Tulum villa rental - Ocean facing exterior of Casa Sophia with private pool
Ocean facing exterior of Casa Sophia with private pool
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Tulum Villa Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Casa Sophia is an alternative energy four bedroom (+ studio) beachfront villa. A 3,500 square foot house set on an idyllic, privately owned five acre lot surrounded by tropical foliage and directly fronting on the gorgeous white sands of the Caribbean inside the Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve.

Casa Sophia is located approximately 4 kms inside the Biosphere Reserve of Sian Ka'an, and is nestled between the world's second longest barrier reef, which is just at swimming distance, and the Campechen lagoon - which may be explored by kayak or boat. The Casa's beach is one of the most pristine and tranquil in the Riviera Maya with flour-like white sand - and no rocks.

The living room and entertainment areas of the villa provide open and spacious gathering areas that maximize the views of the lovely gardens, private pool, and ocean. The house functions well for larger families or families/couples traveling together.

Airy and well ventilated, Casa Sophia is cooled by constant trade breezes. Optional air conditioning can be provided in three of the Casa's 4 bedrooms (as well as the studio) for a weekly surcharge (see details). The villa has a fully equipped kitchen, open dining area, and large living room. Chef Service, meal delivery service, or grocery delivery service are available by advance request. Daily housekeeping service is included in the nightly/weekly rate.

Bedroom descriptions:

*MASTER BEDROOM: with king size bed and private bathroom (with large bathtub) has a vaulted ceiling, flat screen television and ample closet space and ocean views. The air-conditioning option is possible in this bedroom.

*UPSTAIRS BEDROOM: has a queen size bed and private bath, with direct access to the Casa's 2nd level roof terraces - with hammocks and lounge chairs. Views of the both the ocean and lagoon are visible from this bedroom.

*THIRD BEDROOM: has a king size bed, ocean view, and shares a full bathroom (with tub) and walk-in closet with the FOURTH BEDROOM: which has 2 double beds. The air-conditioning option is possible in these two bedrooms.

*STUDIO: (with separate entrance, attached to the Casa by a covered walkway) has an ensuite bath and queen bed with forest views. The air-conditioning option is possible in this bedroom.

All bedrooms have ceiling fans and optimize the ocean breezes with maximum ventilation.

This property is a unique oasis that offers ultimate privacy and seclusion. Explore the house's many open areas, pool area with hammocks, three terraces with stunning panoramic lagoon and ocean views and find your favorite place to bird watch, read a book or sun bathe. Families and friends traveling together will be able to enjoy vacationing together, while also taking advantage of the various thoughtfully designed spaces for privacy and relaxation.

Keywords: Privacy, Beachfront, Beach, Tulum, Pool, Views, Family, Kids, Children, Couples

More Details
Hide Details

Absolute privacy on one of the world's most exquisite beaches inside the Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve. Soft, flour-like sand, gorgeous turquoise waters, proximity to incredible Mayan sites: Chichen Itza, Tulum, Coba. Close to Tulum with good restaurants and cultural attractions. Access to Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve activities such as bone-fishing, kayaking, kite surfing, manatee observation, bird watching, and cenote diving.

10 Reviews of Property 251995 in Tulum, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Secluded - Luxury - Beachfront - Best Beach, Views, Activities
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
business
Secluded - Luxury - Beachfront - Best Beach, Views, Activities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251995vbi
(480) 270-4674 (Arizona, USA)
Tulum Quintana Roo
4

Lovely home...but boy is the road there rough

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed at Casa Sophia for a week this December. The home is lovely and the staff is the BEST!! Be warned however, that the Boca Pailla road once you pass the arch in the Sian Kaan is TERRIBLE!! It doesn't improve with work either. You MUST have an SUV or high clearance vehicle to drive to this home. The pot holes are the width of the entire road and their depth measures in feet not inches.

That said, the home is great and has everything you could possibly need. The beach is reached by going down a set (about 20) of fairly steep stairs and the beach itself is very narrow with no room to place beach chairs above the water line (except in the foliage). However, you can walk a few yards either way and have room for a blanket or towel if you choose. The beach is totally secluded and in our week there, I think we only saw about 6 or 8 people walk by or in the water nearby.

Ladies...don't plan on bringing a hair dryer or curling iron to this home - it will not support the wattage needed to run either of those appliances, so just go au natural.

Our family had plenty of room to spread out and still each have our own "space". I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if the road to the house was better. With that said...we will be staying on the paved portion of the Tulum Beach road north of the Arch from now on. However, in all fairness...if you don't care about going out to dinner at night and are happy to stay in - this is a fantastic place (clean, beautiful, secluded, quite) and the staff is WONDERFUL!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for choosing Casa Sophia for your family's vacation and we're delighted that you enjoyed the Casa and its wonderful staff!

Indeed, the 4 kms of dirt road inside the Reserve were in bad shape during your stay. This was due to the abnormally excessive amount of rainfall the region received during November & December prior to your arrival!

Typically the road gets graded periodically throughout the year, however the municipality chose to wait out the rainfall before attempting to regrade this time around.

We apologize for the road's condition (and the massive amount of rainfall before you arrived!) and want to assure you that should you decide to stay at Casa Sophia again the road will be in its usual condition of repair and accessibility.

Thank you again and we wish you a very Happy New Year!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded - Luxury - Beachfront - Best Beach, Views, Activities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251995vbi
(480) 270-4674 (Arizona, USA)
Tulum Quintana Roo
Pittsburgh, Seattle, Brooklyn
5

Superb--again and again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This is great for our family---the pool for adults and 2 small children--the ocean to swim and boogie board in--great staff and owners. Couldn't be better.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Secluded - Luxury - Beachfront - Best Beach, Views, Activities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251995vbi
(480) 270-4674 (Arizona, USA)
Tulum Quintana Roo
Pittsburgh, Seattle, Brooklyn
5

What a getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We had our second vacation here with our family and it was fabulous---staff and owners are very helpful and the site and home are amazing
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded - Luxury - Beachfront - Best Beach, Views, Activities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251995vbi
(480) 270-4674 (Arizona, USA)
Tulum Quintana Roo
Pittsburgh, Seattle and Brooklyn
5

A great vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
A wonderful family getaway for us--plenty of room so each group had privacy yet so many spots to enjoy each other's company.
The home was clean and well maintained with all the amenities we wanted. The staff was very helpful and attentive. The location was great--out of the way, but close enough to venture out to see the sights.
We had most meals at the house but there are many restaurants right outside the biosphere grounds.
We've booked our stay here for next year already, so you can see we really loved it.
Thanks, Kelley, for all your help.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Secluded - Luxury - Beachfront - Best Beach, Views, Activities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251995vbi
(480) 270-4674 (Arizona, USA)
Tulum Quintana Roo
Arvada, CO USA
5

Hidden Treasure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We have just returned from an AMAZING trip to Tulum. The entire experience was truly a "once in a lifetime". The house is settled in the Sian Kian Biosphere and is a block away from the CESiaK Ecological Preserve. The staff at the hotel was so kind and helpful. We had daily housekeeping services and access to the restaurant daily. The biologists at the hotel provided us with a wonderful trip through the lagoon and also supervised the most phenomenal turtle watch we had seen. Their knowledge of the flora and fauna brought new appreciation for us all (especially the 11 year olds on the trip).

Casa Sofia is a beautiful home that is perfect for the multi-family get away. The pool is just steps from one of Tulum's white sand beaches and we found, to our surprise, that the pool was stocked with pool toys, beach stuff (boogie boards, sand castle necessities, life jackets and more). The palapa on the beach was the perfect place for the Adults to sit and watch the kids play in the ocean.

We CAN'T wait to get back to Mexico. We will definitely stay here again!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded - Luxury - Beachfront - Best Beach, Views, Activities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251995vbi
(480) 270-4674 (Arizona, USA)
Tulum Quintana Roo
Albany, CA
5

A wonderful vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
We are so relaxed and happy after our wonderful week at Casa Sophia. Who knew that travelling with 3 families and 6 children could be so relaxing?! Only wish we could have stayed longer!

The house is huge and well appointed with everything one could need on vacation. We loved the pool, the beach, the restaurant at CESIAK next door, snorkeling out to the reef, margaritas on the roof and the super comfortable beds! The kids loved the swimming pool, the pool table, the DVD player and playing hide and seek in the huge house. Everything was so very clean too! We'll miss the gentle sound of the waves, the view from the roof, the iguanas and birds, and the peaceful/uncrowded beach. It was so nice to vacation away from the crazy resort scene of Cancun!

We can't wait for our next trip!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded - Luxury - Beachfront - Best Beach, Views, Activities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251995vbi
(480) 270-4674 (Arizona, USA)
Tulum Quintana Roo
Berkeley, CA
5

I want to go back!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
We just spent a glorious week at Casa Sofia. We were a large group (three families with six kids!) and the house was absolutely perfect. Plenty of space, wonderful pool (it has a divided shallow area to make it super easy to relax with a young non-swimmer in the pool), lots of games, great beach-combing beach, proximity to fun activities (tours at Sian Ka'an, Tulum ruins...)
The house was really thoughtfully designed to make it great for kids - but is luxurious enough to make it a wonderful place for a women's retreat or a couples get-away....think hammocks, your book and margaritas on the roof deck!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded - Luxury - Beachfront - Best Beach, Views, Activities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251995vbi
(480) 270-4674 (Arizona, USA)
Tulum Quintana Roo
-
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
The Casa Sofia is well-appointed, consummately
situated, and full of discreet charm and creature
comforts. The unthinkable proximity of the private
beach - one of Mexico's cleanest and loveliest -
renders the spot alone one in a million. But on top
of this, the villa (for, it is no simple house) features
capacious, airy spaces, seemingly infinite terraces
and views, and cozy living areas. The living room
and kitchen's high ceilings - opening with large
windows onto the private pool area - are truly
pleasurable. To top it all off, there is the
(seemingly too-good-to-be-true) rasp of the
waves as a built-in soundtrack. This house, and
the pleasure of the lagoon and sea that frame it,
should not be missed!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Secluded - Luxury - Beachfront - Best Beach, Views, Activities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251995vbi
(480) 270-4674 (Arizona, USA)
Tulum Quintana Roo
-
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This place is HEAVEN ON EARTH. Whether having cocktails on the roof deck at sunset, taking a nap in the outdoor hammock (rocked by the ocean breeze), lounging by the pool or simply reading in one of the tastefully done, simply chic rooms - you will be in paradise. Activities include a float trip down the river (with a stop-off at a mayan ruin), bone fishing, playing in the ocean waves, or snorkeling/diving by one of the many cenotes. There are also many funy restaurants near by and plenty of cultural activities.

Go. You won't regret it.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Secluded - Luxury - Beachfront - Best Beach, Views, Activities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251995vbi
(480) 270-4674 (Arizona, USA)
Tulum Quintana Roo
Boston, MA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Casa Sophia is perfect! After our first stay there we
were almost too scared to go back and spoil an
ideal memory-- but we took the chance and love it
even more! It is has the holy trinity of relaxation,
good food, and interesting local activities.
The house: plenty of room for three families
(including four energetic kids!). There are
wonderful spots for privacy (the various terraces,
the carefully placed bedrooms) as well as natural
gathering points (the living/dining area, the
courtyard formed by the house and the pool).
Furnishings are simple, practical and tasteful.
Mexican modern. We never had any need for air -
conditioning because the house is sited &
ventilated to take advantage of the ocean breezes.
The area: It really is paradise on earth. The ocean
is a Caribbean cliche: warm, clear, blues/greens
topped by a coral sand beach (perfect for kids to
build sand castles!) and truly private. In the late
afternoon, there might be a few people about 200
yards south in front of the restaurant. The lagoon
is just a short walk (100 yards) from the house,
through lovely vegetation and offers a great
alternative if you ever get bored (yeah, right) of the
ocean/pool. The first time we were there, we did
the Mayan ruins tour. Second time, the great
lagoon tour offered by the management.
The management: Totally unobtrusive but
responsive. The house was cleaned each day,
taking into account our schedule (e.g. napping
kids). The restaurant at the "main" part of the hotel
is delicious-- going out to eat without having to
get into the car.
In short: watch the sunrise over the ocean, swim,
eat, nap, watch the sunset over the lagoon, repeat.
And never leave.
The second time we went, we rented a car from
Cancun to get here and then didn't use the car until
we had to go back to the airport! It really is an eco-
house-- off the grid solar & wind power and then it
convinces you to give up your car!
This is the place for a vacation.
Helpful votes: 5/5