South Haven house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

South Haven House Rental Photos and Description
3 BR, 1 BA, sleeps 6

Extra comfortable 3 bedroom house on 1 acre has large deck and is set over a wooded ravine that leads to Lake Michigan. House is ideally located on lake Michigan side of Blue Star Hwy five minutes North of downtown South Haven, (see map below), and one minute from 15 acre nature preserve with stairs to beach. Seclusive rural setting offers total privacy except for the occasional family of deer or wild turkey and virtually zero man made light at night. Lake Michigan breezes reach property which is approximately 1250 feet from waterline separated by woods and other properties.

Modern kitchen is equipped with dishwasher, fridge, stove, washer and dryer. There is a king size bed in the master bedroom and queen beds in the other 2 bedrooms, all equipped with high end Simmons Beautyrest mattresses and resort quality fresh white linens. House has wireless high speed internet and direct TV. Farmer's market located within one mile. Convenience store located within 2 miles.

Three minutes from Hawkshead golf course. Five minute drive to downtown South Haven, Michigan theater, antique shops, etc. Fifteen minutes from town of Saugatuck.

More Details
Hide Details

10 Reviews of Property 255165 in South Haven, Michigan

House with Large Deck over Wooded Ravine near Lake Michigan & Stairs to Beach
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
business
House with Large Deck over Wooded Ravine near Lake Michigan & Stairs to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255165
+1 312-643-1418
South Haven Southwest Michigan
5

Great comfy place to relax

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We enjoyed our stay very much. The description was accurate. Very clean and well maintained home. The house had everything we needed. The beds were above average. Good location to take in the area beaches. We visited local farmers markets, explored the area and had a nice and relaxing time. We visited a few local artists and potters studios. Enjoyed Holland State Park. Check out the wineries and Fennville if you don't mind a 15 min drive. The owner, Evan was helpful and great to work with, Would recommend to friends and family.
business
House with Large Deck over Wooded Ravine near Lake Michigan & Stairs to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255165
+1 312-643-1418
South Haven Southwest Michigan
Chicago, Illinois
5

Darrell, Chicago Illinois

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We rented the house for a family reunion because it was close to other cottages that family members owned and had rented. The house was very clean and roomy and had all the amenities stated. My wife stated that the pictures didn't do it justice. It had wireless internet, I was able to work while I was there. There's woods in the back with a trail to public access to the beach and is near the new nature center.
You might want to bring drinking water, some of my children didn't prefer the tap water.
The owner was very pleasant to deal with and was more than helpful with any questions we had.
I would definitely recommend renting this house to others.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
House with Large Deck over Wooded Ravine near Lake Michigan & Stairs to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255165
+1 312-643-1418
South Haven Southwest Michigan
United States
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We spent a week here and our family loved the house and location. It was quiet and peaceful and the kids each had their own room. Located in the middle of many things to do - not far from horseback riding, wineries, blueberry picking, antiquing and less than 10 minutes to downtown South Haven. So many things to do, we didn't get a chance to do them all. House had all the amenities we needed. It was great to have a washer and dryer to do the beach towels and suits and the kitchen had everything we needed. Evan was great to work with and left a lot of info on the surrounding area which was helpful. Thanks Evan!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
House with Large Deck over Wooded Ravine near Lake Michigan & Stairs to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255165
+1 312-643-1418
South Haven Southwest Michigan
South Bend, Indiana
5

Escape the noise of the town

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We truly enjoyed our trip to South Haven, Michigan. The house was clean and comfortable for our family. We slept very well and found the location was a good compromise. It was close enough to the South Haven public beach, but outside of town, and provided us with privacy and quiet.

The owner provided excellent customer service and was helpful providing information about the area. After previous poor experiences with vacation rental homes, Evan renewed our faith in renting and was a superb host.

We enjoyed many area restaurants, but we also enjoy cooking ourselves. If you like to cook, bring your spices with you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
House with Large Deck over Wooded Ravine near Lake Michigan & Stairs to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255165
+1 312-643-1418
South Haven Southwest Michigan
New York
5

Tranquil, peaceful, quiet stay. Nice owners.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We were very happy to have had such a nice quiet stay in this peaceful setting. At night, all we could see were stars in the sky, and all we could hear were the rustling of the leaves. I am a single mom from New York with two teenage children. We each had our own bedrooms, and of course I got the master bedroom which had a king size bed. HEAVENLY! There was a deck in back of the house where we could sun ourselves and have a small barbeque! The owners required a security deposit, but it was returned to us in ten days, which was understandable and acceptable to me as we did not damage anything. We are planning to go back this year! Looking forward to another peaceful stay! Nice!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
House with Large Deck over Wooded Ravine near Lake Michigan & Stairs to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255165
+1 312-643-1418
South Haven Southwest Michigan
Philadelphia
5

Very nice owners & Very comfortable beds! Lovely!

Very nice owners & Very comfortable beds! Lovely!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We were looking for a place that offered a comforting and soothing atmosphere, and we found it in this three bedroom rental. The owners are very gracious as they made sure that we were comfortable. They took the time to tell us about the surrounding areas, and basically made our vacation extremely pleasant. The beds are very comfortable, as they are furnished with high end mattresses. It's hard to get out of bed once you're in! This was a romantic getaway for us! We loved it there, and will definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
House with Large Deck over Wooded Ravine near Lake Michigan & Stairs to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255165
+1 312-643-1418
South Haven Southwest Michigan
NW Indiana
3

Decent place

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We decided on a whim to take a quick trip up to South Haven and I found this place at the last minute, which was nice. We stayed for a long weekend and this house met our needs. It's definitely a trek to get to the beach through the woods if you're wanting to walk. Unless we were taking the wrong way, I highly recommend just driving to the beach instead. It's a nice area off of the highway that's close enough to town, however we were expecting it to be a bit more accessible to the beach. The back deck was a little rough, definitely need to watch for spiders and wear shoes since the wood was weathered. Also, check the silverware and dishes when you get there and before you leave- we were charged $10 for 1 missing fork. No clue where it went or if it was just hiding but either way, not a huge deal. The lawn didn't appear to have been mowed in quite a while. Also, there were sheets covering the furniture in the living room that we weren't supposed to remove to keep them clean, so that was kind of different. All in all, it is a nice place for the money, plenty of room for the 5 of us.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: We are glad that you enjoyed it. Please consider us again we would love to have you. The sheets on the couch are more an option than a requirement. We just offer them because they are easier to clean than the couch itself if something happens, as something often does. We try to keep a clean house throughout a summer of back to back rentals and the couch upholstery itself can be difficult to clean on short notice. We are a bit embarrassed about the fork. Although it never did turn up, we were a bit on the spot and it is slightly awkward when the renter makes a special request for their deposit back at the time of check out. We want to accommodate special requests but it really offers no opportunity for us to find everything that may be missing or to catch everything that may be missed without the extra time we might normally have before returning the deposit. We normally return within ten days. We try to get up once a week to mow the one acre lawn. Sometimes it does go two weeks. Perhaps this summer we'll hire someone. Its true that the deck can use some work. As far as the lake, as close as it is, it can be a challenge to get to through the woods. We too recommend driving to the beach as a primary method.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
House with Large Deck over Wooded Ravine near Lake Michigan & Stairs to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255165
+1 312-643-1418
South Haven Southwest Michigan
Noblesville, IN
5

Comfortable Accomodations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
This property easily met the needs of our little family. We were able to have all the privacy we wanted and still be conveniently close to the amenities of South Haven and the Beech. The owner was great at communicating with us and making sure that we would have everything that we needed. There was plenty of room to sleep, the kitchen was usable and well furnished and the ability to wash and dry clothes was a real life saver. We would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for clean, low allergy accomodations!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
House with Large Deck over Wooded Ravine near Lake Michigan & Stairs to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255165
+1 312-643-1418
South Haven Southwest Michigan
St. Louis, MO
4

Quiet, rural vacation rental

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
For our first trip to Lake Michigan this house meet our needs. Not knowing exactly where to stay we did a good job at guessing. This location is outside of town in a rural and quiet area. We enjoyed our stay overall and the one situation we had arise was addressed very quickly after we brought it to the owners attention. We did not attempt to walk to the beach through the woods as we became comfortable driving to the public beaches. However is was further than we had originally anticipated. We found it more convenient to go to the beach for the day with a lunch packed in the cooler and cloths to change into before we got dinner and spent the evening strolling around town. The house was clean and manicured upon our arrival. While there are some dated features in general the house is well maintained.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
House with Large Deck over Wooded Ravine near Lake Michigan & Stairs to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p255165
+1 312-643-1418
South Haven Southwest Michigan
Chicago
5

BEAUTIFUL House and property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
My husband and I stayed at this marvelous home and absolutely loved it!! The house is just beautiful. The bedrooms are nicely done. The Living room had a huge, comfortable sofa with a nice flat screen tv, and satellite tv was provided. The deck out back is great!! A really nice propane grill is available, and we definitely used it! The property is lovely, we took a short walk and found ourselves at the lake and enjoyed a magnificent michigan sunset! It is only about a 10 minute drive into town so that was quite convenient. The price is definitely right on mark. I would HIGHLY recommend this property to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 17/17