Lead cabin rental - Winter at Old No 7 Place
Winter at Old No 7 Place
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps14
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Lead Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 5 Bedrooms, 3.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 14)

PERSONAL WEBSITE LINK: Scroll WAY DOWN to the bottom, just above PHOTOS, you'll see the link. Click there.

What is it they say? LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!

* SNOWMOBILING out our driveway

* 10 MINUTE DRIVE ON PAVEMENT to Terry Peak Ski Area

* SNOWSHOEING out our back door on public land

* HORSEBACK RIDING / SLEIGH RIDES across the highway

* TUBING AND SNOWBOARD TERRAIN PARK across the highway

* 15 MINUTES to downtown Historic Deadwood

* ONE HOUR from famous tourist sites - Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse, Hill City & Keystone

Old No. 7 Place is easy to find. POWDER HOUSE PASS is centrally located in the Northern Hills just off US 14a. We have WIDE PAVED ROADS, perfect for trailers & motorcycles. We are close to Lead for convenient grocery shopping, restaurants, movie rentals, and gas stations. Our development gives you easy access to sightseeing and both summer and winter activities, but to us it is known as relaxation central.

So what can you expect when you arrive? As you wind up our private drive you will cast your eyes on our 5-bedroom home nestled among the pine and the aspen. Three levels of living in 4800 square feet give your family, friends, or co-workers plenty of together space - and plenty of escape routes. You get so much space for the money.

The MAIN LEVEL features a large laundry/mudroom to drop all of your 'stuff', powder room, master suite, great room spotlighting an inviting REAL WOOD BURNING fireplace, and our favorite... a large, well-equipped kitchen/dining room. We made it EXTRA SPACIOUS because everyone always wants to hang out in the kitchen. The tile floor is heated because I don’t like cold feet. Relax in the seclusion of our log home, taking in the serene wilderness as you hear the wind whistle through the trees or laze before the wall of windows taking pleasure in a crackling, wood fire.

The UPPER LEVEL has 2 more bedrooms with a shared bath and an extra powder room. There's a lot of flexibility in sleeping arrangements in case Mom & Dad need to be near little ones - one room is a full bed and the other has 2 XL twin beds that can convert into a king bed. The loft boasts a lot of room with a reading spot, a game table, and it extends into the TV room with more games and books. Fun, fun, fun is the name of the game up here.

The LOWER LEVEL is where all the movie watching happens. No need to disturb the rest of the house. You can hang out in the cave all vacation long if you'd like (although I don't recommend it). Not your typical cold basement, the entire lower level boasts heated floors. There are 2 more bedrooms and another shared bath. You will love the cabin's best kept SECRET: hidden down here is a bunk room - with 2 built-in bunk beds holding 2 twin beds each, and a double bed connected to them. What a great HIDEOUT for the kids on your trip, or maybe a retreat for the single people in your group... The bedroom across the hall has a queen bed. With 8 people sleeping down here, the bathroom has a large vanity with 2 sinks and plenty of towels, and places to hang them :).

Our spacious deck, spanning the full length of our home, is perfect for hosting your summer outdoor lunches and parties, while overlooking the vast outdoor scenery in which our home is located. And ohhh, the STARS, you've never seen so many stars at night. It doesn't get any better while soaking in our 5-6 person hot tub.

Your getaway is everything you make of it. I hope your dates are available on our calendar. It would be a shame to miss out on all we have to offer. Call anytime between 7:30am and 10:30 pm Central time.

Keywords: Sturgis Motorcycle Rally, log home, vacation home, snowmobiling, ATVs, skiing, motorcycling, forest, vacation home, vacation rental

More Details
Hide Details

We are Jason & Jennifer and we have 3 children and a dog. We've lived in South Dakota all of our lives and have grown to LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the Black Hills. The kids don't remember us NOT coming here. We started out coming as a get-away, just the two of us. Since 2004, we've been bringing our friends along. We'd find a house with 4 or more bedrooms and bring 2 or 3 other families, with all their kids, along with us. The grown-ups got bedrooms with beds, the kids got what was left over. Those have been some of the BEST vacations we've taken. This house was 3 years in the planning stages, and it took over a year to build it. In the design process, I kept trying to make the house smaller, but this is where we will someday live.... FOREVER. Today: we have kids who want to bring friends along with us for the weekends. We also have lots of families that we've shared the Black Hills with, and why shouldn't they come and stay with us, in our home? Another 10 years: down the road, the kids will be asking for the keys to the log home (oh no) and they'll be sharing the Black Hills with friends that they've met along the way. And eventually: we will live here, just the 2 of us. I envision the kids and their spouses staying in the rooms they grew up in, and the bunk room being FULL of GRANDKIDS! This home was a vision for us. I hope you enjoy sharing it with us.

Jennifer Erickson, owner purchased this cabin in 2010

Western South Dakota is so very different from Eastern South Dakota. There's no humidity, there aren't many bugs, there's not much wind, things are a little more laid back, and there's such a wide variety of things to do. In the spring months, we have literally skied one day at Terry Peak and golfed the next in Rapid City, less than an hour away. And Fall in Spearfish Canyon, it just takes your breath away. Motorcycling is what brought us here. It's the best 2-wheeled riding in the state. Jason says the Hills are like a mini Denver climate. But what kept us coming back, is that no matter which home we rented, we were AWAY FROM IT ALL. There's no place that relaxes us more than being in the Hills, and no other place we miss more when we leave.

The biggest convenience for us and for our renters is how easy it is to get to Old No. 7 Place. The paved entrance comes off a major highway and takes you straight to our driveway. We have only 100' of hard-packed gravel to the front door. Once there, there's ample room for a snow-mobile or motorcycle trailer to turn around. The Englewood Trailhead of the Mickelson Trail is just a hike down our backyard. The Sugarloaf Trailhead is right on the highway and much easier to get to by car, but probably not as much fun. The snowmobile trails go right through our development. You can quickly wake up, have your morning cup of joe, and ride out our driveway for the day. The Black Hills are full of ATV trails, accessible 5 minutes away. Go, Explore, Have Fun!

23 Reviews of Property 254136 in Lead, South Dakota

MARCH is the SNOWIEST month! Don't miss out on Winter @ Old No 7 Place!
average rating of 4.9130435 based on 23 reviews
business
MARCH is the SNOWIEST month! Don't miss out on Winter @ Old No 7 Place!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254136vbi
+1 (605) 254-5780 (South Dakota, USA) Ask For Jennifer
Lead Black Hills
5

Excellent place to stay!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We stayed at Old No. 7 while we were down on a snowmobiling trip. The cabin was awesome! Everything when without a hitch, even though we had booked the cabin less than a week before our arrival date. You will not be disappointed in staying here!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
business
MARCH is the SNOWIEST month! Don't miss out on Winter @ Old No 7 Place!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254136vbi
+1 (605) 254-5780 (South Dakota, USA) Ask For Jennifer
Lead Black Hills
5

Amazing Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
If you are looking for the PERFECT place to relax, this is it! Old #7 didn't disappoint us in any way. The kids LOVED the bunk room, the heated floors were awesome on a cold winter day and sitting with family and friends by the fire was a great experience. It was so peaceful to sit back and watch the snow fall while enjoy all the amazing ammenities this home offers. We will definately be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
MARCH is the SNOWIEST month! Don't miss out on Winter @ Old No 7 Place!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254136vbi
+1 (605) 254-5780 (South Dakota, USA) Ask For Jennifer
Lead Black Hills
4

What a wonderful place...Old No. 7

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
If five stars is perfect, our stay was 4.99, just missing the ultimate mark thanks to the flies. Truthfully, this is the only thing that marred (but minimally) our stay. The owners were great to work with and accomodating, the location and house are amazing. We were there with great weather (which could account for the flies), but in the heart of winter, the paved road to the house in the forest would be a big plus. My favorite parts of our stay were cooking in the great kitchen and watching the stars from the hot tub!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jeff! Glad you and the "foodies" had a good time in the kitchen.
business
MARCH is the SNOWIEST month! Don't miss out on Winter @ Old No 7 Place!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254136vbi
+1 (605) 254-5780 (South Dakota, USA) Ask For Jennifer
Lead Black Hills
United States
5

More Than Expected

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our group of 14 thoroughly enjoyed staying in this beautiful home and wooded area. Before our days of travel to Mt. Rushmore, Custer Park and Needles, we walked in the refreshing air of the early morning and, upon our return, relaxed in the hot tub in the evening. The well equipped kitchen provided enough space for our three families to prepare meals easily. Every room was more than we expected.

We did have a snafu when we arrived, however. The house was not cleaned due to a scheduling miscommunication between Jennifer and the cleaner. Jennifer assumed full responsibility for this snafu and "made things right." She went above and beyond what we expected. I would highly recommend working with Jennifer because of her genuine concern for her guests and her personal touch in remedying any issues.

If you choose this home for your holiday, you are definitely booking a South Dakota vacation home that will be more than you expect.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: People say all the time, "you are only human, mistakes happen". I was HORRIFIED when Linda called to say the house hadn't been cleaned. We had friends in the house and I forgot to tell our housekeeper. Luckily, all of our bedrooms have duplicate bedding so they were able to make their beds and get to sleep after a long traveling day. Since their group was out touring the following day the housekeeper was able to come clean right away in the morning for them. Of course, I refunded the cleaning fee and made some other concessions. The last thing we want is to be the sour grape in their mouth during a cross country adventure. I am so glad it all worked out. Take care!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
MARCH is the SNOWIEST month! Don't miss out on Winter @ Old No 7 Place!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254136vbi
+1 (605) 254-5780 (South Dakota, USA) Ask For Jennifer
Lead Black Hills
Manhattan KS
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Old No 7 Place is exactly as described and was perfect for our 3 generation group of 13 including 7 children ages 5 to 17. It is a beautiful spacious house, secluded and private but with easy access to the highway and the grocery stores in Lead which was a plus for us. It was clean and had everything we needed for our 6 night stay. It was a great place for morning hikes and runs, coffee on the deck, hot tubbing on cool evenings, and card games around the large dining table. The kids loved the window seat, the bunk beds with their own little private space, and the movie room (it wasn't used much but is a nice option for rainy days). There were lots of activities within driving distance and we appreciated coming "home" each day to quiet surroundings where we might see the deer that were in the area or the flock of wild turkeys that paraded through the yard. Booking through VRBO was hassle-free and the owner was easily contacted by phone - most often Jennifer answered directly but if the call went to voice mail she called back within minutes.

To sum it up, Old No 7 Place is top of the line and it was enjoyed by everyone in our group - we wanted to move in! We highly recommend it. Thanks, Jennifer and Jason.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
MARCH is the SNOWIEST month! Don't miss out on Winter @ Old No 7 Place!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254136vbi
+1 (605) 254-5780 (South Dakota, USA) Ask For Jennifer
Lead Black Hills
Port Orchard, Wa
5

July at Old No 7 Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
For the past few years I have planned the vacation of my family. We have people coming from North Carolina and Virginia and us from Seattle. I found the Old No. 7 place on VRBO and immediately knew it would be perfect for our trip...I was not wrong! This cabin is exactly as stated in the listing and then some. My family was very happy with the arrangements I made and the location was fantastic. While we dont vacation in the same location twice, I have to say we all are considering another stay here and visiting the beautiful black hills. We were also fortunate enough to see deer out back every morning and most evenings. On two occasions there was even a young fawn with the mother..Absolutely beautiful!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
MARCH is the SNOWIEST month! Don't miss out on Winter @ Old No 7 Place!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254136vbi
+1 (605) 254-5780 (South Dakota, USA) Ask For Jennifer
Lead Black Hills
Mankato, MN
5

Awesome log home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Awesome log home in the heart of the Black Hills! Great location. Great place for 2-3 families to stay while visiting the Black Hills area.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
MARCH is the SNOWIEST month! Don't miss out on Winter @ Old No 7 Place!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254136vbi
+1 (605) 254-5780 (South Dakota, USA) Ask For Jennifer
Lead Black Hills
Morrill NE
5

Love This Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Awesome home in the perfect Black Hills location! You can snowmobile right up the the front door, perfect for families with young and old who don't want to be on the trail all day long.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
MARCH is the SNOWIEST month! Don't miss out on Winter @ Old No 7 Place!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254136vbi
+1 (605) 254-5780 (South Dakota, USA) Ask For Jennifer
Lead Black Hills
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
5

Old # 7

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Outstanding. The "cabin" is stunningly beautiful, clean, well organized, meticulously maintained, comfortable, ideal for our family of 13 including 5 children. We enjoyed the fireplace and hot tub every day, the gourmet kitchen impressed ALL of us, there was plenty of seating for the entire family to eat together, two cars were in the garage, we made side trips to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, local lakes and villages. It was a memorable vacation. Our 3 adult children and their spouses had never stayed in a private home. They are convinced this was the best vacation ever! Thank you for a wonderful time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
MARCH is the SNOWIEST month! Don't miss out on Winter @ Old No 7 Place!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p254136vbi
+1 (605) 254-5780 (South Dakota, USA) Ask For Jennifer
Lead Black Hills
Cheyenne, WY
5

Beautiful and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I would highly recommend Old No. 7. My family recently spent Thanksgiving weekend enjoying the amazing property. The home had absolutely everything we needed to cook a large meal. There was plenty of space for everyone to relax and play the many board games provided by the owner. The house was stocked with every amenity possible. The large windows provided us with the opportunity to see wildlife daily and we enjoyed a peaceful snowfall on Thanksgiving Day. We were only an hour away from Mt. Rushmore and we were able to spend a day touring the area....most of us hadn't seen Mt Rushmore since we were children....it has changed a lot since the days of the old railroad tie walking path :) Thanks to the owners for providing us with a very memorable holiday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2