Pacific Beach house rental - Welcome to Seashell Beach Cottage
Welcome to Seashell Beach Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Pacific Beach House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (sleeps max of 8 adults/4 kids)

Seashell Beach Cottage is light and airy with a friendly Seashell theme throughout. This is our personal second home away from home. Casual, comfortable and affordable best describe our newly constructed vacation home (2009) at the Northern border of Pacific Beach and Moclips, Washington.

We love dogs and have made this a dog friendly home. Dogs love the beach and we are the closest home to the beach entrance. We even have a 'Dog Wall of Fame' for our furry guests.

Our sweet beach cottage is about 1360 square feet, but we have set it up to sleep a MAXIMUM of 8 adults (4 couples) and 4 children or 3 couples and 6 children. Two private bedrooms with queen beds, 1 sofa bed in the living room and the loft bedroom is dormitory style with one full bed and 4 twin beds. Seashell Beach Cottage is also perfect for 1-2 couples and up to 2-3 dogs.(subject to approval*). 8 Adults Maximum.

Close to Beach: Situated near the entrance to the local beach access, this home is conveniently located for easy access by our guests. If you are searching for a dog friendly home that is clean, affordable, new construction, not in a development and a stones throw from the beach - we are the right place.

The upstairs master suite has a deck that faces the west. We can not see the ocean through the trees, but with the door left open, you can hear the sound of the surf as it gently lulls you to sleep. Seashell Cottage uniquely faces the “Enchanted Forest” with the famous “Tree Man” where many elves and fairies live in the forest brush below. It’s a hit for family story time by the outdoor campfire. There is nothing like creating memories for the young ones as you roast marshmallows and make Smores’s.

Propane Grill for outdoor dining: Our gas grill, patio table and chairs makes having a family barbecue easy and fun. In the summer months we offer an outdoor metal fire pit for roasting marshmallows or hot dogs. You bring your wood and beach towels and enjoy time by the fire.

Our Beach Cottage sleeps a maximum of 8 adults, 4 children and can accommodate parking for 3-4 compact or standard vehicles. Dining area accomodates 6 at the table, but we have fold out tables to add making for larger dining capacity.

Dogs rule!: We love dogs and welcome up to 2-3 dogs (subject to approval and signed dog contract) that are well behaved with well trained and responsible owners. We invite your four legged family member to join our exclusive 'Dog Wall of Fame' . Submitting a jpg photo is easy and we will do the rest.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I purchased this adorable cottage in 2009 and dressed it up with a seashell theme. Our family (with dogs in tow) have been ocean loving for over 25 years.

DeAnne purchased this house in 2009

Love, love tiny town of Pacific beach, Washington and its eclectic style and wide open beaches

1 block from beach, peak a view of ocean, private forest in back, fenced yard for dogs. Private wood 5 foot tall fence on 3 sides and a see through wire fence towards the enchanted forest which is 3.5 feet tall. We love dogs and keep a clean, dog friendly home available to responsible owners.

28 Reviews of Property 252593 in Pacific Beach, Washington

Simply by the Beach - Dog Wall of Fame
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 28 reviews
business
Simply by the Beach - Dog Wall of Fame
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252593
+1 253 381-8997
Pacific Beach Olympic Peninsula
Lake Hartwell, Georgia
4

The Dog Would Like to Move In

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Happiness is a rescue dog racing down the beach with abandon. Being the "all that she could be" military pup from Lewis McChord AFB, she certainly knew how to manage the locals and tourists in Pacific Beach. That lil' chipmunk over the back fence was just too tempting though.

Over Labor Day weekend the weather pushed us north to cruise around Lake Quinault & Ruby Beach (easy drive in one day) while our younger crowd ventured down to Ocean Shores looking for the sun.

This house provides an excellent travel option for dog people - the homeowners have accepted the sand & paws challenge that many avoid. The home sits adjacent to a steep beach access road to the ocean, an easy walk for adults & four-legged guests. For toddler safety we drove a car down with our beach gear (avoiding the holiday drivers). The local bar is literally across the street. We walked to Pacific Beach for donuts along the coast highway, returning by beach to the house.

This comfortable home is laid out well for two couples with a loft area for five kids or maybe that brother that keeps showing up for beach vacations!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Simply by the Beach - Dog Wall of Fame
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252593
+1 253 381-8997
Pacific Beach Olympic Peninsula
Tacoma, WA
5

Great time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I was very pleased to be able to stay again this year at the Dog Wall of Fame with my family. Very relaxing, easy place to be, love the walk down to the beach and the eventual walk back, too. And the deer in the evenings! And we went to Lake Quinault for the day, enjoyed a picnic lunch and walked one of the trails. And on the way back we saw a bear cross the road, very exciting! The property was well stocked, love the pictures of the dogs and my sister is sending one of Ally who was able to come with us. I am talking to my girlfriends about staying there, we usually go to the mountains but we are considering a trip to this place instead. We also drove to Westport, very scenic place. Lots of boats and the sunshine was awesome. Thanks again, I have been telling everyone of my time with my family and how nice everything was.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Wonderful to hear you had a great time. Dog guest Ally is now framed and on our Dog Wall of fame. Seashell is a great gathering place for friends. We hope you visit us again very soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Simply by the Beach - Dog Wall of Fame
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252593
+1 253 381-8997
Pacific Beach Olympic Peninsula
Kailua Kona, HI
5

Girls weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a wonderful time during our recent stay at the Seashell Cottage. The house is well maintained and clean, with easy to follow instructions for doing our part upon departure. The owner was very helpful and responded to our last minute request for an additional night stay quickly. We appreciated that a lot, as we were not ready to go home yet!! We enjoyed a day trip to Westport- and a day trip to Lake Quinault for hiking. Not only did my sisters and nieces enjoy the stay, but "our" dog also enjoys the dog friendly atmosphere, including the nice walk to the beach. We would definitely recommend this location to friends and relatives. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are glad you ladies had another great time at Seashell Cottage. Thank you for the reminders of how our location is so close to some wonderful day trips - like Westport and Lake Quinalt. You are 5 star guests and we hope you visit again!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Simply by the Beach - Dog Wall of Fame
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252593
+1 253 381-8997
Pacific Beach Olympic Peninsula
Kenmore, Washington
5

Wonderful Pacific Northwest Beach Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Property was exactly as listed and I would (and have) recommended it to friends.

We especially enjoyed being able to listen to the surf even inside the house. The master bedroom (upstairs) was quite large, which enabled us to put both large dog beds in the bedroom and still be able to walk around without tripping over them. The kitchen, although more compact than we're used to, was very efficiently organized and easy to use. We also loved having a fenced yard for our dogs, and they thoroughly enjoyed the beach walks (within easy walking distance) and chasing the seagulls, as well as our walks down to the Pacific Beach stores.

I especially recommend staying at this property in the latter half of September - the beach and neighborhood are very quiet and the weather is still nice.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Best kept secret is out.... The best time at the Washington Coast is September and October. Clear skies, beautiful sunsets and wide open beaches. Thanks for being great guests!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Simply by the Beach - Dog Wall of Fame
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252593
+1 253 381-8997
Pacific Beach Olympic Peninsula
Seattle area
4

Dogs loved it

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a relaxing weekend in this little house. The main floor was just right for us (one couple and two greyhounds). The house feels spacious, has plenty of seating, and besides the one bedroom we used, there's another bedroom upstairs, enough beds (including a bunkbed) for 4 or 5 more people to sleep in the open area at the top of the stairs, and the living room couch is also a hide-a-bed, so you could really squeeze quite a few people in here, as long as there are no more than 2 couples who need privacy. We may come back with some friends next spring or so, if we can get a group together.

The main floor would be wheelchair accessible if not for a couple steps up to the porch. A portable ramp would take care of that, if you're in a wheelchair.

The dogs loved the fenced yard that went all the way around the house. They raced each other around and around the house. In one corner of the yard, there was a tree down over the fence across the back, where the dogs could have escaped if it had occurred to them, so one of us did need to stay nearby when they were outside.

The floors are hardwood or laminate, with one thin rug in front of the couch, so do bring your dog beds if your dog(s) need something cushy. There are a couple tension-mount baby gates that could be used to keep the dogs out of the kitchen, if need be.

The beach was not quite walking distance for us, but a very short drive down a winding hill. The weather was wonderful for October -- most years, it's chilly and windy on the beach, but this time, it was t-shirt weather, warm enough for a picnic. I only wish we'd found more time in the weekend to spend on the beach.

We tried the pub across the street for dinner (carry-out) one evening, and it was quite good, and reasonably priced. I've seen kitchens with more extras, but this one has all the basic equipment you will need. Glass-topped stove and microwave inside, and BBQ outside. There's a shelf full of dvd's. The one we tried turned out to be a dud, but probably most people could find something worth watching.

An early check-in is possible without extra charge as long as nobody is checking out the same day you're arriving. (Though we wound up arriving around the usual check-in time, anyway.) "Check in" and "check out" are convenient, with a numeric lock, so you don't have to stop anywhere to pick up a key. The owner was also understanding when I came down sick on our last morning and we needed a couple extra hours to get me fit for travel
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great description. We strive to offer a comfortable home and yard for dogs. Tree down on fence was temporary from a storm prior week. We hope you can come again and bring friends too!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Simply by the Beach - Dog Wall of Fame
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252593
+1 253 381-8997
Pacific Beach Olympic Peninsula
5

Great Beach Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My boyfriend, our two dogs and I had a great time at Seashell Beach Cottage! The description and pictures of the house are spot on. The house was very comfortable and clean. We especially appreciated the full kitchen, it was nice to not have to eat out. The only recommendation I have is to pack a large bowl (mixing bowl) and some spices - those were the only things we missed (or perhaps overlooked). We tend to visit the ocean at least once during the summer - but we're now thinking about returning this winter too. We'll definitely stay here again!

Thank you for sharing your beach house with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Simply by the Beach - Dog Wall of Fame
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252593
+1 253 381-8997
Pacific Beach Olympic Peninsula
Seattle, WA
4

Great beach accomodations!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I along with my 2 1/2 year old son and two dogs enjoyed a few nights in Moclips and found this cabin had availability on short notice. The home is large and well appointed with furnishings, linens, dishes, etc that we really just needed to show up! They even thought ahead to include things like baby gates and towels for the dogs. The beach access road is very close by. We enjoyed the quiet and relaxing atmosphere in Moclips and hope to return again next summer.

The wifi was a bit slow for streaming movies and the few hours my husband had to work but I imagine that's to be expected for this area. We were somewhat intimidated by the long list of do's and don'ts but in the end, we received a five star rating from the owners so I think we followed them all to the T. I've already referred two friends to this location as well.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We try to be accommodating to all guests - as we learn from our guests feedback, we listen. Baby gates, dog towels are just a few of them. Thank you for the mention of rules. We do stand by our house rules - which mostly have to do with safety, fire prevention and keeping the cost down for our guests. Our first and foremost is to offer a good, clean well appointed home to our traveling guests and with house rules, we are able to do this. When you visit the North Beach area, you are amazed at the beauty and the ability to relax in such a quiet area. We are very "away from it all" where the speed of life (including Wi-Fi) is so much slower. You were a 5 Star guest and we thank you for the referrals!!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Simply by the Beach - Dog Wall of Fame
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252593
+1 253 381-8997
Pacific Beach Olympic Peninsula
Nooksack, WA
4

A break from workin' like a dog...

A break from workin' like a dog...
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We really enjoyed our stay. The accommodations were clean, and simple. We had everything we needed and most importantly, we were able to bring our canine family members. The fenced in yard was a bonus. We were the only ones on the street that weekend. It was so quiet. The other bonus- the beach! It was a quiet beach, everything we were hoping to enjoy. Our pups were able to run leash-free, play catch and discover the new surroundings with us. Overall, a fabulous visit...one we will probably take again.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Our goal is to have our guests have a relaxing experience, provide all the comforts of home and have a place to enjoy their four legged friends. Clean, well equipped, simple and near the beach is what we have to offer.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Simply by the Beach - Dog Wall of Fame
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252593
+1 253 381-8997
Pacific Beach Olympic Peninsula
5

Seashell beach house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Very spacious, lots of windows & natural light. Loved having a fenced yard to keep the dog from wandering off. You can hear the surf from the upstairs deck. The gas stove kept the house very warm. Plenty of pots & pans for cooking. Very organized kitchen. Lots of dishes ( no plastic ware for small children). Plenty of dog towels and dog dishes. There is no cell service if you have AT&T. Not a big deal, just be aware if you need to make or receive calls.
We would stay here again.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice description of our home. We appreciate your kind words and accurate description. Yes cell service is tricky on the coast. We do get Verizon - but the remoteness of the Coast has its limitations. We welcome you back and look forward to your dog joining our "Dog Wall of Fame".
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Simply by the Beach - Dog Wall of Fame
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252593
+1 253 381-8997
Pacific Beach Olympic Peninsula
Walla Walla, WA
4

Perfect Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We stayed 7 nights over Labor Day 2012 and it was the perfect getaway for us. The location gave us instant access to the beach, which we took advantage of every day. We were lucky with the weather (no rain in 7 days!) and were able to walk the beaches with our two dogs, sit in our chairs and read magazines and sip wine, and hubby even caught a few interesting sea creatures while fishing. The dogs could not get enough of the low-tide tidepools and we walked unknown miles up and down. The town offers whatever you need - gas, groceries, gifts, restaurants, and the state park is very popular. There is a small bar directly across the street from the house for cheap cocktails and interesting local color, and they offer sports on TV and some fairly decent bar food.
The house was absolutely fine: spotlessly clean, plenty of linens, well-stocked kitchen and a working Washer and Dryer, which helped with the sand cleanup. I would suggest the addition of expanded cable TV selections and a few new pots or pans and sharp knives, but otherwise the house was perfect. I point out that the house does not have wi-fi, so if you're on a working vacation or need this for other reasons, you will need to go to town to find a hot-spot.
We would definitely return with no hesitation - the location is perfect for exploring the OP.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your complete description of what sounds like a wonderful week at the Washington Coast. We really appreciate your suggestions on items that might have made your experience perfect! We have already made some of them immediately and will be considering the wi-fi addition in the near future. Thank you for the compliments too! We strive to always keep a comfortable and clean, well stocked, dog friendly home for our traveling guests. We look forward to having you visit us again!! Thanks again Michelle!
Helpful votes: 3/3