Mayaguez farmhouse rental - Entrance to Casa de Campo and terrace.
Entrance to Casa de Campo and terrace.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Mayaguez Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
Spacious 3BR, 2BA, Beautiful Mountain Views. Sleeps 8 Call if dates not avail.

Welcome to the unique and adventurous west coast of Puerto Rico’s mountainous rainforest. Here you will find a plethora of sounds and colors unmatched by any other area in the island. At Hacienda Pakibe we have well maintained nature trails from easy to challenging, a meandering rocky river with natural pools and many waterfalls.

Our forest nests tall bamboo strands, banana groves, coffee, mango, papaya, oranges, plantains, royal palm trees, coconut palm trees, an enormous variety of beautiful ferns and cocoa trees. Beautiful native birds sing all day. The breath taking starling sky and the ever present melody of the sounding 'Coqui', never fails at night.

Hacienda Pakibe is located within a short drive to many beautiful beaches located on the west coast of the Island. You can enjoy International and local cuisine at nearby restaurants. We are conveniently located very close to The University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez campus, and to many shopping centers with movie theaters, supermarkets, banks, gaming casino and fast food restaurants.

Hacienda Pakibe is the ideal safe and sensible destination for the smart budget minded and nature loving vacationer. Remember to bring a group of friends or the entire family to double the pleasure. The house is fully equipped, cozy and very comfortable, all you need is your personal belongings and sun screen. Leave the rest to us.

Whether you are looking for beach or country side activities, excitement or relaxation, Hacienda Pakibe is the ideal place for your family and group of friends.

More Details
Hide Details

My parents were born in Cuba, moved to the US in 1960 and after graduate school, moved to PR which we consider our Home. They raised us (three daughters) for most of our life, in this beautiful rainforest and named it, Hacienda 'Pakibe' from the first two letters of our nicknames. It was in its origins, a very extensive and productive coffee plantation for many years.

Cristina purchased this farmhouse in 1970

My parents liked to enjoy the benefits of a peaceful, beautiful, and safe country living very close to town and the University of Mayaguez (10 mts drive), where my father was an Engineering Professor for many years.

Total relaxation, peaceful starling nights, natural river pools, beautiful flora and fauna, very safe, the proximity to beaches and everything in town.

30 Reviews of Property 254928 in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico

Enjoy the Beauty and Serenity of our Tropical Paradise & nearby Beaches
average rating of 4.75 based on 30 reviews
business
Enjoy the Beauty and Serenity of our Tropical Paradise & nearby Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254928
+1 7874641061
Mayaguez Puerto Rico
5

Unforgettable experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 3773
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My classmates and I visited Mayaguez to complete Nursing hours at San Antonio Hospital. We chose the house online and were blown away from the time we arrived. Casa del Campo is home away from home. We had everything that we needed but the added bonus was the tranquil view. After 12 hour days there was nothing better than driving to the house and only listening to the sound of the coqui.
Another reason for choosing this property was because of it's similarity to Cuba. My classmates are all foreign physicians who haven't seen their country on years. When they all saw the house they were able to reminisce about their homeland and feel at peace with their decision.
Thank you Cristina for creating a home-like environment. Plus, I would like to especially thank CHARLIE. He is the go to tour guide, conversationalist and friend. We grew so close to him that we felt like we were leaving family behind.
Cristina, I wish you and your family the best today and always.

Love, The Cubans
(Bianca, Sergio, Yani, Josue, Victor, Jose & Janoi)
Owner's Response: My Dear Bianca:

What a beautiful review! Thank you so much! I got teary eyes because you know my family is also from Cuba, so to be able to bring a little of Cuba to all by staying in Casa de Campo, really made me very happy. Me emocione!
I knew since day one when we talked, that this was going to be the ideal place for all of you to come to and relax after a long, hard working day at the Hospital.
So glad you all felt at home, that is our main goal, always!
Charlie was delighted with all of you. Hope to have you all back soon!

Blessings,
Cristina
business
Enjoy the Beauty and Serenity of our Tropical Paradise & nearby Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254928
+1 7874641061
Mayaguez Puerto Rico
5

Great Family Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We staid in the home for 10 days with our 4 kids. Our daughter tuned 16 and our son turned 3. We had a great time here. We wanted to stay some where where the kids can be outside and safe. There was more than enough room for all of us. We were very surprised at how large the home was. The kitchen was very large and great for everyone to be in. All of the rooms were a very good size as well. The deck is where we spent most of our time. The stars were out every night.
We have 2 dogs at home and when we met ""Joe-Joe" that is what the kids called him they fell in love! The dog went with us on our hikes on the trails, greeted us every morning and night. The kids looked forward to seeing him, in fact my son is still asking for him.
Charlie was a great host. He told us about different places on the island, and any questions we had he was right there. The only things I would suggest would be to have a deck of cards or some Dominoes for some family time. If you have kids bring something for them to play with. The trails were beautiful but maybe if there were some more clearer ways to tell the guest which way the waterfall vs the mountain top views were would of help. We walked to the top the first day and the second day Joe-Joe came with us and we followed him.
Please who ever goes there take good care of him :) I am sure we will be back again!
Owner's Response: Dear Cindy:

Thank you for your review! I am very happy to know that you and all the family had a wonderful time at Casa de Campo and enjoyed many of the amenities the farm offers. Charlie enjoyed very much, sharing with all of you.
We have decided to "officially" name our friendly visiting dog, "Joe-Joe" in honor of your kids :) He has become a frequent guest in the farm and everyone enjoys having him around. Thank you for all your valuable suggestions, I will surely implement them.

Blessings to all,
Cristina
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Enjoy the Beauty and Serenity of our Tropical Paradise & nearby Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254928
+1 7874641061
Mayaguez Puerto Rico
5

Campy, Secluded, Natural, Friendly

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
DH, 3x DS (16,18,20) and I spent 10 days at Casa de Campo. We felt safe the entire time. The residence is campy but the clean kitchen has a 6 burner gas range and oven which we utilized for cooking some of our meals. It was fun to go to the Mercado in nearby downtown Mayaguez and purchase fruits, veggies and a very nice roast from the vendors. I cut banana leaves from right outside the door to wrap/bake the roast in … awesome! Find the Ricomini Bakery for fantastic flan, pan, & espresso. The boys enjoyed the pastries there.
The water pressure in the showers is less than fantastic, but the bathrooms were very clean. The residence is very spacious & the outdoor upstairs patio was the BEST! We drank coffee out there every morning as we were serenaded by the doves & other birds & beasts. Cocktails in the evening were wonderful out there as well.
Though the property contains several rental units, the feeling is still one of privacy and seclusion. We never encountered anyone else on the hiking trails or at the water holes/ water falls. In fact, other than Charlie, we rarely saw another sole around. The foliage is spectacular. If you are into botany at all, you will surely enjoy the variety of giant ferns and other plants on the grounds.
Speaking of Charlie, he is a very informative, engaging, interesting fella who is available for any of your needs yet does not intrude on you. The perfect host! Christina, while not on the property, was also very accessible and helpful. A very friendly, professional, knowledgeable woman who patiently answered all of our questions.
The property is exactly 13 miles from Corcega Beach. ("Fine, latte coloured sand and swaying palm trees make a promising first impression even in the daytime but this beach is known for being a good place for swimming and for some dazzlingly brilliant sunsets. In the winter the whales cruise past but in the summer you’ll have to make do with the beautiful coloured fish in the snorkel ready water. Not quite as rubbish free as you may hope, but the water is pretty clear still, and whales know best…") where my sons and I happily snorkeled and swam almost daily while my husband played golf.
I would recommend staying at Casa de Campo because it is conveniently located, is safe, secluded, is a beautiful piece of property, provides the opportunity to engage in activities on premises, has a kitchen, friendly knowledgeable "hosts" and is overall a good value. Plus, there was no snow!!
Owner's Response: Dear Jeanne:

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
I am so happy that all the family had a wonderful time at Casa Campo, enjoyed the farm, the markets, the beach, and the big nice terrace!!! I love it too.
What a pleasure to have had you and your beautiful family stay at our place.
Charlie had a wonderful time with all of you too.
Thank you so much and hope to have you all back in the near future!
Blessings to all,
Cristina (Kiki) :)
business
Enjoy the Beauty and Serenity of our Tropical Paradise & nearby Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254928
+1 7874641061
Mayaguez Puerto Rico
5

The Absolute Perfect Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
There is no better place to enjoy a visit to Puerto Rico than “Casa de Campo”. Its serene surroundings, winding walkways along the river, the sounds of coquis at night and the view of a vast starry night from the front porch makes staying at this farm an unforgettable experience. The place is very clean, with all the amenities for a very comfortable stay. The farm, while nested in the country side is only 10 minutes from stores and Main Highway. Cristina, the owner of the property, was a call away, answering promptly to any questions or last minute requests. We were greeted by the Charlie, who gave me a tour of the property and shared anecdotes of the history of the farm, the plants found in the property, and many other interesting facts like the butterflies and birds of the area. My family joined me for a night and we were all able to share in the comfort of the house, prepared food together and went on long walks around the property. We had two family members using walking aids. They were able to move around without any mayor inconvenience. The pictures on the website do not do justice; the place is much nicer in person. I highly recommend this property for your prefect gateway in the beautiful island of Puerto Rico.
Owner's Response: Dear Aylin:
Thank you for your wonderful review!
I am so happy that your dream of a relaxing, joyful, and peaceful family weekend was accomplished. Very excited that you and your family had an opportunity to walk around the trails and really enjoy all that the property has to offer.
Can't wait for your next visit!
A la orden, siempre.

Carinos,
Cristina
business
Enjoy the Beauty and Serenity of our Tropical Paradise & nearby Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254928
+1 7874641061
Mayaguez Puerto Rico
Tallmadge, Ohio
5

Casa de Campo is Fantastic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Our stay in this lush rain forest was absolutely one of the greatest places we have visited. It is away from the city, only noises heard was the forest talking, what a great experience.
Our group was very comfortable during our stay and there was so much to see just around the forest.
It was close to the western beaches and they are very beautiful.
Charlie, the care taker was just full of knowledge of PR. We all enjoyed his morning visits sharing history,the different plants of the Island
This was the first time My wife and I have been to PR, and thanks to all the staff and Charlie made it a very memorable one which we will not forget.
We want to thank you and let you know we all look forward to returning to Casa de Campo
Dave and Claudia Hall Tallmadge, ohio 44278
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Dave and Claudia:

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am so happy that your experience at Casa de Campo was so pleasurable, that you are all wanting to come back! And we can't wait to receive all of you again soon! It was a pleasure for Charlie to share with all of you too!

Best regards!
Cristina
business
Enjoy the Beauty and Serenity of our Tropical Paradise & nearby Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254928
+1 7874641061
Mayaguez Puerto Rico
Tallmadge, ohio
5

Absolutely incredible experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Everything about our stay at Casa de Campo was wonderful. Away from the busyness of the city, tucked away in the mountains of western Puerto Rico is the perfect place to stay while experiencing the west coast of PR.

Charlie who works on the farm made our stay feel like a home away from home. The knowledge he shared about PR and the farm made us look forward for him to stop by for a cup of coffee. He truly made us feel at home and was very helpful.

The only negative was that the internet at times ran very slowly--but hey, we were there to get away from it all and Casa de Campo is the perfect place in order to get away from it all.

Thanks for the wonderfully hospitality!

I will definitely stay hear again!
Owner's Response: Dear Scot:

Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you and everyone had a great experience at Casa de Campo, hospitality is always our most important priority. So pleased that you felt you were "away from it all" in our tropical paradise. And most importantly, that you felt that you were "at home, away from home", something Charlie makes sure off, with all our guests.
Looking forward for your next visit!

Sincerely,
Cristina
business
Enjoy the Beauty and Serenity of our Tropical Paradise & nearby Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254928
+1 7874641061
Mayaguez Puerto Rico
5

Tropical Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My husband, daughter and I joined our parents and brothers for a reunion in Mayaguez at this wonderful home. It is the second year that our family has rented from Mercedes and Mario and our first visit to Puerto Rico.

We can't say enough wonderful things about the treasure you call your home! The neighbors were so kind and gracious to us, helping me out when I hurt my back and couldn't find a chiropractor over the holidays.

The rooms are furnished with exactly enough of everything and the large shower with a window that looked into the lush greenery of the area was such a treat for my eyes used to staring at Minnesota winters.

We enjoyed many wonderful meals in your kitchen (we needed to be a bit creative with the sparse amount of pans and cooking items, but that was part of the fun!) and all of us enjoyed the hiking, streams and gorgeous mountain views that we awoke to each morning. Listening to the coquis' song each night lulled us in to a wonderful sleep as well...

My husband and I dream of buying your home and living their permanently- we loved Mayaguez and the surrounding areas. Thank you for opening your house to our family- it will be a memory we treasure forever.

WE LOVE PUERTO RICO!

Heather & Ibrahim (and Baby Yeleen)
St. Paul, Minnesota
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Enjoy the Beauty and Serenity of our Tropical Paradise & nearby Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254928
+1 7874641061
Mayaguez Puerto Rico
5

LA CASA DE CAMPO IS A DELIGHTFUL RETREAT

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We had a wonderful time in your spacious, comfortable and quiet house. It was such a joy to sit out on the large terrace looking towards the tropical forest and watch the sun rise and in the evening to watch the stars and moon come out and listen to the magical sounds of the surrounding forest. The large kitchen faces East and the sun floods in while we were having breakfast. It was a pleasure to cook in this kitchen with plenty of pots and pans and sit at the large table to eat our meals. Everything was very clean. The rooms are large and there is plenty of cupboard space with large mirrors and the soft bed is heavenly to sleep in. Everything one expects for a comfortable holiday is there to enjoy.
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for such wonderful review. Our greatest joy is to know that our efforts we put to prepare a reasonable priced vacation rental was enjoyed once more and that your expectations were met. Hope you had a safe trip back home.
Best personal regards,
Mercedes
business
Enjoy the Beauty and Serenity of our Tropical Paradise & nearby Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254928
+1 7874641061
Mayaguez Puerto Rico
5

This is a wonderful place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
This is just what you need when you visit Mayaguez. The house, appliances, furniture are in GREAT condition. The place is very clean and the view is unbelievable. I went on a work-related trip and every night I wanted to come back to the relaxation I found in this tropical forest. You don't need to bring towels, soap, shampoo, toilet paper, they provide everything!! Honestly, I felt in a tropical nice hotel.
My bed (the king size one) and comforter were super comfortable and the shower had heated water. It was great. :)
If you rent this house I suggest you take a walk and enjoy the nature (bamboo forest and rivers everywhere.) If you practice yoga, make sure you bring your travel mat because the deck is great for practicing. Also, take the time to wake up and watch the dawn, it looks unreal, it's so beautiful.
Finally, the owners were really helpful. I needed some extra receipts for reimbursement and they did everything I needed. If I have to come back I'm sure I will stay here again.
Owner's Response: Thank you for such wonderful review. We take great pride in providing our guests with a comfortable and very clean house paying attention to all details that will make their stay worthwhile in our beautiful nature surrounded and serene place. See you next time and thank you again.
Warm regards,
Mario & Mercedes
business
Enjoy the Beauty and Serenity of our Tropical Paradise & nearby Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254928
+1 7874641061
Mayaguez Puerto Rico
1

Beware: Not as advertised!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
The furnishings at this house were nice, and the place is very spacious, and the surrounding forest is lovely. However, this rental is not as advertised. We were alarmed to discover upon arriving that there was no water and were rather casually told that sometimes this goes on for many hours. Even in the best of times there is no hot water in the kitchen or the second bath, and the washing machine on the porch runs only cold. The bathrooms stank of methane gas, probably pooling in the pipes while the water was not running. None of this may sound like a huge deal, but we had four young children with us, and we definitely would have liked to know about the lack of laundry/bathing facilities beforehand.

The photographs on this site are not representative of what we found during our stay last month. The bedding was downright nasty, speckled with mildew and rough as sandpaper. The only pots and pans were much-weathered nonstick, which I realize makes me sound like a complete snob, but come on, everyone knows you're supposed to replace nonstick pans once they get all flaky, right? There was not enough of anything for a week's stay - a couple of towels, a couple of dishtowels, no paper towels, one roll of toilet paper - which became a problem very quickly because we could only wash things in cold water and hang them to dry.
Lastly, despite an ample video library, there was not a working DVD player or VCR. We didn't mind this too much, but if you or your children like to occasionally put in a movie once evening falls in the middle of nowhere, don't count on it at this casa.
We ended up leaving four days early, extremely disappointed. We stayed in several other similarly-priced houses in Puerto Rico over the next few weeks, which came generously equipped with luxuries like cotton sheets, extra towels, and running water. My advice is: Keep looking! This ain't it!
Owner's Response: I was extremely surprised with the negative and overstated examples in Molly’s review. Our house was rented almost the whole month of December and first week in January. Unfortunately, nobody complained about anything that she wrote in the review or I would have taken care of it immediately.
We live in the property where the house is located along with other long term renters and had never experienced lack of hot or cold water for hours or “methane gas smell”. To save energy that allows us to provide affordable rates, the hot water is limited to the showers. The water is heated with a huge solar power heater. It will be re-check again next week to make sure it is working fine. I replaced the sheets (they were clean, no mildew) and bought a new set of skillets. There is an initial supply of bath and dish soap, toilet paper, and plastic garbage bags when guests arrive in the house as stated in the ad. The guests need to buy these items before they ran out. The TV provider in our houses is Dish Net with over 250 channels; more than 20 channels for kids and although we do not advertise a DVD/VCR in the house, we immediately installed one at their request which I plan to leave. The comment that I have a very hard time with is “the photographs on this site are not representative of what we found during our stay” If there is something that I am extremely careful with, is projecting the place as factual as it is. This comment is ill intended, morally wrong and completely inaccurate.
The only explanation that could have provoked her comments was that my husband, moved by other residents’ complaints, in a very subtle and polite manner had to ask them to quiet down their four children who were slamming doors and moving furniture producing unnecessary noise. My husband noticed that at least one of the men was offended by this. They left early the next day. Their early departure, even though we lost money, was a “blessing in disguise.” The condition of the house after just three nights was beyond words. We have been blessed with many guests who have wonderful memories of their time spent in “our piece of Paradise“ as they call it.
This is our only negative property review in more than five years with many satisfied and wonderful guests. On the constructive side, it opened my eyes to improve phone screening and background checks.
Thank you.
Helpful votes: 5/5