Double Bay estate rental - The Grand Estate of Villa de Palmas
The Grand Estate of Villa de Palmas
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Double Bay Estate Rental Photos and Description
Estate, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 8-12)

Villa de Palmas was designed by an architectural firm that specializes in Mediterranean/Caribbean style homes with the high end client in mind. The estate occupies nearly 3 acres on a very secluded pink sand beach and is situated on one of the highest points in the area commanding a 360 degree view of the lush tropical foliage and the azure seascape. There are two very private homes apart from one another. Both have fully appointed rooms affording magnificent panoramic views designed to capture the gentle trade winds that bless the island. All are generous and comfortable and include a great room, fully equipped modern kitchen, office desk with DSL high speed internet/wireless, telephone, entertainment areas with bose sound docks, dinning, and living areas, functional outdoor pergola with a stone dining table, bar and barbecue combination, 2 separate lounge areas with high end chaise accommodating 4, a covered wrap around loggia with stylish furniture, each home has 2 master bedrooms for a total of 4 with separate entrances and balconies, library breezeway and much more. The separate private cottage home captures as well a stunning ocean view and is a bit closer to the ocean. Entering the estate from the road is a circular drive. In the center is a pineapple fountain and pond with water lillies and fish.

About the Grand Estate of Villa de Palmas: The Estate of Villa de Palmas has been family owned since its inception. After 3 years of searching, the right piece of beach front property was purchased in 1989. The estate took 8 years to develop with a vision for grandness 'island style' and now we can share the wealth of the land and water that has been blessed with such beauty and serenity. Today after 15 years Villa de Palmas continues that vision. Just a few welcoming steps up from the entrance will afford an enlightening rejuvenation of what island life should be, totally carefree. The cottage expands this beautiful estate and stands above the vegetation including a unique view of the ocean with gentle breezes through the full loggia front. Take in an afternoon tea, enjoy a spectacular view of the sea, feel the ocean breezes and smell the villa’s flora, fauna and unspoiled vegetation. Villa de Palmas is in a class of its own catering to the high end client.

More about the Grand Estate of Villa de Palmas: The villa’s crown jewel is just a short walk down a sand pathway lined with sea lilies and palms to the secluded powdery and pearlescent pink-sand beach. With its crescent shape stretching 3 miles and an abundance of natural sand dunes with sea oat grass, sea grapes and coconut palms, you will be immersed in its tranquility. Stroll along the shore at waters edge and you will soon discover the hidden coves welcoming you to take a dip in the warm crystal clear turquoise water. On your way back, pause at the beach’s entrance under a 16 foot palm thatched-roof tiki pavilion. Four whimsical and colorful designer chairs invite you to take a siesta after your beach walk - the perfect venue for gazing at the sea while you listen to the songs of the wind through the casuarinas. Tune in or tune out this is a perfect setting for mindless relaxation. You may be there all day, it truly is paradise.

More Details
Hide Details

Both my wife Dhjanna and I are the happy owners of our beautiful Mediterranean Estate on the island of Eleuthera in the Bahamas named 'Villa de Palmas'. 'Palmas' meaning many palms captures the estate quite well. The Land was purchased in 1989. After many years of hard work the estate was complete in 2000. We truly are amazed at how well it all turned out. My wife and I have 2 wonderful girls 14 and 18, yes they are a handful. I am an international airline pilot for a major airline in the USA. My wife helps manage the property along with our home in Philadelphia and frequently travel to the Philippines where she was born. Needless to say we manage quite busy lives. Our goal is to share what we have in the unique way of offering the estate this way. It is a real joy to hear all the vacation experiences of our guests over the years. Life is beautiful and we feel very blessed. Thank you so much for taking the time to visit our site and we look forward to having you as our personal guests in our beautiful home on the lovely island of Eleuthera in the Bahamas.

Bruce Palmer purchased this estate in 1989

The most beautiful beaches on earth.

Multiple week rental includes one cleaning per week. Rates are subject to change without notice, please contact us for current rates. Transportation or car rental can be arranged at time of booking. Please inquire about any other special requests you may have and we will do our best to accommodate your party.

10 Reviews of Property 299850 in Double Bay, Bahamas

Secluded Private Pink Sand Beach Front Mediterranean Estate
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Secluded Private Pink Sand Beach Front Mediterranean Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299850vb
(954) 557-8421 (Florida, USA)
Double Bay Eleuthera
-
5

The best on Double Bay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Both the main house and the guest house were equipped with all we needed for a fantastic stay. The gazebo near the beach was the perfect place to enjoy Eleuthera's unmatched beach. Property was perfectly maintained and Anne, the manager, was wonderful. The owner was exceptional; his handbook covered everything one needs to know when staying in Eleuthera. We've been to this island a few times and this house is by far the best. We had a simply fabulous week at Villa de Palmas.
business
Secluded Private Pink Sand Beach Front Mediterranean Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299850vb
(954) 557-8421 (Florida, USA)
Double Bay Eleuthera
5

Welcoming Villa de Palmas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was our first trip to Eleuthera and we were extremely pleased with this amazing property. The villa is well equipped & maintained. The kitchen has everything you need, and each bedroom has its on separate bathroom and balcony. The balconies offer panoramic views as far as the eye can see...along side of relaxing ocean breezes. The ocean temperature is absolutely perfect. The owner was very hospitable and made us feel right at home. This property is highly recommended for anyone looking for a relaxing, comfortable luxury get away.


Additional notes:

If you are traveling to Eleuthera for the first time it is highly recommended that you make arrangements to follow a driver from the rental car company to the home as some of the roads do not have street signs.

Also important to check the ferry schedules if you are not flying directly into Eleuthera.

Warmest Regards,

Alex & Michele
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Secluded Private Pink Sand Beach Front Mediterranean Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299850vb
(954) 557-8421 (Florida, USA)
Double Bay Eleuthera
5

Double Excellent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This has been our second stay at Villa de Palmas. That should say something, and we've just rebooked for April of 2014. This property has been perfect for us. Two suites seperated by a great room/kitchen provide plenty of privacy, and if more bedrooms are needed, a detached garage with a two bedroom/2 bath cottage provides plenty of space for a larger group if needed. The bedrooms are air conditioned if needed, and the a/c is easy to use and effective. The kitchen is well equiped with everything you need including sharp knives and an abundance of cooking ware, and serving ware. We love the seclusion of Double Bay, but also appreciate how convenient it is to whatever you need. It's location 5 minutes south of Palmetto Point, or 15 minutes south of Gov. Harb. allows convience to whatever you need. The home has wifi, for those that need to be connected!

The property is well taken care of, and considerting the smack it took from Hurrican Sandy recently I was pleasantly surprised how great the house and property looked. A nice pathway leads from the house to the beach with a shower available for after beach rinsing, and closer to the beach is tiki hut for escape from the sun, or a nice shady place to enjoy a tall Goombay Smash!

Double Bay beach is great for walking and for the snorkeler, plenty of reefs to explore. The prevailing breeze out of the southeast coming off the ocean feels spectacular.

The property manager, Anne, is very attentive and responsive if anything requires attention. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property to friends and family. Enjoy!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Private Pink Sand Beach Front Mediterranean Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299850vb
(954) 557-8421 (Florida, USA)
Double Bay Eleuthera
Holland, MI, USA
5

Brilliant

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Stunning, well maintained and well appointed property on gorgeous beach. The perfect place to relax and get away from it all. Beautifully landscaped from the entry gates to the gentle sloping path to the cabana on the beach. Be sure to follow the owners recommendations for restaurants, shopping and other beaches to visit (if you can tear yourself away from the one you are on). Definitely worth a repeat visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: My wife is now getting more high fives than me for her amenities project, hey I built the kitchen! Just kidding, she really has a special eye and sense for what guests are looking for inside. We always remain humble and want to listen for any suggestions that our guests may have for a better vacation. Improvement is part of our vocabulary.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Private Pink Sand Beach Front Mediterranean Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299850vb
(954) 557-8421 (Florida, USA)
Double Bay Eleuthera
Cambria, CA USA
5

Christmas at Villa de Palmas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We chose Villa de Palmas to accommodate 9 family members traveling from California and the UK. It was the perfect halfway point for all of us for to meet for Christmas 2011. The house was spacious, very comfortable and suited our needs perfectly. We enjoyed the beach and the snorkeling in Double Bay. Local people were friendly and very helpful. We highly recommend this house, as well as Eleuthera for a laid back, relaxing holiday if you want to get far from the madding crowds.
Owner's Response: For a large group they traveled far to get to paradise for the holiday. We even set a Christmas tree up complete with lights so they would feel at home.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Private Pink Sand Beach Front Mediterranean Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299850vb
(954) 557-8421 (Florida, USA)
Double Bay Eleuthera
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
This was our fourth trip to Eleuthera and our first stay in Villa de Palmas. We always stay on Double Bay and admired the property on previous visits. We love Double Bay beach for the pink sand, snorkling, privacy and it is centrally located on the island. Villa de Palmas is a beautiful property with amazing views and very nice amenities! The beds are very comfortable and the bedrooms are nice for two couples because both offer access to balcanies and private bath. The kitchen is very well equipped and there is a wonderful grilling area. We bought fresh lobster in Tarpen Bay and grilled it.....the best!! The house is equipped with Wi fi (if you want it!) along with dish TV. The beach cabana is adorable and the beach unsurpassed. Anne Bethel (caretaker) is attentive and helpful and even gave us her horseradish for our morning Bloody Mary's! When visiting be sure to visit Lighthouse beach and Ten Bay Beach (very nice beach, especially if it is windy on Double Bay!). I highly recommend Eleuthera and Villa de Palmas.
Owner's Response: Double Bay is a very special large bay with probably the pinkest sand on the island. We are happy to hear these guests enjoyed every moment at Villa de Palmas. Thank you Anne.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Private Pink Sand Beach Front Mediterranean Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299850vb
(954) 557-8421 (Florida, USA)
Double Bay Eleuthera
Maryland
5

Quiet, secluded, beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We had a very nice time. We had quality family time as it was just us and the deserted beach, which is the way we like it. The snorkeling from the beach out front was very good, but it depends on the wind. There are also the nice beach chairs, and beach-side shaded cabana. Thank-you for providing beach towels, I am grateful I did not have to pack these bulky items. If it is too windy out front, there is Ten Bay, only 10 minutes West on the Carribean. At Ten Bay the snorkeling is to the far left as you enter the beach, and it is lovely! Also cool for playing in the tide pools at low tide. We also like Rainbow Bay, that is about 40 minutes north. We explored by car; you must have a car. You can drive too much as the island is long. The main road is good. Side roads to the beaches, mostly unpaved. We stayed in the Main house only. The kitchen is very well equipped to do your family meals. The air conditioned bedrooms were comfortable. Even though the great room area is not air conditioned, it was comfortable with the fans and breeze. The property is well cared for, and we had good service. Truly a place to relax away from it all.
More thoughts: We drove all the way to Harbour Island. If you go, prepare for a long drive, get gas, and be prepared for a day at the beach. Stay all day to make the long drive worth it. Take your snorkel gear if you have it. But get back before dark.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: My wife remembered Leroy inquired just a day or 2 before booking. Villa de Palmas sold them in seconds. They were the travelers on the island. That will help others that may be interested in Eleuthera to vacation here next chance.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded Private Pink Sand Beach Front Mediterranean Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299850vb
(954) 557-8421 (Florida, USA)
Double Bay Eleuthera
Virginia Beach, VA
5

STILL VILLA DE PERFECT!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
We spent two weeks at Villa de Palmas in April and it was wonderful! This was our second trip to Villa de Palmas and 10th to Eleuthera. If anything, our trip was even better because instead of having "great" weather, we had spectacular weather--steady 85, clear skies, warm water, no humidity and a little bit cooler evenings. The house was as wonderful as the year before. We have already booked for 2011. I think that says it all. This a well equipped and maintained home with beautiful views and beach, great privacy and just a delight to stay in.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are happy to have Steve and Royce return. Yes, it does say something, my wife has done remarkable to outfit the estate and look for any suggestions that guest can give so others can enjoy Villa de Palmas. We just wish we could more often.
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Secluded Private Pink Sand Beach Front Mediterranean Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299850vb
(954) 557-8421 (Florida, USA)
Double Bay Eleuthera
Virginia Beach, VA
5

IT SHOULD BE CALLED VILLA DE PERFECT!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
We love Eleuthera. My husband and I have been visiting for 10 years and we love most everything--the people, the beaches, the Island farm, the restaurants.We have stayed in tiny little cottages and big houses on Windermere. The beach and privacy at Villa de Palmas is perfect. The house has the most well outfitted kitchen I have ever seen in the islands. Everything is well thought out and very comfortable--from the picturesque outdoor areas with deeply cushioned lounge chairs to the super mattresses, pillows, linens and bath towels..We love to be comfortable. The views are fabulous, the landscaping lush with native plants and my favorite bougainviella . Anne Bethel is wonderful as caretaker.
I am trying to think of something to steer future guests away as we don't want to share but I can't. Villa de "PERFECT" is just that!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This is the first visit for Steve and Royce to Villa de Palmas. Both my wife Dhjanna and I put serious thought with what do our guests really want for amenities. We are constantly improving on that so Villa de Palmas will stand out among our island owners. We look forward to have a building relationship with our repeat guests and look forward to have you back. Thank you
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Secluded Private Pink Sand Beach Front Mediterranean Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299850vb
(954) 557-8421 (Florida, USA)
Double Bay Eleuthera
Delaware
5

The Renewal

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
My husband and I have visited the Island of Eleuthera since we were married there in 1982. We have had the privilege of staying at Villa de Palma for the last nine years, and look forward to our continued visits to this tranquil retreat. We reluctantly write this review as we know others will experience the beauty of this island home. It offers expansive views, private seclusion, warm breezes from all areas in a highly maintained home. The interior of this home provides a gourmet well equipped kitchen, comfortable interiors with island flair.Bruce has always provided the utmost hospitality and customer service to ensure the quality of our stays in their lovely villa. He provides a review of local fare, restaurants, shopping with guidance and reviews from his guests as well as their own experiences. We enjoy morning coffee on the veranda watching the sunrise, sunsets under the pergola, and the daily comforts of the sea. Our daily walks on the beach, swimming in beautiful waters, and reading under the tiki hut and ending the day watching the stars up above. This offers a renewal of life and love, and we highly recommend the Villa de Palmas for a relaxing and rejuvenating vacation home. Just don't book the weeks we want!
Bob and Patricia
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This is at least the 9th time Bob and Patricia have been to Villa de Palmas. That we believe speaks for itself. Both my wife Dhjanna and I are gracious to have guests that truly understand what makes our home so wonderful; our hearts are in our home. To read the responses of our guests only fortifies why we decided to develop the estate. Our gratitude extends mostly to the perfect manager Anne. Without her it would be impossible to offer guests a chance to enjoy a vacation at Villa de Palmas.
Helpful votes: 10/13