Parks cabin rental - Quiet place for morning coffee, just imagine the evenings here.
Quiet place for morning coffee, just imagine the evenings here.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Parks Cabin Rental Photos and Description
1 room, queen bed. Perfect for 2.

The main exit to the Grand Canyon is just 13 miles down the freeway or you can use a 7 mile stretch of Old 66 then get on the freeway at the Deer Farm exit. Sedona is about an hours drive from here. With the canyon to the west, Sedona to the south/east and Flagstaff to the direct east this little cabin is in an ideal spot. If you go to Sedona, Jerome would be a nice addition to your trip. At the first entrance to Williams you will see the turn off to Bearizona, you can't miss that if you are in the area. Roger's Cabin is clean and quiet sitting right on the edge of the Kaibab National Forest. Also it's non-smoking and pet friendly. If you are in northern Arizona for hunting in area 7 west, fishing in the lakes near Williams, hiking Kendrick Peak or just enjoy walking, you won't be disappointed by the location. In the past 4 years we've not had a disappointed guest at all.

Andy & I (Linda) were high school sweet hearts, but not according to my parents. For over 3 years we cruised the streets of Holbrook, Az which was a town on Old Route 66. I think my parents had radar set up for a white, souped up, 1962 Ford pick up. Tucked up against Andy we laughed & dodged their tan Chrysler Imperial as much as possible.

In 1966 my Daddy had a 'chat' with Andy & his dad. Since I didn't know about the 'chat' I just thought I had suddenly been dumped. I went off to college & Andy got married.

In 1997 Andy went on a search & rescue mission. Here I was, right here in this old cabin where I had been since 1983. He then told me about 'the chat' So I still got to marry the boy who stole my heart at a tender young age, just a few years & bumps in the road later. Our wedding was in Holbrook, where else?

Both of our Mother's were still alive when we starting dating, out in broad daylight with no sneaking around. My Mother loved Andy & apologized many times for the way they treated him.

Alls well that ends well.

Andy or Linda Pickett purchased this cabin in 1983

When I first saw these old cabins I was in love. I had grown up in a remote part of the Navajo res. because Daddy had a trading post out there. So living in town was never really something I wanted to do. Andy's roots go back to a ranch down in Young at the bottom of the Mogollon rim. It wasn't hard to talk him living here full time once he retired from Salt River Project.

I wish these walls could talk.

This little log cabin is about as close to a true western, Arizona adventure as you can ever get. Just like 'back in the day' there isn't a TV. You won't have time for it, there is too much to see and do right here in an hours drive west, east or south from here.

If you like modern glass 'n brass, this isn't your style. However, for the folks who like quiet, nature, maybe evening elk guests, you would LOVE this place. Actually for us it's not a 'place' it's a life style we were born for.

8 Reviews of Property 255456 in Parks, Arizona

A Log cabin in the pines, by Kaibab forest. Historical, small & quiet
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
A Log cabin in the pines, by Kaibab forest. Historical, small & quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255456
+1 928-699-2410
Parks Arizona
Phoenix, Arizona
5

Grandma and 8 yr. old grandaughter

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Loved this little cabin. Quiet, clean and beautiful surroundings. Planning on coming back in summer time with Grandpa.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Log cabin in the pines, by Kaibab forest. Historical, small & quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255456
+1 928-699-2410
Parks Arizona
5

Great spot with wonderful people

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Roger's cabin is a wonderful little spot on the edge of the national forest. We spent three quiet, cozy nights there, slept soundly, and had breakfast each morning out in a sunny spot in the forest. It was wonderful and clean; small but nicely furnished and just right if a cozy intimate space is what you're looking for. Also the owners are special people and we enjoyed talking with them very much as they taught us about the history of the area and suggested places to explore. They are generous and kind people. Thanks very much.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Log cabin in the pines, by Kaibab forest. Historical, small & quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255456
+1 928-699-2410
Parks Arizona
5

Great little getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I love to camp but haven't been able to do it at all this year. Now the weather is a little too cold at night to do any traditional tent camping, so my husband and I were looking for a nice, rustic cabin that still had the upside of camping but without waking up in a freezing tent. This is definitely the place.

Coming from Phoenix, we tried to get out of town as soon as we could but, unfortunately, we weren't able to get to our destination before dark. I had told Linda this beforehand and she was very accommodating, providing precise directions so we wouldn't get lost in the dark and in an unfamiliar place. There is a heater in the cabin and it was toasty warm when we arrived, despite the temperature having dropped into the low 40's. There is a very nice fire pit that we immediately lit up, and the cabin itself is exactly as advertised. There were even some things that were surprisingly better than we thought they would be. There is a sufficient amount of flatware and plates/bowls to accommodate 2 people, in addition to plenty of towels and coffee, tea, sugar, salt & pepper, etc. It's not fancy, but doesn't need to be. The d├ęcor is cute, and there a few neat little things such as a rake head used as hooks to hold the spatulas and other cooking utensils. We brought our camping box that contains everything necessary to cook and eat, but found we put more than half of the stuff back in the car. There is a BBQ and we brought our camp stove, but we did most of our cooking on the grate over the fire pit (we had brought a couple of cast iron pans.)

The location is a bit different than we were expecting but we weren't disappointed. The general store is a short walk away and the cabin is close to the intersection of two roads, one of which seems to be traveled frequently, but there are no street lights and it is quiet. There's also a train that can be heard going by pretty often, but once you're inside the cabin it's not disturbing at all. The national forest is literally just a step outside and if you wanted to, you could walk forever. After a short exploration I came across an abandoned portion of what was once Route 66 between 1931 to 1941. Pretty cool stuff.

Andy and Linda are very friendly but know enough to allow their guests privacy. We will definitely return anytime we need a nice reprieve. Hopefully, we can find others to come with us in the future so we can try out the bunkhouse too.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
A Log cabin in the pines, by Kaibab forest. Historical, small & quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255456
+1 928-699-2410
Parks Arizona
5

Quiet, clean and well maintained cozy cabin.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Cal and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Roger's Cabin. It was cozy, clean and well supplied. The location was fantastic with all of our daily sight-seeing trips during our 7 day stay. Being right at the edge of the National forest was a plus because the deer and elk also liked the area. The owners, Andy and Linda, were very kind and hospitable and very helpful. We definitely would stay again when in the area.
business
A Log cabin in the pines, by Kaibab forest. Historical, small & quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255456
+1 928-699-2410
Parks Arizona
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

From Indiana

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We have wanted to stay in a log cagin in the woods for a long time, this little cabin is perfect and just what we expected. Warm & cozy, very comfy queen bed and we LOVED the quiet star lit nights.
Just an excellent western experience. We also loved the Pine Country cafe in Williams.
business
A Log cabin in the pines, by Kaibab forest. Historical, small & quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255456
+1 928-699-2410
Parks Arizona
Mesa, AZ
5

cozy cabin, great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I stayed here for a get away weekend and can't wait to go back. Andy and Linda are wonderful hosts and the cabin can only be described as charming. Cozy, clean, and comfortable! We saw a herd of bull elk twice from the front porch. There is even a small " general store" easy walking distance from the cabin for snacks. I would recommend Rogers Cabin! Thank you Linda and Andy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to write a review, it is greatly appreciated. I enjoyed our visit & learned a lot from you.
We're glad the elk came for a visit while you were here, that porch on Roger's Cabin is the best seat in the house!
Have a great day,
Linda
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Log cabin in the pines, by Kaibab forest. Historical, small & quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255456
+1 928-699-2410
Parks Arizona
5

Perfect romantic getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Perfect little cabin for two! Property is right on the border of the forest. Location is central between Flagstaff and Williams so there are tons of things in the area to do. Near by towns but still feels isolated and very quiet. Owners live on site but are extremely friendly and respectful. MUCH better and cleaner than a hotel. Decorated beautifully and has everything you can possibly need. Will definitely go back!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review, I know it takes time out of your day to write one so we really appreciate it. We really enjoyed our visit with you two, this country needs more parents like you guys.
All the best,
Linda
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Log cabin in the pines, by Kaibab forest. Historical, small & quiet
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255456
+1 928-699-2410
Parks Arizona
5

Heavenly

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I stayed with a friend in Roger's cabin for my birthday. It sits right on the property line with the forest service on the other side. trees as far as the eye can see. The cabin is fixed up so cute. Andy and Linda have done an amazing job at mixing the original old cabin with creative decor. Very comfortable studio. Great location. Twenty minutes from downtown Flagstaff, great fun get away. Williams is a fun little town to visit, "gateway to the grand canyon". I live in Phoenix but it was still really fun to get out of the city and it was all a new experience for me and my friends. I loved being away from everything and in such a quaint little town. Right by the old old route 66. There are some amazing hikes all around. Mount Kendrick is very close just up the road. The lava tubes are also close and an easy couple hour adventure that you dont get to see just anywhere. We had no regrets. One of my best birthdays!! Andy and Linda are so helpful and friendly if you ask questions also!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for sharing your experience in our area and your stay in Roger's Cabin. Great that you chose us to spend your birthday. We hope to see you again, we enjoyed visiting with the two of you. Sharing a short time outside gazing at the stars with you was a special experience.
Helpful votes: 5/5