York Harbor house rental - Charming, Spacious Cottage with fenced in yard. 2 minute walk to the Ocean Beach
Charming, Spacious Cottage with fenced in yard. 2 minute walk to the Ocean Beach
 
  • Bedrooms8
  • Sleeps15
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

York Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
8 bedrooms, 5 full baths, sleeps 15 comfortably

Orchard Cottage is just a 2 minute walk to the beach. Enjoy this comfortable, spacious and gracious, renovated 1913 home. Plenty of space for family gatherings, entertaining, as well as nooks for privacy. Authentic old fashioned charm combines with modern convenience. Relax on porch with harbor view or enjoy the large yard and gardens from the hammock. Wine & Dine on terrace while children play. Walk from quiet street just 2 minutes to Harbor Beach to swim in pristine Ocean. Explore the cliff walk with spectacular Ocean views. Or walk along the York River, across the Wiggly Bridge, through trails in a nature preserve. Buy lobster on dock. Cook in fully equipped cook's kitchen or walk to local restaurants. Enjoy boating, kayaking, fishing, running, biking, golfing, & dining in York, Kittery, Cape Neddick, Ogunquit or Portsmouth, NH. Enjoy movies, live theatre, concerts, duck pin bowling, mini golf. Watch salt water taffy being made in York Beach. Go Whale Watching, Explore local Forts, View Lighthouses. Climb the rocks, Explore Tidal Pools, Body Surf & Boogie Board. Visit Historic York, Galleries, Isles of Shoals, Cliff Walk, Children's Museums, Portland. Shop at Kittery Outlets & Stonewall Kitchens. So much to do! Or just breathe the ocean air and relax with a good book! Please note that rates vary depending on the season. Book early for the summer!

I have an eye for quality, cleanliness, design and detail which is evident in our rental home.

Laura Barr purchased this house in 2009

We've enjoyed family vacations in this area for many years. The house has been in the family since 1949! Being so close to one of the most beautiful pristine beaches we've ever encountered is truly a marvelous treasure. The Maine air is crisp and the Atlantic ocean clear. Whatever the season, there's always so much to enjoy in the area. York Harbor has been a destination, particularly in the summer, since the late 1800's. It's easy to understand why.

A unique benefit our our home is being so close to the beach and yet being on a quiet side street away from the hustle and bustle. Also, being able to walk to the beach and not having to get in the car and park, is ideal. Spectacular natural beauty and restaurants, within walking distance, are wonderful, too.

13 Reviews of Property 254783 in York Harbor, Maine

Spacious Classic 'Cottage' Charm, Harbor View, by Beach & Ocean
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Spacious Classic 'Cottage' Charm, Harbor View, by Beach & Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254783
+1 2034813921
York Harbor Southern Coast of Maine
5

This is a true gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This turned out to be the perfect venue for a wonderful, memorable, nostalgic family reunion. The accommodations are exquisite. The owner has put considerable thought and work into retaining Orchard Cottage as an exceptional destination. The ambiance of a stately, 100 year old Maine house has been successfully retained in the upgrade to remarkably modern appliances, conveniences and amenities. Ample space for a large family, comfortable beds, eclectic showers, coastal décor and multiple niches for privacy make for an outstanding down-east experience. The home is accurately and honestly depicted on the web site; it is exactly as advertised. The owner and the caretaker are both easily available for questions and guidance. The amenities are remarkably complete for a vacation; all one need bring is a suitcase with a bathing suit and a change of clothing. The side yard is quite ample; our grandkids used it for soccer, lacrosse, Frisbee, croquet and bocce with ease. The beach is quite proximate and welcoming. Orchard Lane has a comfortable quietness and the York Harbor setting is inviting to the visitor while avoiding the honky-tonk, touristy distractions. Without doubt, this place invites multiple return visits.
Owner's Response: Thanks for your well written review and appreciation. We look forward to having you back.
business
Spacious Classic 'Cottage' Charm, Harbor View, by Beach & Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254783
+1 2034813921
York Harbor Southern Coast of Maine
5

My family of 13, ages 7 to 70+ loved every minute.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Beautiful, huge comfortable well-preserved house with every amenity thinkable. We 13 used every inch of the propertiy and went to the beach daily, hiked, even looked at a home for sale. Other family members even drove to see us and were just as enamored. The house has 1913 charm yet convenience of internet access, washer and 2 driers, up-to-date kitchen, large pantries, extra tables for family dinners, plenty of room to gather to make a jigsaw puzzle after dark; beach was close, clean, safe. It was a dream come true, and we wil be back. Judy Werner
Owner's Response: And we will welcome you back with open arms! We are so very happy your family enjoyed our home and area as much as we do!
business
Spacious Classic 'Cottage' Charm, Harbor View, by Beach & Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254783
+1 2034813921
York Harbor Southern Coast of Maine
Boston, MA
5

Great Maine Beach Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Overall, we were very very happy with this rental. I have done several homeaways and they have always seemed to better in person than what was pictured. This house is very clean, nicely decorated, fully equipped, and so spacious! It was perfect for our group of 12. We unfortunately didn't have great weather to be able to really utilize the lovely yard space, but it didn't really matter because we enjoyed cooking and relaxing in the house. The only complaint was that the electrical wiring seemed to be old or not hooked properly because breakers kept getting tripped forcing us to have to go into basement to figure it out and get stuff back on. It was things as simple as using iron in same bathroom as hair dryer.

Would definitely recommend this place to a large group that wanted to enjoy the area and still have a nice place to go back to.
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your Girls Weekend for the Bride-to-be. We are sorry the weather wasn't better for you and we'll check into why you may have tripped the breaker in one of the bathrooms. We will certainly rectify it for future guests. Thanks for letting us know.
business
Spacious Classic 'Cottage' Charm, Harbor View, by Beach & Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254783
+1 2034813921
York Harbor Southern Coast of Maine
5

great reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We stayed at this cottage while attending a wedding in York Harbor. It was perfect! The house is huge! Everyone had their own space but we were all were together. We had a wonderful reunion with friends and enjoyed the weekend in York. The location was perfect, close to the town and restaurants. The house was very clean and well maintained. Laura was very nice to work with. Fun times!
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed the house and appreciate its size and ideal location. Come again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious Classic 'Cottage' Charm, Harbor View, by Beach & Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254783
+1 2034813921
York Harbor Southern Coast of Maine
5

The Perfect Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
From the second we moved in we felt at home. It was the perfect setting for our family reunion of 9 adults and 5 children. The house was as it was described on the website although the pictures do not do the rooms justice! We spent a long time exploring all the nooks and crannies of the beautiful three story home.The kitchen was massive, perfect for cooking large family dinners. The dining room sat everyone comfortably (plenty of extra chairs are provided). Everything you could need was provided- kitchen utensils, appliances, extra blankets even beach toys, beach chairs and board games. There is a nice flat screen tv that we moved into the small sitting room for the children. We enjoyed sitting outside in the spacious backyard watching the butterflies and walking to the beach five minutes down the hill. The owner provided great customer service when there was an issue with the toilet which a plummer fixed immediately.
No visit is complete without a trip to Foster's (within walking distance), Brown's ice cream by the Nubble Lighthouse and the outlets.
Owner's Response: Sounds like you were a good fit for the house and enjoyed it as much as we do! It's always hard to portray everything on a website. You've really captured the house and area for us.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious Classic 'Cottage' Charm, Harbor View, by Beach & Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254783
+1 2034813921
York Harbor Southern Coast of Maine
5

Orchard Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our extended family had a great vacation in Orchard Cottage. it is a terrific house for a multigenerational holiday. It is a lovely older home with a lot of original detail, but has been updated with every modern amenity. Plenty of room, comfortable and charming furnishings, and a well appointed kitchen. Our grandchildren loved the fenced in yard, short walk to the beach and the great stock of books and games. We look forward to our return.
Owner's Response: We are so pleased that you enjoyed the house so much that you've already booked again for next year!
business
Spacious Classic 'Cottage' Charm, Harbor View, by Beach & Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254783
+1 2034813921
York Harbor Southern Coast of Maine
5

Excellent Family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The Orchard cottage was a perfect place for a family vacation. The house layout worked very well for us, plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms upstairs with generous common rooms downstairs for folks to gather to eat, talk, read, and play cards/games. The garden and patio provided additional space to play games and sunbathe. York Harbor is one of the tidiest villages I've ever seen, we appreciated the beach at the end of the road, the park above the beach where we watched the fireworks, and the York Harbor Inn where we had an excellent dinner. From the cottage's central location, family members set out everyday to swim, golf, sail, shop or sightsee. Overall, an excellent summer vacation.
Owner's Response: It's wonderful that your family took full advantage of the house and area. Hope you'll come again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious Classic 'Cottage' Charm, Harbor View, by Beach & Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254783
+1 2034813921
York Harbor Southern Coast of Maine
5

Perfect family gateway - amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This house is simply AMAZING!!! The location is perfect, the neighborhood is quiet, the beach is 2 mins walking distance…even the neighbors are super friendly. We enjoyed everyday the garden area, beach and walks in the area. Kitchen has everything you need.
The owner is super nice. She made sure everything was alright! 5 stars treatment. The fact that they accept dogs for us was a treat! We will go back soon I hope!
Thanks Laura for everything, this is a family vacation I will remember.
Owner's Response: We are so happy you were pleased with everything!
business
Spacious Classic 'Cottage' Charm, Harbor View, by Beach & Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254783
+1 2034813921
York Harbor Southern Coast of Maine
Swampscott MA
5

Nice weekend in beautiful area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The home was exactly as advertised and the photos gave us an excellent look at the rooms.We were a group of six women. Two of us were willing to share a bedroom and thus everyone else had their own room without using the 3rd floor The living room area was great and bright as was the porch so it was a great place for us to asssemble and work on our crafts. We didn't use the kitchen very much as there are so many good places to eat in the neighborhood. We recommend this to large groups and will certainly look at it for our next weekend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We're delighted our home met with your expectations and will welcome you back!
business
Spacious Classic 'Cottage' Charm, Harbor View, by Beach & Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254783
+1 2034813921
York Harbor Southern Coast of Maine
5

wonderful family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We were 3 families with young children and we absolutely loved our week in this beautiful home. It was on a quiet street, fenced in back yard which was perfect for the kids. The beach is very close (2 min walk max!) and allowed us to go back and forth very quickly. Not having to drive to the beach, look for parking is priceless! The house was huge, very clean and all bedrooms had ajoining bathrooms. What else to say other than I highly recommend this rental for anybody that wants to enjoy Maine, its beaches and nice scenary!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed having you and look forward to having you back!