La Jolla cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

La Jolla Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 1-2)

This one bedroom cottage is in a perfect location - just a few minutes walk from the ocean and close to the renowned restaurants and galleries on Prospect St. The cottage is fully furnished and has laundry on site, a broadband wireless internet connection, and cable TV. The bedroom has a queen size bed. There is a private patio and a shed that has two beach cruisers and beach chairs.

The location is ideal for swimming, snorkeling, diving, surfing, walking along the coast, viewing seals, golfing, kayaking, tennis, whale watching, and biking. There are grocery stores within walking distance. A 20 minute commute from the San Diego airport. A bus stops one block away which can take you to the UTC shopping mall and UCSD. Other nearby attractions include the Birch Aquarium, the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, the Wild Animal Park, and the museums of Balboa Park.

Keywords: Cottage

30 Reviews of Property 261520 in La Jolla, California

Cottages by the Cove - Charming, Quiet, Cozy, Beautiful, steps from Beach!
average rating of 4.862069 based on 30 reviews
business
Cottages by the Cove - Charming, Quiet, Cozy, Beautiful, steps from Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261520vb
+1 8584590909
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Very cute and very comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed in this adorable 1920's cottage in early December, 2013. The property is centrally located -maybe a two minute walk to Prospect and all the La Jolla shopping. Parking throughout La Jolla is a problem, so once you've found a place to park, just use the bikes the owner has provided to jet around town or to the beach. Will be back - thanks Sary!
business
Cottages by the Cove - Charming, Quiet, Cozy, Beautiful, steps from Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261520vb
+1 8584590909
La Jolla San Diego County
Brooklyn NY
5

"A Small Jewel in La Jolla"

"A Small Jewel in La Jolla"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We enjoyed our stay immensely at Sary's La Jolla cottage. The cottage is lovely, nestled on a quiet street along with identical units built in the 1920's.
Of all the cottages we agree this corner cottage is situated in the best location with plenty of sunlight and a private outdoor patio.
This cottage was immaculate, bright, cheery and filled with everything one would require to feel right at home.
Sary thought of everything from a fully equipped kitchen to the shed full of beach gear (nice beach chairs etc...)She was even kind enough to supply a beach umbrella for my husband who has a very fair completion and burns easily.

Our main objective for this vacation was to relax, spend time at the beach, walk everywhere and explore La Jolla.
And even though the cottage comes with two bicycles, we opted to enjoy the pleasant weather and the surrounding area on foot.
Needless to say you do not need a car if you plan to visit only La Jolla.
Everything is within walking distance, the local stores, two Supermarkets: Vons and Jonathan's Market ( we enjoyed preparing most of our home cooked meals at the cottage rather than eating out at the local touristy restaurants)
We did have one very good vegetarian lunch in town at Puesto a local San Diego chain advertised as Mexican Street Food.
La Jolla Shores is only a 20 minute walk from the cottage for bodyboarding, swimming and sunning.
So...if anyone tells you the coves are the only "beach" within walking distance from the cottage, they're wrong.
Of all the homes we have rented while on vacation, this is one of the best with one of the nicest owners. We would definitely return.

Thank you Sary for everything,
Bobby and Harvey
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cottages by the Cove - Charming, Quiet, Cozy, Beautiful, steps from Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261520vb
+1 8584590909
La Jolla San Diego County
Philadelphia, PA
5

A gem of a cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I stayed six nights and it was perfect. The location is right near the cove. Just down the street (half a block) is a nice walking path that overlooks the seals/sea lions - a nice little stroll with lots of picture taking opportunities. Convenient location to everything! Sary was excellent to deal with and the cottage had all the amenities of home. Having bikes to use and laundry facility on sight was a plus. While we were there street construction was being done and half of the street was closed so thought parking may be an issue - but we never had any problems parking - found a spot within the block every time. We prefer VRBO's over hotel stays and this VRBO did not disappoint. The cottage is in a little cluster of approximately 12 cottages and all are very close together - but there was never any problem with noise. Cottage would be great for a couple. The tub may be tough getting in and out of for anyone with a disability - but otherwise this place is great for just about anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cottages by the Cove - Charming, Quiet, Cozy, Beautiful, steps from Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261520vb
+1 8584590909
La Jolla San Diego County
Scottsdale, AZ
5

Excellent experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I enjoyed the cottage for a month in 2013. The owners are wonderful people who took care of my concerns, treated me like family. The location, the bicycles, the linens, all perfect. I even found a wet suit for snorkeling. Wonderful kitchen, homey and comfortable. Everything I needed, just like home. A million thanks for everything!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cottages by the Cove - Charming, Quiet, Cozy, Beautiful, steps from Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261520vb
+1 8584590909
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our stay at the cottage was wonderful. It is cozy, quaint and in a wonderful part of town. We loved how convenient it was and were able to walk everywhere including the beach, restaurants and the grocery store. The cottage had everything we needed and was such a nice alternative to the typical hotel with much more character and charm. Sary was a great host! We were sad to leave and hope to make it there for another visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cottages by the Cove - Charming, Quiet, Cozy, Beautiful, steps from Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261520vb
+1 8584590909
La Jolla San Diego County
Alberta
5

Perfect for Two

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We loved our stay here. We did not rent a car and enjoyed walking to shops and restaurants. The cottage is a charming delight. Cab fare from SanDiego airport was approx $40 and the location is so central that, for folks like us who enjoy exploring new places by foot, there was no need to bother with a car once there. (My husband also took a cab to golf Torrey Pines.) Our favourite restaurants were Herringbone and Finch's Wine Bar for suppers. We bought breakfast items at the grocery store and enjoyed slow mornings on the little patio beside the cottage.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cottages by the Cove - Charming, Quiet, Cozy, Beautiful, steps from Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261520vb
+1 8584590909
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Great Litle Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is a really nice little cottage right in the middle of a neighborhood with larger McMansions. It is one of 8 cottages on the property. Very private and quiet.It is a 5 minute walk to the beach and La Jolla shopping and dining. Perfect for a couple. No off street parking, but that wasn't a big deal.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cottages by the Cove - Charming, Quiet, Cozy, Beautiful, steps from Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261520vb
+1 8584590909
La Jolla San Diego County
Daphne, AL
5

Lovely Cottage!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This cottage is absolutely precious!!! It is exactly how it is pictured. The setting is beautiful, the cottage has everything you could possibly need and you can walk to everything!!! Sary is very helpful and very kind!! We enjoyed lovely breezes with all the windows opened in this meticulously kept cottage!!! Very very clean and beautifully decorated!! Can't say enough!!
We ever come back to the area we would not hesitate one moment to stay here again!!
Thanks Sary for everything!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cottages by the Cove - Charming, Quiet, Cozy, Beautiful, steps from Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261520vb
+1 8584590909
La Jolla San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Thanks

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Thanks, Sue for your feedback. I realize we put the coffee table there for the ease of putting a lap top on it, but it prevents the couch from reclining.
We will update the coffee maker and get better directions for the DVD player. We hope to see you again. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
business
Cottages by the Cove - Charming, Quiet, Cozy, Beautiful, steps from Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p261520vb
+1 8584590909
La Jolla San Diego County
LOUISVILLE, KY
5

LOVING LA JOLLA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I STAYED AT THE COTTAGE FOR 10 DAYS. I CAME FOR A WEDDING AND TO RECONNECT WITH OLD FRIENDS. THE COTTAGE IS IN A TERRIFIC LOCATION. WALKED EVERYWHERE IN LA JOLLA. OF COURSE THERE IS THE PARKING ISSUE, BUT THAT IS NORMAL FOR THE VILLAGE. I LOVED THE COTTAGE...NEAR PERFECT REALLY. JUST A FEW COMMENTS. THE LOVE SEAT IS NOT SO COMFORTABLE FOR WATCHING TV...I WAS NEVER ABLE TO GET THE DVD PLAYER TO WORK, I WOULD SUGGEST DIRECTIONS FOR THAT. IT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE TO WATCH A FEW MOVIES. AND THE COFFEE MAKER COULD BE UPGRADED A LITTLE. ....THE BED WAS GREAT...LOTS OF NICE TOWELS AND SHEETS. ALL AND ALL A VERY COMFORTABLE COZY VACATION SPOT.... I COULD LIVE THERE. SO I WILL PLAN A VISIT AGAIN I AM SURE. THANKS SURY! IT WAS GREAT TO BE BACK IN CALIFORNIA.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway