Montezuma house rental - pool
pool
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Montezuma House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 4, swimming pool, A/C, full kitchen

Excellent location in the center of the picturesque village of Cabuya, 4 miles from Montezuma center. This beautiful vacation beach house is just 250m from the beach, surrounded by the Nature Reserve Cabo Blanco, and is close to world-class surfing locations. Small, friendly bars and restaurants. The exotic pool house is located on a big private lot with nature and wildlife at its door step. This newly built vacation pool villa has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a beautiful living area with fully-equipped, Air-Condition, modern kitchen. Colorful jungle scenes, and a wide range of fruit trees including orange, papaya, mango, banana, pineapple, lemon, coconut, almond and guava fill the air with the most exotic scent to tantalize your senses.

Newville Pool House features a large master bedroom, a guest bedroom, 2 private bathrooms, and a beautiful living area that opens into a fully equipped kitchen where you can cook breakfast, lunch or a romantic dinner. The vacation pool house has telephone (national calls only) and access to the Internet.

When you get tired of surfing, fishing or laying out at the pool, you can relax at the nearby river “Rio Lajas” where you’ll find Jacuzzi natural pools and crystal-clear water. At night, walk down the beach to town and enjoy a good home cooked meal or a few drinks at a local restaurant.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a young family, two lovely kids and a dog. 9 years ago my husband and i traveled through Central America. Traveling through Costa Rica, we came across Cabuya village and fell in love with the place and the people here. Two years later we came back to visit and realize we really don't want to leave. we went back home packed everything with our dog and came to live here in Cabuya.

Noa Segev purchased this house in 2005

17 Reviews of Property 252192 in Montezuma, Costa Rica

Newville pool house, 300m from the beach
average rating of 4.75 based on 17 reviews
business
Newville pool house, 300m from the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252192
Montezuma Puntarenas
5

The perfect spot to decompress!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I did a ton of research on the Montezuma and Cabuya areas before we booked the Newville Pool House. That research definitely paid off, as I believe we ended up in the perfect place for our family.

We are a family of four (kids ages; 2 and 9). We wanted a quiet and peaceful location with a pool. We wanted access to beaches that were toddler friendly. And lastly, we wanted good food and culture close-by. We found all this in Cabuya and Montezuma. While Montezuma is buzzing with (mellow) energy and has a more tourist vibe, Cabuya feels like the end of the earth - a quiet fishing village bordering the Cabo Blanco Reserve - yet had wonderful restaurants and well-stocked markets. Make sure you get to La Panaderia, as well as El Coyote Cafe!

The house is cool and clean, bursting with creative construction, which we really appreciated. Due to the design of the home, the daylight floods in, eliminating the need for artificial light until sunset. The beautiful polished concrete also serves a functional purpose, keeping the house much cooler on the inside - it is also extremely easy to keep clean. Of course, the air-conditioned bedrooms were a welcome bonus. Having two bathrooms was very convenient; one had the more Tico-styled electric heated shower, and the other seemed to be connected to a hot water tank. Both provided nice warm showers! The furnishings and layout of the home was extremely kid-friendly, making for a very happy toddler our entire stay!

Noa and Jacob were very friendly and accommodating. Noa was available by phone at all times, willing to answer questions and address problems right away. When we arrived the pool pump had a leak, which Noa remained on top of until it was fixed. She also invited us to a local event at a beautiful yoga resort, which was a very sweet gesture.

I could go on and on. But perhaps the best testament would be that we plan to return in a couple of months and stay for six weeks! Our family is literally counting down the days!!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Newville pool house, 300m from the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252192
Montezuma Puntarenas
5

Best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The house was amazing!! My husband and I stayed in cabuya for a week...it was such an awesome place and perfect for what we were looking for! We ended up renting a quad through Jenny at the coyote cafe(which was the best decision ever!) we had so much fun driving over to mal pais and Santa Teresa and haunting into montezuma for a beer at chicos! I think we payed about 180 for 4 days! The newville house itself was perfec. The pool was great for cooling off in at all hours of the day, the kitchen was a great perk, to be able to cook something instead of going out all the time! The bed was super comfy and the showers are works of art!! We will definitely be back to cabuya and SOON!! Thanks for everything Noa
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Newville pool house, 300m from the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252192
Montezuma Puntarenas
Knowlton, Quebec
5

3 blissful months in paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We recently returned from 3 incredible months at the Newville pool house, where we continued our regular life (work & school) but in a much sunnier, hotter and tropical environment! We travel a lot as a family but this was by far our best experience to date. It was our first visit to Costa Rica and we all loved it - and a big part of that was thanks to Noa and Jacob's incredible kindness and attention to making sure we were always comfortable.

So thank you Noa and Jacob!!! Your home was comfortable, convenient and cozy. We loved everything: from how easy it was to keep clean, to the pool that got LOTS of use, to the A/C that kept us cool when it got too hot, to Jacob's decorative concrete (so beautiful), to the amazing yard filled with all sorts of tropical fruit (including many we had never seen before), to the parrots and monkeys that passed by each day (including several other strange and fascinating animals). We looked at most of the houses in Cabuya, but we think this one gives you the most value for your money. The house was absolutely perfect for our family.

As for Cabuya, it's a safe and friendly family-oriented town away from the hustle and bustle of nearby Montezuma and Santa Teresa. Although a car would have been nice on occasion, we were able to save a fortune and still go wherever we needed by bus, taxi and walking. The two grocery stores in town were surprisingly well stocked too. And having the truck drive up to our front door every week with freshly-picked produce was beyond amazing.

Because we were busy with school and work, we didn't get to travel around the country, but that didn't matter: we found more than enough to keep us happy. We all loved playing in the ocean waves, cooling off in the river, visiting cemetary island and the Montezuma waterfalls, learning how to surf (careful, it's very addictive!), and visiting the Cabo Blanco national park. We got to see baby sea turtles released - a bit hit with our girls, who also took weekly horseback riding and music lessons, and learned some Spanish too in the process.

Noa and Jacob are a goldmine of information, and genuinely wonderful people. We miss you and your family, the tranquility of Cabuya, and the friendliness in everyone we met. We will definitely recommend this house to anyone thinking of visiting the southern Nicoya Peninsula.

And if you haven't been to Costa Rica, GO! It's beyond description, and we just saw a tiny corner of it.
Owner's Response: thanks guys, it mean a lot to us. keep in touch
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Newville pool house, 300m from the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252192
Montezuma Puntarenas
Chestnut Hill
4

Good deal with caveats

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We enjoyed our week in Cabuya very much. There are wonderful beaches on the Montezuma/Cabuya side as well as the Mal Pais side of the peninsula (and we'd recommend trips to both).Both around the house and the area, there is lots of wildlife (particularly howler monkeys and birds). Additionally there are wonderful restaurants, both local and gourmet cuisine in the area. We'd particularly recommend the Cabuya Cafe for breakfast (heard that other meals are good but didn't try it) and the Soda across the street from the Super David. Our favorite place was Playa de las Artistas in Montezuma--absolutely wonderful, gourmet quality food (and pricier).
The house is comfortable; the AC in the bedrooms was great and there are lots of fans. The location is good; there can be local neighborhood noise though not a big problem. The pool is not user friendly--hard to get in and out of and very small. Kitchen reasonably well stocked. Note that you have to bring your own beach towels! The hosts were available for problem shooting and had some good advice about the area but we felt scruitinized at the end when she was inspecting and worried that we had lost a towel when we had actually left the beach towels which we purchased (it seemed unreasonable to expect people to bring them in suitcases to Costa Rica).
We would recommend a 4WD car to get around the area.
Overall, it's a nice place and a good value.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Newville pool house, 300m from the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252192
Montezuma Puntarenas
Austin, Texas
4

Rustic and beautiful

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had a fabulous time, the area is kind of remote but it is beautiful and lush. Close to wildlife reserve and driving distance (get an ATV!) to Montezuma and San Teresa but there are beautiful beaches everywhere. Food is excellent in local restaurants and Noa was the best hostess. My boyfriend and I got engaged and she was the 1st person I told, the next time we returned to the property Noa had left a bottle of wine and some fresh flowers on the step. It was so touching and she took great care of us the whole time.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Newville pool house, 300m from the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252192
Montezuma Puntarenas
5

Honeymoon Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We had a wonderful time! The house is secluded enough that you have privacy, but also close enough to restaurants and shops. The pool was a definite plus and we enjoyed a swim every single day of our stay. We greatly enjoyed all of the amazing wildlife surrounding the house. What an amazing opportunity to watch monkeys eating mangos just within a few feet!

Noa is incredibly welcoming and made sure we had the best stay. She had a bottle of wine waiting for us when we got there as a congratulations on our marriage. She was always available to answer any questions and even brought over a bbq so we could grill one night.

We rented a quad from Jenny at El Coyote. Jenny was incredibly helpful and even arranged for our cab ride to get back to the airport. We highly recommend eating at El Coyote-the pizza is awesome! We found the quad to be a great way to get around. We were able to really venture out and see some wonderful things.

Make sure you eat at the bakery-we did multiple times. Of course breakfast is amazing, but their lunch and dinner menu is awesome as well! The food is delicious and very reasonably priced.

We had a wonderful time in Cabuya! A big thank you to Noa for making our stay so wonderful!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Newville pool house, 300m from the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252192
Montezuma Puntarenas
Orange County, CA
4

April 2011 Stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We truly loved our Cabuya experience from the friendliness of the citizens to the wonderful food at the local restaurants to the peacefulness of our house. We were awoken one morning by the family of howler monkeys across the road from our house and what a treat it was to take pictures of them while still in our pajamas. We had the best breakfasts at the bakery and the best pizza and fish at Cafe Coyote. Noa our landlord was incredibly friendly and helpful. Our stay was better than we imagined.

Thanks Noa and everyone in Cabuya!

Sincerely,
Mireya, Mau, Katy and Carrie
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Newville pool house, 300m from the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252192
Montezuma Puntarenas
Pacific Northwest (Washington) USA
5

Cabuya Costa Rica Treasure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We stayed two weeks at the Newille House in Cabuya. It was perfect. A perfect place to stay after a day on the beach. The house is close enough to walk to a "soda" or to the bakery or "super". But it is tucked away enough to feel like you are in your own litte world. The house is charming and clean. The surrounding area with the mango, lime and banana trees is wonderful (even the odd flower bush that bloomed every morning, just to loose ALL its flowers every evening-right into the pool!). We loved watching the chickens come visit every morning. The symphony of sounds is incredible - howler monkeys in the morning, birds all afternoon and then the night music from gecko's, cicadas and crickets - phenomenal.
Noa and Jacob are wonderful and just a phone call away if you need anything.
We had delicious dining experiences at The Coyote Cafe and enjoyed our visits with Jenny, the owner. Our late afternoon fishing trip on The Albatross II with Macho and Eric was filled with whales cresting REALLY close to the boat as well as beautiful scenery and caught fish!
If you are looking for a resort destination, this is not for you. But if you are looking to live in a Costa Rican town - it is absolutely perfect. The people of Cabuya were lovely, friendly and helpful and we felt fortunate to have met and befriended them.
We will be returning!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Newville pool house, 300m from the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252192
Montezuma Puntarenas
Lorton, VA
5

8 days of pure bliss

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
My boyfriend and I went to Cabuya with another couple. We stayed at the Newville house and had an absolute blast. The house was perfect for two couples because of the two bathrooms. The only somewhat problem was that the master bathroom is the only bathroom with hot water. Most of the time it was not a big deal at all though.

The house is located in a great town called Cabuya. It is about a 10 min drive to Montezuma which is a neat town. Montezuma has great places to shop and that is where you can book a lot of great activities. The house is also located near Mal Pais which is a definite to do while you are in Costa Rica, because it had the best beach. We rented ATVs to do that trip because the roads are really bumpy.

We would highly suggest you go visit Jenny and The Coyote Restaurant. She is so funny and makes the best pizza.

You should also go the bakery for breakfast...SO YUMMY!!! The bread has the crispy outside with a fluffy inside. The rice and beans are out of this world.

We loved the Newville house because of the location and the pool. Most of the time we would do our activity in the morning and spend the afternoon in the pool. I would suggest this house to anyone who is looking for the perfect mix of adventure and relaxation.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Newville pool house, 300m from the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p252192
Montezuma Puntarenas
Montreal Canada
5

Relaxing Cabuya vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We had a great time at the Newville pool house in Cabuya. Noa and Jacob, the couple who rented it to us, live only a few bocks away and were very helpful throughout our stay. Jacob built the house himself, and his specialty, decorative concrete, was evident in many special touches both inside and out. It is well-designed, well-equipped, clean and comfortable. We especially liked relaxing and cooling off in the small pool behind the house during the hot, sunny days..

The house is located on a quiet dead-end street in Cabuya, about 100 meters from the main street. It is about a 5 minute walk to a rocky beach, but we preferred to swim at a sandier beach--about a10 minute walk from the house. However, even this beach has smooth stones underfoot in places, so we recommend water shoes. The ocean water was fairly calm at this beach and as warm as bath water--great for swimming or floating around.

The village of Cabuya is quite laid back and is spread out along the main dirt road which runs parallel to the ocean. There are two grocery stores and a few open-air restaurants. We enjoyed having meals and drinking batidos (tropical fruit smoothies) at El Coyote, El Delfin de Luna, and La Panadería. We also appreciated the fact the the mineral-rich tap water in the village is safe to drink and that there we no mosquitos while we were there.

We took the bus to Montezuma a few times during our stay. There's a lot more going on there, but we were always glad to get back to Cabuya at the end of the day. There are only 4 buses in each direction per day, so we had to plan the timing of our trips carefully. There are no banks in Montezuma, but there is a Bank of Costa Rica ATM, which unfortunately "ate" one of our bank cards; we subsequently found out that this happens fairly often. So we would suggest bringing enough money (in dollars or colones) for the trip or going to an actual bank, such as the one in Cobano.

Other activities we did while staying in Cabuya were taking an excursion to snorkel near Isla Tortuga, hiking at the Cabo Blanco reserve, and visiting the Rainsong animal refuge in Cabuya.

All in all, our week at the Newville pool house provided a good combination of activity and relaxation, and we would be happy to go there again..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2