Colonial Beach cottage rental - The Beach!
The Beach!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Colonial Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 6-8

This spacious cottage has fantastic views across a wide part of the river to Cobb Island in Maryland; the sunrise is breathtaking. The sandy beach is perfect for spending summer days sunbathing, lounging, swimming and jetskiing. The floor plan is open with windows and doors to the water. The master bedroom is directly off the living room separated by large double pocket doors and looks directly out to the amazing view. The woodburning fireplace is a perfect place to spend down-time away from the cities of Richmond and Washington, D.C. when you get the slightest whim or need to get-away. The kitchen is new and contains everything you need for cooking while at the same time watching fishermen, swans, osprey and watercraft. There are restaurants closeby with local fish and crabs on the menu and the house is equipped with a cable tv and wireless internet.

About The Bleu Bayou: This property was updated to serve as a vacation home that meets the desirability for a perfectly relaxing getaway from Washington, D.C. and Richmond, within 65 miles from each with the beach at the back door.

The screened porch is large, 15 x 20, with a ceiling fan, and is just off the kitchen so preparing food to eat outside is ultra convenient. The french doors from the kitchen are always open when the weather is good.

The Bleu Bayou is a wonderfully quiet property during the work-week and with lots of activity on the weekends. There is a private beachfront to enjoy and a private community pier and boatramp which may be available to guests. The Bleu Bayou is just outside the Town of Colonial Beach for its restaurants, casino, coffee shop and golf cart meandering - and just the right distance away from the house to be convenient.

About Westmoreland County: Colonial Beach is on the northern part of Westmoreland County, Virginia and a favorite vacation and weekend spot for Washingtonians.

Lower Westmoreland County is rural, abundant with wineries, a berry farm and historical elements from colonial times. Stratford Hall (the Lee family home) is nearby and there are many wildlife fish and game refuge areas. It is close enough to Washington, D.C. for day trips or overnight stays to visit museums and monuments or take in the nightlife and entertainment. It is also close to Old Town Alexandria, Virginia to take in artistic communities and shopping, churches and restaurants. George Washington's home, Mount Vernon, is in Alexandria and open to visitors.

Additional activities Include Kings Dominion Theme park just 1/2 hr away, and our area also boasts two major-league baseball teams, the Washington Nationals and the Baltimore Orioles for your enjoyment. You might also visit the Baltimore Inner Harbor with great restaurants, shopping and the fantastic National Aquarium.

More Details
Hide Details

23 Reviews of Property 256366 in Colonial Beach, Virginia

Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
average rating of 4.869565 based on 23 reviews
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Washington, DC
5

Perfect, quiet vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was a perfect week of sun, sand & catching the breeze on the fabulous screened porch. Oh, it's such a nice location and the house is open and roomy. Four adults were quite content there, cooking socially in the open kitchen, sharing meals on the porch and walking right down to the beach. The water is gentle, shallow and warm. Perfect for floating endlessly. It was a terrific stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
4

Awesome view!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Blue Bayou....we miss you! That was a great view for 7 days! The house is well equipped and the porch sitting went on for hours, as the porch looks over the water.
We had one cloudy day...so we headed to Washington's birthplace and to Ingleside winery, both of which were a grand time!
We met Bonnie on the way out and we let her know in person that we would be back....soon!!
Thanks for everything Bonnie!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Oh, Bleu. I miss you!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Just returned from a wonderful stay at Bleu Bayou cottage in Colonial Beach. It was everything I hoped for and more! I was looking for a quiet getaway that wasn't too far away of a drive that would provide a peaceful surrounding. Bleu Bayou was it. It is located near Monroe Bay and from the moment we arrived, we loved it. The cottage has everything you need: plentiful sleep space, bedding, fresh linens, showers, a television and DVD player, Wi-Fi, a nice screened-in patio, a dining area and well-equipped kitchen. As foodies, most of the time was spent in the kitchen cooking up creations and eating yummy food in this lovely cottage. There are a ton of places to visit nearby (wineries, historical sites, museums, pastry shops, the marina, and boardwalk) if you are looking to take a walk or have some small-town adventure. There are grocery stores close by as well as video rentals (Redbox) if you want to check out some movies. In the evenings we had tentative plans to head out but the cottage was just so inviting and cozy that we did not want to leave and opted to stay in. I was sad to leave and want to return again. The view of the water is amazing from the cottage! It provides the perfect atmosphere. Bonnie, the owner, is very easy to work with and answered my questions quickly. Bleu Bayou, I hope to see you again soon!
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Bleu Bayou Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I would like to thank Bonnie for accomodating our stay because of hurricane Sandy. We just loved the cottage and the views were spectacular. We had such a quiet and relaxing time. My Mom loved it so much and is ready to go back. Everything you need is right there and very clean. I hope we can go back and visit soon. Thanks again Bonnie and was a pleasure meeting you. Cindy Frederick
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Bleu Bayou

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
If you are looking for serenity and relaxation look no further than the Bleu Bayou. This home is clean, cozy and Bonnie has taken those little extra steps to ensure that even the smallest details amounted to significant comforts with nothing being left out. My husband and I particularly enjoyed our mornings sitting in the screened in lanai looking out over the water, while our two dogs loved swimming and playing in the sand. The neighbors are friendly often suggesting the better restaurants to dine. At the end of the week we hated to leave, we plan on returning one day and staying longer. Thank you Bonnie for a wonderful place to spend our vacation.

Tim & Mary Lou W
Parma Heights, Ohio
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Beautiful Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My family and I enjoyed our stay at this beautifully maintained cottage with cute private beach. We loved the view of the water and also watching the swans on the bay. Great kitchen and the home had everything you could possible need. We would love to return.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
What a beautiful place! The view is AMAZING. The house is right on a private beach. There is a big screened in porch with comfortable chairs where we ate all our meals and spent our nights. Right behind the porch is a small yard with a big tree that provides some shade while you are on the beach, which is right behind the yard. Bonnie provides the chairs and umbrellas, so you can relax comfortably without having to bring so much equipment. The water is calm (no waves to speak of). We have a toddler and she loved that she could walk out some on her own.
The house itself is nicely decorated, and very comfortable. The home was bigger than we expected and slept our party comfortably. The house had all the equipment we needed and was very clean and well-maintained.

The owner, Bonnie, is lovely to work with and made things very easy. We will definitely return for a family vacation again.

The home is located a few miles from Colonial Beach, and Blue Bayou is on a private beach. There is not much to do in the area, but that was the point for us! We did venture out to the Westmoreland Berry Farm (and picked blackberries!) and to the Idlewood Vineyards (and enjoyed a tasting and tour!). We picked up steamed crabs from a fish market one night, but mostly made our meals with food purchased at the two local supermarkets.

We loved our vacation and would highly, highly recommend Blue Bayou to anyone wanting a quiet retreat.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Beautiful Bleu Bayou Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My name is Sasha, a golden retriever. My owners and I just spend a fantastic week in April at the Bleu Bayou. Let me say that Bonnie, the cottage owner, delivers what she promises: the home was neat, roomy, very well furnished, and fully equipped for eating, sleeping, bathing and relaxing. Nothing was amiss and my owners and I took extra care to keep the cottage neat and clean.

I knew that my owners were very pleased and really enjoyed themselves because I got extra treats and they were lovey-dovey [their anniversary] and with me. And as you might suspect, I loved the Bleu Bayou. I and my owners saw beautiful sunrises, enjoyed rainy and sunshine days, and romped along the sandy beach where I retrieved balls from the river. The swimming for me was absolutely divine but too cold for my owners. I would also like to add that the neighbors were delightful and helpful in giving us information about shopping and the restaurants. There aren't enough words or feeling that can really describe the beauty and peaceful setting of Bleu Bayou. My owners are making plans to return - I hope it's soon.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Richmond VA
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We spent our spring break here for the first time and it was wonderful! The cottage is nice and clean and spacious. And it is right on the beach!!! Calm sandy beach was just perfect for our small children and old dog. The screened in porch is a great place to have dinner or just to hang out. On colder nights we enjoyed gathering by the fireplace in the living room. 2 full bathrooms, full kitchen, washer/dryer, fireplace, location, location, location... what more can you ask? Located in a quiet neighborhood, yet very close to stores and good restaurants. The owner is very friendly and was very quick with deposit refund! We would love to go back there again soon!!!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Bleu Bayou Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We had a wonderful time at this cottage. The place was very well stocked. We found everything we needed. We had one rainy cold day while we were there. We put a log on the fire, and played one of the games. We watched the squirrels play in the yard. It was still a great day. There is a small local grocery store, and a Food Lion just minutes away. One of the local fish markets will cook crab legs for you. Bonnie was great with anything we needed before, during and after. It’s great being able to take a vacation with our dog. He also enjoyed watching the squirrels and walking on the beach. The views are fantastic. One night we sat up in bed watching the moons reflection on the water. It was the most relaxing vacation we have ever had. The cottage is very clean and well maintained. We can’t wait to return.

Thanks Bonnie.
Helpful votes: 6/6