Tahoe City cabin rental - HICKORY KITCHEN
HICKORY KITCHEN
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Tahoe City Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Romantic Retreat & Also Perfect for Small Families

Perfect getaway for couples or small families. Lots or candles, music, and teddy bears! Beautiful view of constantly changing Lake Tahoe from the second-floor deck off the bedroom. Massive, granite stone fireplace to snuggle up in front of. Built in 2000 and furnished with comfortable, upscale amenities. Full kitchen for preparing meals. WIFI, DVD Player, Bose SoundDock.

Walk over to the Sunnyside Resort and Lodge to enjoy their lively bar and deck menu, or enjoy the Chris Craft dining room. Rent a boat or jet skis at the Sunnyside Marina. Ski or Snowboard Alpine Meadows, Squaw Valley, or my favorite: Homewood Ski Resort. Hop on the bike path headed north or south. Lots of information on suggested and favorite Hikes and Outings, as well as restaurant menus in the Cabin.

Keywords: Cabin

21 Reviews of Property 25431 in Tahoe City, California

Romantic Retreat & Also Perfect for Small Families
average rating of 4.642857 based on 21 reviews
business
Romantic Retreat & Also Perfect for Small Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p25431vb
(805) 684-0612 (805) 680 7868
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
California
5

Our weekend Honeymoon in Sunnyside.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2008
  • Stayed: Jan 2008
The cabin was easy to find and in a convenient to find. It is very cute inside and very clean and neat. The fireplace was very toasty and comfortable. The bed upstairs was extremely comfortable after driving all day. The location is perfect to reach all destinations in the Tahoe area. All the people in Tahoe City were very nice and the coffee shop down the street, Tahoe House coffee shop was excellent for morning expresson. The Fire Sign Cafe was a great place for breakfast. I reccommend the Peacan waffles with the Blue-raspberry sauce, mmmmm! We will definitely come back. A great little place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Romantic Retreat & Also Perfect for Small Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p25431vb
(805) 684-0612 (805) 680 7868
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

Very nice and cozy mountain cabin at the lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The cabin was exactly what we wanted, a cozy mountain cabin in wood and stone, at the lake, with view of the lake and with a large fire place. Allison was very courteous and accommodated almost every wish, she even gave us advice on what to do in the area.

We liked everything about the cabin: the fully equipped kitchen, the large fireplace, the bedroom, the view of the lake and of the mountains, the stairs, the decorations, everything.

Traffic and noise:
The house has two-pane glass windows which insulate most of the noise and while I could hear the traffic, it was not disturbing to me. My girlfriend chose to take no risk and used ear plugs all the time. She slept like a baby and couldn't even tell whether there was traffic or not. The jalousies are very effective for those sensitive to light and when lift up in the morning, the view towards the lake and the mountains is gorgeous.

We will definitely go back.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Retreat & Also Perfect for Small Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p25431vb
(805) 684-0612 (805) 680 7868
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
Marion, IA
5

Excellent cabin at Lake Tahoe

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We recently stayed at this cabin on Lake Tahoe, and found it to be a wonderful play to stay. The accommodations were excellent, and the location was very convenient to the North Shore of Lake Tahoe. It wasn't huge by any means, but plenty of space for up to 3. The owner was very easy to communicate with (we always got a great and prompt response back from any email questions), and had lots of great advice on the Lake Tahoe area. Although we didn't use it much, the kitchen was very well appointed with cooking utensils, and was quite a good size. The cabin was VERY clean, and had lots of guides and pamphlets to the Lake Tahoe area. I'd highly recommend this cabin to anyone who's looking for a cozy get-away in North Shore area of Lake Tahoe. There are lots of good restaurants in the area, and in the Lake Tahoe area one never lacks for natural beauty, hiking, boating, and just relaxing.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Retreat & Also Perfect for Small Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p25431vb
(805) 684-0612 (805) 680 7868
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
California
5

Wonderful, Charming Tahoe Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We stayed at Allison's charming cabin for four nights & my husband wanted more! It is very nicely equipped with a very warm, welcoming feeling. It really is well located also, almost directly opposite Sunndyside! We ate there 3 nights out of 4 and it's wonderful to just be able to walk across the street to get home. We invited several friends to see our "score" and they all thought it was wonderful & a great value. We will be going back next summer for a week. Oh, yes, Michelle is terrific! Thank you, Allison, for sharing this lovely place; we were more than pleased.

Ila & Tom, Carmichael, ca
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Retreat & Also Perfect for Small Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p25431vb
(805) 684-0612 (805) 680 7868
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
Indianapolis
4

Week at Lake Tahoe

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I spent a week in July, 2013 at this rental property. Our comments are:

Allison and Michele were great to work with - very available for questions and requests. We happened to be there when it was very warm (a couple days were over 90). I emailed Allison to ask if there was a fan available for use - she contacted Michele and we had one within a couple hours. It was a big help.

The place is very much as described in the vrbo description. A previous comment talks about it being small - it is the size advertised and we found it to be plenty big enough for us. It had everything we needed - it's great to have a washer/dryer available.

The only problem we had was the road noise. If it had not been so warm, we could have closed the window at night and it wouldn't have been a factor. But due to the heat, we kept the window open. We were able to sleep, though. The last night it cooled down and we closed the window - no significant noise issue then.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Romantic Retreat & Also Perfect for Small Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p25431vb
(805) 684-0612 (805) 680 7868
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
San Diego
1

Road Noise!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We booked this "romantic retreat that is also perfect for small families" with thoughts of a quiet mountain retreat for our little family (my wife and I with our 1 month old daughter. Your first warning of the lack of quiet in this little (the "cabin" is the size of a studio apartment) is the bowl full of ear plugs next to the bed....."just in case the road noise bothers you" it indicates. Really...ear plugs for my Lake Tahoe escape from the city??

Just so you don't let the description or photos mislead you, the "cabin" is in a part of a complex and is one unit of a duplex. This unit just happens to have the enviable position of being 4 feet from the highway that goes around the lake. It literally could not be closer! Starting at about 5am (I was awake with my new daughter who also was not enjoying this little hideaway) the trucks started and the traffic continued to increase throughout the morning. This noise is with all doors and windows closed so the deck is not in the least bit desirable. I can't imagine if this had been busy season!

The best part was when we explained to the owner that we were leaving after one night as our daughter nor ourselves were getting any sleep here. She only argued with us and let us know that "our families special needs" (I guess this would include having a peaceful place to sleep on our Tahoe getaway) could not be accomodated. She also refused to refund the remaining two nights and charged us a "cancellation fee". Wow - have no idea how this place has good reviews - no one mentions the road noise? seems very strange.

Needless to say if you are looking for a quiet spot in Lake Tahoe - this is the farthest from it! We found a beautiful cabin just up from the lake and had an amazing time with our remaining days in the Tahoe area - so happy we left this one. Probably the worst part of this experience was dealing with the owner.
Owner's Response: Please read all of the reviews. In twelve years of renting my Home in Tahoe, this is my first negative review. I do not portend that my Home is a "cabin in the woods". That said, the benefit of being close to everything in Sunnyside is the ability to walk to the Resort and the Pier across the street, walk to the market and to Firesign Cafe, and walk to the little Beach Park adjacent to the Resort. The location of my Home is posted on VRBO and on my website. It is clearly on West Lake Blvd. Yes, there is road noise, and in all honesty, I rarely receive any comment one way or the other. I have several Guests who return year after year, some who return a couple of times every year. When I booked the reservation with Greg and his wife, we chatted about the Cabin being on the main road. Greg did not specifically inquire re: "if it is on the main road, is there traffic?" I think a couple of issues arose with Greg's dissatisfaction: 1) challenges in traveling with a one month old Baby, and 2) their first time visit to Tahoe.... they did not have an idea of how busy Tahoe can be! Greg and his Wife booked for three nights. I refunded 50% of the total. Again, I hope you will read all of my reviews over the past twelve years. As well, I am glad to provide the names and phone numbers of past Guests. Thank you for your consideration.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Romantic Retreat & Also Perfect for Small Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p25431vb
(805) 684-0612 (805) 680 7868
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

It was PERFECT

  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
"I will recommend your place to anyone! So quaint and neat. It was perfect!"
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Retreat & Also Perfect for Small Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p25431vb
(805) 684-0612 (805) 680 7868
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
Healdsburg
5

A cozy cabin to remember....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My wife, son and I stayed in this well appointed cabin in North Lake Tahoe. Very cozy cabin with alot of attention to detail and clean! We were very comfortable and had a great time. Not your usual run down cabin that costs too much, we all felt it was a great deal and we plan on renting in the future the next time we visit Tahoe.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Retreat & Also Perfect for Small Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p25431vb
(805) 684-0612 (805) 680 7868
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
DFW, Texas
5

Charming Comfort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My wife and I came to Tahoe to celebrate our 20th anniversary and loved "our cabin". The property owner was very personable and efficient with the paperwork. She even left a special anniversary gift for us! The on-site manager was also very personable, friendly, and helpful. The unit is very clean, cozy, comfortable, well maintained, and up-to-date. The wi-fi was a bonus. We found the location to be very convenient to everything on the north and west side of the lake, from Crystal Bay to Emerald Bay. We highly recommend it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Romantic Retreat & Also Perfect for Small Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p25431vb
(805) 684-0612 (805) 680 7868
Tahoe City Lake Tahoe North Shore
Seattle
5

Great live/ski cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This cabin was great for our month-long stay in March. Close enough to enjoy skiing at Squaw and Alpine, and enough space to come home and get some work done in the afternoons. It had everything we needed to be comfortable (cooking equipment, washer/dryer, etc). The walk across the street to the Sunnyside resort for burgers and beers was an added plus. I definitely recommend staying here if you want a home-away-from-home.
Owner's Response: Thank you TJ! I certainly hope you will return! Always 15%, or more, off for returning guests. We have several Guests who reserve the "same time next year". Please do try to send a picture or two. AllTheBest, Allison
Helpful votes: 2/3