Sydney CBD apartment rental - A real oasis in in the heart of Sydney
A real oasis in in the heart of Sydney
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Sydney CBD Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

This Australia Vacation Apartment is truly unique, large, luxurious, totally self contained and only minutes from shopping malls, National Parks and a direct rail service to the city.

If you are vacationing/holidaying or on Corporate Business and if your stay is for 5 days or 3 months it has been designed for the couple who would like to experience Sydney with accommodation that is located in a peaceful bushland environment. A real oasis in the heart of Sydney and what's more

Designed for 2 people only NO SHARING with other guests.

Just 30 min from the city on Sydneys' scenic and affluent North Shore this apartment is available for vacations/holidays or corporate bookings. It allows you the opportunity to escape the typical large city atmosphere, relax and yet still explore this wonderful Harbour City.

This is an opportunity to experience the real Sydney lifestyle, a real haven away from the city noise,traffic and stress. Although if you require the night clubs and party atmosphere of a large city - this apartment would not be suitable. If you wish you can Experience Sydney with a local, understand its culture, explore its hidden locations unknown to most tourists and be part of the Aussie way of life. This type of vacation package is not available with hotels and most accommodation packages.

The apartment has a full gourmet kitchen with the latest appliances and highest quality furniture. Set amongst the tree tops it affords seclusion, privacy and bushland views. There are bushwalks from your front door and the opportunity if you wish to share breakfast on the outside deck with an array of native parrots that visit each morning.

Location: Just 12 miles from the city in a quiet bushland upmarket neighborhood. There are various ways to travel to the city, by car 30/35 min. A relaxing scenic journey by train and ferry if you are not in a hurry or by train alone.

There is a rail station with a direct service to the city within a 5 min walk of the apartment. It is safe, frequent and very reliable.

Also within minutes is a large shopping mall, a wildlife sanctuary where you can see and touch Koalas and Kangaroos and access to the KuringGai Chase National Park which is Sydney's premier park. With natural bushwalks, hidden waterways, aboriginal rock carvings and a cultural centre, its an ideal opportunity to view Sydney in a manner that has changed little in the past 200 years.\

***HOME AWAY SPECIAL OFFER*** A personal meet and greet, airport transfers either way and a 2 to 3 hour introductory tour of Sydney` major attractions. Tariff $300 US p/couple.

IF ITS YOUR INTENTION TO ALSO EXPLORE CAIRNS & THE GREAT BARRIER REEF WE ARE VERY FAMILAR WITH THIS LOCATION AND CAN OFFER A LOT OF LOCAL ADVICE

Personal Tours: An added advantage of staying at our Sydney Holiday Apartment is the availability of personal tours. Your hosts have a SUV (4WD) and Boat and if required tours are available on a daily basis to Sydney's premier locations and to other locations that are unknown and rarely visited even by Sydney residents.

Sydney has 100s of miles of waterways many of which are totally inaccessible without the use of a boat. One of which is the Hawkesbury River almost 100 miles of waterway that almost circles Sydney. Here you can explore hidden secluded beaches, bays and inlets at the mouth of this river together with its great bird and wildlife and the rugged unchanged landscape which forms part of the National Park.

*** Recently 2 guests Donna and Mike from Bend Oregon, USA undertook the abovementioned boat tour and we have included a few pictures that they took on that day. A full compilation of their day can be found on our 'Sydney Holiday Tours' web site.

More Details
Hide Details

We have lived in this Sydney North Shore location since 1975 and added the vacation apartment nearby in 2006. It really is a wonderful central location near enough to the city

(just 12 miles) and far enough away to enjoy the bushland with its array of native birds and animals.

Our guests most frequent comment is 'How great it was to experience the real Sydney'

Jan and Ron Roberts purchased this apartment in 1975

47 Reviews of Property 254616 in Sydney CBD, Australia

Accommodation Sydney Australia. Experience the Real Australia
average rating of 4.962963 based on 47 reviews
business
Accommodation Sydney Australia. Experience the Real Australia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254616
+61 2 94872795
Sydney CBD Sydney City
Madison Heights, Virginia
5

Wow what a location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Australia. After our cruise we stayed 5 nights in this apartment in Sydney. It is exactly as pictured and the owners are extremely helpful and hospitable.

Its as pictured, complete with the birds at breakfast and the possum at night. All furnishings are of high quality and are either new or refurbished antiques.. I especially enjoyed having a washer in the apartment, as I cannot tolerate dirty laundry. The owners have pretty much thought of everything and all you will need is food.

The owners do tours of Sydney and even have a boat, however because of the short stay we did our own thing by taking the train each day into the city which is an easy walk from the apartment.. The apartment is in Normanhurst an upper-class suburb in Sydneys north with lots of vegation and flowers and the ride into the city is a little over 30min. You arrive at one othe Central stations with connections everywhere. We bought tickets for unlimited use of the trains, ferries and buses which were very reasinable.

All in all, our stay in the apartment was one of the high points of our trip, as we were able to meet real Australians and actually live in the real Australia.

As far as money is concerned, we paid a deposit by credit card and the remainder, also by credit card when we left the apartment.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: As owners, it is of paramount importance for us to present the property to the highest degree of comfort and cleanliness, ensuring our guests enjoy their stay.

It would appear that the majority of our past guests have enjoyed being able to blend into the the Australian way of life, to mix with locals, make friends with the native animals and birds and to understand and explore the real Sydney.
Helpful votes: 33/35
business
Accommodation Sydney Australia. Experience the Real Australia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254616
+61 2 94872795
Sydney CBD Sydney City
5

A Wonderful Experience and warm, friendly host owners !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We arrived in Sydney by cruise ship and stayed in town for 3 days. We pre-booked the cottage/"tree house" for 5 days. Wish that we could have booked for a couple of weeks !
The owner, Ron, picked us up at our hotel. He gave us a tour of Sydney, proceeded to pick up some groceries and drove to the apartment. What a pleasant surprise ! We drove down a rural street, descended down a driveway into the edge of the forest !
The apartment is really a cottage with a nice deck outside the kitchen. The interior was warm and inviting, clean, and well appointed. Ron's wife Jan has done a great job making it a home away from home. The adventure started the next day. Ron and Jan had left a container with some cereal type food in it with instructions on how to prepare it for the "Lorikeets", which are small, very colorful, parrot like birds. I prepared some food as directed and placed it in a dish. Out on the deck was a tree that that had a holder for the dish attached to it. Within in a minute 2 birds arrived, perched themselves on the edge of the dish and started eating. During our stay, I took a picture of my wife Sue with 5 birds perched on her outstretched arm as she fed them from a spoon !
The best part of the whole experience were the day trips. We hired Ron as our guide and every day he picked us up at 10 A.M. and with Jan, took us to places that tourists normally wouldn't see. We enjoyed their company as much as the places we were taken.
What wonderful hosts ! We were taken to a private local zoo where we got to pet a Koala Bear and feed Kangaroos and watched a demonstration on Sheep Shearing and how to throw a boomerang ! The area around the cottage was spectacular. Ron and Jan made the whole experience very special and a great use of our time.
Traveling to Sydney by train was not necessary for us during our stay since we were returning to Sydney to stay in town for 7 days before our return to the United States.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments, In relation to the day trips it really is an opportunity to view and explore locations in and around Sydney that are inaccessible to travelers and in some case unknown by even Sydney residents.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Accommodation Sydney Australia. Experience the Real Australia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254616
+61 2 94872795
Sydney CBD Sydney City
UK
5

A Perfect Sydney Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We rented the apartment to celebrate Xmas and New Years at the tail end of a 3 month trip in Australia. The apartment was furnished to an extremely high standard, with plenty of storage space, homely trinkets, they even put a small Christmas tree up for us. It was extremely clean and had every comfort we needed, high spec fridge /cooker, a lovely bright bedroom, good shower and comfortable furniture. We relaxed and felt at home instantly. There were plenty of towels and Jan was really efficient with housekeeping. There was even a BBQ on the balcony with citronella candles and insect sprays.

The location, Normanhurst was a 45min journey to Central Sydney. The trains were punctual and regular and on New Years Eve all worked out well, although sometimes it was a bit of a drag after a long day's sightseeing. The village was peaceful, the stars were dazzling at night and the morning birdsong was refreshing. The town of Hornsby was 1 stop away on the train and had a Westfield, cinema and restaurants if you wanted a local experience.

Feeding the Lorikeets who gathered on our balcony every morning became a daily highlight, as was the peacock who we watched strutting around the pool area. The place was so relaxing. Ron and Jan lived next door, we enjoyed chatting with them at the pool and also enjoyed our privacy. They did everything to make us feel welcome and looked after, taking the time to offer advice and printing out train times / maps if needed. They also seemed genuinely keen to ensure that we experienced the best of Sydney.

The pool was so fabulous and sunbathing / kitchen / bbq area gave us the perfect space to enjoy it. We spent boxing day lounging by the poolside with some drinks whilst a roast dinner was cooking in the oven and felt totally spoiled. Of course, xmas and NYE in Sydney was the best we'd ever experienced and our stay at this place enhanced it even more. Ron and Jan are a great couple who put their personalities and homely values into this holiday let that it we found it hard to say goodbye.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Accommodation Sydney Australia. Experience the Real Australia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254616
+61 2 94872795
Sydney CBD Sydney City
Coquitlam, B.C., Canada
5

Excellent Accommodations - Wonderful Hosts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Australia/New Zealand was one of my bucket list vacations. To start it off, my husband and I decided to stay in Sydney for a week before starting on a NZ cruise. After reading the reviews on Ron & Jan's tree house vacation rental, we decided to stay there for our Sydney week. We were not disappointed. It was a great start to one of our best vacations ever. Pictures and write ups were right on. My husband and I agree with all the posted positive reviews.
As my husband had injured his back before we left, we were not as mobile as we originally planned. Ron and Jan were so kind and helpful in accommodating his limited mobility. We so appreciated the pick up (which included the stop at the local supermarket) and drop off service.
We also took advantage of the fact that they provide tours and thoroughly enjoyed the day we booked with them. Both Jan and Ron are very knowledgeable and we really enjoyed getting the background and history of Australia. It was so fun getting a feel for life in Sydney, Australia.
We know that we will look to book the tree house apartment if we ever get to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Sylvia!

Many thanks for your comments.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Accommodation Sydney Australia. Experience the Real Australia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254616
+61 2 94872795
Sydney CBD Sydney City
4

Better than a home away from home!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Incredibly well equipped, well maintained and well presented apartment with wonderful bush views from the balcony and lots of birdlife. The hosts go that extra mile for a truly wonderful stay. The train station is an easy walk and the 40 minute train trip to the centre of Sydney runs regularly. In the other direction the Kuring Gai national park and Hawksebury River are lovely places for day trips only 3-5 train stops away. However this property is so lovely it's nice just to stay and relax 'at home' too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Lynley, your comments are much appreciated..
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Accommodation Sydney Australia. Experience the Real Australia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254616
+61 2 94872795
Sydney CBD Sydney City
5

Fantastic! Absolutely Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I am numb because of a 10 hour flight from Sydney to Honolulu and another 7 hour flight from Honolulu to Denver. It is midnight here and I can’t sleep, so what better time to write a review?
The owner’s description is absolutely complete and true. The other reviewers before me have written everything that I wanted to write. This luxury apartment far exceeded our expectations even after viewing the photos and description online. I am amazed at the fact that Ron and Jan can continue to be so accommodating and gracious to new strangers that come to rent their “tree house” week after week. This host couple exhibits the definition of “hospitality PLUS”. Who else would get up before the sun, drive an hour to the Overseas Passenger Terminal at Circular Quay to meet and greet us as my husband and I disembarked from a cruise ship at 7AM? What other landlord would drive us around the Sydney sites during rush hour traffic to point out all the attractions and landmarks? Or take us to a bank to exchange US dollars, and then to a supermarket and help us shop the strange aisles for groceries before driving to our spectacular accommodations? Absolutely everything was provided in the unit except food for our stay. The apartment was sparkling when we arrived. During our stay, Ron and Jan went well beyond the normal role of landlord. They were fantastic hosts and so enjoyable as well as very informative and patient with all our questions. They gave us detailed verbal and written instructions for getting around the city on trains and ferries.
God has created such a wondrous varied world in Australia which is so different from Colorado. From my backyard patio here, I can only view sparrows, pigeons, finches, and squirrels. You cannot imagine my joy and excitement when viewing and interacting with the rainbow lorikeets that greeted us daily on the balcony, or taking a zillion photos of the bright red great parrot, the peacocks, the cockatoos, or the water dragons. Our visit was in late October so the area was coming alive with gorgeous spring blossoms and flowers. The weather was warm and perfect with gentle breezes blowing in through the open kitchen French doors from the balcony compared to the cold snowy day when we left home. The flora and fauna of the “bush” is right there surrounding the apartment. Where else can you go to a nearby park to pet the koalas and kangaroos or relax with a swim in your own pool? Tip: prices are more expensive here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Belle and Chuck

Thank you for your kind words, it really is important to us to ensure our guests have a great vacation and to return home and say "Australia's great" just a bit expensive`
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Accommodation Sydney Australia. Experience the Real Australia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254616
+61 2 94872795
Sydney CBD Sydney City
Beds, UK
5

Home from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The property was exactly as described and was spotlessly clean. The owners (Ron &Jan) are incredible hosts - nothing is too much trouble and they are a mine of information but without being intrusive. The wildlife on the decking is fantastic and a real treat .....

I would recommend to anyone and intend to go back myself...
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Andy & Natalie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Accommodation Sydney Australia. Experience the Real Australia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254616
+61 2 94872795
Sydney CBD Sydney City
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A tree house with everthing

  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
It was true. This tree house has everything in a park with a pool and only 5 min from the train. From here you can easllly access the whole city. Thank you for a wonderful introduction to Sydney - keep doing what your doing, it was great. Come for a cruise with us on the StLawrence in May or September
business
Accommodation Sydney Australia. Experience the Real Australia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254616
+61 2 94872795
Sydney CBD Sydney City
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Home away from home

  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Here we are all the way from Alberta, Canada and what a perfdect place to begin our adventure on your beautiful continent. We have rented a number of apartments on VRBO but this exceeds any that we have stayed in before.

There is nothing that we wanted for. Your tree house is perfectly outfitted and we wish that we could stay longer. Jan & Ron you are amazing hosts, so welcoming, a wealth of information and I feel like that we have known you forever.

If you plan a trip to to Alberta to visit our beautiful Rockie Mountains, please look us up. Thank you for a wonderful stay Bev and Bob
business
Accommodation Sydney Australia. Experience the Real Australia
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254616
+61 2 94872795
Sydney CBD Sydney City
5

It was great

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We were here for a week and what a great place to stay.Everything is as described.Very clean,lots of room for 2,modern appliances.Sit out on the deck and enjoy the sounds of the birds.The view of the conservation area is great.The birds do come for a feeding which Ron & Jan supply the food for you to feed.
You really feel like you are outside the city,quiet at night and even through out the day.The train is only a few minutes walk and what a great deal $60.00 for a weeks pass on the trains,bus,ferries.
Ron and Jan are great hosts.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Dan!

We are pleased that you both enjoyed your stay. We really try to offer something that is quite unique and a real insight to Sydney
Helpful votes: 1/1