Location is everything.
My wife and I have been going to SXM for six years. The condo is in the best location on the island if you want to experience St. Maarten at it's finest. The unit itself needs some upkeep, there was an industrial sized air freshener in the master bath which was trying to mask the sewage smell, but nobody would answer why it was there when I asked. The guest bath however, was fine. There are issues with electrical and light switches that aren't good for anything other than keeping one guessing. Everything one needs is in the unit, including binoculars in case you forget your own. The staff at the resort are friendly and very helpful, and the restaurant is decent. We've eaten twice at lee's and both times it was disappointing. Considering the reviews it gets, I can't understand why the food and service have been bad on both occasions. The beach at this resort is so- so. If you walk five minutes to the buccaneer, the beach is way nicer with no rocks, no seaweed, and the ribs are to die for. If you want to lay by the pool and play bingo this is the place. We will definitely stay here again simply for the location. If you love to watch planes and multi million dollar yachts, this is the place to be.
Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Marv
I wish you would have contacted me about the smell in the master bath and the issue you had with the light switches. All light switches are functional. My guess is the problems you were having was with a few of the switches that are three way switches. I have never had a complaint about them from previous renters. The air freshener, about the size of a softball( certainly not industrial size) are used throughout the unit because of dampness that is common on all islands with high humidity. The beach at the Royal Palm is quite large by resort standards and provides free palapas and beach chairs...there are rocks at all beaches in St. Maarten. Sorry about your experience at Lee's but it is a very popular dining destination for those staying on the Dutch side and I certainly do not have any control over the food quality served there. I am pleased that your overall experience was good and that you enjoyed yourself enough to widh to return to St. Maarten and stay in my condo.
Did you find this review helpful?