Lake Barkley lodge rental - The lodge in the snow. Fireplace cozy in both great rooms.
The lodge in the snow. Fireplace cozy in both great rooms.
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
 

Lake Barkley Lodge Rental Photos and Description
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

This four bedroom log home is located on 26 wooded acres in Lyon County, Kentucky, a half mile from beautiful Barkley/Kentucky Lakes, one of the largest man-made lakes in the U.S.; with a launch for your boat, 1/2 to 3 miles from the cabin.

Rental boats are available including house boats. Boat, fish, ski, wake board, picnic, or enjoy lunch at waterside restaurants.

You can enjoy your own 5 acre lake on the property, stocked with bass, bluegill, and catfish, or just relax at the boat house or on the screened in porch. Available for your use is a canoe, small fishing boat with trolling motor, water bike, and swimming; all kid friendly.

'Paradise', whether '5' or '85'. Open field for other activities such as volley ball, baseball, or football. Use your imagination.

I retired in 1995 and built this property a few years later. I am a fly fisherman and enjoy KY and Barkely Lakes and take my ranger boat out often. One thing I love to do here is have my annual fish fry and music jam sometime in May. We catch our own fish and pot luck the rest. I've been a hunter and the mounts in the lodge reflect some of my treasures.

William Parker purchased this lodge in 1998

I wanted some place the family could use with or without me. I owned boats and when I gave that up I needed a new hobby. My grandchildren all are in to sports but I could always pull them back to nature when we stayed over at the lake lodge whether it was catching a frog or a lizard, even harmless snakes. We had scavenger hunts, buried treasure finds, caught their first fish, played 'king of the mountain', had campfires, hikes, water bike rides and so much more.

It is a 16 acre playground. A 5 acre lake with 2 canoes, a fishing boat, a water bike, a fire pit and tree house that my grandson and I built. I don't know of anything to compare it to. It is close to restaurants and an abundant of attractions. The lakes are just a half mile away for launching a boat and that opens a whole new world.

8 Reviews of Property 252775 in Lake Barkley, Kentucky

Ultimate Getaway!
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Ultimate Getaway!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252775
+1 270 217-5103
Lake Barkley Kentucky
Louisville KY
5

Just Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We just had a weekend girls getaway and played a murder mystery game. This place was more than what we expected! When you step on the front porch, there are two nice porch swings. On entering the cabin, the decor is just outstanding! It takes you quite a while to take it all in! There are so many details that it is just entertaining to just soak it all in! There are animals, pelts, artifacts, beautiful rugs and top quality furnishings. The owners have brought their personalities to life to share with us renters! Quite impressive. You feel as you are at home on vacation with the Parkers. You will meet their cute little grandsons in the pictures scattered throughout the cabin. You see the love of fishing and hunting of the Parker men. It's obvious the homeyness and love Mrs. Parker has of her place. The beds are very comfortable with nice linens. Everything is so clean. We all marveled on how difficult it must be to keep the place so clean! There is more than enough room for everyone to spread out. Plenty of chairs to lounge on. The kitchen is small, but fully stocked. I didn't want or need for anything. The air conditioning was very comfortable and the showers were plenty hot with good water pressure. Two refrigerators help with storage of groceries. We never turned on a TV, but the stereo was nice. Even the little bait shop was clean and stocked with bait in a little fridge! The dock is very nice with a ladder to get into the lake and out easily. It was fun to ride the "bicycle boat" and kayaks. Our group had such an awesome weekend. Everyone wants to come back again next year. The pictures on this site are pretty accurate, if I had to say anything that was different from the descriptions...."it's just better!" I had several questions that I emailed prior to our stay and Mrs. Parker was quick to reply. No complains....you will absolutely love this place! Only suggestion I might have, it would be nice to have a hot tub, especially if you wanted to stay in the fall.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ultimate Getaway!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252775
+1 270 217-5103
Lake Barkley Kentucky
Kentucky
5

FUN FUN FUN!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We just returned from a wonderful week at the lodge with our four grandchildren!! They range in age from 2-8. THEY LOVED IT!! Our grand daughter from Texas caught her first fish! We rode the water bike , kayak, and the canoe. They loved their own little "beach" and they loved the tree house. We made S'mores each night. The property is very well maintained and decorated beautifully. Lots of nice touches with special attention to detail. The property had life jackets, water toys, etc. The only thing we needed was our bathing suits and food. The loft area is adorable!!!!!! We had no trouble getting the kids to bed because they couldn't wait to sleep in their "tents" as they called them. We made alot of wonderful family memories!! One grand daughter has already asked if we can go again next year and another suggested we buy it and "all" live there together because it was so much fun! We are all ready to go back! The owners were also very nice to work with and you can tell they take alot of pride in their property and are very hospitable! Thank you for sharing with our family and for helping to make some unforgettable memories with our babies!!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This is what it is all about...helping families make beautiful memories and the real desire to come back to our "little piece of heaven".
Thanks for sharing.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ultimate Getaway!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252775
+1 270 217-5103
Lake Barkley Kentucky
Nashville, TN
5

wonderful vacation spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Two families vacationed together here, ranging in age from 31 to 2. Everyone had a fabulous time. The pictures don't quite do this place justice. The house was clean, very well decorated, and well stocked. They thought of everything you would need for an enjoyable stay. There's plenty of room for everyone to spread out and relax. We spent the mornings and afternoons at the water riding the small fishing boat, canoe, and water bike. The kids had a small beach area to play in the sand and swim. We roasted marshmallows at the firepit and played in the treehouse. We took our son's small 4-wheeler and there was plenty of room for him to ride. At night we watched movies in the TV room downstairs, enjoying the gorgeous fireplace. There are two refrigerators so we had plenty of storage for our food for the week. The property is easy to find and within minutes of a bait/tackle shop, fast food and sit-down restaurants, gas stations, and a water park. Thanks to the owners for sharing this incredible place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Ultimate Getaway!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252775
+1 270 217-5103
Lake Barkley Kentucky
Dexter MO
5

Perfect & Private Lodging!

Perfect & Private Lodging!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband and I took my parents and grandparents here in October for a booked fishing trip. It has EVERYTHING! We brought food with us and never had to leave with the exception of meeting our fishing guide. Very nice and well equipped. Was impressed with the kitchen - you don't have to bring a thing. The Fall colors were beautiful. Lots of things to do and see outside with TV to books & games inside. Our family is ready to go back. Very clean & well maintained. Owners are great. You will not be dissappointed. Only negative? 3 days is not long enough. Great memory-making place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Ultimate Getaway!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252775
+1 270 217-5103
Lake Barkley Kentucky
Indiana
5

GREAT VACATION!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
THIS IS A VERY NICE GETAWAY. THE PROPERTY IS EXTREMELY PRIVATE AND THE HOME AND SETTING ARE TO DIE FOR. IT HAS EVERYTHING YOU NEED FOR A LARGE FAMILY. THE HOUSE IS VERY RUSTIC AND DECORATED TO FIT THE SETTING AND VERY GORGEOUS. WE ENJOYED THE LAKE AND THE TIME SPENT THERE WITH OUR FAMILY. WE HIGHLY RECOMMED IT FOR A UNIQUE EXPERIENCE. HOPE TO RETURN IN THE FUTURE.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Ultimate Getaway!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252775
+1 270 217-5103
Lake Barkley Kentucky
Lexington, KY
5

Wonderful Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We stay for 4 nights including Memorial Day. We found the property to be just perfect...a little slice of heaven actually! We were off the tourist path of Kentucky Lake (which we did drive to visit and were thrilled we had our "own lake" that was not so rough and crowded to play in. The property offered wildlife: we saw deer, groundhogs and even a wild turkey on our morning walks around the property. The fishing was great: everyone caught multiple bass. We swam, canoed, biked (yes there is a water bike which was a hit with us!), walked the property, even the dog enjoyed laying on the dock! It was a great vacation for all of us. We played all day, each day and retreated to the house each night. The house had everything you could ever need and was very clean. Kitchen was very well stocked. The house is like an adventure itself. The kids found something new around each corner. They LOVED it! My son said it was better than Great Wolf Lodge! Beds were extremely comfortable. I love the fact the kids could watch tv in the downstairs living room and I could read and listen to music upstairs during the evening hours! Had local friends visit us one day and we had plenty of space for everyone. It was so relaxing and we enjoyed every minute. Cannot wait to return! Owners were great to work with and very hospitable. We use VRBO several times a year and this was an A++++ experience! Worth every penny!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We want satisfied guests and ones who want to return. We love our lodge and love sharing it with nice people.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Ultimate Getaway!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252775
+1 270 217-5103
Lake Barkley Kentucky
OHIO
5

GREAT PRIVATE, RELAXING, GETAWAY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I WAS RECENTLY THERE IN JULY WITH MY EXTENTED FAMILY WHICH WAS A LARGE GROUP OF PEOPLE. THE PLACE WAS BEAUTIFUL AND TOTALLY PRIVATE! IF YOU ARE INTO HUNTING AND FISHING YOU WILL LOVE THIS GEORGOUS LODGE. LOTS OF MOUNTS ON THE WALLS. IT HAS A BEAUTIFUL VIEW OF THE LAKE. IT IS A DRY TOWN SO IF YOU WANT ALCOHOL BRING IT WITH YOU. IT DIDNT BOTHER US THOUGH. IT HAS 2 LIVINING ROOMS WHICH WAS NICE FOR A LARGE GROUP OF PEOPLE. IF THERE ARE CHILDREN COMING IT IS A BIT NOISEY ON THE HARD WOOD IF YOU ARE TRYING TO SLEEP IN, BUT THATS WHAT AFTERNOON NAPS ARE FOR. THERE WERE LOTS OF LIFE JACKETS FOR THE LAKE AND THE CANOES AND WATER BIKE THAT ARE THERE ARE GREAT. ALSO WE HAD A GREAT TIME MAKING SMORES AND TELLING GHOST STORIES BY THE FIRE PIT. WOULD LOVE TO COME BACK SOME DAY! THANKS FOR THE MEMORIES!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Ultimate Getaway!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252775
+1 270 217-5103
Lake Barkley Kentucky
Florida
5

Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
The cabin is as good as it appears to be. You won't be disappointed. And the owners are accomodating and easy going.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this review. You were extremely nice and we hhope you return sometime in the future.
Helpful votes: 8/8