Austin house rental - Enjoy great Austin weather in this backyard oasis.
Enjoy great Austin weather in this backyard oasis.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Austin House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps up to 6

Relax during your stay in Austin at the Dandelion Muse Guest House, a quiet ranch house on a shaded lot in laid-back South Austin. A nice place to getaway but still be close to it all. Enjoy the tall oak, elm, and pecan trees, a large wooden deck and herb garden in back as well as your own peaceful egg-shaped swimming pool.

Quaint, clean, peaceful, and fully furnished - great for good sleep and enjoyment. Hardwood floors throughout, berber in the bedrooms. There is a queen all-latex bed in the main bedroom, truly a treat with all-cotton, high thread count sheets. The other bedrooms have high-quality, thick full sized futons (one with inner coils, the other wool-wrapped), and all guests are provided with high-quality, all-cotton linens. The house is cleaned using environmentally responsible products. Nicely equipped kitchen. Washer/dryer in the house. Chickering upright piano. High-speed wireless internet (6 Mbps) and free Netflix streaming movies with a Roku box.

12 Reviews of Property 255246 in Austin, Texas

Retreat with Deck and Pool, Quick Access to Downtown and the Hill Country
average rating of 4.8 based on 12 reviews
business
Retreat with Deck and Pool, Quick Access to Downtown and the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255246
+1 512 552-1385
Austin Austin area
Midland, TX
3

Comfortable enough in decent location

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
First off, we had a wedding to attend that happened to fall on the same time that SXSW was happening, so we were charged more than the average rate for this house. If we had paid the regular price possibly my expectations would have been lower. The pictures show a pristine pool and the bedrooms seemed nice enough. Unfortunately, it was cold and rainy so leaves were everywhere and we didn't get to enjoy the backyard. Obviously not the owners fault, but caused us to spend more time indoors while kids napped and such. We didn't plan on spending much time in the house but due to the weather we weren't up for as much exploring. There is only one TV in the house and it is quite small. I mean really small. We debated moving the couch so we could see better. Also there is only one couch (a bit worn) and one chair so not very much seating. Sparse furnishings in the house. In one of the bathrooms the flooring is cement without a rug or a bath mat so it was work to not make a mess when getting out of the shower, esp with kids. The beds were ok, I mean I managed to sleep but they were low to the ground, I believe no box springs, and somewhat hard. It is difficult to sleep when you are more comfortable in your own house and bed than when you are on vacation. I prefer the opposite. If you are looking for a place to crash, shower, and possibly use a pool, this house will work. It's just pretty basic and I think they ought to spend some money and put a decent tv in the place and another couch in the sparse living room.
business
Retreat with Deck and Pool, Quick Access to Downtown and the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255246
+1 512 552-1385
Austin Austin area
5

Great Place and Great People!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Really, the best part about this place is Bala, the lady that owns and manages it. You get to speak directly with her, instead of through a realtor. She answers all questions quickly and makes the check-in as easy as possible.

We had an issue with our flights, and she had no problem accommodating us.

The house is in an ideal location, only 10 minutes from downtown and the airport. The neighborhood is quiet and relaxing. We stayed for 8 days, no problems at all.

We would recommend it to anyone. In fact, we hope to stay again!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Retreat with Deck and Pool, Quick Access to Downtown and the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255246
+1 512 552-1385
Austin Austin area
Abilene, TX
5

Great Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We stayed here Memorial Day weekend and had a great time. My wife and I and another couple stayed here, and we would all highly recommend this property. Bala is a pleasure to work with, and the communication we got from her was great. The house is only about 10 minutes from 6th Street if you want to go have some fun in the city, but the pool and grill allow for fun right at the house. The house was clean and comfortable, and the kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed. This house was is a great choice if you're looking for an Austin vacation.

Yancey
Abilene, TX
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Retreat with Deck and Pool, Quick Access to Downtown and the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255246
+1 512 552-1385
Austin Austin area
5

Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
I traveled with my sister, best friend, and 2 kids for the Easter holiday week. We had a great time at the house and the kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool and the toys. We had no problems finding the house which was very clean and ready for our stay, even arriving a bit early was not an issue. Bala was a great host and went above and beyond providing a two page email of suggested places to eat and visit during our stay. We had more than enough to see and do.

The house is conveniently located near major roads and highways. Several supermarkets, organic markets, shops, dining, etc. are easily accessible. We had no problems getting around and it was our first time in Texas. The neighborhood is quiet. The house is surrounded by beautiful trees which is a nice retreat from city life but still close enough to enjoy everything Austin has to offer. We took a couple of day trips to San Antonio Sea World and Riverwalk which were about 1 hour away.

I would highly recommend this house for your stay in Austin.
business
Retreat with Deck and Pool, Quick Access to Downtown and the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255246
+1 512 552-1385
Austin Austin area
Dallas, TX
5

Girls Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My girlfriends and I went to Austin for a bachelorette party and had the BEST time lounging by the pool. The house was very clean, quaint and peaceful. Bala was great to work with and I would definitely stay at this home or any home Bala has for rent again. Thank you so much for a great experience.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Retreat with Deck and Pool, Quick Access to Downtown and the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255246
+1 512 552-1385
Austin Austin area
Torrance, CA
5

Family Wedding/Reuniting vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We came to Austin on Memorial weekend for our nephew's wedding and stayed with our grown children and their 'other halves'. We had a mini family vacation with four of us from CA and two from Chicago. It was so pleasant to have the home atmosphere for simply spending time together around the celebration days. The layout and amenities were perfect, house was clean, linens were good, pool was great. It was wonderful in the hot weather we were having to have the choice of setting the air conditioning as we liked and/or using the ceiling fans too. The house is in a comfortable, quiet residential neighborhood but not too far from things we were going to. Bala was very helpful with getting started directions and finding groceries the first day, etc
We went to the greenbelt (my daughter jogged it), did a boat/bat tour, shopped at the mall and on So Capital, ate and listened to music downtown, and saw Zilker botanical gardens. My son did kayaking.
For future travelers, don't plan to go to hear music on monday nights - not much live (found that out our last night there) but heard some sunday night. We also drove around to see the capital building (impressive) and the University. Also drove up Mt Bonnell and got wonderful views.
Please add to the amenity list that there are hairdryers in both bathrooms. I brought mine since it was not listed.

One thing I would recommend is look at a map before you go (like a paper autoclub map) We got lost a few times and had some issues with different gps units giving different directions to the same place
(obviously an Austin issue, not a problem with the house)

I highly recommend this as a home to stay in in Austin
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Retreat with Deck and Pool, Quick Access to Downtown and the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255246
+1 512 552-1385
Austin Austin area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

We enjoyed your little oasis.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Everything was good. We enjoyed your little oasis. Thank you.
business
Retreat with Deck and Pool, Quick Access to Downtown and the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255246
+1 512 552-1385
Austin Austin area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Thank you.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Thank you. We enjoyed staying in your pristine home!
business
Retreat with Deck and Pool, Quick Access to Downtown and the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255246
+1 512 552-1385
Austin Austin area
Santa Fe, NM, USA
5

Dandelion muse Austin house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We enjoyed being in the area as it was close to our son's home and within walking distance. The pool was enjoyed during the hot weather. We will plan on staying there again when we come to Austin for an extended stay. I would highly recommend it to a friend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Retreat with Deck and Pool, Quick Access to Downtown and the Hill Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255246
+1 512 552-1385
Austin Austin area
East Texas
5

Great Labor Day Weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We had a great stay here for our family Labor Day get together. The house was comfortable and spacious, perfect for our needs. The pool was an added bonus, and we had a lot of fun swimming every day. Would definitely recommend this place to others!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1