Bayside cottage rental - Standing on the deck at dawn, early July...Glorious view over rooftops
Standing on the deck at dawn, early July...Glorious view over rooftops
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 30 nights
 

Bayside Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms 2 bath sleeps 7. Spectacular waterviews from every room!

Sunny Side, one of the great historic cottages of Bayside Village in Northport Maine was built in 1885 and was completely rebuilt in 2010. Sunny Side is a two bedroom two bath cottage with an open downstairs floor plan featuring a wrap around porch, two living areas and a large, gourmet kitchen / dining area. A 250 square foot second floor deck has lounge chairs and a table that seats six. The deck has an incredible view! Sunny Side sits perched on a bluff with views of Penobscot Bay from every room in the house. We are just a short 80 foot walk to ocean's edge. Come relax on the porch, read in a cozy nook, or kayak to your heart's content on the Bay. Sunny Side had all new beds and furniture mixed with a delightful group of antiques of the period. Downstairs bath is equipped with grab bars in the shower stall. You will love this house! Sunny Side sleeps seven in a King, a Queen, a twin, and a pull-out Queen sofa in the living room.

The Kitchen: The kitchen is an open plan and opens out to the family room, which faces the bay. There is a small dining area and a breakfast bar. Gourmet Appliances, Jen-Aire cooktop, Frigidaire side by side with icemaker and water dispenser. Dishwasher. Ceiling height in the downstairs rooms are 10 feet. There is a washer dryer in the basement, accessible through the garage.

The parlor: In the original part of the house, on the first floor is a small cozy seating area, and the stairs to the second floor all surrounding the original double doors of the house which open out onto the covered front porch. Sit outside here on graceful chairs and watch your children play in the 'square' of park that is Merithew Square. There are two beautiful maple shade trees in the front yard to keep the house cool during those August afternoons. This room is a perfect place to watch the world go by while catching up on some reading or checking your email.

The Family Room: Your back door opens into the family room, in the new addition off the rear of the house. This large room has two sets of sliding glass doors that open onto the wrap around balcony overlooking Penobscot Bay to the East and the old water pump in Merithew Square to the South. This sunny room will provide the perfect place for family togetherness as it opens onto the kitchen area. The family room is a delightful mix of antique wicker new upholstered furniture, and antiques.

More Details
Hide Details

We have two cottages for rent in Bayside and are locally owned and operated. We moved to Maine from Chicago about 12 years ago and found the Northport/ Belfast area by accident. Now we never want to leave! We love it here for all there is to do and see. Come experience Maine at its best!

Seth Thayer purchased this cottage in 2010

Sunny Side is an incredible property with views of Sears Island, Islesboro and Penobscot Bay from every room in the house. When we bought Sunny Side, we could have pushed the house over by ourselves. We spent 10 months essentially building a new house inside the period shell, but it was worth it! Sunny side has good flow and excellent presence in the village.

9 Reviews of Property 256562 in Bayside, Maine

Still have some choice weeks for the summer. Bring the dog. Amazing views
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Still have some choice weeks for the summer. Bring the dog. Amazing views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256562
+1 2073238383
Bayside MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
NYC- Brooklyn
5

Beyond our wildest dreams

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband and I moved out of NYC at the end of September and needed a place to live for 2 months before we moved into our new home in Massachusetts. We'd never been to Maine and renting a vacation home there seemed like a great idea! We both work from home and needed a comfortable place with reliable internet. Well, living in Sunnyside for October & November, 2012, was everything we ever could have hoped for and so much more. The house is situated up on a hill with the most unbelievable sunrises, sunsets and views throughout the day. Sleeping in the larger (king-size) bedroom, we left the curtains open and saw an incredible sky of stars every night and woke up with the sunrise. It is incredibly peaceful and an wonderful place to visit/live.

The kitchen is the most well-stocked kitchen we've ever stayed in! We've rented vacation homes in the past and decided that since we were renting for 2 months and we cook every day, we should bring our own kitchen materials. No need! Sunnyside's kitchen has everything you need with amazing quality materials, an open kitchen (great for entertaining), lots of space and everything you could want in a kitchen.

The bathrooms are both really lovely-- great tile, space, good shower pressure, etc. Once again, everything you could ask for!

The beds are extremely comfortable and have nice linens too.

The cottage, itself, is not huge, but with the high ceilings and windows everywhere, it feels extremely spacious.

Finally, and perhaps, most importantly, Seth and Greg are wonderful!! Seth was incredibly responsive in communication prior to our reservation and was then a really amazing resource as we were exploring the area (which, by the way, is one of the most special places I've ever been) and if we needed anything for the house.

When we got to Bayside Village and to Sunnyside, everyone we met said the same thing: "You're not going to want to leave." They were right. We can't wait to go back!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Still have some choice weeks for the summer. Bring the dog. Amazing views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256562
+1 2073238383
Bayside MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Beautiful Sunnyside in Bayside

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We enjoyed a "COSMIC" stay at Sunnyside in mid July 2012. The home is very comfortable, with gorgeous views, and a fabulous porch and deck. Bayside, Maine is a very special place. The 13 yr old with us, from NYC, had FREEDOM. He took sailing lessons (on his own), and played pick up basketball, on his own terms the whole week. He finally had some independence, safely. I would recommend this lovely, well-maintained, clean, beautifully appointed cottage (as they say in Maine) to anyone.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Still have some choice weeks for the summer. Bring the dog. Amazing views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256562
+1 2073238383
Bayside MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
De Pere, Wisconsin
5

Everything we'd hoped!

Everything we'd hoped!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We celebrated a landmark birthday and couldn't have chosen anything better! The cottage was delightful, the scenery amazing and our hosts terrific. Though the weather was a little chillier than we had hoped, the experience is near the top of our list of favorites and we would do it all over again in a heartbeat.

Thanks Seth!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Still have some choice weeks for the summer. Bring the dog. Amazing views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256562
+1 2073238383
Bayside MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Sunnyside Cottage, Bayside, Maine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This rental was exactly as described, maybe even better. It is a complete renovation of a historical cottage in Bayside. The remodel perfectly combines the old charm of a 100 year-old cttage with todays amenities. The bathrooms are large and comfortable with fluffy towels, the beds are brand new with high-end linens, the kitchen had every gadget we looked for, and the owners were delightful. We brought our dog (dogs are royalty in Bayside), and he loved it too. There is a front porch for chatting with the neighbors, and a private, upper deck for dining, relaxing, or entertaining. The views of Penobscot Bay from the living room, kitchen, master bedroom and upper deck are breathtaking. We will definitely return here.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Still have some choice weeks for the summer. Bring the dog. Amazing views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256562
+1 2073238383
Bayside MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
United States
5

Beautiful, flexible, and fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We have been long-time renters in Bayside and have stayed in many houses within the village. Sunnyside was a grand experience compared to the other rentals. We are a family of 2 kids, 2 parents, a mother-in-law and a dog.

Everything is so fresh and inviting inside the home. The open floor plan was refreshing for a Bayside home. The location is great--in the village, close to the water, and the Park.

All porches offer great views of the water or park, but the upstairs balcony is a special place for friends to visit, drinks, or a meal and star gazing. Our first night there we got to experience shooting stars. How lucky!

The rooms upstairs are comfy and welcoming. Our mattress was the best ever we had slept on in Bayside. Overall, the owners have selected homey, happy colors.

And, the owners were incredibly responsive to any needs. A big thumbs up to Seth and Greg.

The open floor plan on the first floor made for a nice means of moving around, particularly for my 90 year mother-in-law. She used the pull-out couch as a bed, and the universal designed bathroom on the first floor (for all disabilities or ages) allowed for a comfortable and safe experience for us all.

We thoroughly enjoyed having our dog with us--in previous years we had boarded our dog, but the flexibility at this home allowed us to enjoy our best friend every day, all day.

Go, enjoy and relax. We highly recommend Sunnyside!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow, thanks for such an enthusiastic review!! We are excited for your return visit this summer, thanks for renting with us!

Best,
Seth and Greg
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Still have some choice weeks for the summer. Bring the dog. Amazing views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256562
+1 2073238383
Bayside MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
United States
5

Sunnyside in March!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We had a wonderful two-week stay in Sunnyside this past March (2011). The house has been tastefully and carefully "reformed" -- honoring its past as a cottage yet with a modern feel and updated amenities. The place is cozy -- perfect for the two of us and our golden retriever -- nevertheless there is a sense of spaciousness thanks to the open rooms, high ceilings, and a multitude of windows. A previous reviewer commented that the pictures do not do it justice. That is accurate. While we did not get to use the upstairs deck to its fullest (March in Maine is still winter), the view from it is spectacular.

The owners were attentive to all our needs, and when the wireless connection acted up, for example, Seth responded immediately.

Meanwhile, Bayside was delightful in March: very quiet and friendly. We did a lot of walking, sometimes just around Bayside, at other times at Moose Point State Park just 5 or 6 miles north on Route 1. And if you have not been to Belfast, we highly recommend a visit, especially a tapa bar called the 3Tides.

Likewise, we highly recommend Sunnyside.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Still have some choice weeks for the summer. Bring the dog. Amazing views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256562
+1 2073238383
Bayside MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Canada
5

Lovely Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We stayed at Sunnyside the first 2 weeks of August 2010. We were their 2nd renters. What a special place. The pictures on line really don't capture its size or charm. Our daughters loved their beautiful room .
Our bedroom was huge, and what a terrific view. We ate supper on the deck every night overlooking the ocean. The cottage was perfect. Quiet, set back from some of the busier spots at Bayside. A little park in front of the cottage was the perfect place for our kids to play. We loved walking through Bayside and visiting the playground. A most welcome community. The kids were so excited to find so many star fish, and loved the chance to jump in the ocean off the dock.
Any concerns about our cottage were dealt with swiftly by Seth. He was most concerned that we enjoyed our stay. We would highly recommend Sunnyside for anyone wishing a wonderful ocean stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Still have some choice weeks for the summer. Bring the dog. Amazing views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256562
+1 2073238383
Bayside MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Princeton, NJ
5

The Perfect Cottage in Coastal Maine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
This 19th-century cottage is being brought back by its owners to the perfect combination of old and new, retaining the character of authenticity while adding flair to the furnishings. The updated baths and kitchens are terrific--far above the norm for a vacation cottage. The setting is perfect--fantastic views over Penobscot Bay, with a wonderful private deck perched like an aerie over the other Victorian cottages between Sunnyside and the Bay. We found Bayside itself to be a completely charming, quiet setting, social if you want to engage with others in the village, private if that's your preference. The owners are helpful on every level, and their dog-friendly outlook terrific, especially in a cottage of this charm. Perfect for couples and adults in particular! We'll be back--need I say more?
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Still have some choice weeks for the summer. Bring the dog. Amazing views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256562
+1 2073238383
Bayside MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
china village maine
5

sunny side

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We've stayed at several cottages in the community of Bayside and this one exceeded all our expectations. The owners were finishing construction in the weeks before our rental date, but all was cleaned up and beautiful when we arrived. The beds were incredibly comfortable with quality linens. Because we were the first renters they asked to notify them if anything was missing, and when we did, they brought over the items immediately. They were very mindful of our privacy and we never saw them. There were so many comfortable spots to sit and enjoy the view, including a deck off the second floor bedroom overlooking the ocean (and a star filled sky at night). We'll go back there for as long as we vacation in Bayside .
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5