Poppiano villa rental - The Colonica Villa
The Colonica Villa
 
  • Bedrooms10
  • Sleeps22
  • 9 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights
 

Poppiano Villa Rental Photos and Description
9 bedrooms, 10 full bathrooms, sleeps 22 or more/less people, catering availab.

Our ancient master-house called COLONICA villa, has been recently restored originating a villa made of 9 bedrooms (of which 5 double-bedrooms and 4 rooms that can be used as triple-, twin- or double-bedrooms), 10 bathrooms (each one with shower, bidet, wc, basin; one is suitable for handicapped people), 2 large living-diningrooms each one with fireplaces (made of stones) and TVs-sat, and each one with an equipped with all you need to cook; in addition, there is 1 large kitchen fully equipped with a 4 ring stove, fridge, freezer, dish-washer, microwave, moka (Italian Coffe-Maker), toaster and kettle. Next to this kitchen, a dining room able to sit 25 people.At guests' disposal: a private outdoor space in the garden/park, shaded and equipped with tables and chairs in order to relax or organize dinners or barbecues 'open-air'; private parking places; a laundry-room ;a swimmingpool 15x7,5 metres. Each bedroom is provided with a fan in order to refresh your days and nights. Internet wi-fi

Our Location & Information for larger Groups: For group larger than 22 persons, we may set at your disposal the FIENILE COTTAGE located 20 metres far from the Colonica Villa that may accomodate up to 8 persons or more (max 37 pers.). Podere Le Rondini is located in the heart of the Chianti region, in the open countryside, 800 metres far from the small village of Poppiano (where you may visit the ancient Poppiano Castle that dates back to the X century). Podere Le Rondini is a perfect example of a Tuscan country villa, immersed in the tranquillity of the Tuscan countryside, mid-way beetwen Florence and Siena. More than 20 hectares of our vineyards and olive groves are sourrounding the estate for unforgettable walks immersed in untouched nature. We are about 25 km far from Florence, 45 km far from Siena and 30 km far from San Gimignano. Our geo-targeting information are: LAT: 43.649018 - LONG: 11.101422. The nearest airport is Florence-Amerigo Vespucci (25 km far). It is not that far also the Pisa Airport-Galileo Galilei:70 km far

Activities & Facilities: At guests' disposal there is also more than 20 hectares of our land are surrounding the estate for unforgettable walks immersed in untouched nature. The house has its own private shaded area in the park, equipped with tables and chairs in order to relax or eat open-air, organizing BBQs or dinners. Our promise is to make your stay quiet and relaxing, surrounded by nature and away from the hubbub of city life. On September, October and November you can join us during the grape harvest or the collection of olives, actively helping and observing these gestures and the ancient rites that lead to the production of Chianti wine and Tuscan extra virgin olive-oil, that you may also buy at our place.Upon request we can cook for you typical Tuscan dinners, even every night, while every morning we can offer you fresh bread and croissants, plus a real and strong espresso.At your arrival, we will be glad to suggest you the best itineraries to discover the most beautiful Chianti towns or villages .

Horse Riding & Life in Tuscany, Chianti: TYPICAL TUSCAN DINNERS or BUFFETS (cooked upon request).

The Tuscan food & wine culture... At our farm, in our fresh dishes you can really taste the perfect symphony of the typical local flavors: please do not hesitate to ask us for a menu tailored to your needs and preferences !

HORSE-RIDING, HORSEMANSHIP & EQUITATION.

If you like to know and better appreciate the Chianti landscapes from a privileged perspective, we suggest you to discover them on horseback! Less than 5 minutes driving far from our farmhouse there is an horse-riding-center reserved to our guests. Adults and children may ride safe and securely.

GRAPE HARVEST AND OLIVES PICKING: Experience both of them at our place from September to November. You may join us and our workers (for free) in order to have a real experience of the local ancient harvest’s techniques.

BEAUTY TREATMENTS: a professional esthetician may be called at our place for Beauty & Cocooning treatments!

COOKING CLASSES: have fun with us while learning how to cook Italian dishes!!! FUN , FUN & FUN is assured!

OUR GUIDES for CHIANTI WINE TOURS and FLORENCE WALKING TOURS are well-known in Tuscany for their preparation & culture. It will be a funny and nice experience while learning a lot on our culture! Take the chance!

COME TO HARVEST with us on September & November: learn how to make wines and extra-virgin-olive-oil!

More Details
Hide Details

My name is Nicola Carafa (next to me is my mother Paola, a great cook that you may experience in case you'll like to have one of our Tuscan dinner served!). My family owned this farm since XIX Century. Last year I have decided to renovate the whole property and to fully dedicate myself to offer to guests the opportunity to taste the best of my region, Tuscany. I also dedicate myself to the production of wines and extra-virgin-olive-oil. I will be very happy to welcome you at PODERE LE RONDINI and share our Chianti culture with you! Thank you!

Nicola Carafa purchased this villa in 1800

This was our family house since beginning of XIX Century.

Cozy, romantic surroundings in the true Chianti hills. Quiet, charming, traditional but with all the comforts. Our family will be happy to welcome you and provide you will all the information and help to spend a wonderful holiday, tasting and visiting the best of Tuscany and Chianti!

16 Reviews of Property 257016 in Poppiano, Italy

Luxury Villa in true Chianti hills,all comforts,pool,catering,garden
average rating of 4.9375 based on 16 reviews
business
Luxury Villa in true Chianti hills,all comforts,pool,catering,garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257016
Poppiano Val d'Elsa
Houston, Texas
5

Family gathering!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We were a large group and our host was very helpful in suggesting places to visit, the easiest way to get there as well as restaurants and so on. The villa was well furnished and every room had a fantastic view of the Tuscan countryside. Our host Nicola and his mother Poala were super. Poala cooked 2 wonderful meals for our group. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone thinking of visiting this area. You do not need to be a large group because the villa can be divided up into smaller apartments.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Luxury Villa in true Chianti hills,all comforts,pool,catering,garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257016
Poppiano Val d'Elsa
Houston, Texas
5

Podere Le Rondini

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We were greeted by our host Nicola Le Rondini and his mother Paola. Both of the couldn't have been more accommodating. The villa was lovely and our hosts were very helpful in telling us about places to visit and even making bookings for us at restaurants. I would highly recommend anyone thinking of going to Tuscany to visit Podere Le Rondini.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Villa in true Chianti hills,all comforts,pool,catering,garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257016
Poppiano Val d'Elsa
5

Perfect Stay in Beautiful Villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Podere Le Rondini far exceeded our expectations! We rented the villa for 20 family members to celebrate my parents 50th wedding anniversary. We could not have asked for a more perfect villa, more beautiful setting or more gracious hosts than we had at Podere Le Rondini! The villa is updated, clean and spacious. The countryside is beautiful with rolling vineyards that can be seen through each window. Owners, Nicola and Paola were very attentive throughout the rental process and when needed for questions, directions or restaurant reservations. They had coffee, juice and pastries for us on our first morning since we arrived late the evening before. They prepared a beautiful dinner for us on the patio and we hired Salvatore to sing for us as we danced the night away. We created memories that will never be forgotten. This property is very central for day trips. I highly recommend that you go to this property. Search no further. In addition to the villa they also have beautiful apartments.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Luxury Villa in true Chianti hills,all comforts,pool,catering,garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257016
Poppiano Val d'Elsa
FRANCE
5

VERY NICE PLACE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Very positive points : welcome, cleanness, ideal place to visit FLORENCE and TUSCANY, kindness of owners.
small negative point : very small and unconfortable kitchen
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Agnes,
thanks a lot for your review. For next year, we have scheduled some renovation works to enlarge the kitchen in order to offer to our guests more comfort. I thank you very much for your overall appreciation despite this minor matter! thank you! ciao
NIcola
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Luxury Villa in true Chianti hills,all comforts,pool,catering,garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257016
Poppiano Val d'Elsa
Woodstock, Georgia
5

Perfect!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Oh where do I start.. The villa was perfect with 5 bedroom and 5 ensuite baths perfect for 5 couples traveling together. Nicola and his family were very gracious in sharing their home with us... The propery was very well manicured, clean and had a spectacular views of the Tuscan country side. The location was perfect for many wonderful day trips to Pisa, Florence, Siena, San Gimignano and many more we did not have enough time to visit.. Nicola presented us with wine from his and the surrounding vinyards...Take advantage well worth the cost.. he was always available for any request, Molte grazie e baci, Nicola. Take advantage of a Tuscan dinner prepared by Nicola and his Mother, what a culanary delight. The only thing I would say was uncomfortable was there was no A/C. If you keep the windows closed during the day while you are away it is cool but at night, then welcome to Italy in June.. I would recommend this villa to all... abbiamo avuto un tempo meraviglioso con i nostri nuovi amici italiani (we had a wonderful time with our new Italian friends) thank you to Nicola and his family for the wonderful memories we will have forever.
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Luxury Villa in true Chianti hills,all comforts,pool,catering,garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257016
Poppiano Val d'Elsa
MIAMI,FL /USA
5

MEDICAL

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Villa in true Chianti hills,all comforts,pool,catering,garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257016
Poppiano Val d'Elsa
5

Idyllic villas in Tuscany

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We were part of the large group that stayed at Podere le Rondini from May 25 to June 19. The previous review is absolutely accurate. We had a wonderful, relaxing time which was due in large part to our hosts, Nicola and Paola. The 2 dinners served outside will be remembered forever. Terrific food served under the stars with music and good friends. Views across the Tuscan Hills toward the lights of Montespertoli were wonderful. Can't say enough about our vacation there.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Villa in true Chianti hills,all comforts,pool,catering,garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257016
Poppiano Val d'Elsa
5

Amazing Tuscan Adventure!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Beautiful Villa in a beautiful setting! Great place to come with a bunch of couples or with kids. We enjoyed swimming in the pool everyday and day trips to Sienna, Florence and vineyards throughout the region. The Villa is not far from Sienna or Florence. At night we'd come back to an incredible home-cooked Tuscan feast prepared just for us by Chef Paola. The food was delicious and we drank the wine from the Villa's own vineyard (Valvirginio) which is as good as some of the best wines I have tasted. Nicola and Paola are such wonderful hosts. They always greeted us with a smile and were so warm. Paola was especially great with my 2 kids (11 and 5) and she went out of her way to make sure that all of the food that she prepared for us for breakfast of dinner did not contain any nuts or nut oils as my daughter has a fatal nut allergy. If you are looking for a special and memorable vacation in Tuscany, I would highly recommend Podere Le Rondini Villa!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury Villa in true Chianti hills,all comforts,pool,catering,garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257016
Poppiano Val d'Elsa
Virginia, USA
5

Spectacular, warm, inviting, friendly - perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Reviewed June 20, 2012 NEW


We loved everything about our three week stay at Podere Le Rondini! We reserved all 13 rooms and some folks stayed all three weeks, others two, and some for a week – 49 people all told. This is the 7th time in ten years that we’ve rented a villa abroad and all agreed that this was the best ever!
The accommodations are spacious and lovely with each room having an ensuite bath with enclosed shower. All modern conveniences are present, including WiFi, hair dryers, dishwashers, coffee makers, well-stocked kitchens, comfortable living rooms and lovely patio seating. The views from the villa are spectacular. We were even treated to fireworks – seen from our patio or bedrooms - one midnight at the nearby town of Montespertoli as the Town concluded its wine festival.
Our hosts, Nicola and Paola, were the most helpful, gracious and friendly we’ve ever experienced, in ten years. They cooked two delicious dinners for us each week, served on the terrace, under the stars. They helped us hire a wonderful musician who entertained us with Italian love songs as we dined. They gave directions, recommended restaurants, made dinner reservations, arranged tours, did a wine tasting for us, gave us tours of the vineyard, delivered fresh brioche each morning, did our laundry and generally responded to our every need.
We highly recommend Le Podere Rondini. You can rent the whole villa as we did, or rent a two-bedroom, four bedroom, five bedroom, or combinations therein. The location is perfect for driving into Florence and for exploring the many Tuscan hill towns nearby.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Villa in true Chianti hills,all comforts,pool,catering,garden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257016
Poppiano Val d'Elsa
5

Perfection at Podere Le Rondini

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Just returned from 3 weeks at Podere le Rondini, it was PERFECTION! Nicola, Paola, Mario are the most wonderful hosts, we felt like famiy. The villa is spacious, comfortable, spotlessly clean, setting magnificent, gardens beautiful. Nicola, Paola and Mario do everything for you. We had meals twice a week made by Paola (for about 26 of us) which were delicious and beautifully presented, works of art! We also enjoyed music and song by Salvatore D'Ambrosio, a charming, delightful and talented singer and piano player. They helped our large group with driving, wine tasting, vineyard tours, sightseeing tours, anything we asked was graciously done and more! It was all one could dream of about a holiday in Italy, straight out of a movie! Could go on, but "perfection" sums it up! Hope to return!
Helpful votes: 2/2