Nokomis house rental - Dine or lounge on the upper balcony deck, with its beautiful view
Dine or lounge on the upper balcony deck, with its beautiful view
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Nokomis House Rental Photos and Description
2 BRs, 1 bath, sleeps 4

Casa Coquina is a 2/1 Nokomis historic district bungalow just 1.2 miles to pristine Nokomis Beach and steps from nature preserves and parks for kayaking, biking, picnicking and more. Fully updated and restored and decorated with vintage tropical touches, the house was featured on HGTV in 2005. One bedroom has a Queen bed, the other a Full sized bed, both equipped with comfy cotton quilts and linens. Enjoy breakfast on your balcony deck overlooking a beautiful fenced and walled yard with a custom-built Tiki Hut. Hardwood floors, cypress and knotty pine walls and ceiling fans make Casa Coquina feel like a hunting or fishing lodge from years gone by. The kitchen has modern appliances: a large side-by-side fridge w/icemaker and through the door water and ice, dishwasher, glass topped range and lots of storage. It's open to the living room, which has comfortable sofas and a fireplace, and a separate dining/sun room with banquettes for lounging and reading. The Flamingo Bathroom even features the original pink and maroon fixtures!

Amenities: Casa Coquina radiates character and whimsy and will definitely appeal to anyone who loves that great 1950s era of Trader Vic's and tropical Tiki Culture. Owned by a freelance writer, Casa Coquina's guests have included artists, writers and musicians who appreciate and seek out creative and interesting vacation destinations. Though this is a vintage home, it's been fully updated and restored with modern conveniences, including new wiring and plumbing, updated appliances, central heat/air and ceiling fans. There's plenty of water pressure and a large hot water heater, as well as a washer and dryer on the premises. Casa Coquina is on a quiet lane, and you have two off-street parking spaces. The fenced yard backs up to a 3 acre historic mansion with beautiful gardens and wall. The home is just two blocks from US 41 and only 3 miles from I-75, making it easy to get just about anywhere.

More Details
Hide Details

Casa Coquina radiates character and whimsy and will definitely appeal to anyone who loves that great 1950s era of Trader Vic's and tropical Tiki Culture. Owned by a freelance writer, Casa Coquina's guests have included artists, writers, and musicians who appreciate and seek out creative and interesting vacation destinations.

Though this is a vintage home, it's been fully updated and restored with modern conveniences, including new wiring and plumbing, updated appliances, central heat/air and ceiling fans. There's plenty of water pressure and a large hot water heater, as well as a washer and dryer on the premises. Casa Coquina is on a quiet lane, and you have two off-street parking spaces. The fenced yard backs up to a 3 acre historic mansion with beautiful gardens and wall. The home is just two blocks from US 41 and only 3 miles from I-75, making it easy to get just about anywhere.

8 Reviews of Property 254876 in Nokomis, Florida

Historic District 2/1 'Lodge' Bungalow Near Beach, Legacy Trail, Ven
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Historic District 2/1 'Lodge' Bungalow Near Beach, Legacy Trail, Ven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254876
+1 9413754499
Nokomis Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

ABSOLUTELY GREAT RENTAL

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This was our second year renting with Nancy. First and foremost - she is an EXTREMELY talented, friendly and caring owner. If you don't spend time getting to know her, you have missed the opportunity to share her knowledge of the area and it's history. Nancy gives you all the privacy you need.

Everything in the house is good quality from the dishes/silverware/pans to the appliances (and to my delight a dishwasher). There were plenty of cleaning products available and several spices in the cupboard. She is sure that there is plenty of storage and hangers in the closets. The bathroom is an absolute hoot! The burgundy colored sink, toilet and tub with the pink flamingos make you smile. We had plenty of towels and washcloths and at least 3 sets of sheets for all the beds. The house was spacious and there was plenty of room at the counter and table for us and our guests. One of my favorite items was the wood carved Lazy Susan and also salad bowls. Above all, it was clean, clean, clean.

The fenced yard is an incredible area full of trees and plants. ! It has a Tiki Hut where we spent many hours enjoying the fresh air and hosting at least 4 gatherings for our friends. The deck is also a great place to sit and enjoy morning coffee and listen to the birds. The area is quiet and secure. As an added note, animals are good judges of character and our dog adores Nancy.

Another bonus was the large selection of menus from local restaurants. She takes all the guess work out of where to go for good meals. Captain Eddies is just a block away and has wonderful seafood. The bungalow is about a mile from the beach (and the doggie beach). There are great places to sit in the sun, hunt for sharks teeth and shells or just relax. There are numerous golf courses nearby. My husband did play a couple of private courses, but the public courses are reasonably priced and close. There are plenty of areas to kayak or swim. To say there are great shopping areas nearby is an understatement. Venice is simply an amazing place to go and walk around. Nancy gave us guidance on special events to attend including concerts. We were also fortunate to find a local church to attend.

The only thing wrong with our stay was having to leave. I am marking off the days until we come back. I would recommend any and all of her rentals to our friends. As with last year, I would give 10 stars for the house, and the rating for our "hostess" is off the charts.
business
Historic District 2/1 'Lodge' Bungalow Near Beach, Legacy Trail, Ven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254876
+1 9413754499
Nokomis Florida South Central Gulf Coast
NH
5

A Delight!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I felt at home the minute we walked into Casa Coquina. Nancy's care and attention to detail is evident everywhere you look. It has a wonderful open feel, is very clean and the kitchen has everything a person might need and then some. Having a washer and dryer at our disposal was a true convenience. We particularly enjoyed having our coffee on the back deck overlooking the home's pleasant backyard.

Nancy was a quick phone call away if we had any questions.

We had never been to Nokomis Beach before. What a gem - and just a few short minutes away! Who could ask for more?



W
business
Historic District 2/1 'Lodge' Bungalow Near Beach, Legacy Trail, Ven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254876
+1 9413754499
Nokomis Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

THE BEST

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The pictures online do not due this place justice. The decor is "old" Florida, with a touch of chic and very comfortable. Nancy is the perfect landlord/ host. Within a few hours of our arrival she stopped by just to make sure everything was in order and to see if we needed anything. The location was great for getting around the area. The kitchen was well stocked. I highly recommend staying here or any of the other properties Nancy has ( just please do not book when I want to return). Nancy looking forward to seeing you again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic District 2/1 'Lodge' Bungalow Near Beach, Legacy Trail, Ven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254876
+1 9413754499
Nokomis Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Casa Coquina

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Wonderfully, creatively restored historic bungalow. The good looks aren't on the outside, but note the pictures of the inside! The kitchen/bathroom was well stocked with good quality, necessary non-food items. There are books, games, a blow dryer and even a magnifying mirror mounted in the bathroom--a convenience I really appreciated not bringing from home. Lots of wonderful bedding and pillows, plenty of towels. Local info on places of interest are also in the rental.The owner is wonderful to work with and quickly responsive to any problems.

We were close to everything we were interested in, including eating out and food shopping and especially the beaches where we found shark's teeth and a few fossils. Snorkeling was good at Caspersen Beach on the quiet side of the rock jetties. We saw at least 20-25 varieties of fish. The sand bar is too far out for young kids, but teens and adults can get there and dive down for better quality shark's teeth and fossils. It helps to research when a good low tide occurs. We used $3.00 Walmart plastic colanders with no problem. We didn't want to pay for the more expensive tools designed to help you look. Manasota Key seemed to have the most shark's teeth near the shoreline. Probably this varies. Beach info in Sarasota county is on the internet.

We wished we had diving qualifications so we could go out to the reef.

A curiosity: both of our Garmins acted a little strange in that area, wanting us to travel in silly small loops when we could simply make 1 turn and arrive at our destination. These Garmins were currently updated, so you just have to use your common sense and ignore the Garmin sometimes.
business
Historic District 2/1 'Lodge' Bungalow Near Beach, Legacy Trail, Ven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254876
+1 9413754499
Nokomis Florida South Central Gulf Coast
State College, PA
5

Christmas at the "Lodge"

Christmas at the "Lodge"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
A great location for a Christmas celebration with son, daughter-in-law and 2 teenage kids. There was even enough space for a five foot Xmas tree in the livingroom! The U-shaped kitchen was spacious enough for two of us to prepare food, set the table, etc. and the eating counter kept people away, but in touch. There were plenty of games - old fashioned board games (yeh!) as well as a DVD player - to play in the evening. The beds are comfortable - actually, all the furniture is comfortable, and the sunporch/dining area bright and inviting. The space would be a bit crowded, especially the bedrooms and bath, for six people to stay longer than a week - four is a good number- but for our time period, six worked well. The view out the window of the gorgeous bouganveilla (sp?) and tops of the palm trees was uplifting, and the privacy and quiet made it special. The listing was accurate, the property well maintained, and the owner provided good customer service. No problem recommending it
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your Christmas with your family at my cottage. You're right, it's really ideal for four people or fewer because there's only one bathroom. I think I'll change the listing to recommend four or fewer in the future. Even though we have sleeping for six, I can see why it might be a little tight with that many. Thanks so much and hope to see you again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic District 2/1 'Lodge' Bungalow Near Beach, Legacy Trail, Ven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254876
+1 9413754499
Nokomis Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Washington, District of Columbia
5

Casa Coquina second visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My husband and I recently completed our second visit to the Floridaloha Vacations' Casa Coquina. It is a no brainer for us whenever we are in the Venice/Nokomis area. The house has that comfortable vacation beach house feel that I remember from my childhood at Maryland beaches but without the "camping out" feel that my mother might remember. The decor is a lot of fun with no lack of attention to detail. Where else will you find a playable ukulele on the mantle? There are shady retreats outside including a lovely deck, nice cross breezes inside, and no traffic noise. It is convenient to shopping, be it a grocery store or the cute shops in Venice. The beach is very close by as are the bike trails and other parks. We didn't spend more than a few minutes in the car ever. We had a look into the other two historic cottages on the property and we would have been happy in one of those also. They are decorated with an artistic flair and quite obviously with a lot of love. Everything was clean and well maintained and the proprietor, Nancy, was accessible and helpful with tips about eateries, shopping, and other things to do. For a taste of Florida, this beats the heck out of a motel with a kitchenette!
Owner's Response: Kathy it was my pleasure to have you both back again. Thanks for all the kind words, it's nice to know that all the details I work so hard on are appreciated and noticed. The vintage music you three brought here was fabulous and fit right in with the surroundings. Thanks again and I'd love to see you back, the third time's the charm!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Historic District 2/1 'Lodge' Bungalow Near Beach, Legacy Trail, Ven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254876
+1 9413754499
Nokomis Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Vintage look and feel-all the modern conveniences!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Had a fabulous and comortable stay at Casa Coquina. Nancy, the proprieter of this vintage/retro styled Florida location does it right. The decor is vintage Florida like you see in the mid 20th century Hollywood movies when Florida was "the exotic destination" for Northeners escaping the cold for a tropical getaway. Vintage Florida decor is everywhere... comfortable rattan furniture with tropical print upholstery, sea shell and palm tree prints on the walls, coral, pink, tourquoise colors everywhere tastefully done and relaxingly easy on
the eyes. There was even a real ukulele for you to strum on the mantle piece! The decor is pretty much authentic vintage items from Nancy's lifelong collection, she even had her own museum exhibit of Florida souvenirs in Venice when we were there. But like I said, these properties are done right. Yes, the vintage look and feel is there but modern appliances outfit the kitchen and bathroom areas, the beds are comfortable as well as the furniture.

Would I stay here again? Yes! But next time I'll make sure to bring my camera. Lot's of great photo ops everywhere.

Five stars!
Owner's Response: You were so much fun to have as a guest and I'm so thrilled you liked the house and the surroundings so much. I could not ask for better and hope you come back again for a longer stay next time. It was nice to see the ukulele put to good use ;-) You sounded great!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic District 2/1 'Lodge' Bungalow Near Beach, Legacy Trail, Ven
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254876
+1 9413754499
Nokomis Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Long Island, New York
5

Historical Florida Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Adorable Key West vacation home. Loved the proximity to beautiful Venice. Beau,the dog,enjoyed his walk everyday. Nancy was a gracious host. Enjoyed our stay in Florida.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Delightful guests, including Beau! I loved that Rich said it reminded him of a rustic vacation home on Fire Island. Hope to see you again.
Helpful votes: 6/6