Packwood house rental - Moosewood Manor
Moosewood Manor
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Packwood House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-12), Hotub!

Also check out our website for more information and pictures at: http://www.moosewoodmanor.net/

Welcome to Moosewood Manor! Enjoy our family-friendly, two-story 2300 sq ft custom crafted cabin in the heart of the Pacific Northwest mountains. Located on a secluded, quiet cul-de-sac in the town of Packwood, the house backs up to the Gifford Pinchot National Forest and looks out on the Tatoosh Mountain Range.

This house has all the essentials for a true mountain retreat. The first floor has expansive vaulted ceilings and an open floor plan with gourmet kitchen, living and dining areas. The kitchen boasts custom cabinetry, a full size pantry, and all the utensils you'll need. Enjoy the beautiful forest and partial mountain views from the floor to ceiling windows in the living room and from the front deck. Relax on our large leather sofa and hand-crafted rocking chairs as you sip a glass of wine or cup of hot cocoa in front of the glowing gas fireplace with river rock surround. Watch the stars as you soak in the large hot tub or roast marshmallows on the outdoor fire pit.

Moosewood Manor sleeps up to 10 adults and 2 children. The romantic master bedroom on the second floor includes a hand-crafted king size log bed, gas fireplace and walk-in-closet. The attached master bathroom has a two person soaking tub, shower, and double sinks. Two additional bedrooms, plus a split bathroom, are found on the first floor. Bedroom one has a hand-crafted queen size log bed while bedroom two has a full size Murphy bed plus a kid-approved bunk bed. Two futons in the den in the daylight basement provide additional sleeping space. The daylight basement also features a second TV and DVD player, mudroom, and half-bath. Throughout the house, you'll find many environmentally friendly features including bamboo, cork, and wool floors and water-saving toilets.

Moosewood Manor is part of the Timberline Village recreational community, which provides access to tennis courts, playground, playing fields, a club house and two seasonal swimming pools. The southeast corner to Mt. Rainier National Park is 15 minutes away, and the White Pass Ski Area, with downhill and cross-country skiing, daycare, and ski school, is 25 minutes away. Nearby lakes include Rife, Mayfield, Takalack, Packwood, Rimrock and Chambers as well as many more where you can find fishing, boating and hiking.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

We're the Schubert family: Tim, Arlene, daughter Alexa, and grandson Brendan. Tim and Arlene recently retired. After 18 years living in Tacoma, WA, they're exploring adventures farther afield--currently Lake Chapala, Mexico!

The Owner purchased this house in 2003

We chose this location because we loved the beauty and hiking of Mount Rainier, the skiing at White Pass, and the easy access from Tacoma and Seattle. We also liked the amenities and great community of Timberline Village, plus the small-town charm of Packwood.

We love to hike, ski, and snowshoe. Arlene also recommends the thrift stores of Packwood.

13 Reviews of Property 257461 in Packwood, Washington

Luxurious Custom Cabin Near Mt. Rainier Park & White Pass Ski Area
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Luxurious Custom Cabin Near Mt. Rainier Park & White Pass Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257461vbi
Packwood Mount Rainier
5

Great Winter and Holiday Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We rented Moosewood Manor for a friends-Thanksgiving experience/birthday party at Moosewood Manor . We arrived at the Manor on Thanksgiving day, and were so amazed at all of the amenities the house had to offer. The pictures don't do it justice - the living room is spectacular, as is the master bedroom. The other bedrooms are very nice - there is a lot of space. The house was clean and ready for our arrival.

We had absolutely every utensil necessary to prepare a fantastic Thanksgiving meal - they had thought of everything! We all enjoyed the hot tub, and the TV was much appreciated by the football fans! We played several games that were at the cabin, and we also enjoyed a hike around Packwood Lake one day - it was gorgeous.

The manager was very helpful and as we booked our reservation, and very attentive. Thank you, Moosewood Manor! We hope to come back ASAP!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxurious Custom Cabin Near Mt. Rainier Park & White Pass Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257461vbi
Packwood Mount Rainier
Dallas, OR
5

FABULOUS HOUSE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We've been renting houses every summer for about 12 years now, and this was one of the best we've ever stayed in! The house was perfect for our group of 7 to spread out or be together. The ground floor level was perfect for the teenagers to hang out in the den and the snow room. The main floor was spacious for everyone to gather around the kitchen, tv, or out on the deck. After a day of exploring Mount Saint Helens or Mount Rainier, the hot tub was very inviting and wonderful to lay back and watch the stars. The house is located in a very nice quiet neighborhood that was perfect for walking our dogs and enjoying a nice walk out in the woods. I think the area is mostly intended for the skiing crowd, but summer was a perfect time to be there, too. There are elk right in the middle of nearby Packwood, and we even had a deer come up and watch us through the kitchen window! Moosewood Manor was centrally located so that we were able to spend a day in both Mount Saint Helens and Mount Rainier. I would definitely recommend this house and hope to some day return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxurious Custom Cabin Near Mt. Rainier Park & White Pass Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257461vbi
Packwood Mount Rainier
Edgewood, Washington
5

INCREDIBLE!!!!!! Now time for some SNOW! =)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our experience was INCREDIBLE at Moosewood Manor, so worth every penny I am absolutely sure of it! This house is immaculate! Everything is so beautiful, well thought out and planned by the staff for our arrival and stay. We enjoyed our time there and the owners and hospitality staff were amazingly helpful with everything! I have never been to a vacation rental that was so well accommodating to the guests =) Thank You! I could have stayed a couple of weeks and would have never run out of adventures to explore and do! The location was absolutely perfect for hiking, the pool and will be for skiing as well! Maybe we will even try some snow shoeing while we are there. I came to the website today again because we enjoyed our stay at your home so much this past summer that I wanted to see about dates for a ski trip with our kids in February and I am excitedly trying to put one together. I would not want to stay anywhere else in Packwood .... I believe your home is the most perfect for winter and or summer excursions. I am looking forward to a long soak in that hot tub after some hopefully wonderful days skiing. Looking forward to seeing you soon! Thanks again for putting so much time and effort into making your guests feel so special and thought of!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxurious Custom Cabin Near Mt. Rainier Park & White Pass Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257461vbi
Packwood Mount Rainier
Tacoma, WA
5

White Pass winter getaway - and an awesome place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We came out for a long weekend to go cross-country skiing at White Pass. This was my first VRBO rental and it was a definite winner. The cabin is very large and comfortable, with a lovely living and dining area, very complete kitchen (with all the pots, pans, plates and even most spices you could ask for), comfortable rooms, and a big mudroom downstairs to dry out our snowy clothes. We made a couple of hearty meals in the full kitchen, relaxed on the sofa, and played board games on the big dining room table when warm weather and sore muscles nixed our last day of skiing. The house would be great for big groups - we had 4 one night and 7 one night and had plenty of room and sleeping options to spare.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious Custom Cabin Near Mt. Rainier Park & White Pass Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257461vbi
Packwood Mount Rainier
Richland, Wa
5

Lovely, well-appointed and well-stocked.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
This home was beautiful, spacious and thoughtfully stocked -- from the kitchen utensils to the spare blankets. Everything you need in a vacation home will be at your fingertips.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious Custom Cabin Near Mt. Rainier Park & White Pass Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257461vbi
Packwood Mount Rainier
Roy, WA
5

R&R from Iraq

R&R from Iraq
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
The folks who manage the cabin were great. The ladies who take care of special need (flowers & wine) took care of everything for me. The cabin itself was clean, smells nice and very comfy. The hot tub was excellent after a day of skiing and the location in relation to WhitePass ski resort was excellent. We had deer in the driveway and never even heard a neighbor the whole time we were their. I would recommend this getaway to anyone looking to be able to just relax and enjoy some time off. The Wi-Fi worked great and the kitchen has all the extras like spices that you don't want to pack with you. Even the folks at the local grocerie store were very helpful. I would do it again in a hearbeat. Thanks to you all at Moosewood
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much! We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxurious Custom Cabin Near Mt. Rainier Park & White Pass Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257461vbi
Packwood Mount Rainier
St Marys, ON Canada
5

Ultimate Mountain Cabin experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
This beautiful cabin contains the most fantastic wood decor. The cleanliness, amenities, comfort and setting were absolutely outstanding! We especially enjoyed the large kitchen suitable for gourmet cooking, the hot tub with spectacular surrounding forest scenery, the outdoor fire pit, the extremely comfortable beds & futons as well as the number and style of the lovely bathroom facilities. Location was perfect for hiking and driving ventures and the charming friendly town of Packwood very convenient. Proximity to Mt Rainier and trailheads was a real bonus. The owner was more than obilging with information, help and suggestions to ensure a wonderful holiday experience. We have stayed in many vacation rental properties over the years and everyone in the family agreed that this is the best home we have ever encountered. We would definitely highly recommend this cabin.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxurious Custom Cabin Near Mt. Rainier Park & White Pass Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257461vbi
Packwood Mount Rainier
Kennewick
5

A beautiful retreat!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
My friends and I had an amazing extended weekend at Moosewood Manor! It was the perfect place for us to scrapbook and enjoy the outdoors! Can't wait to come back next year!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxurious Custom Cabin Near Mt. Rainier Park & White Pass Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257461vbi
Packwood Mount Rainier
seattle
5

luxurious "cabin" near mount rainier

luxurious "cabin" near mount rainier
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
This "cabin" is luxurious.
We really appreciated all the "extras" that were thought of -like the bath "blue water"(my girls called it) oil, games, extra toiletries, towels, blankets, and kitchen condiments. We were so comfortable and everything was so clean and beautiful. It's apparent that this place is well cared for and loved. We stay in cabins 1-2 times a month--and this was the nicest that we've been to.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxurious Custom Cabin Near Mt. Rainier Park & White Pass Ski Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257461vbi
Packwood Mount Rainier
Olympia, WA
5

Beautiful, well-stocked house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We had a great time at Moosewood Manor in July 2010. The house is spacious and nicely furnished and the kitchen is well-stocked. The hot tub was really nice, with a retractable awning. Having access to the community pool and tennis courts is a nice bonus! The notebook filled with all of the different hiking locations and local sights was very helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2