Placencia condo rental - This is Sunset Pointe. We are the FAR lower right unit with a Caribbean view!
This is Sunset Pointe. We are the FAR lower right unit with a Caribbean view!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Placencia Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Belize, Central America: Oceanfront Villa/Condo:

We invite you to enjoy our new (Sept 2007) Caribbean water front villa in Placencia, Belize, Central America. This fully furnished, 2-bedroom 2 bath, one story villa sleeps 6 comfortably. All of the furniture is hand-made by local craftsman: mahogony bedroom furniture & wicker weaved right in front of our eyes! You will find everything you need for an extended weekend or weekly stay.

Several major airlines fly directly into Belize City (BZE). From BZE, you take a 35 minute flight at 1,500 feet right into our village of Placencia. Once in Placencia, you take a $8 cab ride, 5 minutes to our villa. In the village, you can walk to the many restaurants, Internet cafes, grocery store & market. You can rent a bike for the week or, you can hire a guide for the day. I have found that renting a car is a waste of money: They are often over priced, the 3.5 hour drive from Belize City to Placencia is half dirt road with poor signage, Belize rental cars are not up to US standards AND once you get to Placencia, you won't need it anyway.

In addition, we have a connection with the best fishing guide in the village, Alfred Williams, whose boat just won the 2010 LobsterFest! Alfred is a licensed Charter Boat Captain -- with his own boat, of course. Just tell Alfred what you want for dinner and he'll do his best to make sure that it's on the outdoor grill that night. He will even hand-catch lobster, if in season! For a day trip, you may consider a 18 mile boat ride to the private island of Ranguana. Alfred often drops the women & children on Ranguana and then take the guys out sport fishing for the day.

If you enjoy deep sea fishing, fly fishing for bonefish, spearfishing, snorkeling, diving or just relaxing on one of the many near-by, secluded islands, You/re going to LOVE Belize!

Keywords: Waterfront condo

More Details
Hide Details

This is my son, Will. He is 10 years old and he LOVES Placencia! He spends most of his time out of doors on the property looking for star fish, fiddler crabs, geckos & anything else that intrigues him! If he's not 'scouting', he's at the pool his local buddy, Ajay. Placencia is a relaxing place for ALL ages!

The Owner purchased this condo in 2007

Placncia ia a village of about 500 residents, and is unlike a tourist city in Mexico. There are no US chain restaurants, and the people are friendly. In addition, the worlds narrowest street is in Placencia....nicknamed 'the Sidewalk.' In short, it is a quaint, 2nd world, friendly village, at the end of a 23 mile dirt road, with the Caribbean on 3 sides. Truly a wonderful place. We drink the water piped in from the Maya Mountains, and eat the fish, conch, and lobster we catch within a few miles of the dock. The produce, and perishables are grown in the Cayo District, most by Mennonite farmers. Most homes, including ours, are furnished with mahogany and wicker, manufactured in Belize by hand. There is much to do, or nothing to do, your choice...

You can hire a fishing guide to snorkel, dive or fish. A tour can be arranged for pick-up in the village (hike to waterfall, cave tubing, zip lining, Mayan Ruin tours, etc) In other words: No need to rent a car

13 Reviews of Property 254475 in Placencia, Belize

Waterfront Condo in Belize (Placencia)
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Waterfront Condo in Belize (Placencia)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254475vbi
(727) 776-9319
Placencia Belize
Dallas, TX
5

Honeymoon in Belize

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My (now) wife and I just back from our honeymoon in Placencia and we're already hoping to get back as quickly as we can! Placencia is definitely off the beaten path and it will take a little extra traveling to get there, but it's well worth it. The people are wonderful, the food excellent and you have the flexibility to either take it easy or go on an adventure with a tour agency (we went up to the ATM cave with Pirate's Point Adventure Tours and Shane was excellent) or book through Francisco, who works at the condo and can help arrange most tours if you ask him. If you go fishing and decide to keep your catch, a place called The Shak has a "you hook it, we cook it" option - unfortunately we found out about that too late, so weren't able to take advantage of it. The condo itself was excellent. It's a bit large for only two people, but that didn't detract from our stay. Having the pool on site was also a big plus. The condo is at the very end of the peninsula, which makes it an ideal location if you want a quiet place to stay. You do have the option to rent a bike or golf cart to get to and from the main part of the village; we walked most of the time and didn't have any issues. (If you're looking got do some inland adventures, most tour agencies can arrange transportation. Yes, you will pay for it, but it is worth it.) It's maybe a 5-10 minute walk and, even during the hottest part of the day, it wasn't unbearable. We are very happy that we stayed here and would recommend this location to anyone else looking to visit Placencia.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car
business
Waterfront Condo in Belize (Placencia)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254475vbi
(727) 776-9319
Placencia Belize
New Hampshire
5

Better late than never

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband, teen aged son and I old stayed for a week last year. We had a great time. The pictures are accurate and the place was lovely and clean. Although we booked the place, in part because of the lovely kitchen, we did not use it. The restaurants were so reasonable and the food was terrific. Our favorites were Omars and De Thatch … delicious. Lunch at the Maya Beach Hotel was outstanding. We rented a golf cart one day from Captain Jack, but mostly walked around. Our American dollars were welcome at a $2:$1 ratio and no one hassled us over the exchange rate. We felt absolutely safe walking around the village at all hours of the day and night. We took the Monkey River tour and went snorkeling with Splash Ltd. We would do all of that again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
business
Waterfront Condo in Belize (Placencia)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254475vbi
(727) 776-9319
Placencia Belize
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Paradise!

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a wonderful time in Belize. The condo was perfect for us. I loved the views and it was easy access into town. The mattress in the 2nd bedroom has a large indentation in the middle of it, but other than that, everything else was great.


We booked several tours with Alfred, including the Monkey River, Fishing, Snorkeling, and Mayan Ruins. He also suggested a visit to a Banana Plantation and local waterfall which was great.


Franciso was very helpful and set me up on the BBQ to cook some of our catch. My wife brought lots of gifts and candy for the local kids. We had dinner out at Rumfish, Secret Garden, Paradise Resort and Wendy’s and liked them all.

It rained the first few days but seemed to stop every time we went out on an excursion.


What a great place you have and I would recommend it to anyone.
business
Waterfront Condo in Belize (Placencia)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254475vbi
(727) 776-9319
Placencia Belize
-
5

Perfect Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Sunset Point is one of the best locations in Placencia. Believe it or not - the photos don't do it justice -it is even more beautiful in person. The condo is very clean and very well stocked. The resort pool is cool and refreshing and the boat dock the best place for evening fishing! It is an easy walk into town while still having the privacy and quiet we love in a vacation spot. Unlike most guests, we rented a car in Belize City and drove to Placencia because we knew we were going to do several excursions on the mainland. The trip took a little over 3 hours and it was fun to see the countryside. The Hummingbird Highway (1 1/2 hours of the trip) was beautiful but you have to keep an eye out for speed bumps and pedestrian crossings. There were numerous gas stations (all taking credit cards or US dollars) and lots of dining options. We wanted to stop at the Belize Zoo on the way back but ran out of time. We heard the Zoo is worth seeing - all rescue animals. We didn't need the car in Placencia (we walked everywhere) but it was convenient for our larger family to drive to Bocawina Zip Line and Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve instead of booking a tour. The zip line was very well done - multiple cables and hooks so very safe. The longest run is 1/2 mile through the tree tops which everyone enjoyed. There is a great restaurant on site. Cockscomb was also wonderful - we saw coral snakes, tarantulas, giant spiders (ok only the boys thought that was great) and lots of beautiful flowers. We tubed down the river and then hiked to a waterfall. It was a fun and exhausting day. Alfred took us on the Monkey River Tour and on a fishing/lobster diving/snorkling trip. Alfred is extremely knowledgeable and very fun to spend the day with - we learned so much about Belize from Alfred - definitely book a trip with him if you get the chance. We did the reef dive with Avadon which we highly recommend. For dining we loved the Grill and Go (best local variety and shakes), Maya Beach Bistro (best views and gourmet food), the roadside toco shack (best value), Wendy's, and Brenda's BBQ chicken at the main boat dock (order for the next day). We are already planning our return trip next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Waterfront Condo in Belize (Placencia)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254475vbi
(727) 776-9319
Placencia Belize
San Antonio, TX
5

Relaxation!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Our Belize paradise experience was extremely relaxing. We did a fishing trip, along with snorkeling the reef including a fresh lobster tail lunch, with Alfred. We also did Monkey River with Alfred, and it was very educational due to his wealth of jungle knowledge, and the boat ride through the mangroves is most exhilarating!! His aunt even provided us with a nice lunch. We would definitely recommend Alfred for any tours you want to do. Our favorite restaurant was The Secret Garden, but we also enjoyed Rumfish, Barefoot Bar, Wendy's, Cozy Corner, DeTach, Paradise Resort, Yoli's, and the best gelato ever at Tutti Fruitti. We walked everywhere - so that we could eat at all these places!!! This is a wonderful location for just pure relaxing. The options for activities and/or non-activities are diverse and plentiful. A return visit will be in our future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront Condo in Belize (Placencia)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254475vbi
(727) 776-9319
Placencia Belize
United States
5

Sunset Point, Placencia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Four of us traveled from Florida. We went to the Northern and Central parts of the country, but found Placencia to be our favorite. Upon our arrival at Sunset Point, we headed to the widows peak with cocktails to watch the beautiful sunset. We recorded our memories with many pictures of the water views, mangroves and enjoyed every morning on the porch with hot coffee and fruit. Your alarm clock at 6:30 A.M., was the sound of many birds in the surrounding trees. Sitting on the dock in the early morning and watching the sailboats lazily cruising to their next destination was sooo soothing and good for the sole. We booked the whale shark trip, snorkeled, kayaked and had some really fabulous meals at Rumfish, Wendy's(not the hamburger joint) and Robert's Grove. The condo and furnishings were perfect, very comfortable and very secure. We went to Monkey River with Jason(Alfred's son) and had a thrill seeking ride through the mangroves. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Sunset Point and I would recommend it for all ages. We look forward to repeating our experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Jerry:

SO glad that you all enjoyed your stay in Placencia! Next time, you need to stay a little longer. Perhaps, a life-time, as the unit IS for sale (hint, hint : )

Thank you again for s GREAT review!

~Helen Keys
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront Condo in Belize (Placencia)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254475vbi
(727) 776-9319
Placencia Belize
Minneapolis, MN
5

Great place to cool your jets

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Great location in Placencia Village. If you want to stay on property the amenities are there (pool cabancas etc). If you want to experience the village it is a short distance and walkable. We dove with Avadan Divers (++++) and also fished with Alfred in his launch (++++) We zip lined and repelled at Bocowina Eco Adventures which was about an hour drive from the condo. Last day we did some Mayan ruins and tubed (-) and found it interesting but a bit far and not nearly as nice as what we had done to date. Rumfish and Barefoot Bar were our two favorite eats and the pizza in the village was decent and a nice break. We packed a ton of snacks in a suitcase and highly reccommend doing this. The best grocery is the one just past the village proper on the left as you head towards the airport. If you want ice in town get it early as it gets snapped up at most stores before noon. The condo had towels, hair dryer, OK wifi access, and decent AC we used at night to cool off before bed. We never turned on a tv other than to watch some dive training but there is cable access. Cooking in was nice and I grilled fish one night on the community grill by the pool. Francisco the caretaker is the best source for all info and networking on tours and adventures. Water is safe to drink though we used bottled water on most excursions. Buy lots of local fruit as it is like candy when you are on the water.

We took Tropic Air from BZE to Placencia. If you are SWA have a dependant letter and it is free SA and 50% off PS. We paid on the way down and SA'd back. AA comes from DFW and MIA, US comes from CLT, and UA comes from HOU. Loads are historically about 80% on most arrivals. Maya Air also goes with no discount from BZE to Placencia and it is about $100 one way if you get bumped. Flights to and from Placencia are day VFR only so plan ahead.

I never changed out my Sim on my cell and ran up a bill (needed to for side business) but to date you can pick up a local sim and save on cell charges (this is changing soon). Belize is fixed at 2:1 for USD and you can pay in USD and you get back in BZE. Everyone speaks english which also eases the burden. Natives speak Spanish and Creole also varyingly.

We never had a moments thought about security or crime. Native people are friendly to Americans. Service is outstanding though sometimes it can be a bit slow (tropical malaise).

Best vacation for a family that is into adventures
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Paul:

WOW!! That right THERE is a plethora of information much needed for those considering my property!! Thank you SO much for such a fantastic, well written review!!

I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay--the last family trip before he's off to college!! I must admit, when you made mention of that, I felt a little pressure---as it's NOT Cancun!! : )

Thank you Paul Jackson and I hope you will return soon. I will forward this to Francisco as he's my eyes and ears as I'm not there.

~Helen Keys~
MCO FA #16702
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront Condo in Belize (Placencia)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254475vbi
(727) 776-9319
Placencia Belize
Green Cove Springs, Florida
5

Amazing Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
It is hard to believe that places like this still exist in the world. I spent a short family vacation at this property, and loved every minute of it. The village itself is amazing, you can walk anywhere. The condo is perfect, with all modern conveniences. Beaches, fishing, and tours of the rain forest are highly recommended (just bring lots of DEET bug spray for the Monkey River tour!) Lots of restaurants within walking distance. My best description of the village is placid. Very quiet and relaxed. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Waterfront Condo in Belize (Placencia)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254475vbi
(727) 776-9319
Placencia Belize
Montclair NJ
5

Belize Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We can't thank you enough for your lovely condo. We have had such a wonderful time here. Everything has been perfect. Your condo is so comfortable--great furnishings, beds, outdoor seating- we have enjoyed it all. Alfred has been a special guide. We've probably been out with him 8 or 9 times. I've lost count. He is so delightful and kind and he has shown us the best of Belize. Francisco has also been a tremendous help and we love his kids and the kids across the canal.

We certainly plan to return so I will keep an eye on your calendar.

Thanks again for letting us enjoy this paradise.

Mary and Mike
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Waterfront Condo in Belize (Placencia)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254475vbi
(727) 776-9319
Placencia Belize
Lewis Center, Ohio Midwest USA
5

The Perfect Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Dear Helen, Wow, where do we begin. First and fore most, THANKS for sharing your lovely home in Belize with us! We can surely see why you love the country, the culture, the natives and the lifestyle. We do too! Your home was perfect and you gave us many good pointers. Francisco was marvelous and from the very first evening welcomed us made us feel at home. He toured us around Placencia, took us the the store (for Belikin and cashew wine!) and offered us the use of his car for later use (which we took him up on - for more of the above mentioned.) We met Alfred the next morning and planned three excursions. He was amazing! Thanks for recommending that we make contact before we got there - as many in the condo were waiting in line. One day we went with him to the Monkey River spotting monkeys, a boa constrictor, crocodiles, iguana, turtle, birds, manatee, and more that I am probably not remembering just now. We stopped to eat at Monkey River Town, and were very humbled as we toured and met the gracious people. Another day we began our day in Independence for breakfast before heading off by car to the a banana farm, Mayan Ruins and on to Blue Creek where we swam in the limestone cave. For our last excursion, we went snorkeling - out to conch island and caught fish on the way back - snapper, tuna, and more .... when we got back, Alfred filleted it for us and we fried it for dinner - yum! We enjoyed walking into the village ( you were right again, no need for a golf cart) and enjoyed many good meals at Wendy's, Rumfish, Paradise Resort, Cozy Corner....all very good. The pool was heavenly, weather lovely and the people so warm and friendly. We are back home now, sun burned and feeling truly blessed... for all we experienced and also for all that we have ... We hope to return someday....now that the secret is out! Thanks ever so much! Melissa and family
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5