Wilmington house rental - Located on the beautiful Bancroft Parkway
Located on the beautiful Bancroft Parkway
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Wilmington House Rental Photos and Description
3 BDs & 3 full BAs sleeps 5 (ask about the possabilty of two additional)

If you are seeking a corporate rental or vacation stay in the Wilmington, Delaware area, this charming Cape Cod home is a lovely choice. Stay a week or a month and feel comfortable with all the amenities of a fine hotel.

This home has been totally remodeled with top of the line kitchen cabinetry and granite counter tops with hardwood floors throughout. Two large Bedrooms with Queen size beds and flat screen TVs on the 2nd level share a beautifully upgraded full bath. On the main floor, an Office/Library/Guest Bedroom w/ a twin day bed has an adjacent beautifully upgraded full bath with shower. A cozy screened in porch is just off the spacious Living Room which has a fireplace as well as a 52' flat screen TV.

Our key-less lock system eliminates picking up keys, dropping off keys, losing keys or getting locked out!

Location: Wilmington, Delaware is midway between New York City and Washington, DC -- 115 miles in each direction. Center City Philadelphia: 30 miles. Downtown Baltimore: 85 miles. Lancaster, PA: 50 miles. Atlantic City, NJ: 90 miles. Delaware's Atlantic Ocean beaches -- Lewes, Rehoboth, Bethany, Dewey, Fenwick: 90 miles.

Air/Rail Access: PHL/Philadelphia International Airport: 25 miles. ILG/New Castle Airport -- private planes: 10 minutes by car. BWI/Baltimore-Washington International: 80 miles.

Amtrak (800) USA-RAIL -- all northeast corridor trains stop here -- including the high-speed Acela Expressway. Also SEPTA commuter trains (R-2 line to/from Philadelphia and south to Newark, Del). Approximately 80 trains per day.

More Details
Hide Details

Kathy and I are both transplants from the East Coast to Southern California. We live in Irvine CA and are in the residential Real Estate Market. We have one son Richard Arthur Fenner II who graduated from the University of St. Andrews in Scotland in 2008 and now works in London

Richard Fenner purchased this house in 2006

My wife grew up in Wilmington DE and we decided to purchase this home as a vacation /rental property. We spend a couple weeks a year at Bancroft Cottage and love having our own place to entertain family.

15 Reviews of Property 253871 in Wilmington, Delaware

Furnished Corporate/Vacation Rental minutes from Business District
average rating of 4.733333 based on 15 reviews
business
Furnished Corporate/Vacation Rental minutes from Business District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253871
+1 949-733-3118
Wilmington Delaware
4

Great house. Great location.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The house/cottage was a great place to stay. The owner said I only needed to bring a toothbrush; and he was right. Everything you need - linens, towels, soap, shampoo, laundry soap, hair dryer, cooking supplies, dishes, etc. were all there. Although we were there to visit family over the Christmas holidays, it seemed like a great location. Minutes from I 95.

The area is a quiet residential area. The house, which appears to be an older house, has all the amenities your would expect in 2013.

The only small criticism I have is the size of the bathrooms. I have an extremely large bathroom in my house and these bathrooms seemed vary small to me.

I would definitely recommend this house.
Owner's Response: Thanks Karen
Yes, the house is a 1948 Cape Cod originally built with one small bathroom upstairs and a small powder room downstairs. When we remodeled the home we used what was the closet in the downstairs bedroom to create a good sized walk-in shower in the main floor bath. I had purchased a smaller sink for the upstairs bathroom which would have made that feel a little more spacious but my "on site supervisor" thought it was too small and put in a bigger sink. The kitchen was also very small, but we took down the wall between the kitchen and the dining room, enlarged the kitchen and added the island. You may have noticed that coat closet is not very deep. We actually used part of that so we could have a side by side built-in refrigerator. I had toyed with the idea of adding a large master suite bathroom on the back end of the house, but was voted down. Anyway that's the history of the bathrooms and I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Furnished Corporate/Vacation Rental minutes from Business District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253871
+1 949-733-3118
Wilmington Delaware
5

Enjoyable Thanksgiving week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This was the 2nd time we've spent enjoying the comfort of Bancroft Cottage. The house was immaculate and very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and we managed to do a little cooking for the holiday. It was truly a "home away from home". The owners are very easy to work with and very
accommodating. We would definitely stay again!
Diane and Harvey
Owner's Response: Diane and Harvey
Thanks for the kind words. There will be a cheese grater there for your next visit!!

Richard
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Furnished Corporate/Vacation Rental minutes from Business District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253871
+1 949-733-3118
Wilmington Delaware
5

Classy, Cozy, Comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Renting this house was such a better idea than trying to find an affordable hotel for all of us. The beds were very comfortable, we all had plenty of space even if sharing a bathroom, the kitchen was well equipped - so comfortable. Had the weather been warmer, we would've used the screened in porch which needed to be cleaned (dust/dirt on furniture, cobwebs). The TV remote in the larger bedroom wasn't working either. But honestly, that's extent of any criticism - it was a perfect stay for us. Thank you.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. The cleaning lady does clean the porch so I suspect it got dusty between the prior guests departure and your arrival. After determining it wasn't a battery issue we had the Cable Company out to check out the remote. They said someone had disabled the remote by pushing the wrong buttons. In our Instructions we have the Cable Company's phone number so problems like that can be quickly rectified. I'm glad you alerted us or the next Guest would have had the same problem.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Furnished Corporate/Vacation Rental minutes from Business District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253871
+1 949-733-3118
Wilmington Delaware
Paoli, PA
5

A Perfect Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed here for my daughter's wedding to host our out of town guests. We absolutely enjoyed our stay
at the cottage. The house was very cozy and well decorated and furnished. We were pleasantly surpised
on how well this house is designed that it provided the needed space as well as privacy for our guests.
The kitchen was fully stocked with the cookware where we were able to prepare a few home-cook meals our friends and families. The bathrooms and bedrooms were both clean and comfortable like the rest of the house. The owners were very professional and helpful throughout. We highly recommended this cottage and would love to come back again!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway
Owner's Response: Joanne-
So happy it all worked out for you!

Richard
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Furnished Corporate/Vacation Rental minutes from Business District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253871
+1 949-733-3118
Wilmington Delaware
5

Great Vacation House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I and our 3 boys stayed in this house and it was perfect for us. Our 3 small children loved the screened in porch and basement (which we don't have in FL). The home was beautiful and Richard and Kathy were also great to work with. The home has everything you need: great location, nice neighborhood, dishwasher, washer & dryer, updated kitchen and bathrooms. We couldn't have asked for anything more and look forward to staying here in the future.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for such nice compliments!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Furnished Corporate/Vacation Rental minutes from Business District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253871
+1 949-733-3118
Wilmington Delaware
5

Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
House is well kept and is finished with high end amenities. Great location to get around DE/PA. Would recommend to anyone traveling to Wilmington area.
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Furnished Corporate/Vacation Rental minutes from Business District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253871
+1 949-733-3118
Wilmington Delaware
5

Family of the Groom Wedding Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We loved the house, very clean, well furnished, lots of space, beautiful hardwood floors, & especially the bonus of the screened in porch for nice weather. The house easily fit our large group. It was the perfect mix of a 40's style home but remodeled kitchen and bathrooms. We liked the keyless entry, for different people coming and going, then we did not have to worry about keys. The house overlooks Bancroft Parkway which looks like a park, with people walking, jogging and playing. It is an easy walk to bakery and eateries. Kitchen was well furnished. The owners were very easy to work with and helpful. We will definitely stay here again.
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a nice review. We are very pleased you found your stay pleasant and comfortable. We do take pride in making sure Bancroft Cottage is the way we would like a home away from home. Richard & Kathleen
business
Furnished Corporate/Vacation Rental minutes from Business District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253871
+1 949-733-3118
Wilmington Delaware
Austin, TX
5

Great Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We very much enjoyed staying at Bancroft Cottage. We are relocating to the Wilmington area so have made a few trips in the last year, staying at various hotels and inns in the area. Never again! (that is, if this home is available!) It was the perfect spot to stay with our 2 children (kitchen! laundry!). The listing description was entirely accurate. The house is lovely: very well-appointed and maintained and clean. the location is very convenient for both the business traveler and sightseer (minutes to the major attractions in the immediate area -- including Winterthur, Hagley Museum, Delaware Museum of Natural Science, Delaware Art Museum, Nemours Mansion/Gardens, Brandywine Creek State Park; within 30 to Longwood Gardens, Brandywine River Museum, Brandywine Battlefield, etc., etc.). Very helpful owners. Totally smooth transaction. We have already recommended this property to friends as a possible place for their friends and family to stay when guest rooms are full, and will continue to do so.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for all your kind words and the plug for Delaware attractions!!
business
Furnished Corporate/Vacation Rental minutes from Business District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253871
+1 949-733-3118
Wilmington Delaware
4

reply to review

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I am so very happy to hear that the basement heating issue is being solved. It is an otherwise lovely property and since this issue is being solved we can look forward to another stay perhaps next Feb. Thank you for taking my observations seriously and I look forward to another lovely week end in Wilmington at Barcroft. It is truely a lovely home away from home.
Owner's Response: I also added an overhead heating unit in the basement bathroom.
business
Furnished Corporate/Vacation Rental minutes from Business District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253871
+1 949-733-3118
Wilmington Delaware
3

Very nice property but beware!!!!!

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This property would be perfect except that the bedroom in basement is NOT heated at all. The space was so cold I wished I had a thermometer to document how very cold it was. If you are traveling with family or do not object to sharing beds, this property will sleep 6 without using the basement area if you pull the air bed out of the "secret" room which is also an unheated space. I would recommend this property for spring, summer or early fall but having slept in the basement room it is much too cold and should not be considered in winter when looking at available space. Also a ceiling tile over a bed was missing in the basement room which resulted in debris falling on to the face of the person using that bed each time someone walked on the floor above. Had we been informed that the basement space was unheated I would have made a different choice. Other than the heat issue/missing tile the house is lovely, convenient and well stocked with almost any kitchen utensils one needs. In spite of the very cold basement we enjoyed our stay and would return in warmer weather or with assurances that the basement space had been heated. A small baseboard heater would solve the problem. The pictures of the house are accurate, even the unheated basement is very attractive and with the addition of a mirror (plus heat) would be a very livable space. It was not damp or moldy just very, very cold. I'm from near by Maryland so I'm not a wilting southern belle unused to northern climes. All this being said if you don't mind a polar environment this is a very nice rental but should NOT be listed for winter or for more than 4 people unless you wish to share beds.
Owner's Response: I can't say Pat is wrong. We have had so many requests for parties greater than five I decided to put two twin beds in the finished basement. Because the furnace is in the basement I thought with the door to the furnace room open it would give off enough ambient heat to keep the temp above 60 degrees. It was an extra cold week when Pat stayed there and obviously I was wrong. My wife and I have stayed at Bancroft Cottage over Christmas and used the basement to do laundry and found it to be crisp, but not unpleasant. We should have had our Property Manager check this out beforehand. We have now installed an electric heating unit between the beds and getting a bid on baseboard heat. Pat and her friends were our first guests to use the basement. Unfortunately her experience alerted us to the problem. We should have given consideration to this possibilty ahead of times. The missing ceiling tile has been replaced as well. Pat, again I apologize.

This is what are next guest had to say "Just wanted you to know we had a wonderful stay at your home. It was quite comfortable, loved all the upgrades! Thank you for providing the heater in the basement. It worked well. We took care of the home as if it was ours, everything was left just as we found it (it was as if we were never there). We will definitely rent in the future and also recommend the home to our friends/family."