Lookout Mountain house rental - Lookout Mountain House
Lookout Mountain House
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lookout Mountain House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, 1 sleep sofa, sleeps 8

Easy to locate next to Rock City Gardens - quiet and private. This two story tudor is near Historical Parks, Civil War Battlefields, Ruby Falls, Golf, Hang gliding, rock climbing, walk to Rock City and Grandview, just minutes from historical downtown Chattanooga. The home has hardwood floors, fireplace, top of the line kitchen and baths. Very private and comfortable with fountain garden. Three bedroom and a sleep sofa sleeps a total of 8.

20 Reviews of Property 253245 in Lookout Mountain, Georgia

Top of Lookout Mountain, Private, Walking Distrance to Rock City Gardens
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 20 reviews
business
Top of Lookout Mountain, Private, Walking Distrance to Rock City Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253245
561 876-5231
Lookout Mountain North Georgia Mountains
4

Adorable inside and out!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a fantastic time this past weekend at this home in Lookout Mountain. Great location - central to everything in the Lookout Mountain area and just minutes from downtown Chattanooga. The home was neat and clean and had just enough in the way of "accessories" to accomodate our needs (cooking, bathing, etc). My only constructive feedback would be that the hot water was a little iffy (we had a couple cool showers) and the sleeps count would more comfortably be 7 (vs 8), as the sleeper sofa is a bit of a tight squeeze for 2. That said, the living room was plenty roomy and could have accomodated an air matress, if needed. Overall great stay. Highly recommend this mountain gem!

P.S. Little tip... the roads up to the house (and all around this area) are traditional windy mountain roads. If you get car sick, pack a few dramamine. :) It's worth it!
business
Top of Lookout Mountain, Private, Walking Distrance to Rock City Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253245
561 876-5231
Lookout Mountain North Georgia Mountains
5

An Awesome, Elegant Place to Start a Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We wanted a first class vacation for the family. My wife and I would be playing host to one 3 year old, one 13 year old, one 15 year old, three 16 year olds and four adults.

Our first thoughts centered on motel rooms, a long line of motel rooms. Thankfully, my wife did her research and found the perfect site for us. Sitting next to Rock City, this spacious, roomy home met all our needs. We were amazed at the class designed into this home.

Though traffic was intense out front, the residence was a haven from the noise, hustle and bustle. We were able to enjoy the opportunity to be together as a family. The furnishings made us feel like we were visiting with dear friends. Nothing was lacking.

We had the opportunity to plan for the sightseeing. We utilized the modern kitchen to enable us to share quality time together. The rental, our focal point or hub, gave us a nice place to wind down after a day on the run.

For anyone debating on whether to rent this amazing property or something else, I admit to being spoiled. For the expense of the rental it is no contest. This vacation as an asset far outweighs the rent. It is truly well worth every penny. A fun place to be on a Chattanooga getaway.

The entire process from researching to rental was so easy. No complications, no fine print to worry over. A straight up process designed to keep the vacation fun. We are all so glad that we made the decision.

Thanks for providing all the elements to anchor a great vacation.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your positive response and so glad you enjoyed your stay. We try hard to provide a pleasurable stay and look forward to your return! Thanks again!
business
Top of Lookout Mountain, Private, Walking Distrance to Rock City Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253245
561 876-5231
Lookout Mountain North Georgia Mountains
5

LOVED THIS HOUSE!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Just wanted to let you know we truly enjoyed our stay! The kids all voted on a scale from 1-10 how well they liked the house and it rated a 30!! The whole house is beautiful. Left a box of trash bags under the sink for the next person; intended to leave can opener, but one of the kids packed it. You DO need to replace the can opener, the one that is there does not function. Loved the entire house! Left the dishwasher running and towels washing. Hope this helped the housekeeper. Neglected to wipe down stove top since I was waiting for it to cool and got sidetracked. Everything was wonderful, and I just can't see what the previous renters who complained about space and such were so upset about. There was ten of us and we had PLENTY of room and beds. Again, let me tell you how much we loved the house!
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed the house and look forward to your return!
business
Top of Lookout Mountain, Private, Walking Distrance to Rock City Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253245
561 876-5231
Lookout Mountain North Georgia Mountains
5

Mom of 3

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Loved the Home!! We had a great time and the kids---6 of them, loved having the space and freedom of a real home vs a hotel. The kitchen was wonderful! The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable. Area was quiet and safe. We loved the house!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Top of Lookout Mountain, Private, Walking Distrance to Rock City Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253245
561 876-5231
Lookout Mountain North Georgia Mountains
Springfield, Missouri
2

Not was I was expecting

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family just returned from our visit to Lookout Mountain and I wanted to share our experience while we were there. Although our visit wasn't entirely negative, there are some things that should be shared to help potential visitors make a more informed choice than I was able to make.

When we booked the home, there were but a handful of pictures available to make a determination if it would fit our needs (group of 10). At the time of this writing, I see the owners have added a number of additional pictures. Had we been privy to additional pictures (namely, the steep steps to get upstairs) or sleeping accommodations I would have not chosen this home for my family.

Additionally, when we booked the home the listing said it would accommodate 8-12. As mentioned prior, we had a party of 10. We thought this would fit our needs. It very much didn't. We expressed our concerns to the owners upon return home and now the listing shows 8+ as its maximum capacity. Unfortunately, we didn't have that bit of information beforehand, or else we would have booked something with enough actual room for us to sleep.

On top of this, on the first night I realized how easy it would be for someone to look directly into the shower and changing area at night. There is also no window treatment in the living room of the house, where there is a pull out bed. The thought of my young boys sleeping in the front room of a home across from a parking lot of a major attraction on a major street on Lookout Mountain (Rock City) with nothing in between them but a huge open window left me feeling uneasy. The living room window is also right next door to a popular bed and breakfast.

Added to this is the fact that the water pressure unit on the patio started leaking raw sewage near the end of our stay. Obviously not the owner's fault but off putting nonetheless.

On the positive side, the interior was very clean and the house is located in a very convenient location.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: We always welcome constructive suggestions and ever strive to have an improved house.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Top of Lookout Mountain, Private, Walking Distrance to Rock City Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253245
561 876-5231
Lookout Mountain North Georgia Mountains
Nashville,TN
5

Cozy house exceeds our expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We love this cozy house! The rooms are decorated so so cute, and everything was very clean. Gorgeous surroundings. Upstairs beds a bit too firm, downstairs bed is very comfortable. Location is right next to Rock City---for those of you that need a nice place to stay. I dont see how more than 8 people can sleep in this house. One minor negative detail--- no bar soap in the entire house! Although, this didn't keep us from having a wonderful time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Please know we appreciate our guests on leaving to report that their stay was both successful and enjoyable! Meanwhile, any constructive suggestion is always appreciated, with a full set of soap bars now in place.
business
Top of Lookout Mountain, Private, Walking Distrance to Rock City Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253245
561 876-5231
Lookout Mountain North Georgia Mountains
4

racer parents

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The house was overall very fine and met our needs for a long weekend stay. It was very convenient to the national championship races - especially the road race up Lookout Mountain! The kitchen could have had a few more amenities - like muffin pan or 9 x 13 cake pan and more sizes of sauce pans. Cooking for a group was challenging. Also, the deck furniture cushions were squishy with water.

The owners were very easy to work with and even let us have a later check-out on our last day.

I would recommend the home for a group of people who get along very well.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to submitt a review. We have added additional baking/cooking pans to our kitchen!
business
Top of Lookout Mountain, Private, Walking Distrance to Rock City Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253245
561 876-5231
Lookout Mountain North Georgia Mountains
5

Charming and comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had a very pleasant visit and stay. The house was very charming and nicely decorated. The beds were comfortable and the overall accommodations were nice. Plenty of space to sit and visit with family as well as room for the kids to spread out and play. My only critique would be to maybe pack a pillow if you're not fond of feather pillows, but really they were quite comfy as well.

Overall we had a great visit. The property owners are friendly and accommodating. We hope to re-book next time we're in the area.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased that families can get together at our vacation rental and have a successful event! Thanks for your response and look forward to your rerturn visit.
business
Top of Lookout Mountain, Private, Walking Distrance to Rock City Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253245
561 876-5231
Lookout Mountain North Georgia Mountains
Albuquerque, NM
5

Comfortable and Lovely

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had a delightful weekend at this Lookout Mountain house. Our two families, one with one child and the other with two, were quite comfortable and content during our stay.

Having seen only a few photos without much detail, we were pleasantly surprised by the beauty and the "room to breathe" inside when we arrived. Our two families have traveled together before and sometimes we have had to flip a coin to determine which couple will get the "good" bedroom in a rental house. But we found two great bedrooms here and a third bedroom that was just perfect for the kids. No need to flip a coin! We really liked the older charm of the overall house combined with modern updates in the kitchen and bathrooms. The house was nice and clean and we slept very comfortably.

We also really enjoyed the mossy yard and the patios. The kids loved exploring the house (and, yes, throwing their clothes down the laundry shoot) and running around and playing in the yard. And, of course, it was wonderful to be able to walk over to enjoy Rock City in the day and then walk over to the Grandview for the wedding of our dear friends in the evening.

We found the owner very easy to reach and pleasant to speak with. We will definitely consider staying at this property again for future visits.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: When two families, each with children, are willing to submit a review setting forth a whole list of reasons why they enjoyed their vacation in your VRBO house, the best response by any owner is simply to say "THANK YOU VERY MUCH!"
business
Top of Lookout Mountain, Private, Walking Distrance to Rock City Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253245
561 876-5231
Lookout Mountain North Georgia Mountains
Cullman, Alabama
5

I love this home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This house was a perfect choice for our family of 9. Each of the two upstairs bedrooms were large enough for up to two camping cots to be set up...for our kids. The mattresses in the upstairs bedrooms were very firm. There was also some inflatable air mattresses in the closet upstairs. The bedrooms were very roomy and two out of the three bedrooms had small TV's in them. The kids had a blast when they were able to drop their dirty clothes through the chute down to the lower floor laundry room. We spent a lot of time in the dining room where a large window looked out over the front yard. Even though it was spring break, we watched it snow through this window and on the warmer days, we could clearly see our kids jump from rock to rock in the yard. There were plenty of pots and pans in the kitchen where we cooked every meal here. There was a very nice Viking stove in the kitchen. The Internet was great and it worked just as well upstairs. We visited Rock City, which was just across the street. Ruby Falls and the Incline Railroad were also very close to this house. I also have to add that this house was very clean. Our kids ran around in their socks and they were not black on the bottom like many of the condo rentals was have rented in the past. The owner was wonderful to talk with as they shared how this house was a part of their family. If I were in the area again, I would definitely rent this house again. This house is old (built in the 1920's) and full of charm. Again, I love this home!