Craftsbury cabin rental - Across the lake
Across the lake
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Craftsbury Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedroom, 1 Jacuzzi bath, sleeps 4

Lake Front Log Home, modern kitchen, large bathroom with 2 person jacuzzi tub, large lake side porch, field stone patio with stone steps into lake.

6 Reviews of Property 252842 in Craftsbury, Vermont

Modern, Quiet Log Cabin, on Lake Eligo, fishing, hiking,canoeing from your door
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 6 reviews
business
Modern, Quiet Log Cabin, on Lake Eligo, fishing, hiking,canoeing from your door
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252842
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
5

Peace and relaxation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
What a great place to stay! This lovely, clean and romantic cabin is situated amongst vast farmlands that overlooks a nice peacefull and private lake . About a mile from the house we had found the most perfect place for a picnic in a field, overlooking the sun setting on the mountain skyline.The cabin has a genuine Vermont feel and is larger than appears in the pictures. Would love to come back this winter. Thank you for a great stay!
business
Modern, Quiet Log Cabin, on Lake Eligo, fishing, hiking,canoeing from your door
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252842
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
4

Great cabin right on a beautiful lake!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the cabin as well as the amazing location. The cabin itself seemed to be recently built. A nice wrap around porch was a great place to sit, relax and look over beautiful Lake Eligo. The porch is so close to the lake that you can actually see the bottom of the lake from the porch!

The lake was the greatest part of the trip. We brought a small boat down and did plenty of fishing. There are plenty of bass, pickerel and yellow perch in the lake. We did a some trolling and were able to land a few brown trout as well as one 4 pound lake trout!

There is a small town a few minutes down the road where you can get supplies as well as a bait shop. On the way up you can find a Tops grocery store about 10 minutes before you get to the cabin. There is also a nearby Vermont liquor outlet a few minutes down the road from Tops.

I would have given this place 5 stars but there were a few downsides.
-You are not allowed to have an outdoor fire. This seems very strange granted your in the woods in Vermont. The instruction book found in the cabin stated that is was a law set by the Fire Marshall but as we boated around the lake we quickly realized everyone else had a fire pit.
-The gas fire place inside was not very safe. After we finally got it started, it burned for about 20 minutes and then shut off on its own. This was scary since the pilot also went off but the gas stayed on. We quickly shut off the gas and left the fire place alone. It would have been nice to have a fire going and even better if there was a nice wood stove.
-There were many very strange rules in the instructional booklet that was left by the owners. Rules such as, no glass in the bathroom and no condoms down the toilet (yes they actually wrote a list of things you couldn't flush down the toilet and condoms was one of them, I think we would get the point if they just said "nothing but toilet paper"). Among the strange rules was a note that stated that the owners sometimes stay in the upstairs part of of the garage. Luckily they were not there during our stay but if they were it would certainly be strange and uncomfortable.

Other than those few things this place was great. My other last piece of advise to anyone making a trip here is to drive very slow on Rt. 14 while looking for this place. There is no mail box, look for the sign that says ALINOVI PT.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern, Quiet Log Cabin, on Lake Eligo, fishing, hiking,canoeing from your door
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252842
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Boston, Massachusetts
5

Even better than it looks

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We spent 9 lovely days there and it's worth every penny. The cabin is very comfortable and convenient and even bigger then it looks like on the pictures. The kitchen area is well equipped for a cabin so we mostly cooked there. The porch is very big and sitting there while watching the lake, boats, and so on is very relaxing and calming. Even DSL connection was good enough to run my online games which is a very rare thing in this type of accommodation.

Some info that can be useful:
- The nearest store is Craftsbury General Store (googlable) but it's rather small. The nearest supermarket is Hannaford in Morrisville.
- There are a couple of nice restaurants in Hardwick. A great snack counter with plenty of tasty sandwiches, hot dogs, ice cream, and so on is located close to an Irving gas station and a liquor store about a mile south of Hardwick on Route 14.
- Cell reception is absolutely none, zero, nada. We checked Verizon, ATT, and T-Mobile we had and they're all dead; we didn't have Sprint but its site said it's unavailable either. So forward your incoming calls to a landline the cabin has. The nearest location where ATT works is Hardwick, for Verizon go to Morrisville.
- If you prefer really hot water in the jacuzzi as we do, don't try to run the hot water full out, run only the Hot at about 1/2 power and when it's enough then cool with the Cold.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Modern, Quiet Log Cabin, on Lake Eligo, fishing, hiking,canoeing from your door
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252842
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
5

Awesome relaxing stay.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We stayed at the cabin on our honeymoon. Very quiet and away from everything. Nobody was at the cabin during our stay for the whole week. Had the place to ourselves. We really liked the part that there is no check in or meeting people needed. Just show up at your convenience. A home away from home!!

Cabin was clean roomy and well described. Outdoor grill a nice feature. Also jetted tub was awesome.

p.s. Visit the Great Vermont Corn Maze in the summer!! :-)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern, Quiet Log Cabin, on Lake Eligo, fishing, hiking,canoeing from your door
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252842
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Springfield, MA
4

Relaxation!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
One small complaint was that the showerhead pictured is not operational. Other than that our stay was very nice and relaxing. This is certainly the place to go if you're looking for privacy and an escape from the hustle and bustle of the real world!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: although the showerhead does show in the picture, the property desription state "tub only no shower". Glad that the couple enjoyed their stay. Shower has been repaired and is working.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Modern, Quiet Log Cabin, on Lake Eligo, fishing, hiking,canoeing from your door
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252842
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
New York, NY
5

Great Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
The presented photos don't do justice to the space of the cabin. When we first arrived, we were pretty happy to see the size of the living room and kitchen. The best was waking up and looking out the window to see beautiful Lake Eligo. Even better was the prevalent local food movement in just about every town in the vicinity (Craftsbury, Hardwick, et. al). Our visit was an end of winter trip, and I'm crossing my fingers to make a repeat visit in the summer or autumn.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 12/12