Antigonish house rental - great room
great room
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Antigonish House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Welcome to our special piece of Nova Scotia paradise! This post and beam home is located on a 2.3 acre oceanfront lot overlooking the warm waters of the Northumberland Strait. The community is called Dr's Brook and is a 15 minute drive from the town of Antigonish. The house has an unparalleled view of the ocean, P.E.I. across the straight, and gorgeous sunsets off the west deck.

The beach is only 100 feet away from the house where you can swim, snorkel, walk, look for fossils, collect snail shells or just relax and soak up the sun. From the deck you can watch eagles, hawks, blue herons, hummingbirds and loons fly by when you aren't busy laughing at the seals and whales as they frolic in the ocean on their way to their fishing grounds.

The beach is very quiet, as there are only 3 other cottages nearby. The house is ideal for families or couples looking for privacy and relaxation near the ocean.

Keywords: House

12 Reviews of Property 121836 in Antigonish, Nova Scotia

Piper's Path Oceanfront Beach House
average rating of 4.909091 based on 12 reviews
business
Piper's Path Oceanfront Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121836vb
(403) 249-8241 (Alberta, Canada)
Antigonish Nova Scotia
5

Family retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We came for the Thanksgiving weekend to visit my son who attends St. FX and all 8 of us stayed at this beautiful cottage. To be there and experience the scenery and landscape was truly a retreat experience for all of us. The cottage was sparkling clean and had everything even a family as large as ours required. It was a pleasure to live for a few days in an environment that was obviously truly cared for. Everything from the comfortable furniture, antique pieces, artwork, bedding, gorgeous deck and large basement space was very much appreciated. Every one of us had a bed to sleep in and, quite frankly, the pictures you see of the cottage don't even do it justice. We'll be back for sure. Staying at Piper's Path Oceanfront Beach House was definitely the best part of our visit to Nova Scotia.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mary, we are so glad that your entire family enjoyed their stay at the cottage and that having a place to relax made your trip to Nova Scotia even more enjoyable. Hopefully when you return you will be able to stay a bit longer and enjoy all that the area has to offer!
business
Piper's Path Oceanfront Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121836vb
(403) 249-8241 (Alberta, Canada)
Antigonish Nova Scotia
Ottawa
5

Great cottage near Antigonish

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family of 5 stayed here because my oldest daughter wanted to visit St. Francis Xavier University so we decided to make a vacation out of the visit. This cottage is exactly as it's advertised on this site. We had a great time. The only thing is this year the beach was not sandy it was rocky but the kids loved exploring the rocks and there is a sandy public beach nearby plus other beaches in the area ( try Pomquet beach). The water at the cottage was the warmest out of the beaches we visited. The cottage was very clean when we arrived and everything is well organized. Very private and quiet. Only 1 cottage nearby and it was empty while we were there. The owner answered all my questions that I asked promptly. I would definately stay here again. All you really need to bring is your clothes and food.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Piper's Path Oceanfront Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121836vb
(403) 249-8241 (Alberta, Canada)
Antigonish Nova Scotia
Rideau Ferry Ontario
5

PIPERS PATH

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed at this cottage the week before our son's wedding in Antigonish. It was approx. 20 minutes from the town. Upon arrival, everything was exactly as shown in the pictures and as the description.provided . The place was spotless, the kitchen was fully equipped with every item needed, garage had every toy for a holiday. The beach, though rocky, was wonderful. We walked the beach many times.It was private and very quiet. Sunsets were fabulous. The lobster from Arisaig pier was superb and fun to go and get them fresh from the fishery.. The owners were very helpful in suggesting activities and so easy to offer help in getting the cottage prepared for us.
I would love to return to Pipers Path. We had some stressful days, preparing for the upcoming wedding, not being in my own home and all, however, the cottage offered me a time of peaceful relaxation when I could grab a moment.
Coffee on the deck in the mornings, watching the lobster boats, or wine in the evenings on the deck watching the sunset were my AHHHH moments.!!!
We were able to have some of our friends stay with us, during the week, as there was plenty of room in the cottage bedrooms and bathrooms
The only improvement would have been the weather - we had lots of rain, but we take what mother nature gives us.
Thank You Debbie for sharing your special place with my family. We loved it and give you a big thumbs up .
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Piper's Path Oceanfront Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121836vb
(403) 249-8241 (Alberta, Canada)
Antigonish Nova Scotia
Halifax
5

So relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Lovely location, great views and the condition of the cottage was very clean, cosy and inviting. All the amenities and more provided.
I would definetly recommend others to stay here, especially if you're looking for a relaxing getaway in the peace and quiet.
The only slight downside is that the beach is more rocky than sandy but there is more than enough land surrounding the cottage to be able to sunbathe, play volleyball etc
Highly recommended
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Piper's Path Rebecca. Our beach changes over time depending on what Mother Nature decides to do! Some years it is sandy and other years it it more pebbly. For those that like a very sandy beach, the Arisaig public beach is only 5 minutes away and it is always sandy. During low tide it has an enormous sand bar that stretches from one wharf to the other.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Piper's Path Oceanfront Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121836vb
(403) 249-8241 (Alberta, Canada)
Antigonish Nova Scotia
Edmonton, Alberta
5

Piper's Path

Piper's Path
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Hello!

We really enjoyed our stay at the cottage! Loved having a drink on the deck, taking in the spectacular sunsets each night. We went exploring along the beach, had a bonfire at night and spent time at the Arisaig beach which is close by. My son got a skim board and had fun trying to master it. My daughter was busy collecting shells and even found a starfish. The house was very clean and looked exactly like the photos on the website. We are planning to return for another visit!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Piper's Path Oceanfront Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121836vb
(403) 249-8241 (Alberta, Canada)
Antigonish Nova Scotia
Merrickville, Ontario
5

A wonderful place to relax!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a wonderful time at the cottage!

We instanty relaxed the moment we closed the car doors and walked up the cottage deck stairs! We saw whales as soon as we arrived, which was amazing. With only having one week's vacation it was great to feel relaxed immediately.

The cottage was so comfortable for four adults and three children. The bedrooms were great and we prepared some great meals in the kitchen. We loved the layout. Our grandchildren had a great time playing on the beach for hours. We had a bonfire on the beach almost every night. The sunsets were wonderful. The scenery was breathtaking.

We enjoyed the area as well. We toured around Cape George, Arasaig, Antigonish (lovely little town). The people were very friendly. The rocks in the area were very interesting. We enjoyed the trails at Arasaig Park and the kids spend a day at the Arasaig beach.

The owners were great. It was a good experience and they were very easy to deal with. Hopefully we'll be able to visit again.

The listing of the property was very accurate. I would recommend this property to my friends and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Piper's Path Oceanfront Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121836vb
(403) 249-8241 (Alberta, Canada)
Antigonish Nova Scotia
Columbus, Ohio, USA
4

4.5 stars - Great accommodations for an extended family's first visit to Nova Scotia!

4.5 stars - Great accommodations for an extended family's first visit to Nova Scotia!
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Our group of extended family, which included seven adults and one baby, gathered from various parts in the States during the third week of June 2011 to enjoy a wonderful stay at Piper’s Path. Overall, the house was more than well-equipped for a comfortable stay, and the location right on the waterfront was incredibly picturesque.

With the weather cool and wet (apparently unseasonably so, as several apologetic locals told us) for a few days of our stay, the house proved a perfect place to prepare and enjoy several large meals (including fresh lobster easily procured from nearby Arisaig), share a few bottles of wine, and spend time in conversation or with a good book around the cozy fireplace.

When the weather improved, we were able to enjoy having the waterfront at our doorstep (although, we had hoped for a longer beach on which we could have taken more extended walks, and the water wasn’t yet warm enough for swimming) and, in the evenings, building a fire and gazing at the stars while overlooking the water. The house also was a good launching point for exploring the town of Antigonish, visiting the Cape George lighthouse and nearby hiking trails, and even for day-trips to sites on the southern half of Cape Breton Island (although, be prepared to spend a fair amount of time driving).

The house itself was charming yet modern, clean, comfortable, and lived up to our expectations from the description and photos in just about every way -- especially for the very reasonable cost. A group of adults of our size, however, probably would appreciate having an additional bathroom in the house (e.g., adjacent to the lower level / basement bedroom). With one of the two bathrooms being en suite to the master bedroom, we effectively had five adults sharing the second bathroom. While not at all unmanageable (and also not unfamiliar for the siblings in our group), the further convenience of an additional bathroom would make the comforts of the house truly exceptional.

Finally, I’ll add that the owner, Debbie, was extremely pleasant and easy to deal with during the entire process -- from initial inquiry, to making the reservation and coordinating payments, to providing precise directions to assist in finding the house upon arrival, to following up with us right after our stay. Thanks, Debbie, for enabling a wonderful experience!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We will certainly consider your suggestion of adding a third bathroom in the basement. We're glad you enjoyed your stay despite the fact that Mother Nature was not as cooperative as she usually is with the sunshine! You can actually walk as far as you want on the beach in either direction, so the next time you return you can pack a picnic and go wherever you like!
business
Piper's Path Oceanfront Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121836vb
(403) 249-8241 (Alberta, Canada)
Antigonish Nova Scotia
Ottawa, Ontario
5

April 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My husband & I travelled to Antigonish to see our daughter & family who recently moved there. We had such a great time at the cottage. Our granddaughters had a blast. The cottage was just like a little piece of heaven. The view was spectacular. The cottage was just like being at home. It was clean & well maintained. The listing photos were accurate in reflecting the appearance and the amenities. We will certainly be back and will recommend it to all our family and friends. The owner was very helpful with any questions or concerns.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks so much! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay - we'd love to have you back!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Piper's Path Oceanfront Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121836vb
(403) 249-8241 (Alberta, Canada)
Antigonish Nova Scotia
Calgary
5

Fantastic September Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
My wife and I took a flight from Calgary to Halifax last September 23rd. We stayed at Piper`s Path for eight days. We rented a car and did day trips to the Cabot Trail, PEI, Peggy`s Cove and Hopewell Rocks. The other four days we stayed at the cottage and enjoyed the beach ,scenery, local attractions,beautiful sunsets, and lobster dinners. The cottage is spacious, comfortable, and clean. This was an ideal location to stay for our first vacation to the maritimes. We found it very relaxing and thoroughly enjoyed it. Hope to come back soon. Thankyou. .........Andy
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Piper's Path Oceanfront Beach House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121836vb
(403) 249-8241 (Alberta, Canada)
Antigonish Nova Scotia
Newfane,NY 14108
5

Sept.2010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Hi Debbie,
We really enjoyed our stay in your lovely home. The home was spacious and comfortable. Thanks for all your help in recommending various restaurants etc.
We highly recommend the Tidal Bore River Runners-great ride!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children