Lake Nantahala house rental - Beautiful property on the lake with private dock
Beautiful property on the lake with private dock
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Lake Nantahala House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

On the shores of pristine Lake Nantahala and surrounded by the beauty of the great Smoky Mountains, this luxury home offers a unique vacation experience through amazing architectural design, generous common space and loads of amenities. Relax and enjoy the tranquility of this mountain escape, bring your boat and experience the beauty of crystal clear Nantahala Lake, or adventure the Appalachian trails or Nantahala Outdoor Center, just minutes away and quoted as 'One the Best Outfitters on Earth' by National Geographic Adventure magazine.

Rainy day? No worries! Have fun with a game of pool, darts, ping-pong or Wii or curl up with a favorite movie in the large media area. Make this property your 'mountain home away from home'!

Keywords: House

Tim and Brenda Messick served as contractor and built their dream home in 2009 after searching multiple states for the perfect mountain lake accessible to Atlanta where they reside. They have two daughters and a beloved dog, Ralph, who love to escape to the mountains as often as they can.

After spending the day with a local realtor, the Messicks knew that they wanted to purchase property on Lake Nantahala as no other lake compared in beauty and tranquility. For the next several years, they worked toward the goal of building a home where they could make lasting memories and spend quality family time with their children and friends.

12 Reviews of Property 254447 in Lake Nantahala, North Carolina

Beautiful Lakefront Home, Amazing Architecture and Space
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 12 reviews
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home, Amazing Architecture and Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254447vbi
(404) 328-6161
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Jacksonville, FL
5

Perfect getaway for extended weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This was our second time visiting the NC mountains and this time we wanted a home that sat directly on the water. After narrowing down from our vrbo choices, we selected this property on Lake Nantahala - and we were not disappointed! We chose mid October to visit to catch a glimpse of the colorful foliage. Although it was not peak time, the drive through the mountains was absolutely peaceful and beautiful and there was plenty of color to see. The home was amazing. The architecture, interior design and decoration are all A++. Everything we needed was provided. And the cleanliness was second to none. We wanted something secluded to be able to get away and be with nature and this home was perfect. At the same time, there were a few nearby neighbors which also made it feel safe. We enjoyed the outdoor grill, cooked smores on the firepit, spent lots of time fishing on the dock and kayaks, toured the lake and took in all the magnificent views from the pontoon boat. We also went on a couple short hiking trips at the nearby tower and trails. Definitely would rent this home again and highly recommend to anyone looking. Thank you again for opening your home to us!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home, Amazing Architecture and Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254447vbi
(404) 328-6161
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Woodbridge, VA
5

Lake Nantahala Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was, by far, one of the best vacations we have ever had! We went with our three kids (14,12,9) and another family of five and we loved every minute of the vacation--we didn't want it to end. The house was perfect and Tim and Brenda were very helpful. We can't wait to go again next year!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home, Amazing Architecture and Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254447vbi
(404) 328-6161
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Orlando, Florida
1

Vacation week not available as owners stated

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Vacation planned for June 23-30 and owners stated dates were available (as shown on VRBO) and they were going to send out contract next day. 2 days passed by, and I received an email from owner stating dates were NOT available and owner stated: "I had been in touch with another family who expressed interest, I sent all the info and followed up but didn’t hear back for a few weeks, and I just received their agreement and full payment." Owner also stated they send out multiple contracts, because not all families follow up. Owners also mentioned they were going to take down their dart board (after hearing I had teenagers) and were very adamant about not "rough-housing" in their home. I totally understand this, but the owner was very paranoid. Well, a good thing came out of this, because we found a gorgeous vacation home which had a last-minute cancellation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home, Amazing Architecture and Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254447vbi
(404) 328-6161
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Columbia, SC
5

Absolute Perfection!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Absolute perfection!

We have rented many vacation homes and this is by far the best. Clean, open and spacious. Our son and his family just spent the middle week of October and the views of the lake as well as the fall colors were gorgeous. The vacation was very relaxing and our families had plenty of room to be together but also had privacy and space with the different levels. A very clean and beautifully decorated home that has a wonderful personal feel. The decks are the perfect place for morning coffee and reading a good book. We had several lively games of ping pong and pool and I rarely saw the TVs turned on – too many fun things to do instead. The perfect place for quiet and peaceful walks. Brenda and Tim go the extra mile to make sure their guests are comfortable, are always available for questions, and they provide a vacation rental that is so much better than we could have imagined.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home, Amazing Architecture and Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254447vbi
(404) 328-6161
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
5

Perfect Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband and our four children (ages 8-16) stayed here for a week at the beginning of August. The home is absolutely gorgeous. It was so clean and the indoor air quality was great! I say this because we have been to several homes or condos where the air is not and it makes for an unpleasant vacation. We all enjoyed hanging out in the game room playing ping pong, pool and watching television together in the evenings. The house is big but still warm and cozy. Both balconies are awesome for enjoying the tranquility and beauty of the area. It is on a perfect location on beautiful Lake Nantahala...a little secluded but not too much so and very peaceful. Of course we enjoyed all the things the lake had to offer...swimming, fishing, kayaking and just enjoying the views. We liked being able to take a boat to the marina to eat lunch or dinner. I really cannot think of anything negative to say about this home. We have stayed quite a few places across the country and this home was by far the best. The owners were perfect to work with...commmunicated well and made us feel very welcome in their home. We look so forward to coming back to spend another vacation here.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home, Amazing Architecture and Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254447vbi
(404) 328-6161
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Evans, GA
5

Thanksgiving Week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
What an absolutely beautiful place to have a vacation! We could not have ask for more! The house had everything we needed & more. Brenda & Tim were wonderful to work with. Driving directions from all locations were perfect! Our grandchildren loved playing ping pong, (the 6 yr. Old got very good), pool & kayaking! Everthing we needed for all of these things was right there. We had a bit of withdrawl without WiFi from some of the Family, but personally I believe that is an asset. Everyones face was visible, not the top of heads! If you are looking for a beautiful home, peaceful setting & plentyarea to explore, this place is for you. Thank you for a wonderful week in the mountains.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home, Amazing Architecture and Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254447vbi
(404) 328-6161
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Decatur, GA
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My family and I spent a few days at this house. We had the most relaxing and enjoyable time there. We enjoyed the kayaks and swimming in the lake. The house is beautifully decorated, comfortable and very spacious. The lake and the surroundings were picture perfect. I highly recommend this home to anyone who wants to get away and relax!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home, Amazing Architecture and Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254447vbi
(404) 328-6161
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Belton, SC
5

Awesome Lakefront Home provided a relaxing summer vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
It is rare to find such a beautiful home with so much room, bedrooms and baths and with activities like pool, ping pong and a entertainment center for all to enjoy. Or to sit on the top deck overlooking the lake at night and star gazing or just listening to the sounds of the forest and lake. Quite peaceful. Designer decorated with over the top furnishings provided the ultimate comfort to enjoy time in the mountains on the lake and to enjoy time with your family and friends. The dock on the lake is right outside the door and down the steps. The water was the right temp for swimming and kayaking was just the best (especially paddling out to an island with a rope swing)! If you need to leave for the day there is lots to do like going river rafting on the Nantahala River, visiting John C. Campbell Folk School in Brasstown and have lunch in Murphy. But it is hard to leave the peace and quiet of such a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the lake. Tim and Brenda Messick were wonderful hosts.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home, Amazing Architecture and Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254447vbi
(404) 328-6161
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Roswell,GA
5

The very best of Lake Nantahala

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Our family was delighted with this lovely home. Every aspect,including the soaring architecture, inspiring views and tranquil setting, was enjoyed by all. The kayaking,fishing, and relaxing on the dock were family favorites. The furnishings were very beautiful and comfortable as well. The pool table and ping pong table offered amusing family competitions. My husband is an avid trail runner, and enjoyed access to amazing, challenging runs. We would recommend this home to anyone who is looking to enjoy everything Lake Nantahala has to offer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Lakefront Home, Amazing Architecture and Space
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254447vbi
(404) 328-6161
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Naperville, IL
5

Perfect Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Our family stayed in this wonderful house for our wedding weekend. This house was PERFECT! Very spacious, clean and well appointed. The house was extremely comfortable and conducive to all age groups. We had three generations staying here (ages 3 to 71) and everyone felt at home. The gameroom was excellent and the kayaks were fun for everyone. The large family room was beautiful and the kitchen was big and useful. We had dinner here one night for 24 and never felt crowded. We were here in late October and the leaves were beautiful. Brenda was EXTREMELY helpful and we give this rental our highest recommendation. We have rented many homes through VRBO and this is by far the BEST.....Dan and Christine, Naperville, IL
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3