Lungern house rental - The home from the road
The home from the road
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Lungern House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-7)

Comfortable, spacious home directly on a beautiful, small lake mid-way between Interlaken and Lucerne. Located in Lungern, a quiet, down-home farming village. Individually owned by family with kids, comfortable for large family or two to three couples. Direct access to lake for swimming; walking distance to shops, restaurants, cable car to small ski-station, waterfall, tennis courts, mini-golf, unique indoor firing range, hiking trails, beach. Small motor boat rental optional with house; nearby rental of bikes, wind-surfers, paddle boats. Located in the center of Switzerland, perfect for day-trips around the country; accessible by train (15 minute walk from station).

All three bedrooms are upstairs. Master bedroom with own bathroom, skylight, door to balcony, twin beds fit together to make large queen-sized bed, but can be separated. Children's bedroom sleeps three in bunk bed and single (with another single that can be pulled out for 4th child). Access to balcony. Guest bedroom has twin beds fit together to make large queen-sized bed, but can be separated.

Notes: Owner likes to cook so kitchen is ready to cook for a crowd: dishwasher, glass-ceramic stove, full-size refrigerator, oven with convection oven, plenty of plates and pots and pans including equipment for making raclette, fondue, wok-cooking, etc. Kitchen gives onto covered patio with picnic table and gas grill for easy outdoor cooking/eating. Playroom in basement with toys, games, computer with Internet access, flat-screen TV and DVD player with eclectic collection DVDs. Big and varied library for adults and kids, mostly English but also French and German. Screens on at least one window per room (very rare in Europe!) keep out flies and mosquitoes, and house stays cool even in summer if shades are closed to keep sun out. House is insulated well and floor heat and fireplace keep downstairs toasty warm; upstairs also warm, heated by radiators. Good-sized yard, fenced in for kids.

Lungern is a Charming, peaceful village in the alps between two of the country's most popular touristic regions: Central Switzerland and the Berner Oberland. Easy access by train or car to Lucerne and Interlaken and the lake and mountain areas around them, or stay at home to bike and hike on local trails, and swim and fish in the crystal-clear lake of Lungern. See glaciers and high peaks in scenic excursions to Susten, Grimsel and Furqua passes, the Jungfrau, Grindelwald, Rosenlaui. Half hour drive to Ballenberg outdoor museum, or music festival in Lucerne. Walk to cablecar for winter skiing or summer hiking and paragliding at Schoenbuel Panoramawelt or drive 20 minutes to larger resort at Meiringen-Hasliberg. Village has a low-key, authentic atmosphere: not all shopkeepers speak English, no signs in Japanese or Arabic, no crowds and the local cultural festivals, from St. Niklaus to traditional wrestling to cow auctions are still celebrated by the townspeople, not just staged for tourists.

Keywords: house, garden, calme, friendly, lake, village, remote, famely, garden, hiking

More Details
Hide Details

home owned by a swiss/american family with 2 children (seen on the picture)

Patrick and Alice purchased this house in 1993

This is my home town, the house was built buy my father. It is a way for me to keep my roots even without living where i grew up.

Direct lake acces, and beautiful scenery

22 Reviews of Property 253551 in Lungern, Switzerland

Vacation Home on the Lake
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
business
Vacation Home on the Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253551
+41 223628176
Lungern Obwalden
5

This place is perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This property is equipped with every amenity, in addition to an idyllic location lakeside. There is a modern, well-equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, plenty of bathrooms, a variety of books to read and movies to watch. This is a home where you can stay indoors for a week and be well entertained, or you can spend the week out in the yard or walking and hiking around the lake and up the surrounding mountains. The train station is a 15 min walk from the house, allowing you public transportation for your daily outings. There are even adapter plugs for every type of electrical plug. Everything about this home and this town conveys hospitality; it would be a wonderful vacation spot in every season of the year.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Vacation Home on the Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253551
+41 223628176
Lungern Obwalden
5

A Dream House in a Dream Village

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This home in a delightful, picture postcard village was just perfect for us. The house was lovelier than the pictures, spotless, and with every amenity imaginable. We have stayed in VRBO rentals before and this was our best experience to date. The owners were busineslike, efficient, and friendly. Upon arrival, we were welcomed by Isabel, who showed us how to operate the many modern appliances, answered our questions, and provided suggestions about the Lungern area. She also brought bread, wine and cheese which we enjoyed. Imagine looking out one window and seeing water cascading off the side of a mountain, and looking out another to see a lake, cathedral and village--all within walking distance. We made this spot our home base for a week of travels in Switzerland. Due to Lungern's central location, we were able to enjoy both beautiful cities and awesome nature on easy day trips. If we have an opportunity to return to Switzerland, here is where we will want to stay.
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us. Lungern is a greate gateway to visit the Lucerne area and the Bernese Oberland.
Thank you also for taking good care of the house. Welcome back any time!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Vacation Home on the Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253551
+41 223628176
Lungern Obwalden
Atlanta, GA
5

Very comfortable house for a family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Our family really enjoyed our stay in Lungern. The house exceptionally clean and well equipped. The kitchen is great for cooking and has everything you need. My kids loved the bunk beds, and we loved the great quality down duvets. There are tons of books for both adults and children, which is a nice touch. The TV is a little old (no HDMI plug if you're bring iPad, etc) but worked well and my kids enjoyed all the movies they had available. The house truly feels like a home and not just a rental house, and the owners were very helpful during our stay. Having a garage with an electronic door opener was a really nice surprise, especially in snowy winter time! The drive was even shoveled for us after a snow. We loved being able to walk over to the Schoenbul lift to go sledding on the 3km trails. Warning- they are steep and fast!!! And the views from the top are worth it alone- truly the most stunning view we have ever seen in our entire lives. We also enjoyed skiing in nearby Halisberg. It's an easy 20 minute drive, and there are many stations to choose from with great pistes. My kids loved the ski school and activities at Bidmi. The people of Lungern seem very nice, and we even had car trouble and repairs done at the local garage. They were kind enough to lend us a car so we could continue to enjoy our vacation while the car was being repaired. The little grocery is small, but well stocked with good quality foods. We can see how amazing it would be in the summer, and really wish to return.
Owner's Response: We would be delighted to see you back, why not for a summer vacation?
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Vacation Home on the Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253551
+41 223628176
Lungern Obwalden
5

Great Vacation in the snow

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The house is situated in a beautiful location surrounded by mountains. The moment we walked in we just felt at home. Personally I loved the skylight in our bedroom but we sadly were only able to use it the first day as it got snowed in. And every room had a very nice view either of the village on the other side of the lake, or the mountains and waterfall.

The village is quite charming and the "lungerers" were very friendly. There were a few shops with basic products but we were surprised to find that they close at lunch time. We did actually drive down to Sarnen a 20 minute dive to do some more extensive shopping and found supermarkets there.

One of the nicest activities was walking around the lake it took us 2 hours but was worth it. An interesting thing was that the lake was Lowe, the first day it looked a bit like a crater and we went down walking in it witch was very muddy but then it snowed and looked more like the moon.

Lungern is a small village but we there were a few different restaurants one of witch was very close to the house. We were also surprised to Learn that there was a shooting range in the village, and that was a very impressive experience ! Personally it was the first time that I shot , we got an instructor and all really enjoyed shooting even though I was quite skeptical about it at the beginning. The kids loved shooting in the "shooting theater" and so did we though lazar guns where not as interesting as the real thing.

Oh and Isabel who showed us the house and how everything worked was very helpful.

The house felt open but also very private witch was nice as we were three different parties. The only thing missing was maybe a jaccusy on the balcony so that we could enjoy the snow in our bathing suits !

Best Regards,

Lea
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Vacation Home on the Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253551
+41 223628176
Lungern Obwalden
5

Lungern vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This was the best vacation my family has ever taken!! My husband and I plus our two boys ages 9 &11 spent 2 weeks in the house in Lungern; the last week of May and first week of June. Alice and Pat were there to meet us when we got in. They are the nicest people in the universe and took the time to make sure we had supplies and knew how things worked in the house. Alice took me into town and showed me how to shop. The house itself is great. It is clean, spacious and has all the amenities one could need.

Lungern itself is a great little town. It was wonderful to have the experience of living in a different culture. The shop keepers don't speek English but were very patient with me. The house is centrally located so most of Switerland is an easy train ride or drive away. Plus Lungern is a nice little town to hang out in itself. Our favorite thing was walking up to the "milk machine" every day. You put change in and out comes fresh milk.

I can not speak high enough of this house and the family who own it. If you are going to Switzerland, especially if you are going with a family, you should stay here.
My family is already asking when we can go back.
Owner's Response: Well, we join the boys in looking forward to your return! The place gets nicer with every family that enjoys it.
Alice and Pat
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Vacation Home on the Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253551
+41 223628176
Lungern Obwalden
Anchorage, Alaska
5

Great Home in an authentic Swiss village

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This was the perfect place for our family vacation. We came to trace family roots and we were treated like family by the owners and the community alike. The atmosphere is refreshing and just what you would expect Switzerland to be (including cows with bells). We had a lot on our itinerary for the short week we spent, but we found we enjoyed spending time in Lungern. We were able the reach Interlaken, Luzern, and Bern rather easily by train. We had beautiful weather for our stay and we enjoyed the lake and ping pong on the patio. The house comfortably slept the six adults in my group. The kitchen is very well equipped and we found everything we needed in the house. There are many books and movies as well. However, with so many things to do in Lungern and the nearby villages, a week was definitely not enough time. I highly recommend a two week stay minimum. If you are an outdoor enthusiast, there are hiking trails everywhere. We meant to go back up Schoenbuel and ride the monster trottis, but we didn't get around to doing it. Maybe next time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a great pleasure to see you all enjoy not only the lake-side house but also the local attractions.
Only few guest dare to go for a "cool" swim in September.
Welcome back any time.
Patrick & Alice and of course Isabel
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Vacation Home on the Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253551
+41 223628176
Lungern Obwalden
Granite Bay
5

Fabulous Lake Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My family had the greatest time staying at this beautiful lake home. It was even roomier than I imagined for the 5 of us (myself, my wife and daughters ages 13, 16 and 18). From the kitchen, you look out on a beautiful waterfall and from the back you look out on the incredibly scenic lake. The house is fully outfitted with everything that a family needs of a very comfortable vacation.

A five minute walk takes you to a gondola that that takes you to skiing in the winter and some of the most scenic hiking that I've ever experienced in the summer. A two minute walk takes you to the best restaurant in town and a beautiful 20 minute walk around the lake takes you to the quaint town of Lungern for groceries, restaurants and the train station. The lake itself is drinking water quality and although it is a bit brisk, I found the swimming to be really refreshing and enjoyable. I loved swimming back and forth across it in the mornings or afternoons.

My family looks forward to returning to this wonderful home.
Owner's Response: We enjoy sharing our hide-away and it is great to read that you and your family appreciated what the place and its surroundings have to offer.
Thank you for staying with us.
Alice and Patrick
business
Vacation Home on the Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253551
+41 223628176
Lungern Obwalden
5

perfect place for a perfect vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
perfect place for a perfect vacation

we arrived at Longern after three days at Gruyeres. we found our way easily following the specific details we received from prior to the arrival from the owner.
It was like meeting an old friend again-we found a pleasant, clean, well equipped house. we couldn't accept nicer wormer and pleasant welcome.
The house is comfortable and well located and can easily served a large family or tow. The wonderful view, the lake access and the nature surrounding the place is ideal for romantic vacation, family vacation or friends gathering.
We spend a week with our two daughters who enjoyed the place very much-inside and outside the house, as well as we appreciated the comfortable facilities, comfortable kitchen, spacious rooms, lovely fir place, and the lake view.
In addition to the pleasant accommodation, scenery fulfillment of everything you can ask for!
Lungern is well located with good access to many attractions.
Service provided by the owner was lovely and helpful and we surely will be glad to visit again.
We definitely recommend visiting and sating at the
The place fulfillment all our expectations and more. We had wonderful vacation and a perfect stay!

Noga and Haim
Owner's Response: Dear Noga and Haim,
welcome back any time!
Helpful votes: 6/8
business
Vacation Home on the Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253551
+41 223628176
Lungern Obwalden
Canada
5

Wow, what a tremendous home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My husband and I and our two small children just finished staying at this vacation home. It was a superb vacation and the house itself was wonderful. I agree with the former testimonials and rate this holiday home as a top 5 out of 5. The house was exceptionally clean, accommodated our small family with more rooms that we knew what to do with, and provided our desires of private lake access! Our little girl delighted in playing in the lake, the toys on the property, the large and spacious garden and the playgrounds nearby. My husband and I were grateful for all the abundant walking, ease of accessing groceries and the local bakeries as well as the mountain views and hiking. Patrick - our host - was ever so kind and provided more than enough information for us via email and made completing the required arrangements for our stay so easy. As we travelled from Canada, it was reassuring that we had people who were concerned about how we arrived at the house. The owner's sister was so kind and picked us up at the train station and showed us where the local grocery store was - a convenient and beautiful 5 minute walk from the house. Thank you so much. We truly appreciated this generosity!
This property is one we have already recommended to our friends and relatives! With Switzerland's train access, it is an easy destination to get to, and the sites, towns, villages, and abundant tourist attractions make this an exciting spot to come and visit. The luxury of being in this home, is that a day spent not going anywhere is just as exciting as a day out sight-seeing! Had the weather been anything less than wonderful, there were more than enough books, DVDs and children's movies to keep one occupied.
The lake itself was wonderful and I managed to swim several days. Personally, I delighted in the typical sights and sounds of the area and woke to charming church bells, cow bells and the view of the sun cresting over the mountain tops.
Having been to Switzerland many times and having stayed all over the country, this home is one we look forward to visiting again!
Thank you Patrick and Alice!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We love staying in our Lungern home on our own vacations and weekends, and having guests enjoy it as much as we do only adds to the satisfaction it gives us. In Switzerland there is a lot of discussion about "cold beds" (this describes all the economic and environmental and even social problems caused by people having property that is only occupied a couple of weeks a year when they come for vacation). Reading reviews like this of people from around the world who enjoy the things we love (even the early morning bells...the only pleasure pointed out that is somewhat controversial) makes it clear how the concept of "warm beds" is about more than the economy and environment. Thanks for keeping our beds warm!
Alice
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Vacation Home on the Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253551
+41 223628176
Lungern Obwalden
5

Highly recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This is not just a rental property it is a home.

The description given in the listing did not do justice to the quality of the property. We have, in the last seven or so years, rented properties in five countries ( about twenty properties in total) and this is the best of them all. The property was well stocked with books, videos, games (including Fussball and Table Tennis), spices, etc. There were five of us and we had no trouble fitting us all in.

The hosts were great. The location was lovely. For those, like us, who do not have access to a car the gorcery store is but a short ten minute walk and the excellent Swiss train service only about twenty nimutes of easy walking.

I have alread recommended this property to my Sister-in-law.

If you are looking for adventure try paragliding out of Interlaken. The walk to the waterfall, while not that adventurous, is well worth your time. If it has been raining the falls will be in full flow and the track muddy.

I could go on and on but I think you get the idea that we loved this property.

One more thing, do not miss a visit to the bakery wagon in the morning for fresh pasteries and bread. It is parked down by the resturant about 100m from your front door.

Paul and family,
Perth and Mississauga, Ontario
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Paul and family,
you are spot on we share our home. It is great feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. We would love to welcome your sister-in-law!
Patrick & Alice
Helpful votes: 1/1