Montezuma cottage rental - Terrace of Colibri (sunrise skin caress)
Terrace of Colibri (sunrise skin caress)
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Montezuma Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, Terrace, Deck, sleeps 3. Calender not in use, contact us please :).

The cottages are made with love and knowledge what give them beauty and functionality. The ocean view is one of it´s kind, you got to come yourself to see that any photo would be able to do its justice, simple the view of the wide wide open see and the first touch of the horizon would eclipse and capture your senses like a spell drive.,

Mariposa Cabin: Mariposa was the first built on the property. The details on it, tells about our way of embracing life, our view of creation. The cabin has a little terrace right on the cliff ,welcoming the horizon and miles and miles of coastline.The sunrise awakes on the bed. Pelicans,frigate birds,falcons and other bird species indulge the sky day by day. Cheers !

Colibri Cabin: Colibri has a feeling of a tree-house type. It has a loft with a double bed. An individual bed is placed down. It has a deck in front and a terrace on the side, direct on the cliff surrounded by tree’s, making you feel like an eagle above the ocean. The terrace with a stone floor also comes with a hammock and a barbecue, it is also the access to the outdoor hot shower.

There is no obstacle in between you and the endless horizon. Further the ocean is 600 feet (200m) away from you ,so you can sleep being lulled by the waves. Enjoy it !

Geco Cabin: A wonderful cabin, with a wooden deck, ocean view and forest closeness that allows various birds and monkeys to visit you every day. It has a direct access to the swimming pool. Full equipped, cozy space for feeling just one with nature.

Our cottages are in an area blessed by the very first inhabitants: Chorotegas-Mangues,Borucas and Terrabas (C.R indigenas) that lived here and in the surroundings. Venerating their God ('Nenbithia') and Godess ('Nengui Tamali') to take care of the Cosmos. That sense of sacredness, peacefulness and meaningful encounter you could sense that truly took place in this area. In resume, It is well known and documented that the ancient Costarrican indigenous used to lived around here and cliff zones where specially appreciated by them.

On the other side, there is almost an endless row of natural attractions like waterfalls, tight pools,lagoons, beaches with a variety of different sands, Cabo Blanco Natural Park and natural reserves and much more.

The major hotels and condo companies haven’t reached this area till now, what keeps the area pretty virgin and natural without the problems other areas have to face now. For nature lovers or people who just wanna rest from their daily stress it is a great plus. Contact us for availability, thanks :) Peter and Rocio

Location: Delicias, the cliff of Montezuma is a high point on the Southern Peninsula of Nicoya. This is where you could find us awaked by the sunrise, 300 feet above Playa Manchas Azules. We are located 5 min. drive from the waterfalls ( 2 miles apart from downtown Montezuma). Montezuma can be reach by a fly charter to Tambor (30 min), by car, by Minibus or Local direct bus. Montezuma offers taxi services and Quad rentals.

We are about 15 to 30 min, to reach almost every top tourist destinations in our area such as: Mal pais, Santa Teresa, Cabuya, Cabo Blanco National Park, Tango Mar, Curu and Tambor. Montezuma is known for its natural treasures, with its bohemian touch and alternative activities: Yoga, Body-mind healers, dance, health food offers, massage, meditation, spiritual retreats, film festival and art gatherings among others.

More Details
Hide Details

We.....we appreciate life and we are grateful to be still around in a healthy way. Nature lovers, peaceful minded, love dogs as much as humans :) and all sentient beings. Play music and love dance. Followers of Buddhism as way of being present in this life. We are a couple made up, beside destiny, by our understanding of diversity. Peter an adventurous and visioner German, who left his country cause in the back of his mind since he was a child had the feeling of living abroad. Came to Costa Rica years ago and immediately, fell in love with the beauty of Costa Rica and with a sensitive Costa Rican woman, Rocio. She a former teacher of the University of Costa Rica, a dancer who has the privilege to achieve her master´s degree at Naropa University, in Boulder, Colorado. Comes from a family of a 'Zarzuela' and Operetta singer, and a well known oil painter. Visitors can enjoy his paintings that give life, color, meaningfulness and pour wonderful energy into this space and time container. Peter and Rocio blessed by the cosmos sculptured day by day a family of a 11 years old daughter and older son. A family, with an artistic eye that allow life to nurture them by being always grateful to the forces that compose their rhythm and drive in this trajectory of beingness.

Peter and Rocio Kahl purchased this cottage in 1996

We have chosen to live here, cause the first encounter with this place gave us the sense of such a peacefulness for having the lull of the ocean waves as a front neighbor nurturing our senses. Then, the stars without shyness getting out at night to wave at us. The sun touches carelessly the window with its big red face every morning. Seeing a full moon drawing a sparkly path on the skin of the ocean is like an illusion of reality or reality is an illusion? Come to hear the plays of the ocean and be a witness yourself of such a beautiful nature´sculpture. Researching that ancient Costa Rican indigenous inhabitants used to lived around, we honored them by having different icons that refer directly to their way of living and being. You would find those around.

This cliff location with a first line ocean view makes a plus hard to beat, only the frequency of your heart can beat it :) ! when being overtaken by such a gentle nature pulse. Beside, its very cozy and Feng Shui oriented. One has nature and privacy as a companion. The ocean is your closest viewer. It is quiet, safe, secluded, great for relaxation and has internet access. Here the breeze runs naked all year around, that is why the name of the town ('Las Delicias' = Delicious) cause the wind touches and embraces the visitors refreshing ones´ existence. Most of the material we used to give birth to this project were recollected for years ahead, in order to save antique windows, French doors and recycle wood floors and various wood structures. Some of the pieces come from early 1900´s. We worked very hard to restore them to be able to bring them into space again, bringing more Co2 to the planet, instead of letting them being burn or destroy, as originally planned by construction agencies. To round up the gorgeous warmness of the wood, we created spaces with mosaic designs to give a chance of any possible sensitive encounter. Come yourself to see that any photo would be able to do its justice, simple the view of the wide wide open see and the first touch of the horizon would eclipse and capture your senses like a spell drive.To really believe it you got to come here, you will not regret it.

9 Reviews of Property 252804 in Montezuma, Costa Rica

Real touch to the senses, quiet and cozy
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Real touch to the senses, quiet and cozy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252804
+506 2642 1285
Montezuma Puntarenas
Indianapolis, IN
5

An experience that can't be captured in photos!

An experience that can't be captured in photos!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I spent the early two weeks of January in the Colibri cabin and I have no words to express how amazing the view is from the cabin. I stumbled upon this cabin searching online; I’m not the type of person to stay in resort-style accommodations. I would describe the cabins as rustic and quaint. The views and experience are much more than can be captured in photographs. These are cabins Peter built by hand. Colibri had a very cool loft which overlooks the property on one side and the Pacific Ocean on the other side. If you look down, you see Playa Los Cedros (I believe?), which is a very nice beach to go to while on your stay. I spent a lot of time in the hammock or deck chair reading books and enjoying the beautiful weather. At night a few geckos would sneak in and hang out on the ceiling! Also, from what I hear, this is one of the few places in Costa Rica with hot water for your shower!

Each day, Peter will offer to drive you and other cabin guests down to Montezuma, which is about a 5-10 minute drive. From there, I took a taxi up at night (go talk to Roger at Cabo Blanco Travelers between Mamatea and Chicos, since taxis seem to disappear after 6pm in Montezuma). A car isn’t necessary, as a taxi is only $10 up the hill. A few days, I walked into town, which takes about a half an hour (you see a lot of nature and get a little workout!). I recommend walking down before 8am or after 4pm because of the heat.

Peter and Rocio are very helpful and always are there to help and see if you need anything and always a few steps away if you needed something. Their daughter, Natalie, will help you with your poor Spanish speaking skills and tell you funny stories. They have two dogs, Luna and Stancha(?), which are very friendly and may come to visit. Peter is very knowledgeable and will answer any questions you have about the area and any places you’d like to travel or tour. He can help point you in the right direction and tell you which ones might be better than other tours. I recommend taking a day or two to rent an ATV and travel to the Cabuya Isla Cementario at low tide, Cabo Blanco Reserve, and then visiting Mal Pais and Santa Teresa.

This place is a hidden gem and I can’t wait to go back. I wish I would have stayed longer considering the -80 degree difference in the weather I had to come back to! I feel as if I came for a vacation and left with a new family, thanks to the hospitality of Peter, Rocio, Natalie, and the puppies.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Real touch to the senses, quiet and cozy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252804
+506 2642 1285
Montezuma Puntarenas
5

Beautiful views from a charming cabin.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
What a true Gem! This beautiful little cabin had the most gorgeous views in Costa Rica. Nothing beats waking up, making your own breakfast, and stepping out on to the balcony to watch the wales and take in the morning sun. Everything is perfect about this spot, from the hand built cabin, to the outdoor shower and amazing tile work, it's just wonderful.

Wildlife was right in our back yard too! Iguanas, monkeys, and all kinds of birds. We did have a few large bug encounters, but hey, it's Costa Rica.

It's about a 30 minute walk to town with some pretty serious hills, but we really enjoyed these daily walks. It helped to keep us in shape and you really get to see a lot of wildlife along the way. If you don't want to walk, Peter offers a ride to town every day and their are taxis in town for the ride back if needed.

This place is really worth it, a true GEM!
Owner's Response: Thanks Mike for the nice review, we really appreciate it. Thanks for being with us, hope we see you again, would be great.
Peter and family
business
Real touch to the senses, quiet and cozy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252804
+506 2642 1285
Montezuma Puntarenas
5

Small Cabin, Big View :)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed in colibri cabin for 4 weeks. The cabin is quaint and both patios offer breathtaking views, be it of the ocean and shoreline during the day or the stars at night. Very representative of the beauty of Costa Rica.

Peter and Rocio were friendly, welcoming, and accommodating. The kitchen is fully equipped for cooking and Peter and Rocio were happy to loan us anything we lacked, be it a bit of baking soda or a rolling pin. They were very helpful in recommending activities and restaurants. Peter regularly offered rides down to Montezuma or to Cobano, where there is a weekly market (feria) selling fresh fruits and vegetables at very affordable prices.

The walk down to Montezuma is about 30 mins and quite steep in places but is nice exercise and a small adventure in itself. Las Manchas beach, which is visible from the patio, is small, quiet, nice for swimming and a great reward for those that make the hike down. The series of 3 waterfalls are a bit closer and we walked to them several times.
business
Real touch to the senses, quiet and cozy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252804
+506 2642 1285
Montezuma Puntarenas
5

true relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We stayed here for a week in February and it was fantastic! Mariposa is the perfect place to unwind if you need a break from fast paced work life. Although it is probably preferable to have a car to stay here as it is off the beaten path, we didnt have one and it gave us the excuse to stay home and read and cook and look at the beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Peter and Rocio were very accommodating and friendly and were always available but non-intrusive. The cabin is clean, well organized, romantic , artistic, warm and welcoming. The waterfalls a short drive away are wonderful and refreshing. Peter was great at offering us daily rides to town if we needed anything but we were so content to stay here in this lovely little house that we rarely ventured away! If you need to relax , look no further!
business
Real touch to the senses, quiet and cozy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252804
+506 2642 1285
Montezuma Puntarenas
5

true relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We stayed here for a week in February and it was fantastic! Mariposa is the perfect place to unwind if you need a break from fast paced work life. Although it is probably preferable to have a car to stay here as it is off the beaten path, we didnt have one and it gave us the excuse to stay home and read and cook and look at the beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Peter and Rocio were very accommodating and friendly and were always available but non-intrusive. The cabin is clean, well organized, romantic , artistic, warm and welcoming. The waterfalls a short drive away are wonderful and refreshing. Peter was great at offering us daily rides to town if we needed anything but we were so content to stay here in this lovely little house that we rarely ventured away! If you need to relax , look no further!
business
Real touch to the senses, quiet and cozy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252804
+506 2642 1285
Montezuma Puntarenas
New Orleans, Louisiana
5

Romantic Get-Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
What a stunning place to stay. Right on a cliff overlooking the Pacific. The view is amazing. Pictures do not do it justice. The cabin was beautiful and clean. The owner Peter and his family very helpful and friendly.

It's private and great for couples looking for a romantic spot. A little out of Montezuma so you have your privacy but close enough to walk to the beach and restaurants. I would go back in a heartbeat!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Real touch to the senses, quiet and cozy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252804
+506 2642 1285
Montezuma Puntarenas
5

Loved our stay here!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
What a special place, we couldn't get over how amazing the cabina 'mariposa' was!
The woodwork and tile work details will amaze you. We loved the bi-folding doors and windows that allowed us to sleep with our ears to the sound of the crashing waves 300 ft. below. Opening our eyes in the morning to a spectacular sunrise- making french press coffee & cooking dinners on the 3 burner stove & making our own fresh blended cocktails at sunset all added to the ease and experience of Montezuma for us. An outdoor shower and a beautiful outdoor space to sit & listen to the howler monkeys or star gaze! Pinch me!!

Thank you to Peter, Rocio and little Natalie for your graciousness & obvious love for your space! We loved the ideas for our day trips- can't wait to go back!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Real touch to the senses, quiet and cozy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252804
+506 2642 1285
Montezuma Puntarenas
St. Catharines, On ,Canada
5

A little paridise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We absolutely loved this place. It is pretty important to have a 4X4 for gettting around as it is up quite a steep hill. If you were to bike around there, you'd have to be in pretty good shape. The kitchen was wonderful to have, as it is a drive into town. We picked up groceries at the Super Maya on the way in from Cobano to the cabin. We enjoyed breakfast every morning, in the comforts of our own home, surrounded by the wildlife. The property itself has a lot of attention to detail, and is very well maintained. There is a wonderful Costa Rican lady two doors down that takes care of the grounds and does daily housekeeping. She is super friendly and does a fantastic job. The owners were extremely helpful, we wished we could have met them.
I would recommend this place to anyone who doesn't mind a pretty crazy drive to get there, that likes privacy with a fantastic view. The loft bedroom has a view of the stars and ocean. It is truly spectacular. We also loved the outdoor shower.
We enjoyed the restaurant Cocolores in Montezuma. We also made a trip to the national park and did the four hour round trip hike to the beach. It is quite hilly but we saw lots of birds and monkeys on our walk. The waterfall in Montezuma was beautiful. We hope to make another trip here in the future.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Real touch to the senses, quiet and cozy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252804
+506 2642 1285
Montezuma Puntarenas
5

Romantk Pur

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Die Wochen dort oben auf der Klippe an der "Reichen Küste" bei Rocio, Peter und der kleinen Nathalie, waren kurz gesagt: Super. Der Ausblick auf den Pazifik, die romantischen Strände wird mir und meiner Frau unvergesslich bleiben. An den von dort gut erreichbaren Stränden findet man reichlich Platz. Der gute Wohn/Schlaf-komfort und die Sauberkeit finden sicher auch bei Verwöhnten Anklang. Von den Eigentümern bekommt man wertvolle Tipps für Ausflüge an Strände und Naturparks, Restaurants usw. Die costaricanische Küche ist übrigens sehr schmackhaft!! Auch Fauna und Flora sind ein besonderes Erlebnis. Alles in Allem ein Ort an den man gerne zurück kehrt. Unserer besonderer Dank gebührt den Eigentümern, Rosio, Peter und der kleinen Nathalie für die Freundlichkeit und Führsorge.
Helpful votes: 2/2