San Luis Obispo lodge rental - Lodge living room
Lodge living room
 
  • Bedrooms18
  • Sleeps35
  • 11 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

San Luis Obispo Lodge Rental Photos and Description
Lodge, 14 bedrooms, 8 bathrooms, sleeps 24, plus addl 10

The Oak Creek Ranch is a secluded 163 acre property in a rural setting with a beautiful main Lodge and several accessory buildings.

Situated at approx 2,000 ft. elevation, the setting consists of rolling foothills and mature oak trees, rich with nature and wildlife. The Ranch offers a full range of facilities and first-class amenities to guests: gracious Lodge, beautiful outdoor amphitheater, large recreation barn, majestic swimming pool surrounded by mature oaks, poolside bar, yoga/exercise studio and much more. Whether you are interested in quiet relaxation or active exercise and recreation, there is plenty to do while staying at the Oak Creek Ranch Retreat, including scenic mountain walking and biking trails, swimming, wildlife viewing, star gazing, games and much more.

Located in the heart of San Luis Obispo County, the Oak Creek Ranch is close to a variety of recreational opportunities, ranging from fresh water or saltwater fishing, golf, antique shopping, wine tasting, dancing and concerts, to touring world-famous Hearst Castle.

More Details
Hide Details

We have owned this beautiful property for more than 20 years. Our family has enjoyed family gatherings and group events here for a long time, and we are happy to share the opportunity with other groups so that they can experience the beauty and serenity of The Lodge at Oak Creek Ranch.

Dottie Nelson purchased this lodge in 1986

We bought this property in the mid-80s. It was an old Campfire Girl’s camp that Campfire no longer needed. Jeff’s sister was a Campfire board member who introduced us to it. Early years were all vision and planning. We slowly began making improvements from 2000 to 2009. We have controlled every detail of the development and continue to work each time we are here to make it a little better. It enriches our lives to share this place with people, hoping that they leave with just a little more positive spirit. It is a wonderful place to just connect with people and nature in a world where those simple acts are challenging.

The remote location and serene setting, along with the fact that rental groups have exclusive use of the entire property, make Oak Creek Lodge the perfect location for corporate retreats, family reunions and other intimate gatherings.

27 Reviews of Property 254374 in San Luis Obispo, California

Beautiful Ranch Retreat in Rustic Nature Setting - Oak Creek Ranch
average rating of 5.0 based on 27 reviews
business
Beautiful Ranch Retreat in Rustic Nature Setting - Oak Creek Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254374
+1 805 964-6790
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
5

Beautiful location, great choice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We used the Lodge at Oak Creek for a company conference and everyone was thrilled! It was refreshing to be in a secluded country setting with plenty of room for everyone. I would definitely recommend this location for large group events. The team at the Ranch even set us up with local companies that catered our lunches, which was super helpful.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
business
Beautiful Ranch Retreat in Rustic Nature Setting - Oak Creek Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254374
+1 805 964-6790
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
San Clemente, CA
5

First Birthday Party

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We just held my son's first birthday party at the lodge and it was amazing! We had 19 adults and 14 kids who were friends and family all meet to celebrate the special weekend. I had so many compliments on the venue and Dottie the owner was a pleasure to work with. The icing on the cake was a hay ride up to the top of the hill where we got some really great photos. It was truly a wonderful location from start to finish.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: So glad you had a good time!! Thanks for sharing your photos. We love sharing our property with others and would love to have your group back again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Ranch Retreat in Rustic Nature Setting - Oak Creek Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254374
+1 805 964-6790
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
5

Peaceful Paradise that is Great for Large Groups

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I have stayed at Oak Creek Lodge twice now and it just keeps getting better. The first time I set foot on the property I fell in love with it. The secluded nature setting mixed with spacious and modern facilities make this the ideal property for any large group wanting to get away and enjoy each other's company. Dotty, the property owner, goes out of her way to make your stay special. She even scheduled a hay ride from around the property which was fun for the kids and adults. The pool is in an oasis in the summer, the barn is great for playing games as a group. In all, this is one of the best properties we have ever rented as a group and we have been doing these trips for the last 15 years.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Ranch Retreat in Rustic Nature Setting - Oak Creek Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254374
+1 805 964-6790
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Wildlife Watching in Pozo Valley

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Having grown up in the Central Valley before migrating to Alaska as a wildlife biologist in the mid 1970's, I felt right at home in the summer climate in Pozo Valley. You've done a nice job of strategically placing a few drip tanks to attract the local wildlife. My daily routine was sitting at a drip tank with a cup of coffee at sunrise and a beer at sunset (and occasionally a flashlight in the wee hours). These efforts produced over 40 species of birds and about a dozen species of mammals. The consensus of the clan is that we will definitely return to your place again! Thank you for the great week!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Ranch Retreat in Rustic Nature Setting - Oak Creek Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254374
+1 805 964-6790
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
San Jose
5

An absolute diamond in the ruff

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We went with 8 couples to celebrate a 40th birthday and absolutely loved Oak Creek. The lodge is spacious which provided us with enough room to spread out while still maintaining the feeling of being together as a group. It was quiet, peaceful while still providing an fun atmosphere. We were never bored as we went from pool side bar to barn and back. Loved it! We will be going back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Glad your birthday celebration was such a success! From the wine tasting, to zip lining, to just hanging out at the pool, it sounds like you were a busy and happy group! We would welcome you back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Ranch Retreat in Rustic Nature Setting - Oak Creek Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254374
+1 805 964-6790
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great place for family reunion

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
"Our entire group had a wonderful time-- hiking in the mornings, making meals in the huge kitchen (especially breakfast on the griddle!) enjoying the pool during the day, watching the sunset from the ridge and stargazing at night. Our group of families does a trip like this every year, and this was one of the best!. Thank you and your family for creating such a terrific place!"
business
Beautiful Ranch Retreat in Rustic Nature Setting - Oak Creek Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254374
+1 805 964-6790
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
5

Excellent retreat space

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I organized a large family reunion at Oak Creek Ranch this year, and it was a huge success! Everyone who attended really enjoyed the location, the Lodge and other cabins, the outdoor space, and the comforts of the overall environment. We organized a couple of events (wine tasting on site, star gazing with guide from SLO astronomical society, Hearst Castle tour), and various groups also went off for smaller group events such as horse back riding, Pismo Beach outing, golf, wine tasting at wineries, etc. Overall, it was a rejuvenating experience, and the location really helped us connect with each other. I would definitely recommend Oak Creek Ranch for similar types of outings. We will hopefully be back soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: What perfect guests!! -- who took advantage of all that the property has to offer and explored the surrounding areas as well! A very active and close knit group who came from all over the U.S., it was a joy to get to know this wonderful big family and we would be honored to have them back again!
business
Beautiful Ranch Retreat in Rustic Nature Setting - Oak Creek Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254374
+1 805 964-6790
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
California
5

Excellent corporate retreat off the beaten path

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Well maintained and unique property for entertaining a large group. Cleanliness and amenities were first rate. Lodging was more akin to a retreat property with the pool in a separate location from the house. This turned out to be an advantage in creating a getaway experience.
Location is remote--30 minutes from the 101 and 25 minutes from the nearest store. As long as you are prepared, this is an excellent location for a large group retreat.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway
business
Beautiful Ranch Retreat in Rustic Nature Setting - Oak Creek Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254374
+1 805 964-6790
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
Corpus Christi, TX
5

Family Reunion at Oak Creek Lodge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family of 27 plus one on the way thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay at Oak Creek. The kitchen and living area of the lodge provided all the space needed for fun and fellowship. The bedrooms were exactly as pictured down to the bedding. The industrial sized kitchen was great for cooking our meals and it was so nice to have everyone sitting together in the large dining room. Vi Richards, Dottie’s friend gave us a great tour on arrival and we knew we could call on her if we needed anything. The beautifully maintained pool and the adjacent pool house were incredible and with the hundred degree heat was a very welcome respite. The one suggestion I have is to consider installing an ice machine on the premise. Even with everyone bringing ice we still had to make one ice run to Atascadero. We had a very special moment one evening when after dinner there was a very small rain shower after which the most beautiful rainbow graced the sky. At that point my family knew Mom and Dad were smiling down from heaven enjoying OCL as much as we were. I wish we had more time to spend on this lovely property. The time just flew by and too quickly it was time to say goodbye to everyone. I would recommend Oak Creek to anyone. Thanks Dottie for allowing my family to stay on your amazing property!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the wonderful comments. Magical family moments like you experienced happen often, and are what make Oak Creek Ranch so special. And yes, after that unusually bad heat wave, we are looking in to an ice machine! We would look forward to having your group stay with us again!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Ranch Retreat in Rustic Nature Setting - Oak Creek Ranch
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254374
+1 805 964-6790
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
Oakland, CA
5

Very satisfied with our stay at the Oak Creek Lodge in Santa Margarita

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My organization had a national staff retreat, and we selected Oak Creek Lodge for our venue this year. This place is beautiful - the scenery is amazing, the building units were very spacious, and all of the rooms accommodated most of our sessions and housing requirements. Dottie, the property owner, is very professional. She accommodated us from the beginning of signing the contract and throughout our stay. Dottie is also very responsive; she answered all of my questions very quickly and provided recommendations for nearby chefs and caterers. She ensured that the buildings were fully equipped with kitchenware, toiletries, and various necessities just to ensure our staff were pleased with their stay. I will admit that the internet connection and cell reception were very spotty in the lodge, and you will find parts of the site that get signal. Though, I'll be honest, I didn't mind taking a break from the world of technology for a short bit since we were there specifically to focus on work. With that said, if you want you and your group to remain focused and avoid any and all distractions, OCL is a great place to hold your event. Also, there is no A/C in the barn so if you choose to hold meetings there, make sure it's not 100 degrees outside (conveniently, there's a pool that helped take care of that problem). Needless to say, OCL is an extremely beautiful and incredible site. I recommend holding your next event there!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: So glad that our space worked out so well for your group. Although the barn does not have A/C, who would have guessed that there would be a record-breaking heat wave while you were there!! Glad that the pool and air-conditioned lodge provided relief. Please join us again!!
Helpful votes: 1/1