds that blow in from the open ocean through Juan de Fuca Strait and up Haro Strait...and of course there are no sunsets to enjoy. The north side tends to be dark. Thalassa Point enjoys summer warmth and plenty of light, and of course those amazing sunsets. All this and more attracted us to this unique location. However the property came with two homes and hence we now find ourselves in the unanticipated position of owning a vacation rental.

What I think we both most enjoy about Thalassa Point is the feeling of serenity in this most beautiful place. The property is heavily treed with tall stately Firs and majestic Arbutus (Madronas or Madrones) and is narrow at the road and wide at the oceanfront (pie shaped). The home is accessed by a 300+ foot driveway and the feeling is that of being in the middle of the forest with awesome ocean and mountain views all around. The sounds and smells are only of the ocean and the forest. Although the neighborhood is quite rural, most anything one would ever need can be found in the quaint village of 'Sidney by the Sea' some 10 minutes away. However, if one is in need of a big city 'fix', there is none more beautiful than Victoria with its charming English flavor...and its an enjoyable 25 minutes or so away.

25 Reviews of Property 258172 in Victoria, British Columbia

Two Acre Oceanfront Oasis - Luxury Waterfront Home-Spectacular Setting
average rating of 5.0 based on 25 reviews
business
Two Acre Oceanfront Oasis - Luxury Waterfront Home-Spectacular Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258172vbi
+1 250-654-0420
Victoria Vancouver Island
Vermont
5

The perfect house, location and owners!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Of 15 or more home rentals in several countries over the years, this was without doubt the nicest in all ways. The house is impeccably designed and decorated with amazing views, three living spaces, comfortable furnishings and beautiful outdoor spaces. The large, light and airy house has everything - and I mean everything from every possible kitchen need to a choice of bath soaps, books and dvds. We ate dinners in every night because it was easyto do so and lovely to watch the sunset as we ate indoors or out. Close to both airport and ferry terminal with dolphins and orcas passing by the dock, interesting boats and floatplanes grabbing the interest of the pilots in our group - it was a delight. But best of all are the wonderful owners who were so pleasant and thoughtful from the beginning of our communication to the the prompt return of our damage deposit. When we had a medical issue throw a wrench in our vacation plans, they were more than understanding - they were generous and accommodating to make our vacation plans perfect. You cannot go wrong renting this beautiful property.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Two Acre Oceanfront Oasis - Luxury Waterfront Home-Spectacular Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258172vbi
+1 250-654-0420
Victoria Vancouver Island
Oro Valley AZ USA
5

A PIECE OF HEAVEN

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Lovely Thalassa Point home is more than the perfect place to get away and relax! This beautiful home welcomes you immediately as you walk through its front door. The majestic views through the walls of windows and from the lovely deck take your breath away. We ate our dinner every night on the deck while enjoying fabulous views of the ocean, surrounding islands and gorgeous sunsets. Rob and Mark were very gracious and have thought of every detail to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The house sparkles and is beautifully furnished, amenities are top of the line and the surrounding property is meticulously manicured. We spent many hours down on the boat dock watching the larger than life starfish and enjoyed a little seal swimming by. There is much to do in the area. We loved the quaint seaside town, Sidney by the Sea, with all its shops and restaurants. We also drove down to tour the City of Victoria and to take a whale watching excursion (on which we enjoyed the rare sight of 3 pods of Orcas totaling 80 whales!). We highly recommend this amazing home to anyone who needs to unwind and relax. Our daughter said that this wonderful home and surrounding property were a "piece of heaven" and indeed they are. We are already planning our trip back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Two Acre Oceanfront Oasis - Luxury Waterfront Home-Spectacular Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258172vbi
+1 250-654-0420
Victoria Vancouver Island
Tyler, Texas
5

Spectacular Home, Location, Hosts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Thalassa Point is truly a spectacular vacation home rental! The great photos on the web site absolutely don't do it justice. Following the personal greeting by the owner, we knew we were in for quite a treat as he took us on a tour of the meticulously cared for gardens, the access to the dock, and this lovely home. It was difficult to follow along as each view, attribute, and amenity were pointed out--we were so giddy with excitement and captured by the beauty and loving care/devotion the owners have for this home. We had arranged to meet our best friends for a week's stay in celebration of both couples' 43rd wedding anniversaries, and it would be impossible to find a more fitting location than this paradise on earth. The quality of furnishings, the fantastic kitchen, the top-of-the-line dishes, cookware, entertainment features, etc., etc. are simply unsurpassed. We have stayed in perhaps as many as 20-25 vacation home rentals, and without a doubt Thalassa Point is the best equipped and cared for property! Tips on area restaurants--with individually printed maps and the owners' reviews--were a great personal touch, as was their accessibility for any info we might have wanted. It was ironic Rob expressed regret there were showers a couple of the mornings during our stay, but that just meant we were able to spend even more time in this lovely home. Yet, we ventured on whale watching excursion from Sidney (were treated to an orca sky hopping "for us", as though Rob had even arranged for this rare and unique sighting); a tour of the Butchart Gardens; enjoyed the Victoria classic boat show in Victoria's harbor; had tea at Empress Hotel; savored the Great Canadian Beer Fest; all of these activities within no more than a 20 minute drive. But then being able to return to Thalassa Point and witness the majestic sunsets while sipping wine capped each day in a glorious fashion! Unfortunately, vacations come to an end, and it was truly a disappointment to have to leave. We are, however, already contemplating a return visit, but as the word gets out about this marvelous and spectacular home and setting, I suspect we may have difficulty finding available dates.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Two Acre Oceanfront Oasis - Luxury Waterfront Home-Spectacular Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258172vbi
+1 250-654-0420
Victoria Vancouver Island
5

Luxurious Oceanfront Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our family of 4 has stayed at other VRBO properties in North America, but none can compare to this one. This is our second stay at this wonderful home and I can't say enough about the property, setting and owners. The location is a convenient short drive from the ferry terminal through lovely country roads. Sydney by the Sea is 8 min. away and Victoria 25 minutes.
This is a relaxing and serene residence where fresh air and wildlife is abundant. It is situated on a beautiful sunny and warm waterfront and waking up to the astounding ocean views from the comfortable king bed was delightful.
The professionally landscaped yard and gardens are beautiful, We spent many hours on the deck every day enjoying morning coffee, afternoon sunshine and evening sunsets. The house is spacious, meticulously clean and well appointed.
The hosts are extremely gracious and friendly, ready to help in any way.
We would definitely recommend this property!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Two Acre Oceanfront Oasis - Luxury Waterfront Home-Spectacular Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258172vbi
+1 250-654-0420
Victoria Vancouver Island
Richmond, VA, USA
5

The Perfect Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
As the designated writer for our group of 6, I certainly hope I can convey our over-the-top satisfaction with our week at Thalassa Point. The group are all seasoned travelers with pretty high expectations of our lodging and we have used VRBO many times with satisfaction. However, Thalassa Point and its owners, Rob and Mark, are delightful and made us feel as if we were at home, but in an absolutely beautiful one!!!
The kitchen was so great that we opted out of eating out most nights and cooked wonderful dinners. Serving those dinners on the deck was beautiful because you can watch the boats going by, see the birds including great blue herons, and watch the sunset. The dining room was equally enjoyable with plenty of room for all of us. Living areas were perfect and the bedrooms superb. Everyone felt that they had their perfect private space, but the living areas accommodated us all for conversations, computer work or naps!
A quick word about wi-fi….many places have it, but we have found it is often hard to work, spotty or super slow. Thalassa Point has easy and reliable wi-fi so the occasional work issue or e-mail need is quickly and easily accommodated.
The grounds are park-like and full of lovely plantings; the waterfront is fun, with a great dock where we opted for drinks a couple of evenings. We couldn’t get over the starfish and crabs that were easily seen on the rocks. One of our six even enjoyed swimming off the dock! The neighborhood is also wonderful since we have many walkers in our group. The roads are uncrowded and everyone felt comfortable taking long walks. The “corner” grocery shop is close by and full of wonderful things to buy. We were also impressed with the ease of finding local produce during our August visit. Corn and raspberries were our two favorite finds.
All in all this was a wonderful experience and we are all looking forward to an opportunity to return…now we just have to find the time. A special thank you must be extended to our hosts who were so very helpful, cordial and fun, but never intrusive!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Two Acre Oceanfront Oasis - Luxury Waterfront Home-Spectacular Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258172vbi
+1 250-654-0420
Victoria Vancouver Island
Spokane, WA
5

Words Almost Fail

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
To adequately describe how pleased we were with our stay at Thalassa Point. We were three couples, cousins from different parts of the States, who gather once a year somewhere for a little retreat. We all agree that our choice this year was the best ever! The accommodations, high quality linens, dishes -- just everything made our visit so pleasant and meaningful. Then there is the VIEW. Breathtaking, of course for those not accustomed to to watching the sun set over the sparkling sea every evening. We were absolutely entranced. The time went by too quickly and we hated to leave. Our thanks to our hosts for their great hospitality and willingness to 'be there' for us. I can't think of a single thing that was missing. Had we known how wonderful Thalassa Point would be, we would have booked for longer. We certainly hope to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Two Acre Oceanfront Oasis - Luxury Waterfront Home-Spectacular Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258172vbi
+1 250-654-0420
Victoria Vancouver Island
Medford, Oregon
5

Wonderful property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family just returned from a 10 day stay at this wonderful property and already want to return. What a peaceful, tranquil location. We loved the comfortable, clean home with every amenity you could wish for. The highlight of our stay would probably have to be the meals we shared on the deck overlooking the beautiful water views, no restaurant we saw could match it. The owners have also installed a gorgeous garden that we enjoyed.

The great location was a bonus, close to the ferry terminal and Sidney. Victoria was just a short drive away.

Thank you Robert for sharing your wonderful,property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Two Acre Oceanfront Oasis - Luxury Waterfront Home-Spectacular Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258172vbi
+1 250-654-0420
Victoria Vancouver Island
Medicine Hat, Alberta
5

A & C Alberta

A & C Alberta
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We have stayed at Thalassa Point a number of times and will continue to return at least twice a year...even if we win the lotto! Beautiful, comfortable, great location, excellent hosts/owners, views to die for, peace and quiet.....it's like time stops! Short distance to Sidney a great community and still only a short drive to Victoria for more options. The Island is beautiful and Rob and Mark have and continue to make Thalassa Point an extra special place. Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: A fine review from two of our favorite guests. It is always a pleasure to welcome this couple to Thalassa Point as we know that the home will be treated with great respect. Thanks so much Allan & Cathy.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Two Acre Oceanfront Oasis - Luxury Waterfront Home-Spectacular Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258172vbi
+1 250-654-0420
Victoria Vancouver Island
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
5

Amazing experience. Again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My partner and I enjoyed this wonderful house on the ocean so much last year that we had to return. This second stay was even better than the first and she and i cannot wait to return a third time.

Rob and Mark take such obvious pride in the property. The house is furnished tastefully, the garden is nothing less than fabulous, and they have considered every possible need of their guests. (To be truthful, the kitchen is better equipped than my own.).

Located in a rural area not far from Victoria and a ten minute drive to the lovely town of Sidney, this location offers ready access to the museums and sights of the city while providing an idyllic home base.

The ocean view fascinates. I have stared out at the passing boats for hours and, on this trip, I saw an orca whale swim leisurely past my window.

Don't miss the opportunity to stay here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Two Acre Oceanfront Oasis - Luxury Waterfront Home-Spectacular Setting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p258172vbi
+1 250-654-0420
Victoria Vancouver Island
sacramento
5

Wonderful beyond words

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
If this rental was a wine, it would be Romanee Conte or Lafite. The house is incredible. Our group of four experienced travelers simply fell in love with it. The furnishings are comfortable. The beds were top of line. The house was immaculate. The view from almost every window was spectacular. The location was close to the charming little town of Sidney and not too far from Victoria. For us, it was the perfect location. The other reviews are spot on and can described it far better than my limited ability. Finally, I found Robert and Mark to be proud owners, honest people, extremely helpful and friendly. I have rented houses in Hawaii through VRBO for the last 10 years and this is the finest rental at which I have stayed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5