Xcalak house rental - Casa de Paloma Beachfront
Casa de Paloma Beachfront
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Xcalak House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Combine the most gracious and spacious beach home in the best location in Xcalak with the gorgeous Caribbean Sea and the second longest Coral Reef in the world in the back yard, and you have the formula for a truly amazing and relaxing get-away vacation. The marine area was recently designated a National Reef Park ensuring future protection.

Casa de Paloma – House of the Dove – was aptly named. Early risers wake every morning to the soft cooing of the birds and a spectacular sunrise that changes every day. A huge clay dove planter is a landmark that nests in our circle drive. What we did not know then, is what a place of peace and calm Xcalak really is. A place to recharge, relax, slow down and smile. We invite you to enjoy Casa de Paloma...in Xcalak...on the Costa Maya...in the state of Quintana Roo...on the Yucatan Peninsula!

Built in 2004, Casa de Paloma was designed for relaxed beach living and to capture every ocean breeze. Every room has a sea view. We enjoy our time there each year with our family and friends and pride ourselves in keeping it attractive, clean and comfortable for ourselves as well as our guests year round.

There are 4 King size bedrooms (2 down, 2 up) each with 2 bedside reading lamps, double closet and their own private bathroom. Both levels have a complete dining, living and full kitchen area. Mexican accents include rugs, blankets, pillows, Talevera sinks, dishes and glasses. Framed maps of the area hang on the walls and are helpful when planning excursions. Our handsome Mexican hardwood furniture is sturdy and comfortable and was built by craftsmen in a local sawmill/carpentry shop.

Rental options include the entire house to sleep 8 or half the house to sleep 4. A single brm or single brm w/kitchen/living/dining are also available. The unique design of the casa makes it a perfect flexible unit to rent as a whole or in parts. Contact us for details on renting just one level of the house. Rentals are available for a three day minimum up to several months.

The house is beautifully landscaped with bougainvillea, frangi pangi, hibiscus, and coconut palms and has large balconies, hammocks and lots of sea breezes and mature palm trees to keep you cool and in the shade.

Our green construction of solid masonry includes solar panels for electricity along with our generator, on-demand water heaters for ready hot water and a rainwater cistern for bathing, laundry and dishwashing.

And, best of all, it all comes with ROSA AND CECILIO, THE MOST WONDERFUL CARETAKERS ON THE YUCATAN PENINSULA! Excellent employees and problem solvers, they are our secret ingredient in guaranteeing a truly relaxing get-away with few concerns. Laundry, house maintenance, all paper products as well as daily beach cleaning are included in your rental.

Our location in Xcalak is the best for several reasons. Just 1.5 miles to town makes it a nice walk or easy flat bike ride for groceries or exercise – or to visit the school or the park office – or to get a pedicure from Candy in her pink and purple “salon” – or to get to a great meal. The dining in Xcalak is one of the biggest surprises of all. As small and remote as we are, the area continues to attract outstanding inventive chefs who are looking to slow down their pace of life and still practice their craft with local ingredients. Casa de Paloma is very close to the three perennial best:

Leaky Palapa - always amazing 5 star gourmet dinner creativity. (1mi.)

Costa de Coco’s - fish tacos, and lobster pizza (1/4 mi.)

Tierra Maya - local tasty dishes from soup to dessert (3 doors away)

Toby’s - in town with excellent fish fingers and conch/ shrimp ceviche and hosts special events like Super Bowl and Chicken Night.

New ventures appear yearly.

FYI for your own cooking, the venderos (small grocery trucks) deliver fresh produce and hot tortillas right to your door several times a week. There are also some small tiendas in town with an amazing amount of staples. Ask our caretakers about the bakery and the local fishing co-op and possible tamale and shrimp deliveries.

Xcalak is heaven for fishermen/women, snorkelers, divers and birdwatchers. Snorkel and fish right off the dock for snapper and bonefish and swim to numerous nearby coral heads to see Angelfish, Clownfish, Puffers Snappers, etc. etc.

Or charter one of our incredibly knowledgeable local fishing captains (Capt. Victor is our favorite…and he has brothers and sons!) for a day in their boat to go a little farther for tarpon, barracuda, permit, snook or bonefish in the flats of Chetumal Bay. Scuba divers will find several dive masters ready to certify or guide to outstanding nearby locations on day trips including Chinchorra Reef, the largest diving atoll in North America, just 30 miles off shore. For birdwatchers, there is Bird Island with the hefty Woodstork, but everyday you can see Frigate Birds, Yucatan Jays, Baltimore Orioles, Goldfinch, Pelicans, Egrets, Ibis, Parrots, Frigate Birds, Doves right around Casa de Paloma.

So – why decide to choose Casa de Paloma?

• Accommodations – comfortable, attractive, spacious, well-designed and maintained.

• Location - close access to town, restaurants - between well known Coco's and Tierra Maya resorts

• Rosa and Cecilio – the best caretakers on the Costa Maya – helpful, considerate, honest, polite

Features & Amenities:

On-Site Caretakers

Daily House and Beach Cleaning

Quality Towels and Sheets

Paper Products

Beach Towels

Upstairs Dining for 8 up + bar for 5

Downstairs Dining for 6

2 Full Kitchens - 1 each level

Picnic Tables on balconies

Wireless available

Book and DVD Selection

Flat Screen DVD Player

CD Player and CD Selection

NO phone, NO TV - available at resorts

Chaise Lounges and Hammocks

Safe in each bedroom

Bikes

On-Site Parking

Cards, Poker, Dominos, Rummikub

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

When 3 University of Missouri Tiger fans decided to build a home in Mexico on the Yucatan in 2004 “away from the maddening crowds,” little did they realize what an adventure had begun and what a wonderful vacation spot they would create! Owners include Tom and Chris Sowers, a mid-Missouri journalist and developer, Sonny and Kim Wyman, in oil and gas exploration in Colorado, and David and Kim Tanner, attorney and advertising exec from Chicago. We all enjoy the wonderful change of pace -- Mayan culture, the untrampled jungles, the natural coastline, the fishing, the boating, the snorkeling, the reading and relaxing, the fresh air and the fresh food. Life just gets simpler – pared down – at Casa de Paloma.

Tom Sowers purchased this house in 2004

One of the last beautiful reasonable beachfront properties in North America - with the unique charm of a colorful foreign culture easily accessible from U.S.

Location, Location, Location - close to town and best restaurants - constant cross breezes, firm mattresses with good linens, good kitchen to enjoy cooking with spices and fresh ingredients from the land and sea. Modern bathrooms, good lighting and book and DVD selection. And, best of all, the wonderful care of Rosa and Cecilio who keep it sparkling clean for every guest.

17 Reviews of Property 255943 in Xcalak, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

The Best Location and House in Xcalak!
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 17 reviews
business
The Best Location and House in Xcalak!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255943vbi
(573) 578-4661 (Missouri, USA)
Xcalak Quintana Roo
Raleigh, NC, USA
5

An Amazing Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I was a little worried about the place since it seemed so far away but all of those worries rapidly faded away as soon as we pulled into the driveway. There was relaxation as well as snorkeling and a trip to Belize. We didn't have enough time to partake in the extreme beach sports Belize had to offer, but there are plenty. Not one bite of food during the entire week I spent in the area was anything less than delicious. The small local restaurants are a must visit both for their food and tequila. I would more than gladly take another trip to Casa de Peloma.

Make sure you stop in Tulum on your way down. A tour guide is more than worth the money.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
The Best Location and House in Xcalak!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255943vbi
(573) 578-4661 (Missouri, USA)
Xcalak Quintana Roo
Atlanta, Georgia
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Casa de Paloma turned out to be better than anticipated--the place is simply EXCELLENT!
If you enjoy peace and quiet and a beautiful sea, Casa de Paloma is your place.
The people are friendly, the restaurants are great, and the workers are accommodating.
Fishing has no limits-ocean, bay, mangrove, up river-any kind you would want. And it all promises to be excellent.
I would do this again and again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
business
The Best Location and House in Xcalak!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255943vbi
(573) 578-4661 (Missouri, USA)
Xcalak Quintana Roo
Atlanta, Georgia
5

Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Casa de Paloma is exactly as advertised. A peaceful quiet location with a comfortable home. Nearby restaurants are excellent or stay in and prepare your own meals in a fully equipped kitchen. The home is well maintained and caretakers are nearby if any assistance is needed. Although not an avid outdoorsman the fishing was excellent and the sea wonderful. Visited with long time friends and had an excellent time. The beauty of Mexico without the hustle and bustle of Cancun and Playa. Highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
The Best Location and House in Xcalak!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255943vbi
(573) 578-4661 (Missouri, USA)
Xcalak Quintana Roo
Strasbourg, France
5

Home away from home in a most breathtaking location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Casa Paloma is a truly beautiful property, which is extremely well maintained. It has all one may think of at home (dvd, cd player, fully equipped kitchen, immaculate bathrooms), plus the most magical views of the Caribbean. Xcalak feels remote and is indeed a perfect place to disconnect from all. The sea is just amazing and feels like the private swimming pool of Casa Paloma....The house is very well located, close enough to town, close to diving activities, close to restaurants if lazy to cook at home. The caretakers are wonderful people, who make sure everything is in order during the stay. The owners are very responsive and make any logistics so easy to coordinate. Thank you Casa Paloma for an unforgettable experience, we will definitely be back soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Best Location and House in Xcalak!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255943vbi
(573) 578-4661 (Missouri, USA)
Xcalak Quintana Roo
London
4

I really enjoyed my stay and I am pretty fussy: So much so I have booked for 3 months next year

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Coming from England I wasn't sure if my money would be safe, but everything has worked out very well and I have even been reimbursed for a few things I bought for the house. I think I can say you are in safe hands with Tom.
The description is accurate and the house clean and well kept.

The house is beautiful and well maintained and the caretakers are lovely and hard working.
The place is beautiful and you have your own beach and sea.
The house is quiet and out of town, but not isolated.
The kitchen is fine by Mexican standards and better than most locally, but this is Mexico not the US. We have baked cakes, made bread and cooked up some splendid meals and there are plenty of sharp knives, frying pans and now even bread and pie tins, so no complaints there. By english standards I would say rental kitchens in the US tend to be poor, but by US standards I would say this is at the top end. There are two kitchens, one up and one down!
Each bedroom has its own shower and toilet.
Transport is useful to get to the Leaky Palapa for dinners which are excellent and run by two Canadian women. It is as much social club as bar and restaurant. Diving is great at Xcalac dive shop, I can't vouch for the others as I haven't tried them..
Food comes to the house 3 times a week by truck. Vegetables and basics are either available from the truck or in the shops in town. Real coffee is not on sale nor is meat, although chickens are good and there is fish and lobster galore.
Bring other stuff from a supermarket at Carillo Puerto or in Cancun or Playa del Carmen.

I believe Rosy will cook for you, if asked and paid. She asked me if I needed washing done, for free!
Don't forget to tip her when you leave if you think she has done a good job.

I can't think of anything wrong to say about the place, even the price is good!
So if you fancy a quiet holiday on the Carribean in a simple Mexican Town and you like diving or fishing... I can't see why you wouldn't come here it is apparently as good or better than the competition in Xcalac. Xcalac is at the end of the world and quite basic, Cancun it ain't!
No TV. No Phones cell or otherwise!!! but on the other hand there is internet most of the time in the house.
I recommend it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Our British guest has objectively given his review of our piece of paradise...he will have stayed in Casa de Paloma
for a month and 1/2 so he has had ample time there to base his comments.
Tom
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Best Location and House in Xcalak!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255943vbi
(573) 578-4661 (Missouri, USA)
Xcalak Quintana Roo
Williamsburg Ma usa
5

I Can't Wait to Go Back!

I Can't Wait to Go Back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
My friend and I just returned from staying at this house for the week. It met all our expectations and then some. We had the upper level and our bedrooms were on opposite ends so we had our privacy. We even had our own balconies.
The caretakers house is directly across the quiet dirt road and are very willing to help. They keep the property and the rooms very clean. Though their English is limited we had someone near who could help with translations a couple of times.
We had considered a couple of other places but we are glad we picked this place as it is very attractive and has a homey feeling unlike some that are very stark.
We also like the small town; it might not be for everyone but if you want to relax you can easily do it there. We went swimming and snorkeling every day and read several books. It was heaven.
People say Mexico in unsafe to travel but I did not feel in danger or insecure. We just used common sense, On the drive down from Cancun (where we spent the first night) we saw lots of military along the road doing some random checks and they are even seen occasionally on the road in Xcalak but we were told they are looking for drugs being smuggled in - there was never ever any sense of a gang presence. I felt secure with them they (and they seemed very bored!).
And 99.9% of the local people were very friendly which is always a plus. We also met nice people on vacation; Canada, Ireland, the U.S.
I am already thinking about going back....
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
The Best Location and House in Xcalak!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255943vbi
(573) 578-4661 (Missouri, USA)
Xcalak Quintana Roo
Eugene, Oregon
5

Paradise Found at Casa Paloma, Xcalak

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We concur with the statements of the previous reviewers. This villa is incredibly well designed and equally well maintained, perfect for two couples traveling together in that each of us has our own private bedroom/bath with wonderfully comfortable king-sized bed. Rosa and Cecilio were delightful, and we were doubly lucky to be here at the same time as owner Tom, a most gracious and generous host. Highlights--in addition to taking Tom's ocean kayaks out to the reef, snorkeling off the dock, and feasting at Leaky Palapa--included buying lobster and fish fresh off the boat at the village beach in the mid-afternoon. We do recommend that you follow the advice of Tom and our fellow travelers, in that you stop at a supermarket in one fhe last large towns before you set out on the long, straight, smooth road to Xcalak. Be sure to pick up butter, cheese, milk, salsa, chips and other staples and then hurry on to Casa Paloma. The hot fresh tortillas, delivered via motorbike, are not to be missed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Best Location and House in Xcalak!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255943vbi
(573) 578-4661 (Missouri, USA)
Xcalak Quintana Roo
Sudbury,On. Canada
5

Casa de Paloma

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
My husband and I were fortunate enough to spend a month at this slice of vacation paradise. Casa Paloma is shining with hardwoods, loaded with decks that have wonderful views and windows that allow the almost-constant sea breezes in so that we stayed comfortable and sleeping like babies at night. The fine white sand, the sunshine and the incredible turquoise water took care of the rest!! We snorkelled off the dock and with Captain Luis. We took day trips to Majuhual,Chetumal and to Belize .Fly fishing daily was easy, just a short walk or drive down the beach to flats loaded with Bone and Permit.My husband also took weekly fishing trips to Chetumal Bay with Captain Jose.The fishing was incredible,chasing Bone, Permit and Tarpon. We enjoyed our weekly suppers at The Leaky Palapa,,fish burgers and fish fingers at Toby's,lobster mango pizza at Costa de Cocas and outdoor chicken night with Moses at the Mayan Village.We bought homemade tomales, hot tortillas and large jumbo shrimp off the venderos that drive the beach road, as well as fresh fruit and veggies.Last but not least is the care we received from Rosa and Cecilio. They are cheerful and friendly and went out of there way to make our stay pleasureable. We will return!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Best Location and House in Xcalak!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255943vbi
(573) 578-4661 (Missouri, USA)
Xcalak Quintana Roo
Greenville, SC
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
If you are the type of person that considers yourself (and proudly) more "traveler/adventurer" than "vacationer", and if the thought of an all-inclusive, cookie-cutter, herding with the masses experience gives you the willies, there...simply...is...no...better...place than Casa de Paloma!! Fortunately I'm one that falls into the category best suited to enjoy an experience like the one it offers, rustic, off-the-beaten-path, beautiful, quiet, remote. You bump into people who very purposefully picked this spot on the earth, not because it was a deal on Orbitz. In many ways you are literally and figuratively at the end of the line, at the bottom tip of the Yucatan, just miles from Belize. It's a good 5 hour trip from the Cancun airport and there's no trace of Cancun when you arrive. (By the way, I highly recommend making the long car journey part of the experience, including a possible stay at some mid-point going or coming depending on your arrival into Cancun. See Tulum, visit a cenote, make it leisurely. It's not a drive to make after dark, simply because it's so remote.) This is the land of seriously amazing fishing, world-class diving, fantastic snorkling right off the dock and the opportunity for complete unplugging. We love to cook and it wasn't hard to find a plethora of fantastic, fresh ingredients to work with...the fishermen sometimes come right up near your dock (if you don't catch them yourselves) and the "veggie truck" rolls by once a day. Town isn't far so you can get what you need. Speaking of town, as a serious foodie, the restaurant Leaky Palapa has few equals; make your night out (or two) reservations there. The home is beautiful, well designed and well appointed. The private beach, complete with lounge chairs, hammocks, fine white sand and a little mangrove "island" that our boys adored exploring, is exquisite. And I would be very remiss in not mentioning the doting, yet very respectful care that you will receive from the lovely caretakers Rosa and Cecilio. Xcalak and Casa de Paloma are, without a doubt, a huge slice of my personal heaven.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Best Location and House in Xcalak!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255943vbi
(573) 578-4661 (Missouri, USA)
Xcalak Quintana Roo
Atlanta, GA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
I was fortunate enough to experience a piece of
this vacation heaven on a "free pass" as one of the
owners is my best friend from college! At the
onset of our adventure to Xcalak, I was a complete
stress-ball, swept up in the intensity of my fast-
paced, blue-chip job. Normally it would take me
about 4-5 days to finally relax. At Casa de Paloma,
it took one morning.

Everything the destination offers is genuine and
natural--no commercial gimmicks. It's literally this
quaint, beautiful, well-built house, the beach and
you! It is quiet and removed from mayhem which I
had not experienced on a previous vacation up
until my time there. The sea breeze was soothing
and silky the way it poured into my bedroom
window, and I couldn't believe my view every time I
passed by the window--the Yucatan Peninsula!

I would typically prefer to scuba, but definitely
took the opportunity to snorkel 50 yards from the
house and had the most wonderful time! I was in
the water about 6 minutes before finding a giant
sea turtle, which I attempted to shadow for about
30 minutes until I discovered what must have been
a 25-pound parrotfish. There is a plethora of sea
life activity just 10 strokes off the dock!

If you are used to being active on your vacations,
is it easy to step away from Casa de Paloma for a
thousand choices of day trips with resources
nearby to help you get there (on a small budget!)
We scooted over to Belize in less than two hours by
boat to enjoy a day of shopping, cold beers and
fish tacos. It was a perfect-sized day trip--
completed with a cherry on top by returning to our
little piece of heaven in Xcalak to see the incredible
sunset while sipping homemade pina coladas on
the back balcony.

This vacation home offers a splendid chance to
unwind in an incredibly beautiful environment that
I could not have dreamed up in a 100 years. A
must visit!
Helpful votes: 2/2