Mount Pleasant house rental - Front of house facing wooded lot and boat landing
Front of house facing wooded lot and boat landing
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Mount Pleasant House Rental Photos and Description
3 BR, 1.5 BA, sleeps 6

Our house is ideally located for quick access to Charleston and to the beaches of Sullivan's Island and the Isle of Palms (only a 10 minute drive). Mt. Pleasant itself has a charming historic area with harbor views for biking and walking, and numerous restaurants are within walking distance of our house, including the many waterfront seafood restaurants on Shem Creek. There's a weekly farmer's market 1 block away.

Two canoe/kayak outfitters and several deep-sea fishing boats are a five-minute walk from the house. You can also rent our two kayaks for a small extra fee.

Fenced backyard. You can bring your boat and launch from the landing you can see from our sunroom.

We are only one block away from the starting line for the Charleston Bridge Run.

12 Reviews of Property 251949 in Mount Pleasant, South Carolina

Water View 10 Mins from Beach & Charleston's Historic District
average rating of 4.75 based on 12 reviews
business
Water View 10 Mins from Beach & Charleston's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251949
+1 352 371-1998
Mount Pleasant Charleston Area
New Jersey
5

Comfortable home, perfect location, great for pets

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We absolutely loved staying in this home! The location is peaceful & convenient to everything. It was hot the week we were there, and the home stayed comfortably cool. The beds are nice, the kitchen is well equipped (even though we didn't cook much!) and the yard was absolutely perfect for our 2 coonhounds. They loved running around & exploring. The only note I would make about that is, if you have dogs who jump fences, the one side fence is kind of low, but it worked out fine for our pups.
Shem Creek Bar & Grill is literally a 3-minute walk, and having lunch on their patio overlooking the creek was one of our favorite activities. Two blocks up Live Oak is Page's Okra Grill, and we got take away a few times and ate out in the yard . Both places had terrific food.
For groceries, the Piggly Wiggly is a short drive down Coleman, and it is the friendliest store we have ever been in!
Visiting Charleston was easy, and made more special by taking the Water Taxi from Patriots Point, also a short drive down Coleman. You get to see the dolphins in the Harbor & the crew will give you some great hints about where to eat.
Also don't miss the Spirit Line cruise to Fort Sumter. Nice way to spend a few hours getting a beautiful cruise on the Harbor & learning a little history.
Sullivan's Island is also a short drive away, and the beaches are beautiful.
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and the home was a nice place to spend our down time. Having coffee on the swing in the mornings under the Live Oak, listening to all of the birds, feeling the breeze, was something that will stay with us forever.
So glad the owners have decided to share their lovely home!
Helpful votes: 18/18
business
Water View 10 Mins from Beach & Charleston's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251949
+1 352 371-1998
Mount Pleasant Charleston Area
Finger Lakes region, NYS
5

Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This location was excellent. Very easy to get into the city, easy access to water for kayaking, lots of restaurants and the Farmer's Market was fantastic. Fresh fish market close by and not far to beaches. Quiet dead end street, ending at a boat launch. The house is older, as described. Loved the hard wood floors and antiques. Melvin's was the best BBQ and the Boat House on Isle of Palms offers excellent food with outside dining while watching the dolphins. The house was clean and kitchen well equipped.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Water View 10 Mins from Beach & Charleston's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251949
+1 352 371-1998
Mount Pleasant Charleston Area
Lebanon, OH
5

Great Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
This house was perfect for our first "family" vacation with our 8 month old. We enjoyed having the multiple bedrooms. We spent most of our time in the sunroom where we could watch the boats lauch into Shem Creek. My husband and I were both able to kayak, and both of us had the pleasure of seeing dolphin by the Shem Creek restaurants. The location of this house was perfect for going downtown, going to the beach, or walking to the Shem Creek restaurants. Additionally, I am a runner, so I could run from the house over the Arthur Ravenel Bridge, and I could explore the Old Village of Mt. Pleaseant by foot, leaving from the house. The house itself reminded me of my grandmother's house with the same style of furniture. It was a very relaxing stay. Thank you.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 15/15
business
Water View 10 Mins from Beach & Charleston's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251949
+1 352 371-1998
Mount Pleasant Charleston Area
Gainesville, FL
5

Location, location, location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
I wish I could have stayed longer than a quick getaway, because this property is the perfect location
for relaxing after a day of shopping, outdoor activities, or a night of sampling the music scene/bars. Though within walking distance of great seafood, a fun antique shop, outdoor outfitter, artisan shops,
and the main thoroughfare, the house itself if quiet and restful. The yard is great for reading in the shade.
The photos are exactly like the house. It is clean, with laundry facilities, ample fridge, and a homey
feel. I would return. Had a delicious meal at Shem Creek Bar and Grill (about two blocks over, cut through the boat yard).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 14/14
business
Water View 10 Mins from Beach & Charleston's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251949
+1 352 371-1998
Mount Pleasant Charleston Area
Clarksville, TN
3

Central Location

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Pros: Nice, central location to downtown Charleston and beaches. Large fenced backyard for dogs. Affordable vacation home. Nice antiques, but wouldn't recommend for small children because of these breakables (we moved everything out of way).
Cons: Musty smell and sewage smell in "sunroom". Couches worn/dirty and local TV channels "jump", so we rented Redbox movies. Very tiny TV (smaller than 19"). We did not come to watch TV; however, we have a 1 year old and when she napped we wished we had a nice clean couch and an average size TV. The seafood restaurants on Shem Creek are nice and down the road--not walking distance like we had thought--but a very short drive. Marina is right next door but couldn't "see" the water from house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Dear RMP-- Thanks for your positive comments. We're sorry you didn't have a completely positive experience on your vacation. When I talked with my sister-in-law and the cleaning women, it turned out that they had noticed an extremely bad odor on the day you checked out. They tracked it down to some sheets in the dryer which they thought smelled strongly of urine. They washed these sheets and all the other laundry, and by the time they left, there was no odor problem. I'm not sure how this could have happened, but I wish you had called when you detected the smell so someone could have come by to track it down. I was there in mid-August and noticed no odor at all, and the other two sets of guests who arrived after you had no problem. The tv is still small (03/01/2011--We now have a 27" tv in there), but we have subscribed to basic cable and that has eliminated the "jumpy" problem. There is also a DVD/VCR player for watching movies, and we have a wi-fi internet connection. I will agree that the couch in the sunroom is not extremely comfortable, and it is somewhat worn. In mid-August I shampooed and turned the seat cushions and began looking for a replacement couch, though I haven't yet found one that works with the colors in that room. (05/11 - New loveseat in sunroom.) We're glad you enjoyed the seafood restaurants. They were probably not all an easy walk with your baby, but Shem Creek Bar and Grill has outdoor creekside dining and can't be more than a five minute walk on back streets. On my last visit to the area, I walked with my friends to Vickery's, one of the farthest of the creekside restaurants, and though it required crossing Coleman Blvd, the walk took only about 15 minutes. Though the house is not directly across from the water, it is only at completely low tide that the water is not visible from the sunroom, living room, and two front bedrooms, and even for that couple of hours a day I love seing the marshes and oak trees. As you noted, the house is affordable, and waterfront properties are usually quite expensive. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We know that different visitors inevitably have different responses to accomodations, but we're disappointed to hear of any visitor who is not extremely pleased with the house. Thanks, Dorothy Stroman
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Water View 10 Mins from Beach & Charleston's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251949
+1 352 371-1998
Mount Pleasant Charleston Area
Caryville, TN
5

Wonderful Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My family and I stayed here in June and we just adored this house. If we are ever going back to the Charleston area we hope to stay here again. We had the 2 family dogs with us and they loved the HUGE back yard. It is fenced, so they could go out there and roam to their heart's desire. The first day we were there, we walked up to the boat ramp and fed the gulls some bread. We could actually toss it in the air and they would catch it. My daughter loved that. Thanks for the wonderful place for us to stay, while my Mom revisited with her doctors.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Water View 10 Mins from Beach & Charleston's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251949
+1 352 371-1998
Mount Pleasant Charleston Area
Asheville, NC
5

Great stay, wonderful hosts.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
Late getting the review out. Stayed for a week in May 2009 with husband and my two new dachshunds. I loved the house, yard and the walkability of the neighborhood. It's a very easy drive to downtown Charleston and neighboring beaches including Folly Beach. My husband was mesmerized by the nearby boat dock and the activity there. Everything that we needed and considerate, helpful hosts. Walk to several restaurants and nearby small shopping center AND the wonderful Mt. Pleasant Farmer's Market. Definitely plan on staying here again. Next time we'll try kayaking!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Water View 10 Mins from Beach & Charleston's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251949
+1 352 371-1998
Mount Pleasant Charleston Area
Harrisburg, PA, USA
4

Mt Pleasant - ranch house rental

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
Description, pictures, and location were accurate. House is located on a deadend street so you get very little traffic. Liked being only about a 10 minute commute to historic Charleston and the beach area. Had a TV problem that was handled promptly. Good customer service. House had a musty smell when we arrived, but after fans and heat/ac were turned on, that went away. Loved the antique furnishings. Plenty of supplies, i.e. bath/kitchen towels, paper towels/toilet paper and lots of extras such as, trash bags, spices, flashlight, dish detergent, reading books, etc. Shem Bar & Grill is only a block away--great food. Ate breakfast at Alex's......good food, reasonably priced.
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Water View 10 Mins from Beach & Charleston's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251949
+1 352 371-1998
Mount Pleasant Charleston Area
-
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Was a wonderful home and perfect spot,loved Mt.Pleasant and so close to Charleston and Beaches,loved the scenery around the home,esp.Shem Creek and the landing,could not have found a more perfect spot than your home,exactly what we needed,quiet,peaceful and easy accessible.Thank you for being avail.A 10 plus rating.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Water View 10 Mins from Beach & Charleston's Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251949
+1 352 371-1998
Mount Pleasant Charleston Area
Asheville, NC
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Had a wonderful time here. Perfect spot in walking distance to restaurants, antique stores and boat dock on Shem Creek and an easy drive to downtown Charleston, Sullivan's Island. Thank you.
Helpful votes: 2/2