Manchester lodge rental - Wintertime wonderland
Wintertime wonderland
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps11
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Manchester Lodge Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, sleeps 11

32 forested acres bordering 2000' of the Mettowee River. Vintage-Adirondack glass and timber frame home. A private distance behind stands a three bay carriage house with a Grizzly Adams studio apartment and deck, fifty feet from the rocky brook. All is located at the end of the town maintained meandering dirt road in rarefied Dorset Hollow. The spacious lodge consists of old and new. It comprises a gourmet state of the art kitchen with breakfast nook, steam shower, double and single jacuzzi tubs, radiant heat, massive river rock Rumford fireplace, old brick fireplace in Tavern room. Nestle in front of the fireplace. From the bedroom bluestone terrace watch the sun set, the night descend and the Vermont moon rise over the mountain. Listen to the babbling brook, the hoot owls, and enjoy the starry, starry nights. Hike, walk or bike on nearly isolated dirt roads in 'The Hollow'. The carriage house apartment contains a full kitchen, queen & double beds, full bath and delightful deck.

12 Reviews of Property 253629 in Manchester, Vermont

Very secluded, quiet, mountain views, babbling brook, country living
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 12 reviews
business
Very secluded, quiet, mountain views, babbling brook, country living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253629
+1 8028670291
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Stayed for our Honeymoon...definitely coming back!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Wow, my wife and I stayed at the Carriage House for a week and we absolutely loved it. Such a beautiful large room, wood-burning fireplace, full size kitchen. It was amazing. The large windows gave us such a gorgeous view of the trees and nature, and the babbling brook was a lovely sound in the morning.

The place was clean, well-maintained, and stocked with everything we needed to do life for a week. And the town of Dorset is so lovely to experience.

It was secluded and private, which we totally loved, and the whole surrounding area provided the rest and rejuvenation we needed after such a crazy wedding season. We loved meeting Esther and Skip: they were very respectful of our space while kindly offering help when we needed it.

Having the place to ourselves was such a gift---it was refreshing to get some time alone and the freedom to have your own place for a week. We had loads of fun cooking meals, sitting by the fire, relaxing on the deck, and taking beautiful walks. All in all---an incredible spot.
business
Very secluded, quiet, mountain views, babbling brook, country living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253629
+1 8028670291
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
4

Serenity at its finest!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband decided to suprise me for our 7th anniversary (don't let that fool you we are senior citizens). I had no idea where he was taking me and when I walked up the stairs to our carriage house as soon as I saw our special piece of heaven I cried! It was gorgeous- the details amazing. The carriage house was incredibly clean and everything we could have possibly wanted was there for us. I couldn't stop looking at and touching the beautiful wood, listening to the babbling brook outside & BREATHING FRESH AIR!! At night it was another piece of heaven when we snuggled under the down filled comforter and the down pillows as we looked out the windows at the stars. We slept like babies! Ester and Ira were kind enough to give us a tour of the main house (their home) and once again we were mesmerized by the beauty & the detail they put into this home. Ester & Ira are such a lovely & delightful couple. It was like going back in time as they shared their story of creating this masterpiece. If you are blessed enough to be able to make a trip like this & meet Ester & Ira you will never regret it. My husband and I both work in the field of drug & alcohol addiction/ he a faith based ministry and I work in a womens state prison- we were thrilled that we didnt have cell phone reception and only had to go a short distance down the road if we felt the need to call someone- which we didn't :-) It was heaven not to hear a phone ringing at all hours of the night... total silence and we actually slept in which we never do at home! God Bless Ester & Ira for their gift to the world!! We have never met two harder working people, they are extremely intelligent and a delight to listen to! We are certainly hoping to come back again to this incredible homey get-a-way and touch heaven one more time! Joe & Rose Tarquinio Erie PA
business
Very secluded, quiet, mountain views, babbling brook, country living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253629
+1 8028670291
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Great VT Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Our stay at this home was wonderful. The property and compound is gorgeous. The houses were handed over to us is pristine condition. Ira and Ester were easy to deal with throughout the whole process from booking their home up until check out. During our stay there was an issue with heat in the upstairs bedrooms, so we notified Ira and he came over quickly and resolved the problem for us with no hassle. We would highly recommend a stay at this amazing property.
Owner's Response: We try our best to make our guests stay memorable. And we appriciate or guests recognizing this fact.
Ester and Ira
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Very secluded, quiet, mountain views, babbling brook, country living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253629
+1 8028670291
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
4

A Vermont White Christmas!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My family and I spent Christmas week in the main house. It was 3 couples, my niece and our white lab. It was a magical time for us. We relaxed all week next to the fire and had delicious cooked meals.

The house was lovely, decorated with a beautiful Christmas tree and decorations throughout the house. The rooms were very comfortable, 2 full bedrooms with baths and the 3rd bedroom had 2 twin beds and its own bath outside. The kitchen was spacious, we cooked most of our meals, we had everything we needed. The location of the house made it very special for us. It's at the top of the hill with a lot of privacy and a lot of space for our white lab to run around. We took several walks after dinner, the area was completely magical covered in snow. The town of Dorset is about 10 minutes away with a couple of great places to eat and a cute store. Manchester Center is about 25 min away, with many shopping options and a huge supermarket where you can find whatever you need. We couldn't have asked for a better Christmas memory. Thank you Ester & Ira for opening your home to us during Christmas week.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Very secluded, quiet, mountain views, babbling brook, country living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253629
+1 8028670291
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
3

A wonderful stay; some unexpected surprises

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The following review contains excerpts from a letter we left for the owners.
Dear Ester and Ira,
You have a beautiful home full of coziness and VT charm. The setting couldn’t be more picturesque, and we’ve really enjoyed our stay here.
As renters, however, there are some things we would like to bring to your attention. These things we feel should have been disclosed prior to our arrival.
1. You run a business from the rental home and require an answering machine to be picking up your messages all day/night. We rented your home in VT to relax and to enjoy family time without phones and electronics. The frequent ringing of the phone and audible answering machine was particularly disruptive to the baby in the group and one of us with a sleep issue. Your business phone ringing during our relaxing, quiet family time, and your coming to the house multiple times for retrieval of messages was an unfortunate intrusion of our privacy.
2. The home is cleaned by the owners during a short window of time between renters. We felt that the house cleanliness may not meet the standards of some renters. For example, the presence of the followng was disturbing: dog hair, FECAL matter on toilets and toilet seats, floors not washed, food remnants from previous renters, crumbs on counters, dirty appliances & cabinets, whirlpool tub not cleaned from previous renters, beautiful down comforters that did not have washable duvet covers.
We were quite dismayed that we had to spend our vacation time cleaning toilets, bathrooms, floors and most surfaces in the kitchen.
3. The bunk room is an open space at the top of the stairway, not a bedroom. In addition, the bunk beds don’t have safety rails (for young children).
4. The homeowner will at times be residing in a guest house which is approximately 30 feet from the main house, or in the carriage house behind the main house. Since there are no window coverings on any windows of the main house, guests feel a lack of privacy when the owners are present in and around the property.
4. Owners/owner's pet's medications are located in the kitchen drawers that are easily accessible and within reach of small children.
We want to also acknowledge some of the many positive aspects of your home and our experience staying here: House is fully stocked, fresh towels and linens, stocked full of wood for fireplaces, house nicely decorated for Christmas, lovely antiques, fixtures and creative uses of antiques throughout the home.
Owner's Response: Dear reader:
The below was the e-mail reply sent to the message left by the unsigned writer on 1/7/13.

> From: Ira Wickes <irawickes@yahoo.com>
> Subject:
> To:
> Date: Monday, January 7, 2013, 5:22 PM
> Good Monday Morning,
>
> What a pleasant surprise Ester and I encountered returning
> to one very clean home after two weeks shuffling between
> friends and houses. Thank you so much for taking good care
> of this very special place in our lives.
>
> I also wanted you to know how mush we appreciated your
> making constructive comments about our home, its untidy
> condition and especially the ringing of the telephone.
> Thanks to your indulgence we now have a solution to the
> problem that being turning off the ring. How simple. To us
> tech uninformed and uneducated we need input like this to
> make other renters beneficiaries of this suggestion.
>
> Again I want to thank you for taking the time to write us of
> your concerns. Since we took ten years of our life to put
> together this very unique compound we want everyone who
> visits us to share our love we have for our home.
>
> Ester and Ira
> p.s. This family rented our home and immediately turned off the phone service and verbally told us the total property was under their jourisdiction.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Very secluded, quiet, mountain views, babbling brook, country living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253629
+1 8028670291
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
4

Great VT Getaway!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Praise: We went in early September and it was absolutely beautiful. The house is amazing - beautiful wood interior details and lots of space! And the gardens were gorgeous. All was clean and prepped for us. There is an adorable tiny cottage with a pull out futon that our kids had a blast playing in - it was their house:) The back deck with grill and raised fire pit was fabulous. Just a delightful place.

Unexpected Surprises: 1) The 4th bedroom with two bunks is not really a bedroom. It's a open room upstairs that you walk through to get to two other bedrooms. The bunks are at the top of the stairs so whoever is sleeping there can hear noise from the downstairs dining room table or living room. 2) Also, when we got there we learned the owners, who are delightful, were staying on the property in the carriage house. Though they were not around much and we had a blast, it would have been nice to know they would be staying so close.
Owner's Response: Thanks for a great review. It is always grateful to have response from our guests for this makes our job to create a more delightful time more meaningful by their input. Our gorgeous home is truly an uplifting experience by all who visit us. Perhaps we were negligent in our description of the bunk room over the phone. My wife is usually very thorough in describing the accommodations when asked.
As to the carriage house occupancy the listing is divided Main house one price, Main house and carriage house another price.
business
Very secluded, quiet, mountain views, babbling brook, country living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253629
+1 8028670291
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Cannot wait to come back!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
For my mother's birthday, my sisters and I decided to take Mom, our families, and our dogs, to Vermont! What a lovely way to spend an Easter holiday! The house is absolutely beautiful, the photographs truly do not do it enough justice. So much attention to detail, so many bathrooms! That kitchen! There is way too much to this house to go in to in this review, but needless to say you will NOT be disappointed! We all enjoyed going for walks on the property, spending time outdoors in the beautiful scenic countryside, and of course relaxing by the fire in the great room each night. The little town of Dorset is just minutes away, and Manchester is not a far drive at all.

All in all I cannot offer enough praise to Esther and Ira for what they've been able to offer. We are already planning our return trip!
Owner's Response: It is indeed grateful to realize our efforts are appreciated. What more could an owner wish for but for the Homeaway prospect to find a Home a way from home.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Very secluded, quiet, mountain views, babbling brook, country living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253629
+1 8028670291
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Great Ski Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Spent a long weekend here after the first (and only) winter storm in the Northeast in 2012...hoping for some great skiing and relaxation and definitely found it! Stratton Mountain was terrific, but more about this property - Esther and Ira were most gracious hosts to this incredible property. We had both the main house and the carriage house for the weekend, and cannot say enough about the amazing buildings, the comfortable living spaces, the kitchen to die for, and a sense of peace and solitude in the mountains of Vermont. Friends who joined us and are in the process of renovating their home in MA were "taking notes" on the kitchen, the fireplaces, and beautiful post-and-beam construction, and even the garage doors on the carriage house. In addition, although we didn't have any kids with us, the place is great for families with children - more than enough accommodations. Our two elderly dogs loved the baseboard heat, too! All in all, a great weekend at an amazing property. We would definitely return!
Owner's Response: How great it is to have guests fully appreciate Vermont at its finest.

Ester and Ira
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Very secluded, quiet, mountain views, babbling brook, country living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253629
+1 8028670291
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
New York
2

User Unfriendly

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
The house itself is wonderful. The hospitality, on the other hand, needs a good polishing.

Over the past 10 years we have always enjoyed our visits. Our last stay, however, left us dumbstruck.

Upon arrival the front walkway was completely iced (at least 3" thick). Guests had to be escorted in and out given how trecherous it was. The house was NOT clean. Sure it was neat but who wants to work to clean a home on vacation? The bathroom was grimy, the lamps were dust ridden, the cutting board had food left on it, the blankets and frig smelled foul and a used soap bar was left to wash your hands. We had to literally clean almost everything.

But here's the kicker. All of this was going to be overlooked. In fact, since we had an ongoing relationship with the homeowners we were gracious enough not to complain and looked forward to future stays.

Then a whole week after our visit the homeowners called us incessantly to inquire about why we didn't depart on our agreed time. It took a few days to return their call being that work and other matters were pressing. We instantly apologized explaining a situation where our baby was sick all weekend and unforeseen things occurred delaying our departure. This fell on deaf ears even given our history of compliance. This response led us to tell dissaponting details of our stay and how elderly guests and someone with a disability had to navigate their entranceway and one of the replies were, "You should've shoveled."

This basic lack of sensitivity led us to further remind the owner that a few years back there was an entire night of no electricity, heat and water - leading to the inability to even flush a toilet. And that we NEVER complained. We also added that at no time were we even offered a night's refund or apology.

Again the homeowners could not care less and we were taken how we felt like the enemy.

We were always more than gracious rather than demanding explanations for what is seemingly par for the course when going on vacation - a shoveled/ice free front door, a clean house, and constant electricity, heat and water.

Being decade long patrons we expected the homeowners to be able to overlook such a minor inconvenience as departure time. Seemingly it's okay for them to have mishaps but beware if you might come across any.

One of the last comments by the homeowner was, "This is business." We couldn't agree more, and writing honest reviews is part of it.
Owner's Response: This is our first experience of this nature in over 22 years of vacation renting our Vermont homes and caught us by surprise. We did our best to accommodate this family who wanted a mid afternoon departure. Unfortunately, we had another family arriving the same day and we needed them to depart by 10:00 am so the cleaning service could have ample time to clean the house for the next group. For their inconvenience, we gave them a free night stay with the understanding that they would leave by 10:00 am which they agreed to. When the cleaning service arrived there was no sign of this family getting ready to leave. In fact, half of the group was out Snowmobiling and did not return until the afternoon. The other half was still in the house with their belongings all over the house which created a very difficult situation for the cleaning service who has a limited time frame to prep the house for the next group. This review is not honest and does not represent the gracious hospitality we pride ourselves on. We simply want to provide a great product for all of our renters to enjoy and this is our main goal. We will always do our best to provide an unforgettable vacation experience in a unique Vermont home at a reasonable price.
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Very secluded, quiet, mountain views, babbling brook, country living
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253629
+1 8028670291
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
New York, NY
5

Excellent Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Recently stayed here with a group of family and friends on a golf trip and it was an excellent experience. The house was clean and everything we expected it to be. The Wickes could not have been more accomadating through the whole process. The house has a warm and welcoming feel to it. Would be great anytime of the year. We look forward to a return visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Ir is indeed rewarding to have guests appreciate the uniqueness of this Vermont hide a way.
Helpful votes: 1/1